Customer Reviews for

Once A Marine: An Iraq War Tank Commander's Inspirational Memoir of Combat, Courage, and Recovery

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    Once a Marine

    I am a high school teacher who had the opportunity to meet Nick Popaditch when he came to speak to our students at our school. The students sat quietly and attentively and hung on his every word. They connected with him and learned of respect, dedication, bravery and courage. If he approaches teaching with the same dedication and commitment he has to the Corps, he will be the most amazing teacher ever to live!! The kids are going to love him! He needs to become the Student Council sponsor--he would so inspire our amazing leaders of tomorrow.<BR/><BR/>The book is well-written and presents to the reader the same important message that he relayed to our students. I have so little opportunity to read for pleasure during the school year, and when I do, I want it to be an excellent read! This was.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    Oorah!

    After I bought Once a Marine, I simply couldn't put it down. Popaditch's style is frank and personal, and by the end of the book I felt like I'd known the man for years. After finishing the book, I must say that it was one of the best books I have ever read, and well worth every penny. Readers in the military and out will be struck by this inspiring tale of life in the services and Popaditch's struggle to readjust to life after being hit in the head with a rocket propelled grenade. I'd highly reccomend it to anyone in the world- be you civilian, military, or politician, for a true grasp of what kind of people we have defending our country.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ALWAYS FAITHFUL

    "ONCE A MARINE" IS A VERY REMARKABLE BESTSELLER WRITTION BY A DECORATED MARINE TANK COMMANDER WHO WENT INTO TO SOME OF THE TOUGHEST COMBAT SITUATIONS IN IRAQ AND HE WENT THROGH SOME OF THE WOREST COMBAT CASUELTIES AND YET HE DID NOT NOT LET HIS SITUATION TAKE HIM DOWN BETWEEN HIS FAITH IN GOD AND HIS COUNTRY AND SOME AMAZING THEROPEY HE WAS ABLE TO GET HIS SELF BACK ON TRACK . THIS BOOK SHOWS HOW YOU CAN BELIEVE IN YOUR COUNTRY AND YOUR VETRENS AND THIS IS ONE INCRIDIBLE STORY OF SOMEONE DEFINING THE ODDS FOR A GREATER PURPOSE FOR FAITH FAMILY AND FREEDOM
    GREAT GIFT FOR A FRIEND OR FAMILY MEMBER ESPICALLY THE HOLIDAYS OR A BIRTHDAY

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    Love of family, Country and Marine Corps

    The story of Nick Popaditch's combat performance, wounding and recovery ia a inspiring story of love of family, country and Marine Corps. It is a story without regret for the events that changed his life. These same events have caused some to wither in the face of those challenges. <BR/>Gunny Pop uses humor and raw Marinese to tell his story. I feel everyone should read this book, especially those who are facing adversity. <BR/>It is a trigger puller's story that points out that once you pull the trigger, you can't get the round back, you live with the results.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    Gunny Pop is a Hero! You Must Read This Account!

    After having the privilege of meeting Nick Popaditch-- we were able to read and be astounded by Gunny Pop and this story of BRAVERY, COURAGE, PATRIOTISM and UNWAIVERING TENACITY.<BR/><BR/>This book truly is Life-Changing, Deeply authentic and Inspirational to the reader. I encourage you to buy a copy for yourself and get it into the hands of your member of Congress, and your neighbors!<BR/><BR/>ONCE A MARINE is a realistic, hard look at the realities of war, and highlights the courage, commitment and determination of our Marines and service members serving our country in this difficult time of conflict. Thankfully Nick received excellent medical care, has a loving and supportive family, and was able to gain independence through vocational training. <BR/><BR/>We are so grateful that he could get this story of his journey out to all...<BR/><BR/>Read this. Share this. You will have your eyes opened!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Outstanding oorah!

    Told only the way a Marine could tell it. Insperation to all that has served

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Book!

    This book was amazing. It really helped me in my decision to join the U.S. Military as a tanker. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    Worthy of a Place of Honor

    Whether reading professional or promotional reviews of books such as this one, it is common to see phrases like "truly inspirational" or "a must-read" splattered about to entice people to rush out and purchase a copy. As readers, we have seen these phrases used so often that we tend to afford them little to no meaning.

    But in the case of "Once a Marine" not only do these phrases apply, they fall incredibly short. I don't say this to be in any way critical of other reviewers. In fact, as I sit here writing this review I find myself faced with the same dilemma: How do I accurately describe this book without using words which have not yet been invented?

    As an amateur writer, the greatest compliments I receive are when readers tell me I painted a picture in their mind or that it was as though they were watching a movie in their head. Because of the candid manner in which "Once a Marine" was written, I felt as though I was sitting across a campfire from Nick "Gunny Pop" Popaditch intensely listening to him as he told this incredible story.

    Since I find myself unable to invent new words for this review - and I would be the only one who knew their meaning even if I could - I am left with the phrases mentioned above. Nick's story is "truly inspirational" and is indeed "a must-read" - not only for those of us who enjoy a great book, but for every red-blooded American.

    Once you've finished reading "Once a Marine" I have little doubt you will place it in a position of honor on your bookshelf - just as I have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1