Customer Reviews for

Once Burned (Night Prince Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 461 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(294)

4 Star

(121)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

INCREDIBLE BEGINNING TO THE NIGHT PRINCE SPINOFF Our Review by

INCREDIBLE BEGINNING TO THE NIGHT PRINCE SPINOFF

Our Review by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:

I've been a Jeaniene Frost, Night Huntress fan since day #1. I love Cat & Bones, and have a soft spot for Spade, but I have been in love with Vlad s...
INCREDIBLE BEGINNING TO THE NIGHT PRINCE SPINOFF

Our Review by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:

I've been a Jeaniene Frost, Night Huntress fan since day #1. I love Cat & Bones, and have a soft spot for Spade, but I have been in love with Vlad since he was first introduced in the series and would anxiously await any parts in the novels where he would be called in for one reason or another. That all being said, I was anxiously awaiting this book and actually feared I may have been expecting too much since I was so excited for it. I needn't have feared, Jeaniene delivered and then some!

Once Burned gives us Vlad (THE man that ALL of the Dracula myths were based upon) in all his sexy, cocky, powerful, undead glory, and introduces a loveable, relate-able heroine and some villains that you will absolutely love to hate.

Leila is human, but with some 'extras'. She is able to conduct electricity through her body, and is psychometric. In attempting to deal with her 'additions', she's sequestered herself in a small town with a family of traveling carnies and is working as a trapeze artist. After being snatched up by some bad guys, she's thrown into a world that she knew existed, but never thought to be immersed in, and finds herself directly linked to a powerful vampire who's apparently #1 on everyone's hit list.

Vlad, having his mind reading abilities in addition to his pyromania, realizes when he's being spied upon psychically by Leila. The 2 are inevitably thrown together to sort out the wicked plot that is not only jeopardizing Vlad and Leila's lives, but that of their friends as well.

Leila is a great strong heroine and in my personal opinion, a wonderful match for Vlad. The two together are dynamic and explosive and the best part is that Leila's no damsel in distress. She's definitely her own woman, and while Vlad doesn't change for her either (thank goodness - he remains the same arrogant, sarcastic, sometimes merciless but never without a reason Vlad we've come to know and love), he accepts her feisty side and even encourages it.

Take these two utterly fantastic leading characters and throw them into the Night Huntress world that never fails to amaze with an action packed storyline full of intrigue, danger, twists, turns, and surprises around most corners, etc and you end up with one incredible read!

The first installment of the Night Prince series spin-off was an amazing addition to the Night Huntress World.

My only complaint was the abrupt ending because dang it... I want the next book NOW!

LITERAL ADDICTION gives Once Burned 5 Skulls and is eagerly anticipating the next book in the series.

posted by LITERALADDICTION_MLO on June 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Good, not great

I wanted to adore this book. But until we see more about what drives Lad to act the way he does and less of him acting kind one minute and ruthless the next... it's hard to buy the attraction between him and Leila as anything more than lust.

I found Vlad to be a muc...
I wanted to adore this book. But until we see more about what drives Lad to act the way he does and less of him acting kind one minute and ruthless the next... it's hard to buy the attraction between him and Leila as anything more than lust.

I found Vlad to be a much more sympathetic character in his scenes with Cat (in the Night Huntress books) than any scenes here. Here, he's hot and dangerous and a very bad boy... and while he does some kind things, it always seems like there is an ulterior motive. Even Leila sees this and while she is attracted to him, there is no future for her with him unless he finds his heart.

I also don't like to be left hanging like the end of this book has me doing. I'll buy the next book in a series if the writing is solid and the experience of reading it is enjoyable. Cliffhanger endings lower my enjoyment and irritate the heck out of me. That doesn't help set the hook, but instead makes me feel like I'm being manipulated.

I hope the Vlad that Cat knows shows up in the sequel. You know the guy I mean: the one who talked Cat down off a cliff, the one she called when she went with her first "husband" to save Bones, the one who cares about others. If THAT Vlad is the one Leila gets to know, I'll believe they have a future.

posted by kawherp on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 461 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 24
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Read clear through the night!

    Definite must read! I felt like i was the fly on Vlad and Leila's dark tapestries. ONCE BURNED is sexy, witty, and full of page turning excitement!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Love a tragic hero...

    A scarred and yet protective hero. I love reading about the tortured souls who find love. My ideal happy ending! Keep em coming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Warning cliffhanger you have to buy next book to see how it ends

    Great read but left too much unanswered. Now I have to buy the next book to see how this ended. Don't think so cause then. I'll have to buy another! Come on you are a great author. You don't have to stoop to this to sell books. Would have been 5 stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    This the first time I have read anything by Jeaniene Frost It WI

    This the first time I have read anything by Jeaniene Frost It WILL NOT BE MY LAST. Once burned kept me on the edge of my seat. I fell in love with the characters - cannot wait for the second book in this series.. In the meantime I am starting the Night Huntress series cannot wait to start and hope it holds my attention as well as Once Burned. Love they way Ms. Frost makes you crave what is coming next. Thank you - you are truly amazing..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Good Read

    Couldnt put this book down! Can't wait for the next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Good book

    Liked this book cant wait for the next one

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Best series from J. Frost

    Best book in my view. I'm also a dracula fan but really liked the few interactions between he, Cat, and Bones. Reading the other books really helped with understanding him as a character. I can't wait for this series to develop! This Vlad tale is much more to my liking than the Cat series, possibly because of Bones' previous life always rearing it's ugly head. We don't get to see real men who would do anything to protect their own anymore. Maybe that is what others have misunderstood with this character. I've re-read it twice and love every word! Still a C&B fan but this series is my favorite.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    LOVED this book!

    If you liked his character in the Cat books then you will love this. He is definetly my favorite character in the ither books so I am glad he got his time to shine. Would love to see another book involving him after this one... Oh and the cover of the book was perfect!! ( I hope that they use the same model for anything else pertaining to Vlad, he was perfect and he was exactly how I pictured him in my head.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    This is a great book! I can't tell you how much you need to read

    This is a great book! I can't tell you how much you need to read this one. I LOVE Cat and Bones and this new book im just as happy with and I can't wait for more!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Average

    Nothing to write home about

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    OMG! I loved ONCE BURNED! The storyline was unique, dialogue wit

    OMG! I loved ONCE BURNED! The storyline was unique, dialogue witty and filled with humor, and the characters were well developed with flaws and strengths that drew me right into their story. Leila is such an amazing character who has made mistakes in her life and has many challenges to overcome. But instead of hiding from them, she’s willing to face them head-on. I adore her friendship with her little vampire partner, Marty.

    Vlad is the original Count Dracula. He’s difficult, arrogant, deadly, arrogant, cruel, and did I mention, arrogant? He’s also passionate, extremely loyal, kind, territorial, considerate, and charming. Yes, he’s a complex person who intrigues me.
    I flew through this book, sacrificing sleep and laundry! The ending left me wanting, wanting to read the next book. If the first book is any indication of what’s to come, I’m all in!

    Focused. Strong. True.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    Love

    Love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Irritating

    Same old same old, which is great. What's irritating is that most of the beginning and end is chatter about other books. To the tune of 50 pages. If you're looking for the same old, great. If not, save your money for a better value.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    I could not put this book down! Every page left you wanting more

    I could not put this book down! Every page left you wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Love Vlad and Leila fiery relationship. 

    Love Vlad and Leila fiery relationship. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    Very good book. This is my first reading of Ms. Frost's work and

    Very good book. This is my first reading of Ms. Frost's work and I will continue with the sequel to Once Burned. I personally didn't mind the cliffhanger ending. Throughout the novel, I often wondered what the attraction Vlad has with Leila, especially since he's taken only about 10 lovers in 600 years. I started to understand a little as the story progressed and Leila's character became stronger and more accepting of her unusual abilities. I definitely want to see how Vlad's love for her unfolds in the next book. I sorta wished the story wasn't written in the first person perspective because I really want to hear Vlad's thoughts. Oh well. I still enjoyed the book and will also check out the Huntress series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    It's funny because I already had a copy of Twice Tempted but did

    It's funny because I already had a copy of Twice Tempted but didn't really remember if I had this. Checked my Kindle and there it was! So I dove in and loved it. Wanted to throttle Vlad though because of his arrogance and his extreme self-confidence. And I felt sorry for Leila because of all that she had suffered because of a freak accident with a fallen power line when she was a little kid. To not be able to touch others for fear of electrocuting them with your very own body, that has to be frightening. And combined with her other gifts, she's just a walking open nerve. Can't wait to read Twice Tempted though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Fun story

    Entertaining with good characters. Humor and adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Excellent!!

    Couldn't put this down! Amazing book with a great story! I can't wait for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    Good book, really enjoyed,

    Good book, really enjoyed,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 461 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 24