Customer Reviews for

Once Burned (Night Prince Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 455 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(289)

4 Star

(121)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

INCREDIBLE BEGINNING TO THE NIGHT PRINCE SPINOFF Our Review by

INCREDIBLE BEGINNING TO THE NIGHT PRINCE SPINOFF

Our Review by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:

I've been a Jeaniene Frost, Night Huntress fan since day #1. I love Cat & Bones, and have a soft spot for Spade, but I have been in love with Vlad s...
INCREDIBLE BEGINNING TO THE NIGHT PRINCE SPINOFF

Our Review by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:

I've been a Jeaniene Frost, Night Huntress fan since day #1. I love Cat & Bones, and have a soft spot for Spade, but I have been in love with Vlad since he was first introduced in the series and would anxiously await any parts in the novels where he would be called in for one reason or another. That all being said, I was anxiously awaiting this book and actually feared I may have been expecting too much since I was so excited for it. I needn't have feared, Jeaniene delivered and then some!

Once Burned gives us Vlad (THE man that ALL of the Dracula myths were based upon) in all his sexy, cocky, powerful, undead glory, and introduces a loveable, relate-able heroine and some villains that you will absolutely love to hate.

Leila is human, but with some 'extras'. She is able to conduct electricity through her body, and is psychometric. In attempting to deal with her 'additions', she's sequestered herself in a small town with a family of traveling carnies and is working as a trapeze artist. After being snatched up by some bad guys, she's thrown into a world that she knew existed, but never thought to be immersed in, and finds herself directly linked to a powerful vampire who's apparently #1 on everyone's hit list.

Vlad, having his mind reading abilities in addition to his pyromania, realizes when he's being spied upon psychically by Leila. The 2 are inevitably thrown together to sort out the wicked plot that is not only jeopardizing Vlad and Leila's lives, but that of their friends as well.

Leila is a great strong heroine and in my personal opinion, a wonderful match for Vlad. The two together are dynamic and explosive and the best part is that Leila's no damsel in distress. She's definitely her own woman, and while Vlad doesn't change for her either (thank goodness - he remains the same arrogant, sarcastic, sometimes merciless but never without a reason Vlad we've come to know and love), he accepts her feisty side and even encourages it.

Take these two utterly fantastic leading characters and throw them into the Night Huntress world that never fails to amaze with an action packed storyline full of intrigue, danger, twists, turns, and surprises around most corners, etc and you end up with one incredible read!

The first installment of the Night Prince series spin-off was an amazing addition to the Night Huntress World.

My only complaint was the abrupt ending because dang it... I want the next book NOW!

LITERAL ADDICTION gives Once Burned 5 Skulls and is eagerly anticipating the next book in the series.

posted by LITERALADDICTION_MLO on June 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Good, not great

I wanted to adore this book. But until we see more about what drives Lad to act the way he does and less of him acting kind one minute and ruthless the next... it's hard to buy the attraction between him and Leila as anything more than lust.

I found Vlad to be a muc...
I wanted to adore this book. But until we see more about what drives Lad to act the way he does and less of him acting kind one minute and ruthless the next... it's hard to buy the attraction between him and Leila as anything more than lust.

I found Vlad to be a much more sympathetic character in his scenes with Cat (in the Night Huntress books) than any scenes here. Here, he's hot and dangerous and a very bad boy... and while he does some kind things, it always seems like there is an ulterior motive. Even Leila sees this and while she is attracted to him, there is no future for her with him unless he finds his heart.

I also don't like to be left hanging like the end of this book has me doing. I'll buy the next book in a series if the writing is solid and the experience of reading it is enjoyable. Cliffhanger endings lower my enjoyment and irritate the heck out of me. That doesn't help set the hook, but instead makes me feel like I'm being manipulated.

I hope the Vlad that Cat knows shows up in the sequel. You know the guy I mean: the one who talked Cat down off a cliff, the one she called when she went with her first "husband" to save Bones, the one who cares about others. If THAT Vlad is the one Leila gets to know, I'll believe they have a future.

posted by kawherp on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Good, not great

    I wanted to adore this book. But until we see more about what drives Lad to act the way he does and less of him acting kind one minute and ruthless the next... it's hard to buy the attraction between him and Leila as anything more than lust.

    I found Vlad to be a much more sympathetic character in his scenes with Cat (in the Night Huntress books) than any scenes here. Here, he's hot and dangerous and a very bad boy... and while he does some kind things, it always seems like there is an ulterior motive. Even Leila sees this and while she is attracted to him, there is no future for her with him unless he finds his heart.

    I also don't like to be left hanging like the end of this book has me doing. I'll buy the next book in a series if the writing is solid and the experience of reading it is enjoyable. Cliffhanger endings lower my enjoyment and irritate the heck out of me. That doesn't help set the hook, but instead makes me feel like I'm being manipulated.

    I hope the Vlad that Cat knows shows up in the sequel. You know the guy I mean: the one who talked Cat down off a cliff, the one she called when she went with her first "husband" to save Bones, the one who cares about others. If THAT Vlad is the one Leila gets to know, I'll believe they have a future.

    25 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Average

    Nothing to write home about

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    It's funny because I already had a copy of Twice Tempted but did

    It's funny because I already had a copy of Twice Tempted but didn't really remember if I had this. Checked my Kindle and there it was! So I dove in and loved it. Wanted to throttle Vlad though because of his arrogance and his extreme self-confidence. And I felt sorry for Leila because of all that she had suffered because of a freak accident with a fallen power line when she was a little kid. To not be able to touch others for fear of electrocuting them with your very own body, that has to be frightening. And combined with her other gifts, she's just a walking open nerve. Can't wait to read Twice Tempted though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    Fun with Vlad!  This is a fine book. I missed being in Vlad's

    Fun with Vlad! 


    This is a fine book. I missed being in Vlad's head and really would rather have had this as a part of the Night Huntress World series rather
    than its own spin off so the story was complete but this is a personal preference thing. I have a feeling that this series will get better and
     better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    I enjoyed the book I didn't like the ending, I hope the next boo

    I enjoyed the book I didn't like the ending, I hope the next book keeps my attention and has a happier ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I never read Frost's other series so this first book I really li

    I never read Frost's other series so this first book I really liked it. It's not a pulizter prize winner, it is what it is, simple pleasure read. Good plot, good writing and I really liked Vlad's character but I kinda felt like he got a little soft towards too quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book, but was disappointed with the ending.

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Heidi
    One of my favorite vampires from the Night Huntress series by Jeaniene Frost now has his own series!! Once Burned is the first installment of the Night Prince series starring the conceited and hot (literally) Vlad Tepesh, or as I like to call him, the Vladiator:)

    Leila was in a bad accident involving a downed power line when she was thirteen that left her with a few side-effects. She now has electricity flowing through her body and nobody can touch her without getting zapped. She also has psychic abilities. If she touches anybody or anything with her right hand she sees visions from the past, present, and future. Leila makes the best of the hand (no pun intended) that was dealt to her and she now works as a traveling side-show freak with her friend and vampire, Marty.

    But after she stops a husband out for revenge from killing his wife thanks to a vision she saw, everyone now knows her abilities are the real deal since it made the newspapers. The widespread knowledge ends up getting her kidnapped by a group of vampires that are hunting the infamous Dracula aka Vlad.

    But Leila never expected for Vlad to be able to hear her in his head when she linked to him through items her kidnappers gave her. She is able to relay to him where she is all through thoughts and he comes to her rescue, only to rush her off to his castle in Romania.

    Leila and Vlad are on a mission to discover who hired Leila’s kidnappers so that they both can be safe. Leila will never be able to live in peace until the person that wants Vlad is disposed of and Vlad is not about to let someone after him to keep walking the Earth.

    For the most part, I really enjoyed this book. It gave me the same I can’t put this book down feeling I got when I read the first Night Huntress book, Halfway to the Grave. It was a welcome feeling that I haven’t felt while reading a book in some time.

    But I must say that it was a good thing that I already liked Vlad from the times I met him during the Night Huntress novels because he was so cocky that I’m not sure I would have liked him otherwise. If I was Leila I would have avoided him from the moment he declared she’d end up in his bed, no matter hard it was to resist. But by the end of the book I’ve come to enjoy his conceited ways and know that it’s just who he is.

    Also, I like Vlad because he’s not a copy of Bones. I remember reading Frost’s short story, Happily Never After, about Chance. I enjoyed the story, but Chance was so much like Bones that I had to remind myself it was someone else. He would even say some of the same things that Bones says, including calling his love interest ‘luv’ all the time. So I’m happy to see that Vlad is completely his own person and the conflict between him and Bones makes this new series that much more enjoyable.

    Leila was an OK character. I wasn’t too hip on the electric girl hooking up with fire boy because it seemed a little too matchy-matchy where I’m more of an opposites attract kind of girl (if only I could get that Paula Abdul song out of my head now). But in the end the two of them work out pretty well, despite the fact that Vlad won’t admit his feelings even though we all know what they are. And, the sex scenes are smoking hot….heck even that premonition Leila had of Vlad was steamy!

    Review continued at openbooksociety dot com

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Want the real Vlad

    I was somewhat disappointed because I want the Vlad from the Night Huntress series. There is definitely something missing like part of his personality is gone. I also hated the ending. Cliffhanger endings make me feel like the author is afraid you won't get the next book if there isn't a reason to. If the book is good that's the only reason needed. I will probably get the next in the series to see if Ms Frost's terrific writing is back on course but if it is anything like this book it will be the last of this series I will buy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Meh. Not bad but not great either.

    Take a cypher of a "heroine:, a caricature of an alpha "hero", pointless cameos by the leads from other series, plus a cardboard cut-out antagonist, and you've got this story in a nutshell. The secondary characters were actually more interesting than the lead characters, were better fleshed out and had more motivation. The Vlad in this story is a pale image of the Vlad from the Night Huntress books, and Leila was just a spineless smart-mouth. Given the lack of chemistry between these two, I totally bought the "happy-for-now" premise, which is usually difficult for me to swallow. They have to continue to be a couple, so that Vlad will be saved from man-slut territory, but there really wasn't much spark between them. The seeming cliff-hanger in the epilogue just made the novel seem unfinished to me. Maybe I'll get the second one and maybe I won't, I certainly don't feel compelled to find out what happens next for these two. Jeaniene Frost has done better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2