Customer Reviews for

Once Burned (Night Prince Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 461 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(294)

4 Star

(121)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

INCREDIBLE BEGINNING TO THE NIGHT PRINCE SPINOFF Our Review by

INCREDIBLE BEGINNING TO THE NIGHT PRINCE SPINOFF

Our Review by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:

I've been a Jeaniene Frost, Night Huntress fan since day #1. I love Cat & Bones, and have a soft spot for Spade, but I have been in love with Vlad s...
INCREDIBLE BEGINNING TO THE NIGHT PRINCE SPINOFF

Our Review by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:

I've been a Jeaniene Frost, Night Huntress fan since day #1. I love Cat & Bones, and have a soft spot for Spade, but I have been in love with Vlad since he was first introduced in the series and would anxiously await any parts in the novels where he would be called in for one reason or another. That all being said, I was anxiously awaiting this book and actually feared I may have been expecting too much since I was so excited for it. I needn't have feared, Jeaniene delivered and then some!

Once Burned gives us Vlad (THE man that ALL of the Dracula myths were based upon) in all his sexy, cocky, powerful, undead glory, and introduces a loveable, relate-able heroine and some villains that you will absolutely love to hate.

Leila is human, but with some 'extras'. She is able to conduct electricity through her body, and is psychometric. In attempting to deal with her 'additions', she's sequestered herself in a small town with a family of traveling carnies and is working as a trapeze artist. After being snatched up by some bad guys, she's thrown into a world that she knew existed, but never thought to be immersed in, and finds herself directly linked to a powerful vampire who's apparently #1 on everyone's hit list.

Vlad, having his mind reading abilities in addition to his pyromania, realizes when he's being spied upon psychically by Leila. The 2 are inevitably thrown together to sort out the wicked plot that is not only jeopardizing Vlad and Leila's lives, but that of their friends as well.

Leila is a great strong heroine and in my personal opinion, a wonderful match for Vlad. The two together are dynamic and explosive and the best part is that Leila's no damsel in distress. She's definitely her own woman, and while Vlad doesn't change for her either (thank goodness - he remains the same arrogant, sarcastic, sometimes merciless but never without a reason Vlad we've come to know and love), he accepts her feisty side and even encourages it.

Take these two utterly fantastic leading characters and throw them into the Night Huntress world that never fails to amaze with an action packed storyline full of intrigue, danger, twists, turns, and surprises around most corners, etc and you end up with one incredible read!

The first installment of the Night Prince series spin-off was an amazing addition to the Night Huntress World.

My only complaint was the abrupt ending because dang it... I want the next book NOW!

LITERAL ADDICTION gives Once Burned 5 Skulls and is eagerly anticipating the next book in the series.

posted by LITERALADDICTION_MLO on June 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Good, not great

I wanted to adore this book. But until we see more about what drives Lad to act the way he does and less of him acting kind one minute and ruthless the next... it's hard to buy the attraction between him and Leila as anything more than lust.

I found Vlad to be a muc...
I wanted to adore this book. But until we see more about what drives Lad to act the way he does and less of him acting kind one minute and ruthless the next... it's hard to buy the attraction between him and Leila as anything more than lust.

I found Vlad to be a much more sympathetic character in his scenes with Cat (in the Night Huntress books) than any scenes here. Here, he's hot and dangerous and a very bad boy... and while he does some kind things, it always seems like there is an ulterior motive. Even Leila sees this and while she is attracted to him, there is no future for her with him unless he finds his heart.

I also don't like to be left hanging like the end of this book has me doing. I'll buy the next book in a series if the writing is solid and the experience of reading it is enjoyable. Cliffhanger endings lower my enjoyment and irritate the heck out of me. That doesn't help set the hook, but instead makes me feel like I'm being manipulated.

I hope the Vlad that Cat knows shows up in the sequel. You know the guy I mean: the one who talked Cat down off a cliff, the one she called when she went with her first "husband" to save Bones, the one who cares about others. If THAT Vlad is the one Leila gets to know, I'll believe they have a future.

posted by kawherp on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 294 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    INCREDIBLE BEGINNING TO THE NIGHT PRINCE SPINOFF Our Review by

    INCREDIBLE BEGINNING TO THE NIGHT PRINCE SPINOFF

    Our Review by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:

    I've been a Jeaniene Frost, Night Huntress fan since day #1. I love Cat & Bones, and have a soft spot for Spade, but I have been in love with Vlad since he was first introduced in the series and would anxiously await any parts in the novels where he would be called in for one reason or another. That all being said, I was anxiously awaiting this book and actually feared I may have been expecting too much since I was so excited for it. I needn't have feared, Jeaniene delivered and then some!

    Once Burned gives us Vlad (THE man that ALL of the Dracula myths were based upon) in all his sexy, cocky, powerful, undead glory, and introduces a loveable, relate-able heroine and some villains that you will absolutely love to hate.

    Leila is human, but with some 'extras'. She is able to conduct electricity through her body, and is psychometric. In attempting to deal with her 'additions', she's sequestered herself in a small town with a family of traveling carnies and is working as a trapeze artist. After being snatched up by some bad guys, she's thrown into a world that she knew existed, but never thought to be immersed in, and finds herself directly linked to a powerful vampire who's apparently #1 on everyone's hit list.

    Vlad, having his mind reading abilities in addition to his pyromania, realizes when he's being spied upon psychically by Leila. The 2 are inevitably thrown together to sort out the wicked plot that is not only jeopardizing Vlad and Leila's lives, but that of their friends as well.

    Leila is a great strong heroine and in my personal opinion, a wonderful match for Vlad. The two together are dynamic and explosive and the best part is that Leila's no damsel in distress. She's definitely her own woman, and while Vlad doesn't change for her either (thank goodness - he remains the same arrogant, sarcastic, sometimes merciless but never without a reason Vlad we've come to know and love), he accepts her feisty side and even encourages it.

    Take these two utterly fantastic leading characters and throw them into the Night Huntress world that never fails to amaze with an action packed storyline full of intrigue, danger, twists, turns, and surprises around most corners, etc and you end up with one incredible read!

    The first installment of the Night Prince series spin-off was an amazing addition to the Night Huntress World.

    My only complaint was the abrupt ending because dang it... I want the next book NOW!

    LITERAL ADDICTION gives Once Burned 5 Skulls and is eagerly anticipating the next book in the series.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book. I loved the characters. Now I have to wait anot

    Very good book. I loved the characters. Now I have to wait another year for the next book to come out :(

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Da rn you Ms. Frost! I am now in love yet again with another fic

    Da rn you Ms. Frost! I am now in love yet again with another fictional character.
    I don't know whether to say I hate or love you. You have me confused on which hero I love more, Vlad or Bones.
    My gosh, I mean after falling for Bones since NH and ch32, now in love with Vlad. Oh hell! The more the merrier so, I will say I love and thank you for giving me another hero to daydream over.
    This "egotistical Romanian prick" is possibly even a better and hotter than Bones. * gasp* did I just say that?? He is everything I expected. Ms. Frost kept to the Vlad's character from the Night Huntress series. He is every bit as ruthless and arrogant. And that damn smile of his will give you butterflies in you stomach. Layla was great as well. Though she hid herself to the world she still had enough confidence to put Vlad in his place. Her acceptance of Vlad's arrogance and his way of life was definitely commending. But then, I would accept him wholeheartedly as well.
    Ms. Frost did a wonderful job with the character build up, as with incorporating romance, action, & smexy scene to the story. A great start to a series we've all been waiting for.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Really great book. Kept me entertained all the way.

    Really great book. Kept me entertained all the way.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Loved it...and im pissed!

    Seriously a GREAT start for a new series, but what gives with leaving us hanging another 9months or more!?! I've been waiting for Vlads' story for awhile now:-( I love that there is going to be more to come but...lets just say patience is not a virtue I possess...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Fabulous book

    I'm one of "those people" the one's who read nothing that isn't about Vampires, so I've pretty much read it all. That being the case, I'm super skeptical of ANYTHING with the words "Dark Prince", "Dracula", "Vlad" in it. This book proved my skepticism completely unnecessary. It was soooo good and doesn't ham up the Dracula factor or blur the history out of proportion too much. I went and bought 2 of Jeaniene Frost's other books because of this one and plan to buy a few more this evening. Phenomenal writer. Good plots. Well written characters. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a sexy vampire story and is sick and tired of the same old same old.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    297 pgs. Finally! Vlads story.

    This has everything in a book I love. Humor, romance, and suspense. I always read this author's books in one sitting. I stay up all night, can't put the book down, and mess up my sleep schedule. Thanks alot!......no I mean it. Keep writing JF.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Best book

    Couldn't stop reading even for a minute

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Enthralled

    This book was wonderful. I can't wait to read the next one I this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Please make the movie out of this story please

    Great book they should really consider making a movie out of this one. It has all the elements needed to make one hell of memorable movie. I wish someone would do it. It's really is time for a new Dracula to come back drawing our generation. Yes, if you like Vampirs, don't miss this one. Book pages 297 or 295. Good read :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Y

    I love this author, and i think she did great with this spin off seires, if you enjoyed her other seires w cat and bones, your of course gonna love this one but, i think u should read cats series first so you can get a little back ground info and, a feel for the characters.. of course u dont have to read them first, because this is its own story line.. but it for sure be worth it, because they kick butt!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    I love your books

    I need more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Loved it

    It was great seeing how a 500 year old vampire reacting to a modern woman. Watching the sparks fly and the chemistry between these two was awesome. The book gripped me and would not let go until the end. Could not wait for the second in the series. Reading the interaction between these two was like being there and experiencing it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Love a tragic hero...

    A scarred and yet protective hero. I love reading about the tortured souls who find love. My ideal happy ending! Keep em coming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    This the first time I have read anything by Jeaniene Frost It WI

    This the first time I have read anything by Jeaniene Frost It WILL NOT BE MY LAST. Once burned kept me on the edge of my seat. I fell in love with the characters - cannot wait for the second book in this series.. In the meantime I am starting the Night Huntress series cannot wait to start and hope it holds my attention as well as Once Burned. Love they way Ms. Frost makes you crave what is coming next. Thank you - you are truly amazing..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Good Read

    Couldnt put this book down! Can't wait for the next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Best series from J. Frost

    Best book in my view. I'm also a dracula fan but really liked the few interactions between he, Cat, and Bones. Reading the other books really helped with understanding him as a character. I can't wait for this series to develop! This Vlad tale is much more to my liking than the Cat series, possibly because of Bones' previous life always rearing it's ugly head. We don't get to see real men who would do anything to protect their own anymore. Maybe that is what others have misunderstood with this character. I've re-read it twice and love every word! Still a C&B fan but this series is my favorite.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    This is a great book! I can't tell you how much you need to read

    This is a great book! I can't tell you how much you need to read this one. I LOVE Cat and Bones and this new book im just as happy with and I can't wait for more!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    OMG! I loved ONCE BURNED! The storyline was unique, dialogue wit

    OMG! I loved ONCE BURNED! The storyline was unique, dialogue witty and filled with humor, and the characters were well developed with flaws and strengths that drew me right into their story. Leila is such an amazing character who has made mistakes in her life and has many challenges to overcome. But instead of hiding from them, she’s willing to face them head-on. I adore her friendship with her little vampire partner, Marty.

    Vlad is the original Count Dracula. He’s difficult, arrogant, deadly, arrogant, cruel, and did I mention, arrogant? He’s also passionate, extremely loyal, kind, territorial, considerate, and charming. Yes, he’s a complex person who intrigues me.
    I flew through this book, sacrificing sleep and laundry! The ending left me wanting, wanting to read the next book. If the first book is any indication of what’s to come, I’m all in!

    Focused. Strong. True.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    Love

    Love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 294 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15