Customer Reviews for

Once Tempted (Silver Creek Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved Once Tempted by Laura Moore. After leaving New York for

    I loved Once Tempted by Laura Moore. After leaving New York for California, following the death of her estranged husband, Tess Casari quickly lands a job as personal assistant to Adele Knowles owner of Silver Creek Ranch. A position that quickly changes to events planner. Ward Knowles is the handsome, sexy eldest son of Adele and Daniel Knowles. He meets Tess when he shuts off her smoking car as she pulls up in front of the main house. Both are unwilling to get involved in any relationships; Ward due to the nasty end to his engagement and Tess is still reeling from the death of her estranged husband. Eventually, they start a no strings attached-sex only affair. All is good until Ward's ex-fiancee, Erica, comes to Silver Creek with her step-sister, Carrie and Carrie's fiance, Brian who just happens to be Ward's best friend. Tess is asked to plan their wedding which is to take place in five months. Erica decides she wants Ward back but does Ward want Erica back? Is he happy with the way things are with him and Tess? All I can say is you must read Once Tempted to find out the answers to these qustions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book started a little slow but picks up rapidly. Once the



    This book started a little slow but picks up rapidly. Once the action moves to California the reader is hooked. The setting is more real than in any of her books since "Night Swimming". Moore really makes you see the beauty and appeal of the ranch. Laura Moore's usual style of two great characters whose hang-ups prevent them from seeing the greatness of the other at first is very appealing, yet frustrating, you want to shake the characters and tell them to wake up already. The first love scene is halfway thru the book but the sexual tension leading up to it is killer. Too often the sex scenes start to take over a story line (OMG, I'm getting old) but here they add to the story. The heroine is vulnerable and strong at the same time which is a hard combo to make believable and the hero is just plain sexy. I really look forward to reading Reid and Quinn's stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Great

    Loved the story. Could not put book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Enjoyed

    I really enjoyed the character developement in this story. The story went along at a very good pace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    ~Welcome to MacLuna Pack! Camp next result!~

    -Comet & Moira

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    By: Laura Moore Published By: Ballantine Books Age Recommended:

    By: Laura Moore
    Published By: Ballantine Books
    Age Recommended: Adult
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Rating: 4
    Book Blog For: GMTA
    Series: Silver Creek #1
    Review:

    "Once Tempted" by Laura Moore a good read of a contemporary western romance with a cowboy that was some interesting read. The story is of Tess Cesari who had just found out that her husband that she thought she knew wasn't the man he seemed to be. After being separated she was contacted by his parents that is dying from cancer and offered her money she stayed by is bedside until the end. She does, collects her money and then she was told to leave and she does. Tess leaves New York and goes to a small town in California.

    After travelling over 3,000 miles she end up at the Silver Creek Ranch where she meets Ward Knowles and then the story really takes off and this is where I say you must pick up this good read to see what all is in store for Tess as she began working as a assistant(running the ranch's spa and resort) to Ward's mother, Adele. However, were things heating up somewhat between Ward and Tess? With both of these two having trust issues, how will this all play out? Will Tess be able to began a new life again after the death of her estranged husband's? What will come of it all when Ward's ex fiancee comes to the spa? Get ready or more drama with so much emotional baggage and trust issues that will only leave you saying omg!


    If you are looking for a good western romance that is full of entertainment, you have come to the right place for "Once Tempted" will give it all to you. Would I recommend? YES!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Laura Moore┬┐s new Silver Creek series starts off on the right fo

    Laura Moore’s new Silver Creek series starts off on the right foot. Once Tempted is a sweet and tender romance that will pull you in and won’t let go. A cast of lively characters with witty dialogue will leave you eagerly awaiting the next book in the series.

    Tess Castelli’s estranged husband has recently passed away and she feels the need to get away for a while. Her friend Anna comes up with a plan to help Tess find just the right destination. With a map and a blind fold, Tess points her finger and it lands on Acacia, California. Tess then decides to pack up and head for Acacia.

    Once she reaches Acacia, Tess starts looking for a job. She is pointed in the direction of the Silver Creek ranch. When she arrives at the ranch, her car is on it’s last leg. It is spitting and sputtering and blowing out black smoke. To Tess’ chagrin a man walks up to the car and puts his hand in the window and shuts the car off. The infuriating man turns out to be the ranch owners son Ward. To say the least, Tess and Ward are off to a rocky start.

    Luckily for Tess, Wards mother Adell Knowles, is looking for an assistant and she hires Tess on. At first Tess has a hard time with ranch life. She has always lived in the city and has never really been around animals. Ward is only too happy to show Tess what living on a ranch can be like. There are sparks between the two from the beginning, but they are both afraid of trying a relationship again.

    They both agree on a friends-with-benefits type of relationship and at first it seems like all is going well for the couple. But as time goes on, it is apparent that the two have feelings for one another. Just when things start to look sunny for the couple, Ward’s ex-fiancée steps into the picture and decides that she wants Ward back. Will Ward and Tess’ love for one another be strong enough to combat a woman on a mission to win back her ex-lover?

    Ward is a sexy, seductive, brooding cowboy. He is just what Tess needs in her life. He is compassionate and insightful. His love for Tess is apparent in all that he does for her. He and Tess have sexual chemistry that sizzles and sparkles.

    Tess is a firecracker waiting to go off. She is brave beyond compare. I don’t know many people who would drive cross-country all alone to start over. Tess deserves the love of a good man and Ward certainly fit’s the bill.

    If your looking for a deeply satisfying love story that is hard to put down, look no further than Once Tempted. Laura Moore writes an unforgettable tale that will keep you entertained throughout. You will be left with a smile on your face!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    I liked the book

    Book one of the Silver Creek Series was also about a ranch. Where her Rosewood series is centered around a Virginia Horse Ranch, Silver Creek is a California working Dude ranch.
    Book one, is Ward's and Tess's Story. Both are damaged from previous relationships. And their road to each other is rocky, due to interference from those previous relationships.

    I liked the book. It was very similar to her first series. I will read book too and three to see what happens to Ward's siblings

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    This is the first book that I have read by Laura Moore and I hav

    This is the first book that I have read by Laura Moore and I have to say that I will be following this series. Very well written and a wonderful story. Laura has became another one of my favorite authors. On the Nook it is 326 pages and worth every penny spent on it. Thanks for a great read and I will be looking forward to the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Awesome

    I loved this authors Rosewood series with three sisters, so I was excited when I just randomly found this the other day...I loved it and can't wait for the rest of this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    Great Book....Loved the animals and the nature....

    Great Book....Loved the animals and the nature....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Sexy & loved the storyline~~

    This book gives in to all emotions! I laughed, cried, hated, loved, admired as well as feeling complete anger and jealousy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5/5 stars I always enjoy a good Western Romance and this on

    3.5/5 stars



    I always enjoy a good Western Romance and this one didn’t disappoint. Tess is trying to move on with life after her estranged husband dies from a brain tumor. With the help of her friend Anna, she decides to blindfold and spin Tess around then Tess has to place her finger on the map and wherever her finger is she’ll move there. The whole spontaneous of spinning and wherever your finger lands that will be her next home. I loved this idea though I would never be brave enough to do something like that myself. When Tess arrives at a small town there are no jobs available but is guided to the ranch Silver Creek. Just as she pulling in to the ranch her car breaks down and a very sex man helps her in his own way which she thinks he’s rude and has no manners. Let’s just say Ward and Tess had a rocky start of things. As time goes on they decide to have a relationship no strings no expectations. Then throw in a conniving ex fiancée who wants Ward back and horrible in-laws and you got yourself a nice roundup. I know that was cheesy I just had to add it. There were times the author went a little over board with the whole ranching aspects of the story describing in detail things that I didn’t want to know or picture. The birthing of the lambs were not my cup of tea. Overall I liked the story from beginning to the end and with hope that the next book in this series doesn't take to long for its release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Unputadownable

    ABOUT THE BOOK:
    Oldest son Ward Knowles feels the sprawling California ranch in his blood. And now that the family business has expanded to include a popular resort, he’s working harder than ever. Silver Creek is his legacy and his life, which is fine for the ruggedly sexy ladies’ man and committed bachelor. Love and trust don’t come easily for Ward since he lost his heart to a gold digger—until he meets a shy, unpretentious beauty whose sweet grace is about to turn his jaded heart into a hungry one.

    Tess Casari has found sanctuary at Silver Creek, working as an assistant to Ward’s mother, Adele. Grateful for her busy new life running the ranch’s spa and resort, Tess can escape the heartbreak, humiliation, and secret shame of her failed marriage. The last thing she needs is temptation—especially from a man who reminds her so much of the husband who shattered her faith in love. But passion and destiny are about to change the rules for two people who have stopped believing in the healing power of love.

    Review:
    This book was unputadownable. Filled with angst, drama, and comedy, I couldn’t wait to find out what happened next. The heroine Tess, was spunky, tough, and had just enough insight to pick up on things before they happened. Poor thing had her heart broken and I really felt for her. While, at the end, I felt like screaming at her, the entire thing was very nicely played out. Laura Moor has definitely been added to my stalking list. Five out of five stars for a job well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    ***This book was provided by Edelweiss in exchange for an honest

    ***This book was provided by Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.***




    THIS REVIEW INCLUDES SPOILERS




    Just a warning...this review may contain lots of gushing.




    Judging this book by its cover: 
    Holy hotness, Batman.




    Plot/Execution:
    I absolutely loved the plot of this book! It was pretty much a 'scorned woman leaves everything she knows to start over from scratch' story. In this case, it's Tess, and she's left New York City and chosen a random little town in California to begin her new life. She ends up on a ranch, which she knows nothing about. Except that the owner's son, Ward, is hot as hell.




    I thought the pacing of this story was perfect. The characters didn't meet and fall into bed two and a half pages later. I felt like there was a nice build to their relationship. They both were scarred from their pasts, but neither of them were bitter about it. I really liked that aspect of the story, as sometimes I feel as though main characters hold onto things for too long. Tess was a bit skittish, but I feel like she really grew as a character during the story.




    It was a fun to see Tess learning about ranch life and the way Ward coaxed her into trying new things.




    I loved that though Ward wasn't too keen on having a serious relationship again, as soon as he realized how special Tess was to him, he let it go and wanted to be with her. I don't typically like a 'jealous ex-' in a story, but I really think it worked here. I think it gave more depth to Ward's character and helped you see just how much he cared for Tess.




    Also--I love, love, love when one of the characters is from away, and near the end of the story, they return home heartbroken. Mainly because I love it when the other party shows up and declares their love! The scene in this one was set up nicely, and I really love that Ward asked her parents permission before he proposed to Tess.




    I also appreciated the accuracy with which the author portrayed a character with autism. I think a great deal of research went into that aspect of the story. 




    Characters:
    As I said before, I really liked the characters in this story. It was easy to relate to Tess, as I think, at some point, we all beat ourselves up for our past mistakes, and I loved Ward's easygoing nature and how he was so patient with Tess. He never pushed her to reveal more about herself than she wanted to.




    I loved this book and would definitely recommend it if you love cowboy stories or stories about someone starting over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Tess Casari wants to get as far away from her humiliation of her

    Tess Casari wants to get as far away from her humiliation of her failed marriage, she’s looking for a fresh start. She packs up her car, drives 3000 miles and lands in Silver Creek California. She gets a job as the assistant to a ranch/resort owner Adele Knowles. Sworn never to trust her heart on a man again, Tess can’t understand why Adele’s oldest son Ward seems to push all her buttons and gets her heart racing.

    Ward Knowles loves his life on the ranch and he loves his family. He is a hard worker and completely committed to his families legacy, the ranch. He recently had his heart broken by a woman, Erica, who was just after his money and prestige of his family’s real estate. Trust does not come easy for Ward but when he meets the shy but sassy, Tess, an undeniable attraction ignites between them.

    Can Ward and Tess put their pasts behind them and face the future they might find in each other or will their past stand in their way.

    Once Tempted is a wonderfully romantic and heart wrenching story about lost love and learning to trust again. This was a fantastic story, I loved the strong family and friendship bonds that Laura Moore created. Ward’s and Tess’s character development was fascinating to watch but the sub-characters were equally engaging and I look forward to seeing their stories as well. Once Tempted was a great romance that will touch your heart.

    This ARC copy of Once Tempted: A Silver Creek Novel was given to me by Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine Books in exchange for a honest review. Publish Date March 26, 2013.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2