Customer Reviews for

Once Upon a Day: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 24, 2009

    A great novel!!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book!! Once I started I was so wrapped in the characters, I couldn't put the book down! It was beautifully written and an easy read. I actually felt the pain and joy of the characters. This is the first book by this author I have read, but I will definitely be trying her other novels! Great read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    I found this book enthralling and captivating. I just wanted to keep reading to find out what would happen. The characters are interesting and make you want to know them more and more. Overall I would suggest this book to any avid reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Nobody

    This book was great! Some part were so emotional though it gets hard to read. Overall one awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read!

    I bought this book originally because I was looking for some new authors, and boy did I find one! In the begining, the characters appear very strange and out of place. As the story moves on, you discover that not everything is as it appears. I found that some of the characters I had a love/hate relationship with by the end of the book. As a mother, I can relate to the father's need to do whatever needed to be done to protect his children, although extreme. I loved this book from begining to end and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a fresh read. I loved this book so much I went and bought other books by the same author, and I have not been let down yet! A very talented author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    So Worth Reading

    Everything about this book delivers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Touching, sweet and romantic, all stemming from tragedy.

    This book is very engaging and enjoyable to read. There is one section that I have gone back to read several times because it is so romantic and touching. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys romance and finding love in the unexpected situation. This is one that I will probably read atleast once a year. I wish there was a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    I loved this book through and through, from the unique writing style to the unique characters. I highly recommend you give it a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    Great book

    I enjoyed it also. I read it quite awhile ago. A little bit deep, a little bit mysterious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    Heartwarming - A Truly Lovely Story

    Like the other reviewer, I was also surprised this book had no other reviews. I looked it up to find more of what this author has written; fully expecting a ton of five***** reviews on this book. I don't know what led me to pick it up - but boy am I so glad I did! The story is lovely, I could hardly put the book down. It's rather long but NEVER boring! The characters are likeable & believeable. Simply a story you must read, I recommend to all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2008

    Very Good

    I was suprised to see that there were no reviews on this yet. This caught my eye at the book store and I thought it was great. It kept me interested thru the whole story. A good read..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was a great read all the way through. I found it surprisingly original in its story and the characters were great. It had the right amount of so many emotions and gave a lot to think about. Overall a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    Fall in Love with the Characters

    I simply adored Once Upon A Day, I couldn't put it down, the author doesn't only make you hate Charles (the father/husband/dirctor) but come to love and sympathize with him. It's riveting from suspense to romance, to humor to profundity. I recommend this for everyone needing a little hope and happiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    what a difference a day makes

    While one must be a mite credulous to accept all of the coincidences that fate provides in Lisa Tucker¿s third novel, the story is an apt reminder of life¿s infinite possibilities and the verity that healing can take place. Some may also find a bit of carpe diem in it as the plot is propelled by what can occur in a single day. As she always does, narrator Joyce Bean gives a clear, precise reading of this story of people who have been touched by tragedy. Dorothea is one of the most sympathetic characters. Her wealthy father, Charles O¿Brien, has sought to protect her from every danger. Thus, he took Dorothea and her brother, Jimmy, to live in a remote New Mexico town. It wasn¿t exactly camping out as their home was a 35 acre estate, sans television, newspapers, or any contact with the world. Brother and sister know little of their mother as Charles told them nothing. One day Jimmy disappears, evidently seeking information about his mother. Dorothea goes in search of him, which is her first venture into the world. She makes an odd appearance, dressed in 1950s clothes and appearing to be at a loss as to how to handle modern conveniences. She finds a ride from the bus station in a cab driven by a former doctor, Stephen Spaulding, who has retreated from his known life following the tragic deaths of his wife and child. It doesn¿t take much to know that these two disenfranchised people will help each other in many ways. But, what of Jimmy and the mother he and Dorothea never knew? - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2