Customer Reviews for

Once Upon a Marigold

Average Rating 4.5
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Ha ha

This book is so funny and entertaining! Its a cool and fun fantasy twist and involves many interesting characters. I especially loved all of Ed's messed-up sayings.

posted by 3230911 on November 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

okay.

I thought that this book was an okay read, kind of like a rainy day book. It was cute, sweet, with just a little bit of humor, but it just wasn't the right book for me. It's about seventeen year old Christian, who runs away from his family at six years old because he 'd...
I thought that this book was an okay read, kind of like a rainy day book. It was cute, sweet, with just a little bit of humor, but it just wasn't the right book for me. It's about seventeen year old Christian, who runs away from his family at six years old because he 'doesn't want to live with them anymore because there's too many rules'. He's found by a troll living in a cave, Ed, who raises him. Christian's cave home is across the river from a castle, where he finds the princess Marigold. They become fast friends through mail sent by pidgeons, and when Christian takes a job at the castle he finally meets her and falls in love with her. It's a little bit more complicated, but I don't want to give away the ending for anyone who hasn't read it.

posted by ashleyyyyy on April 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    okay.

    I thought that this book was an okay read, kind of like a rainy day book. It was cute, sweet, with just a little bit of humor, but it just wasn't the right book for me. It's about seventeen year old Christian, who runs away from his family at six years old because he 'doesn't want to live with them anymore because there's too many rules'. He's found by a troll living in a cave, Ed, who raises him. Christian's cave home is across the river from a castle, where he finds the princess Marigold. They become fast friends through mail sent by pidgeons, and when Christian takes a job at the castle he finally meets her and falls in love with her. It's a little bit more complicated, but I don't want to give away the ending for anyone who hasn't read it.

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Ha ha

    This book is so funny and entertaining! Its a cool and fun fantasy twist and involves many interesting characters. I especially loved all of Ed's messed-up sayings.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    O.M.G.!!!

    all i have to say about this book is... O.M.G.!!! it has a bit of romance, suspense, and mystery in this book. i am so impressed with this book. i first picked it up when i was about 8-years-old over the summer... i read it then and loved it!!! since then (about 6 years have passed), i read this book 4 times and i am reading it now (which is my 5th time) i basically read this book whenever i need a romance story and forget what happens in the story when i'm not in the middle of reading another book. when i was 8, i picked up this book and thought it looked kind of weird and didn't understand totally what it is supposed to be about... i was soo wrong! i started reading it and once christian and marigold started their first conversation through writing, i was soo hooked!!! when i first read this book, i finsihed it in less than 1 week! i couldn't believe it and couldn't put it down... even then! i was SO dissapointed when i was reading and looked at the clock when it said 11 pm or later... i wasn't even tired, but knew i had to go to bed then! trust me... if you read this amazing book, you wont regret it!!!

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    :)

    I lovvvved it its really romantic with a twist all in the background. I fell in love with this book and i hope u love it if u get it. It rocks and get twice upon a marigold. Two awesome books!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Love love love it

    I love this book its the best ever!

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Awesome book

    When Marigold healed Christian I was so excited to keep reading on, I was also happy when Olyimpia fell of that deck thing I was so surprised when I found out that Olympia was not their real mother I cant wait to read Twice Upon a Maeigold I love this book I so want to read it again I think that the auther did a great job on swriting the book

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Best Book EVER!!!!

    This is the best book in the whole world! Everyone needs to read it! :D I must admit I'm in love!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this book and it is HILARIOUS!!!!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Once upon a marigold!

    This is an awesome book and one of my favorites!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    Left Hanging

    Can hardly wait until we get to the library to get the sequel to this book.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Great Read

    I recomend this book to anyone who likes a good fairy tale love story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Fairly Amazing

    This book is a new fairy tale with a fairly standard storyline. A boy falls in love with a princess. But don't pay attention to the mushy gushy or the standard. Pay attention instead to the ridiculous humor(p mail, or mail by pigeons) And dont miss the twists and turns, such as a kidnapped king, and a wedding rigged for a certain evil someone to rule. Sprinklings of danger, humor, and everything-but-the-kitchen sink make this a must read. Dont miss books 2 and 3.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    Interesting

    The book was good, it kind of dragged on though. I liked all of it except the troll, fairy etc. part of it, that was juvenile, but it did make the book more interesting.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    So funny

    Favorite book and so funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    I love this

    I read this book and i loved it so much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    A great read!

    I loved the storyline and plot! Caught my attention immediately and I loved it from start to finish!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Lisa to katrina

    So sorry i didnt get bak to u its just that i was busy but now i can checkup any time so ill get bak to u anytime sooner than usual. What i mean is that well... i was soo super busy with everything. But whatever i just will u know respond way faster. So hi im a fifteen yr old grl wbu?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Katrina

    Im 14 and obviously a girl xD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Cmon peeples

    Chat here any time leave messages for me here and ill respond to them when i can.. make your headline 'To Lisa' thankx lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    ;)

    Read this in grade 4. It was

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9