Customer Reviews for

Once Upon a Prince

Average Rating 4
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Once Upon A Prince by Rachel Hauck was one romantic love story I

Once Upon A Prince by Rachel Hauck was one romantic love story I didn't want to put down! Beautifully written, full of culture and history, it was the perfect blend. As with other books I have written by Hauck, I was immersed in the book from the very beginning.

Susan...
Once Upon A Prince by Rachel Hauck was one romantic love story I didn't want to put down! Beautifully written, full of culture and history, it was the perfect blend. As with other books I have written by Hauck, I was immersed in the book from the very beginning.

Susanna, a woman from Georgia thinks she has life figured out, a plan of all plans. Her military man will come home from deployment and after 12 years of being together he would finally propose! Or so, Susanna thought.

Nate Kenneth, in Georgia on holiday from Brighton Kingdom, is visiting his cousin and decides to get out for a bit. Meeting Susanna at Lover's Oak after her breakup was not a coincidence, but truly ordained by God. The two enjoy some time together and learn a bit more about each other, but not everything.

Susanna, a struggling landscape architect hopes to find work in all the right places, yet is looking in all the wrong places. Nate and Susanna's friendship grows when he asks her to fix and landscape his father's garden in Georgia. Suddenly, Nate must go home, and both pine and long for one another 4,000 miles away.

A tale of romance and finding yourself. I truly enjoyed this novel by Rachel Hauck.

posted by Kellie4 on July 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Good story, good writing, distracting spirituality

I enjoyed the story a great deal. While there are some cliche moments, that doesn't detract from the overall story. After all, finding your one true love and Prince Charming is cliche because we all love it. However, I found the incessant focus on God's will to be distr...
I enjoyed the story a great deal. While there are some cliche moments, that doesn't detract from the overall story. After all, finding your one true love and Prince Charming is cliche because we all love it. However, I found the incessant focus on God's will to be distracting. Almost every conversation between the hero and heroine devolved into "is it God's will?" or some similar question. The heroine spends a lot of introspective time dwelling on God's plan for her. It actually became distracting from the story because the instances were periodically unconnected to the surrounding story. While I recognize that this is perfectly in character for a girl of the heroine's upbringing, there would have been smoother ways to include her spirituality and faith. Aside from the clunky inclusion of an excess of those moments, the story itself develops nicely.

posted by romantikheart on August 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Good story, good writing, distracting spirituality

    I enjoyed the story a great deal. While there are some cliche moments, that doesn't detract from the overall story. After all, finding your one true love and Prince Charming is cliche because we all love it. However, I found the incessant focus on God's will to be distracting. Almost every conversation between the hero and heroine devolved into "is it God's will?" or some similar question. The heroine spends a lot of introspective time dwelling on God's plan for her. It actually became distracting from the story because the instances were periodically unconnected to the surrounding story. While I recognize that this is perfectly in character for a girl of the heroine's upbringing, there would have been smoother ways to include her spirituality and faith. Aside from the clunky inclusion of an excess of those moments, the story itself develops nicely.

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Unfortunately, I didn't realize this was a Christian book. Whic

    Unfortunately, I didn't realize this was a Christian book. Which wouldn't have been a problem, had I realized. But going in to it blind, I was very distracted by all of the prayer and such going on. A better description is in order.

    12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    Once Upon A Prince by Rachel Hauck was one romantic love story I

    Once Upon A Prince by Rachel Hauck was one romantic love story I didn't want to put down! Beautifully written, full of culture and history, it was the perfect blend. As with other books I have written by Hauck, I was immersed in the book from the very beginning.

    Susanna, a woman from Georgia thinks she has life figured out, a plan of all plans. Her military man will come home from deployment and after 12 years of being together he would finally propose! Or so, Susanna thought.

    Nate Kenneth, in Georgia on holiday from Brighton Kingdom, is visiting his cousin and decides to get out for a bit. Meeting Susanna at Lover's Oak after her breakup was not a coincidence, but truly ordained by God. The two enjoy some time together and learn a bit more about each other, but not everything.

    Susanna, a struggling landscape architect hopes to find work in all the right places, yet is looking in all the wrong places. Nate and Susanna's friendship grows when he asks her to fix and landscape his father's garden in Georgia. Suddenly, Nate must go home, and both pine and long for one another 4,000 miles away.

    A tale of romance and finding yourself. I truly enjoyed this novel by Rachel Hauck.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    Every Girl's DreamWhat girl does not dream of meeting the Prince

    Every Girl's DreamWhat girl does not dream of meeting the Prince at some point in her life? In this book the dream comes true. I read this book while traveling with my husband/my prince as we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. It was just the right book at the right time. Deep Sigh!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Almost the entire time I was reading this book, I thought about

    Almost the entire time I was reading this book, I thought about how it reminded me of the Julie Stiles movie The Prince & Me - but was much better.

    Susanna has waited 12 years, including through military deployments, for Adam to ask her to marry him. Just when she thinks the proposal has finally come, Adam tells her he had found "the right girl but not the right ring." Meanwhile, Nate Stratton is coming to terms with the idea of being king of Brighton and dealing with an entail that could force him to marry a woman he doesn't love. Susanna and Nate meet - cue the romance.

    I liked that the author made me feel as if Brighton is a country that truly exists. I actually thought a few times I might need to check a map just to make sure it isn't. Also, she doesn't make the story feel like a fairy tale or have the characters feel superficial. I felt as if I was watching the story unfold like a fly on a wall.

    I didn't quite understand the inclusion of the eccentric character Aurora, a woman who once was a DC lobbyist and now lives in a tent on St. Simons Island, Georgia, where Susanna and her family live.

    Overall, this was an enjoyable story, and I look forward to reading future books in the series.



    Note: I received a review copy of this book from the publisher, Zondervan.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    A real favorite!

    I never heard of this author before, but this book has the most appealing male character I have ever read about. It's a "clean" romance with great characters; some quirky, and an unexpected, but satisfying ending.

    Neat locations and "real" dialogue.

    Highly recommended!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Plot spoilers

    Entirely too many plot spoilets here for this book. Nearly every review is a plot spoiler, many giving away the ending, all bragging how they got their book for free for their "honest" review. Which is not an honest review at all. It is a bought review. And before some smart aleck says dont read the long reviews i dont. But when you have to scroll past yards and yards of reviews you inevitably see something that ruins the storyline for you. It is rude and inconsiderate of other readers for these plot spoilers to consistantly ruin these books for other readers. They may get their books for free, but we have to pay for ours and when they ruin the book, it makes it difficult to pay for a book when you already know whats going to happen. Please bn, ban these plot spoilers.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Well I think we all know why I picked this up.  The cover is jus

    Well I think we all know why I picked this up.  The cover is just so pretty!  I couldn't help it,  I can't resist books with pretty gowns on them.  Unfortunately, this has led to some bad book decisions, where the book turn out to have shoddy writing riddled with errors, or is much less classy than the cover suggests it should be.  (Seriously, I don't care if you're going to try to write a trashy book, but don't try to trick the lovers of classy and beautiful things into reading it)  Anyways, fortunately for me, this book was neither shoddily written nor lacking in class.  This is the kind of book that you pause before reading, just to feel the thrill of anticipation you get going into a weekend, or at the top of a roller coaster, or at the beginning of a good book.  It's nice to read something lighthearted and fun that isn't dirty, and I think summer is the perfect time for fluffy chick lit like this.
    Everything in Susanna Truitt's life is going according to plan.  She has a job she's pretty happy with at a local landscape architecture company, and is engaged to a great man who's serving in the marines.  So what that they've been dating for twelve years, and he's never proposed, or that she'd originally wanted to design grand and famous gardens before her long-time fiance talked her back down to reality?  She's comfortable in the life she's living, and she doesn't need any of the happily-ever-nonsense the stories are always talking about.  So when her fiance takes her on a romantic beach walk only to tell her that he can't marry her, her world is turned on it's head.  It's just her luck that while she's driving away from the scene, struggling to wrap her mind around around what just happened and pick up the shattered pieces of her well planned out future, her car breaks down.  She tries to shoo off a helpful stranger who sees her on the side of the road, and in spite of her protestations, insists on coming to her aid.  The man who, unbeknownst to her is actually Prince Nathaniel of Brighton, finds Susanna's easy going manner and strength refreshing, and the two strike up a friendship.  Although Nate finds himself wishing that they could be more than friends, he knows that as the Crown Prince of Brighton he cannot marry a foreigner, even if she could let go of her plans and go off with a complete stranger.
    I enjoyed this book.  I felt that there was chemistry between the two main characters and I liked how they helped each other through their problems and supported each other.  I would have liked to get a little more character development from the story, as opposed to plot development, but overall I did like the story, and found it fairly immersive and cute.  It may just be the beach read some of you are looking for!
    ** I was provided a free reviewers copy of this book from Booksneeze.  I was not paid to write a positive review.  The opinions expressed in this review are my own.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings  An ordinary So

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

     An ordinary Southern gal from Georgia has been waiting for the guy in her life to propose for many years - 12 to be exact and instead he breaks up with her!  After the break up she keeps running into this guy in town and he seems nice, but he is only visiting.  

    What great characters!  I fell in love with the hope of this sweet couple immediately and loved seeing the ups and downs of the beginning of their relationship.  Although there was definitely a prince involved, the arch of their relationship felt real, but what girl doesn't love reading about a commoner falling in love with a prince!  I loved how Prince William and Kate Middleton make an appearance, just another thing that made it feel more real!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    3.5 stars I've read a couple books co-authored by Rachel Hauck

    3.5 stars

    I've read a couple books co-authored by Rachel Hauck that I really enjoyed and I love modern-day fairy tales, so when I saw this book up on NetGalley I immediately requested it. What I have liked about the other books that I've read of hers is that the characters' situations aren't perfect, in fact they feel rather authentic. It's this authenticity that I enjoy. Her characters have to figure out what to do in their less-than-favorable situations or lives.

    In Once Upon a Prince the characters both have very different backgrounds and situations, but both are at a point where the decisions they make, whatever they may be, will basically decide which direction their lives will take. You have a prince whose father is very ill and will soon be king. By law he is required to marry of a specific royal line and this would mean being in a loveless marriage. Then you have Susanna who has just found out that the plans she has been counting on for more than a decade have fallen through. There isn't an easy fix to their situations, for either of them. They both have to struggle through and rely on God to figure out what to do.

    The religious aspect of this story was interesting. I didn't mind most of it, but there were a few parts that were a little too much for me, especially with Susanna's friend who would come out of nowhere with cryptic messages. I did like how both MC's felt they could just ask God for help.

    I really liked Susanna and Prince Nathaniel. I thought they were great characters and consistent. They also were surrounded by some fun family and friends that all contributed to the story. I also liked that there was instant attraction between the two of them, but they develop a strong friendship before anything else.

    The story was, overall, really sweet and fun, with a great happily-ever-after ending. I knew it was going to end well, but there were some twists along the way. I would recommend this to those of you who enjoy reading Christian Romance or who enjoy clean romance and don't mind the religious aspect.

    Content: Clean
    Source: NetGalley, which did not influence my review in any way.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Fun read! Highly recommend.

    Loved this book and Rachel Hauck's others. Captivating and fun reads.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    A great summer read!

    Although it was predictable, I loved this book. I knew what would probably happen, but I wanted to keep reading anyway. A wonderful love story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Loved

    Awesome story

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    A Royal Romance with a Christian Twist

    I'm not a big romance novel reader. But once in a while, I pick one up for kicks. Once Upon a Prince looked interesting - what girl doesn't dream about meeting a prince? And I liked the fact that it was written from a Christian perspective.

    I wont go into plot details, because you can read the book summary for those. But I have to be honest - the book reads like a fairytale. I mean, the chances of a normal (albeit beautiful) young woman meeting a prince in Georgia is slim to none. So if you prefer a more realistic romance, this isn't it.

    Otherwise, the author kept the plot moving. And despite myself, I kept reading. Yes, I had a good idea of how the book would end (happily ever after, of course). But she threw in enough conflict to keep me wondering how things would work out.

    Once Upon a Prince is a nice, feel-good book to read while relaxing on the beach. So pick yourself up a copy before you head off on summer vacation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Read this in one day!

    I loved this book and spent all day Sunday reading it! the characters seemed real, Christian but not preachy. the struggle to determine if what they were going thru was man's will or God's will really struck a chord with me--such a basic question that we all ask ourselves. my heart went out to Nate and I applauded his courage to stand alone against what his family and advisors were all trying to make him do. I would have liked more interaction between the two main characters but overall, great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    I received a copy of this book from Book Sneeze in exchange for

    I received a copy of this book from Book Sneeze in exchange for an honest review.




    I really enjoyed this book. It was a cute, light little romance, typical of modern day fairy tales, with Christian overtones. This was the first Christian romance book I've read and I wasn't sure how I would like it. This was also the first romance book that I've read that didn't have a single kiss in it till the end. Really?!




    I've read some pretty raunchy books, and enjoyed them. I was pleasantly surprised to see that I enjoyed this book just as much. That the raunchiness wasn't necessary for the enjoyment.




    However, I will say that there were parts of this book that dragged, but in the end it was nice to see that true love overcomes all. It being a Christian romance, God had a big hand in it. 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    A beautiful romance that breaks down social barriers between Ro

    A beautiful romance that breaks down social barriers between Royals and Commoners. Once Upon A Prince is a lesson in getting out of your comfort zone. Suzanna "Suz" finds out there can be
    "the right ring, but the wrong girl." Does God have a better plan for Suzanna? Sure he does and
    she gets more than she ever expected. I really enjoyed this modern day fairytale.
    I give Once Upon A Prince 4 out of 5 stars.

    I received this book from Net Galley and Zondervan Fiction for my honest review. I was not paid in any way for this review.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Cinderella story in a modern setting, with very real people, c

    A Cinderella story in a modern setting, with very real people, complete with a quirky fairy godmother. A wonderful introdction to the new series by one of my new favorite authors! Must read the novella called March Bride to get the rest of the story--  you won't be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2014

    It was a sweet book that made me so happy. Every time God was br

    It was a sweet book that made me so happy. Every time God was brought up I was so thankful that there are still Christian writers out there. I had to stop and give thanks to him many times. And who does feel at some point that they want to marry a prince? 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    Jilted! And from there the story of  Susanna, flows and ebbs. Ad

    Jilted! And from there the story of  Susanna, flows and ebbs. Adam, who has been in Susanna's life forever has just returned from a tour of Afghanistan. This is the first day she sees him, though he has been home for three days. Instead of the proposal Susanna is expecting, he tells her he loves someone else.
    Rachel Hauck is a fantastic author and uses her unique voice and superb use of words to paint vivid images of the scenes around her characters while making the people realistic, though not perfect.  Walking along a beach, I could almost feel the sand between my feet and smell the ocean while seeing the waves rolling in. A modern day fairy tale, Once Upon a Prince is a story that every girl dreams of, where a simple girl can truly win the love of prince. 
     Faith when plans go awry, Trust that although God's plans are not my plans, things will turn out the way He has planned for me and I can feel His love as well. 




    I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers for the purpose of reviewing it. A positive critique was not required, just an honest one. The opinions are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5