Customer Reviews for

Once Upon a Prince

Average Rating 4
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Once Upon A Prince by Rachel Hauck was one romantic love story I

Once Upon A Prince by Rachel Hauck was one romantic love story I didn't want to put down! Beautifully written, full of culture and history, it was the perfect blend. As with other books I have written by Hauck, I was immersed in the book from the very beginning.

Susan...
Once Upon A Prince by Rachel Hauck was one romantic love story I didn't want to put down! Beautifully written, full of culture and history, it was the perfect blend. As with other books I have written by Hauck, I was immersed in the book from the very beginning.

Susanna, a woman from Georgia thinks she has life figured out, a plan of all plans. Her military man will come home from deployment and after 12 years of being together he would finally propose! Or so, Susanna thought.

Nate Kenneth, in Georgia on holiday from Brighton Kingdom, is visiting his cousin and decides to get out for a bit. Meeting Susanna at Lover's Oak after her breakup was not a coincidence, but truly ordained by God. The two enjoy some time together and learn a bit more about each other, but not everything.

Susanna, a struggling landscape architect hopes to find work in all the right places, yet is looking in all the wrong places. Nate and Susanna's friendship grows when he asks her to fix and landscape his father's garden in Georgia. Suddenly, Nate must go home, and both pine and long for one another 4,000 miles away.

A tale of romance and finding yourself. I truly enjoyed this novel by Rachel Hauck.

posted by Kellie4 on July 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Good story, good writing, distracting spirituality

I enjoyed the story a great deal. While there are some cliche moments, that doesn't detract from the overall story. After all, finding your one true love and Prince Charming is cliche because we all love it. However, I found the incessant focus on God's will to be distr...
I enjoyed the story a great deal. While there are some cliche moments, that doesn't detract from the overall story. After all, finding your one true love and Prince Charming is cliche because we all love it. However, I found the incessant focus on God's will to be distracting. Almost every conversation between the hero and heroine devolved into "is it God's will?" or some similar question. The heroine spends a lot of introspective time dwelling on God's plan for her. It actually became distracting from the story because the instances were periodically unconnected to the surrounding story. While I recognize that this is perfectly in character for a girl of the heroine's upbringing, there would have been smoother ways to include her spirituality and faith. Aside from the clunky inclusion of an excess of those moments, the story itself develops nicely.

posted by romantikheart on August 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Good story, good writing, distracting spirituality

    I enjoyed the story a great deal. While there are some cliche moments, that doesn't detract from the overall story. After all, finding your one true love and Prince Charming is cliche because we all love it. However, I found the incessant focus on God's will to be distracting. Almost every conversation between the hero and heroine devolved into "is it God's will?" or some similar question. The heroine spends a lot of introspective time dwelling on God's plan for her. It actually became distracting from the story because the instances were periodically unconnected to the surrounding story. While I recognize that this is perfectly in character for a girl of the heroine's upbringing, there would have been smoother ways to include her spirituality and faith. Aside from the clunky inclusion of an excess of those moments, the story itself develops nicely.

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Well I think we all know why I picked this up.  The cover is jus

    Well I think we all know why I picked this up.  The cover is just so pretty!  I couldn't help it,  I can't resist books with pretty gowns on them.  Unfortunately, this has led to some bad book decisions, where the book turn out to have shoddy writing riddled with errors, or is much less classy than the cover suggests it should be.  (Seriously, I don't care if you're going to try to write a trashy book, but don't try to trick the lovers of classy and beautiful things into reading it)  Anyways, fortunately for me, this book was neither shoddily written nor lacking in class.  This is the kind of book that you pause before reading, just to feel the thrill of anticipation you get going into a weekend, or at the top of a roller coaster, or at the beginning of a good book.  It's nice to read something lighthearted and fun that isn't dirty, and I think summer is the perfect time for fluffy chick lit like this.
    Everything in Susanna Truitt's life is going according to plan.  She has a job she's pretty happy with at a local landscape architecture company, and is engaged to a great man who's serving in the marines.  So what that they've been dating for twelve years, and he's never proposed, or that she'd originally wanted to design grand and famous gardens before her long-time fiance talked her back down to reality?  She's comfortable in the life she's living, and she doesn't need any of the happily-ever-nonsense the stories are always talking about.  So when her fiance takes her on a romantic beach walk only to tell her that he can't marry her, her world is turned on it's head.  It's just her luck that while she's driving away from the scene, struggling to wrap her mind around around what just happened and pick up the shattered pieces of her well planned out future, her car breaks down.  She tries to shoo off a helpful stranger who sees her on the side of the road, and in spite of her protestations, insists on coming to her aid.  The man who, unbeknownst to her is actually Prince Nathaniel of Brighton, finds Susanna's easy going manner and strength refreshing, and the two strike up a friendship.  Although Nate finds himself wishing that they could be more than friends, he knows that as the Crown Prince of Brighton he cannot marry a foreigner, even if she could let go of her plans and go off with a complete stranger.
    I enjoyed this book.  I felt that there was chemistry between the two main characters and I liked how they helped each other through their problems and supported each other.  I would have liked to get a little more character development from the story, as opposed to plot development, but overall I did like the story, and found it fairly immersive and cute.  It may just be the beach read some of you are looking for!
    ** I was provided a free reviewers copy of this book from Booksneeze.  I was not paid to write a positive review.  The opinions expressed in this review are my own.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    3.5 stars I've read a couple books co-authored by Rachel Hauck

    3.5 stars

    I've read a couple books co-authored by Rachel Hauck that I really enjoyed and I love modern-day fairy tales, so when I saw this book up on NetGalley I immediately requested it. What I have liked about the other books that I've read of hers is that the characters' situations aren't perfect, in fact they feel rather authentic. It's this authenticity that I enjoy. Her characters have to figure out what to do in their less-than-favorable situations or lives.

    In Once Upon a Prince the characters both have very different backgrounds and situations, but both are at a point where the decisions they make, whatever they may be, will basically decide which direction their lives will take. You have a prince whose father is very ill and will soon be king. By law he is required to marry of a specific royal line and this would mean being in a loveless marriage. Then you have Susanna who has just found out that the plans she has been counting on for more than a decade have fallen through. There isn't an easy fix to their situations, for either of them. They both have to struggle through and rely on God to figure out what to do.

    The religious aspect of this story was interesting. I didn't mind most of it, but there were a few parts that were a little too much for me, especially with Susanna's friend who would come out of nowhere with cryptic messages. I did like how both MC's felt they could just ask God for help.

    I really liked Susanna and Prince Nathaniel. I thought they were great characters and consistent. They also were surrounded by some fun family and friends that all contributed to the story. I also liked that there was instant attraction between the two of them, but they develop a strong friendship before anything else.

    The story was, overall, really sweet and fun, with a great happily-ever-after ending. I knew it was going to end well, but there were some twists along the way. I would recommend this to those of you who enjoy reading Christian Romance or who enjoy clean romance and don't mind the religious aspect.

    Content: Clean
    Source: NetGalley, which did not influence my review in any way.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    A Royal Romance with a Christian Twist

    I'm not a big romance novel reader. But once in a while, I pick one up for kicks. Once Upon a Prince looked interesting - what girl doesn't dream about meeting a prince? And I liked the fact that it was written from a Christian perspective.

    I wont go into plot details, because you can read the book summary for those. But I have to be honest - the book reads like a fairytale. I mean, the chances of a normal (albeit beautiful) young woman meeting a prince in Georgia is slim to none. So if you prefer a more realistic romance, this isn't it.

    Otherwise, the author kept the plot moving. And despite myself, I kept reading. Yes, I had a good idea of how the book would end (happily ever after, of course). But she threw in enough conflict to keep me wondering how things would work out.

    Once Upon a Prince is a nice, feel-good book to read while relaxing on the beach. So pick yourself up a copy before you head off on summer vacation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    So so....

    Though seemingly far fetched, the author did fo a good job in explaining how a GA lady meets a prince. That said, I am a devout person but I just felt as though I was repeatedly being hit over the head with the moral/Divine element. It felt too contrived. There is something to be said about subtle and this book was not it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Hott Synopsis: The right ring but the wrong girl? Could she rea

    Hott Synopsis:

    The right ring but the wrong girl?
    Could she really have been broken up with like that? And does everyone have to keep repeating it?

    Twelve years wasted on a plan with no love. Susanna should have known better. She would have if she’d ever needed to look past her plan to the marriage but the relationship was comfortable. Until he found the right ring and realized she wasn’t the right girl. REALLY!

    Yet, there is this nice guy who keeps popping up. A guy who may only be visiting but seems to keep appearing to rescue Susanna. Sort of like a knight in shinning armor – or a prince charming…

    Hott Review:

    Seriously, I think I buy these books for the covers. It’s not that Rachel Hauck is a bad author, quite the contrary, but she’s so much more low-key and emotional than I prefer that I just don’t know why else I’d snatch up every one of her books!

    I loved the characters and the plot just not the slowness of the book.

    More…

    Author: Rachel Hauck
    Source: Zondervan via Netgalley // PLUS $2 Kindle Deal on 10/21/2013
    Grade: B
    Ages: 16+
    Steam: YA
    Setting: St. Simon’s Island, Georgia
    Series: Royal Wedding #1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A cute modern day take on the age old fairy tale. Susanna is a p

    A cute modern day take on the age old fairy tale. Susanna is a planner. However, things don't go according to plan with her long time boyfriend. Instead of proposing, Adam tells her he found the right ring, but wrong girl. Nathaniel is a Prince of Brighton Kingdom. Hie's being pressure to get married in order to help resolve a political situation.
    When Nathaniel comes to Susanna's aide when she has a flat tire, both their lives change. Nathaniel loves her life and family- even helping out at her family's restaurant. However, Susanna has no idea of his royalty. Eventually the truth comes out, but not before they develop feelings for each other. Their religious faith becomes their foundation and bonding.

    Once the truth of who Nathaniel is comes to light, more obstacles come out. Nathaniel and Susanna have decisions to make. Everything comes to a head and a truly romantic ending. 

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1