Customer Reviews for

Once Upon a Scandal

Average Rating 3.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a super second chance at love tale

    In 1824, teenagers Viscount Jonathan Pierce Thatcher and Lady Victoria Jane Emerson were in love. Both wanted to marry, but were too young. He proposed anyway but he left for Venice before she could say yes. Over the next few years they exchanged letters when abruptly he stopped sending them though she continued for a while longer until heartbroken she also stopped.

    In 1829 Victoria Jane needs a husband to protect her and help her take care of her father who is going mad. Three men are chosen to court Victoria Jane, including Jonathan who has just come back to England after years away. He realizes he hurt her so badly that her heart has turned to stone. He tries to reach her, but she rejects his attempts; so Jonathan turns to seducing his beloved's mind, body and soul. However, Jonathan realizes even if he succeeds at that he still has to overcome his neglect.

    The latest marvelous Regency Scandal (see Prelude to a Scandal) is a super second chance at love tale starring two protagonists in love as teens and still in love five years later. Jonathan is a romantic at heart so when he stops corresponding he hurts his beloved even more because Victoria Jane knows he is. This makes his effort to re-win her that much more complicated as he already owns her heart, but not her trust.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Once Upon A Scandal is the second book in the Delilah Marvelle&r

    Once Upon A Scandal is the second book in the Delilah Marvelle’s Scandal series. I didn’t read the first book and don’t think you need to in order to read this. I have mixed feelings about this one. Maybe I’ve just read a lot of really good historicals lately but, while I enjoyed this book, it didn’t end up being one of my favorites. First, I found the whole setup with Victoria’s father’s will a little implausible. It just seemed like a lot of trouble to go to for the outcome. But he was a sick man and maybe that accounts for the eccentricity of the whole thing. The scene in the carriage also seemed highly unlikely to happen. I know this a romance and I definitely want my sexy times, but I just didn’t think that it was something Victoria would agree to or that Jonathan would think to ask. So, while it was hot, it didn’t seem very in character.

    Jonathan was a very different type of tortured hero. He had to do some very unsavory things to survive. I don’t want to give too much away but the thing he had to do to keep his family and Victoria safe isn’t a subject that gets brought up much and I actually wish that they had talked about it more. I like that he’s very emotional and passionate, often acting on his feelings. Sometimes it’s not the smartest thing to do but he isn’t afraid to tell Victoria how he feels, which I admired.

    Victoria took a little while to warm up to. I could understand why she would be so angry at Jonathan after he disappeared for five years. Trust me, I’d be mad, too. But she seemed cruel at times and it wasn’t until she started softening a little and got over her initial anger that I started to like her. Both she and Jonathan were so stubborn at times that I wanted to smack both of them. They were stuck in the past and it was keeping them from having a future together. Thanks goodness they both get some sense and all ends well.

    While the book did have its flaws, I enjoyed it. Marvelle has a wonderful way of writing and I could easily picture London and Venice. I also felt like there was real love and affection between Jonathan and Victoria and was glad when they finally found their happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    A MUST READ HISTORICAL ROMANCE WITH SECOND CHANCES AND LOVE! ONCE UPON A SCANDAL BY DELILAH MARVELLE...

    ONCE UPON A SCANDAL by Delilah Marvelle is another exciting historical romance set in 1829 Regency England. It is the second in the "Scandal Series",but can be read as a stand alone. See "Prelude To A Scandal".It is the story of Lady Victoria and Viscount Remington,Jonathan Pierce.This is the story or lost love,scandal,secrets,second chances,romance,love,sexual tension,
    passion,family madness,a quest for a husband,and the trials of love lost and found again. While Lady Victoria lost her heart at a young age,she must protect it now,protect her father who is going mad,and find a husband to fulfill her inheritance. When Viscount Remington had to leave Lady Victoria he had to leave his heart,soul and his beliefs behind. This is another exciting historical romance where the characters must struggle to find true happiness and peace. A must read. Another fast paced story with a few twists and turns while Lady Victoria and Viscount Remington try to rebuild their lost love and their lives. This book was received for the purpose of review from Net Galley and the publisher. Details can be found at HQN and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bravo! Well Done!

    The thing I love about a Delilah Marvelle novel is the honesty of her writing. The characters are fully formed, the story so engaging. ONCE UPON A SCANDAL is no exception. Though Jonathan's love for the lovely Victoria sprouts early on, these two have a lot of life to travel before they find their happy ending. Marvelle is such a master at thickening the plot, you begin to wonder if the hero and heroine are ever going to get together. Bravo! Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    way too heavy for me

    uhggg, what a depressing story. this was supposed to be a romance, not a drama. i wanted to come away feeling giddy and light-hearted and all i feel is. . . ick

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Fascinating Read

    Can love survive when it's separated by hundreds of miles, a militant father and one colossal mistake? If you love as deeply and purely as Jonathan Thatcher, Viscount Remington, then nothing will stand in your way.

    Of the three books in Delilah Marvelle's Scandal series I can honestly say this was my favorite. You'll want to read Ms. Marvelle's letter to the reader to get a good understanding of what inspired this particular story. In my mind it was pure genius and the twist she takes on a popular fairy tale is delightfully unique.

    When you first meet Jonathan he is of the tender age of nineteen and reminded me of a lovesick puppy when he talks about Lady Victoria Linford, bless his heart. Ms. Marvelle's writing is so vivid you can just see him sighing over her beauty and practically writing poetry in her honor. Two words came to mind most often when I thought of how Jonathan acts toward Victoria: courtly love. Don't let Jonathan's honorable demeanor lead you to believe that he has no fire in his spirit. When it comes to winning Victoria's hand and ensuring her happiness and safety, Jonathan's inner fire leads him into trouble more than once in this beautiful novel.

    Likewise, Victoria Linford is an intelligent and witty heroine. She has had a lot of heartache in her young life but has refused to let it leave her bitter or torn. Victoria tries to be practical and not believe in the magic of love or faith. Through the very personal use of letters written back and forth between Jonathan and Victoria the reader is able to witness the intensity of their love as well as the point where Jonathan must cut off communication with Victoria for her own good. As with book one in the Scandal series, Ms. Marvelle utilizes passages from the ladies etiquette book How To Avoid A Scandal to introduce each chapter. You get the impression that whoever is the unknown writer of the book, they have had experience with causing enough scandal to know just what advice needs to be given to help others avoid it.

    Will Jonathan and Victoria finally be joined forever in holy matrimony? Well, it is a romance book so you can probably guess the answer fairly easily. In their case, the journey from infatuation to love is long, carries sacrifices and ultimately ends in a breathless happily ever after you won't want to miss. Don't forget the story continues with the unveiling of the mysterious author of the etiquette book in The Perfect Scandal. Another can't miss from the terrifically talented Ms. Marvelle.

    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A bit of scandal, a touch of history and a huge cup of love make for a fabulous book!

    What happens when you wear your heart on your sleeve and the sleeve not only gets torn but the whole shirt is shredded? Well you get a needle and thread and put it all back together or so Jonathan Pierce Thatcher, Viscount Remington thought so. He believed love and a little magic conquered all and could fix everything. Remington was a romantic with a poetic soul who fell in love at 19 to the beautiful Lady Victoria Jane Emerson. Remington believed regardless of their tender age that his strong affection for her could make anything possible and he would win Victoria. Remington confessed his love and had her swear to wait for his return from his quick trip to Venice to straighten out his affairs. She would go through her coming out but still hold the love and the ring he gifted her until he returned and they could marry. All these ifs, hopes and wishes can they come true?

    If dreams and wishes could be reality this would have all played out so well for Remington but he found himself once in Venice making bad decisions which led to his being indentured in a way no one in proper London could imagine. He was unable to return to Victoria in the time promised, which became the reality of five years and decided to not even return her letters begging him to come home to her. Remington had to pay off his debts and the punishment for his bad decision was worse than the crime itself which was made so much more painful by his separation from Victoria, the love of his life.

    Once he is able to return he finds the loving girl with an open heart has grown to a jaded woman that has turned her heart to stone. Remington still fights for her and commits his entire existence to winning her over, but is it too late and does Victoria ever see a way to forgive him for what has kept them apart? The truth is so hurtful and scandalous but Remington believes in the love he has for Victoria and the ability to get a second chance with her, everyone makes mistakes he just has to convince her that this chance is the best one she can take and make that leap of faith.

    You have to believe in the destiny of love because what else is there at the end of the day but the touch of your hand over mine. I will forever love these characters because their story remind you of how much love can overcome, how deep love runs between soul mates who will forever be together. Delilah Marvelle definitely knows how to write scandal, but absolutely knows how to write a love story that makes you believe in all that love can be. She has always been able to show the true worth of her characters even when they are embroiled in one scandal or another. Plus as it turns out Victoria has the same birthday as I do - that can't be a coincidence now can it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2