Customer Reviews for

Once Upon a Secret: My Affair with President John F. Kennedy and Its Aftermath

Average Rating 3.5
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

105 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

Interesting story

While I found this story at times disturbing, I found it still believable. For anyone who has been swept up in a relationship (business, friendship, or love) with an individual who has immense power, they will understand this book. I've seen a few cruel reviews on other...
While I found this story at times disturbing, I found it still believable. For anyone who has been swept up in a relationship (business, friendship, or love) with an individual who has immense power, they will understand this book. I've seen a few cruel reviews on other sites about Mimi and how she was naive, has no self confidence, or needs to just get over this and move on. First, she was a nineteen year old in the 1960's, a completely different era. Second, anyone who thinks they could just easily "get over" or move on from a affair with such a powerful figure is full of it. For those who know the complexities of the human mind and heart, it's completely understandable how something like this would change someone's life, especially years later as you mature and realize some of the things that happened in the past. Looking back in our youth, there are a lot of moments we just didn't understand or had to learn from. I truly believe Mimi when she says this is just a book she had to write to fully reveal the true story she kept a secret for so long. As an older, more mature woman, she reveals a number of her feelings in the book, to fully admitting how she was naive and had a lack of understanding in her youth. But she also began to grow from the experience, until she did gain confidence and the belief in herself to be the woman she is today.

posted by Kylie51 on February 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

Waste of money and time

She should not profit from her lack of morals and ethics. He may have started the affair, she continued it, time and time again. While knowing he was married . And now again NO consideration of Caroline and her children. If Mimi needs to talk to free herself from the bu...
She should not profit from her lack of morals and ethics. He may have started the affair, she continued it, time and time again. While knowing he was married . And now again NO consideration of Caroline and her children. If Mimi needs to talk to free herself from the burdens of her continuous actions, talk to a therapist behind closed doors. She continues to hurt others with no consideration, this book is a waste of time and good money. President Kennedy is a fool for starting the affair, she is despicable for continuing it! This book is a waste of my time and money.

posted by Ccobx on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Waste of money and time

    She should not profit from her lack of morals and ethics. He may have started the affair, she continued it, time and time again. While knowing he was married . And now again NO consideration of Caroline and her children. If Mimi needs to talk to free herself from the burdens of her continuous actions, talk to a therapist behind closed doors. She continues to hurt others with no consideration, this book is a waste of time and good money. President Kennedy is a fool for starting the affair, she is despicable for continuing it! This book is a waste of my time and money.

    24 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Really?

    Very easy to write fiction when everyone else is long gone. Just another person making money. After so many years memories change to what we want. Save your money not a good read.

    8 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Person

    I hate book

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Don't bother

    This was a waste of time and money. There are much better books then this one.

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    A Confirmation

    Although Mimi is a little older than me, I tried very hard to remember what it was like to be a young woman in the 60's. I have come to the conclusion that it can't be blamed completely on the times. How do you let someone, anyone, treat you so badly? 60 years later she is still justifying her part in this disgusting affair! As for JFK, this just confirmed what I knew as a 14 year old. He was an immoral, disgusting man who used his power to take whatever he wanted from anyone. I hate to think what would have happened in this country if he had lived to serve another term.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    awful

    Such a dissapointing read. The lack of detail about the actual affair between alford and president kennedy left me frustrated. Mimi alford spent more time detailing her current marriage than she did her affair with kennedy. I thought this book was supposed to be about her affair, not her current life. A complete bore.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Less than a "1". Sorry I bought it ;nor did I finish

    Less than a "1". Sorry I bought it ;nor did I finish it.

    I would like to suggest another book; just written: JACQUELINE KENNEDY: Historic Conversations on life with JOHN F KENNEDY. based on interviews with Arthur M Schlesinger. This is not only a good read;but you also are provided with the actual interviews between Mr. Schlesinger and Mrs. Kennedy.Included are eight CD"s of theses interviews. These interviews leave no doubt that they truly loved one another and slghtly alluded to the fact that Mrs. Kennedy was aware of her husband's sexual daliences. These interviews alo provided that President Kennedy slept with Jackie in her room most nights. Jackie was involved with affairs of the Presidency; because he trusted her opinion.

    I was a teen during that time so I understand the era and have read hundreds of books regarding President Kennedy. No doubt he was a womanizer; however he also loved his wife very much. I am not defending The President for what he did; just want to explain a couple of things. President Kennedy had Addison's disease; though no one knew it at the time. He was given mega doses of medications (that we no longer use; I am a nurse) that increased his sexual libido. Not defending that he cheated; he was also taught that it was ok by his father as long as you stayed with your wife and treated her like a lady; which Mr. Kennedy did. I am just bringing that to the discussion. Mimi Alford was about my age when this happened. I don't agree she was that nieve unless she lived under a rock. There is no proof that President Kennedy deflowered her in Jackie's Bed. (How dispicable if he did and how sensational for her book if he did not) I agree with another reviewer who stated the author could have gone into therapy instead of hurting Caroline. She has had enough hurt in her life through such authors no matter how "good" their intent.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Save your money

    Just another person trying to make the history books.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Do Not recommend

    Not very entertaining.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Again

    What to believe? Will not read, tired of trash

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Really!

    I agree this is a page turner. I think the author felt the need to expose herself so she could clear the air and feel better. I find it odd that she wanted to tell her own children to protect them yet carried on with a married man with no regard to how his children found out. I also find strange that she carried this guilt and her husband never questioned it. She portrays the victim yet admits sleeping with someone else in the running club. I am not sure if the story is believible or not. I dont think she was seeking money but rather her day in the light. I feel sorry for Caroline but i am sure she is a strong woman. I think Mistress Mimi owes Caroline and the Kennedy family a formal appology for having an affair or for lying about it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Self-righteous and cloaking herself in victimhood, the author cl

    Self-righteous and cloaking herself in victimhood, the author clearly lacked a moral compass -- then and now. She has no compunction and expresses no regret about what effect an affair may have had on others, such as a pregnant wife or young children. You can expect about a paragraph on that subject. The same holds for the affair she later had during her marriage (yes, to the same poor sap she was engaged to when she had her first). Of course, the fault always lies elsewhere
    Be aware that the book reads with the artificial, plastic feel of having been written by a professional ghostwriter or editor and not coming from the author herself. It is painfully, almost comically, bad at the end. Here she relates how after going on a date with someone she didn't hit it off with, she made an obnoxious remark to him (he said "let's do it again" and she replied "let's not" and walked away). She points at this bit of incivility with great pride, declaring that she finally became the person she wanted to be. One doesn't know whether to laugh or cry. This book is not recommended.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    I couldn't finish it. I don't believe any of what she has to say

    I couldn't finish it. I don't believe any of what she has to say. She waited until anybody who could corroborate her story was dead. She admits to reading biographies and all the oral histories on JFK. Anybody could read those and make up a story and say it was a big secret. Although I don't believe that JFK was monogamous to his wife, I don't believe Mimi's story. Don't waste your time. Instead, read Caroline Kennedy's books. At least they help people to become better educated on laws and people that do good things for the world.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very Disturbing

    A friend loaned me this book and I read it. I found much of it disturbing, not that a young girl couldn't be swept up in an affair with a married powerful man, that happens quite often, but that it was an "affair" at all. She has no proof of any affection, was never even kissed by the President, the encounters are never described in any detail, the conversations she relates are not special in any way and the items she claims she was given are conveniently gone now. She was an innocent who undressed herself to be deflowered and also somehow knew "take care of" meant oral sex and performed without any qualms to please her lover. She spoke to no one and other than watching tv alone in hotel rooms or getting sunburned, there is not much to go on or corroborate with anyone else. Then there is the fact that everyone in the book who could refute are dead, including her first husband - how convenient. Also strange, the man she is married to now was a Daily News reporter who told her not to tell anyone her story or take money, but now apparently it is ok to do so and make him some money as well. Either she is a strangely disturbed woman who thought it was ok to be a whore to one man while being courted by another or else she was living in a dream world and made all of it up. Everything that can be listed as fact has already been published by others, she just conveniently places herself in the scenarios (i.e. the rubber ducks).

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Surprised!!

    I am a contemporary of this woman, and expected her to be, since it is about her affiar with Kennedy more honest about herself. I had seen her on TV, and she gave the impression that this was an honest picture. I do not find her to be a NICE person, and she was not above using her position to get what she wanted. I find that I felt like she was trying to portrary herself in a better light than what is shown. Sorry but she is no better than me, or a great many other women now in their 60's that grew up in that time. Most of us didn't sleep with one man when engaged to another. I was greatly disapointed by this book and while it does portray life of a 20 somethings back in the early 60's, I would not recomend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Making money off a dead mam

    This disgusting and poorly written book is reallysad. This woman obviously needs money and will say anything to get it. It is actually quite repulsive.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2