Customer Reviews for

Once Upon a Secret: My Affair with President John F. Kennedy and Its Aftermath

Average Rating 3.5
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

105 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

Interesting story

While I found this story at times disturbing, I found it still believable. For anyone who has been swept up in a relationship (business, friendship, or love) with an individual who has immense power, they will understand this book. I've seen a few cruel reviews on other...
While I found this story at times disturbing, I found it still believable. For anyone who has been swept up in a relationship (business, friendship, or love) with an individual who has immense power, they will understand this book. I've seen a few cruel reviews on other sites about Mimi and how she was naive, has no self confidence, or needs to just get over this and move on. First, she was a nineteen year old in the 1960's, a completely different era. Second, anyone who thinks they could just easily "get over" or move on from a affair with such a powerful figure is full of it. For those who know the complexities of the human mind and heart, it's completely understandable how something like this would change someone's life, especially years later as you mature and realize some of the things that happened in the past. Looking back in our youth, there are a lot of moments we just didn't understand or had to learn from. I truly believe Mimi when she says this is just a book she had to write to fully reveal the true story she kept a secret for so long. As an older, more mature woman, she reveals a number of her feelings in the book, to fully admitting how she was naive and had a lack of understanding in her youth. But she also began to grow from the experience, until she did gain confidence and the belief in herself to be the woman she is today.

posted by Kylie51 on February 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

Waste of money and time

She should not profit from her lack of morals and ethics. He may have started the affair, she continued it, time and time again. While knowing he was married . And now again NO consideration of Caroline and her children. If Mimi needs to talk to free herself from the bu...
She should not profit from her lack of morals and ethics. He may have started the affair, she continued it, time and time again. While knowing he was married . And now again NO consideration of Caroline and her children. If Mimi needs to talk to free herself from the burdens of her continuous actions, talk to a therapist behind closed doors. She continues to hurt others with no consideration, this book is a waste of time and good money. President Kennedy is a fool for starting the affair, she is despicable for continuing it! This book is a waste of my time and money.

posted by Ccobx on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    History, no Heart......

    My Mother had adored the Kennedy's all her life as she was Irish and proud that they became so prominent & powerful in an era that Irish-Catholics were scorned as drunkards, deadbeats, and n'er-do-wells. I just don't think she fully realized that like many rich and powerful families, they didn't get to the top honestly. We now know patriarch JP Kennedy was not really a great businessman, he was an opportunist, who made his money on the backs of the unfortunate and taught his family to do the same. His ancestors still believe themselves to be above all reproach when they bear the Kennedy name, just read the internet news today about one of the newest escapades of a grandson. As I now have a bad image of the Kennedy's in general, I'm not sure why I bought this Nook Book. Curiosity? History? Who knows. I can tell you though, when I finished it, I felt very empty and a bit depressed. I'm not sure why Mimi Alford really wrote this book. Supposedly to set the story straight? Well, I hope she somehow got some closure or at least plenty of money as it's really not much of a story and I don't honestly know why she would want to tell it... A young girl loses her virginity to an older man kind of as a 'sexual waitress' no affection, no kisses, no love, no sugar with that. And she continues the relationship as if she were a call girl, with Dave powers playing the role of a pimp. I feel bad for her that she was so used and allowed herself to be. And Kennedy? He was taught people, especially women, were disposable, and I guess never managed to develop any non-narcissistic thoughts on the subject. When I began the book I think I was hoping for a somehow "good" reason this affair occurred. Possibly it had a purpose, an emotion. Frankly, I saw none.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Good but wouldn't recommend

    Although I find Mimi's story to be very honest, and intriguing. It could have all been summed up in 100 pages. I found it to page turning up until the President's death. All information re: their affair can be found on the Internet.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Interesting read, especially for the over 60 people

    Intersting, not surprising at all. I think if JFK had been President today, he wouldn't have gotten away with all his affairs. I really like JFK, I think he was a great leader but not so much a great person.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    '

    His martydom may have changed the light in which he is viewed. From the bay of pigs, the removal of the jupiter missles from Turkey following the Cuban missles crisis, to the debatable escalation in Vietnam. That tragic November day in Dallas has caused many to either over look or ignore a less than stellar foreign policy. Perhaps JFKs affliction of Graves disease, his back condition and the medications used to treat both, lead to his sexual impulsivity as well as his political judgement. As an American og Irish Catholic lineage, JFK was a saint in our household. When in reality he was flawed, perhaps more than most of us.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Oh Mimi

    The book was an ok read, but this woman is very self absorbed..........even as a 19 year old. Not once did she think about any impact this affair would have on JFK's family, her family or her co-workers. This book is an effort to explain away any responsibility she had for the affair continuing and try to convince us (and herself) that she was a victim, and she was not a victim.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    recomended

    Not the greatest book but a diffrent insite to JFK's secrect life. We all know that he had a mistress or two but so did alot of other presidents. Quick read with not alot of inside information not otherwise known and cannot be confermed due to the deaths of key persons named in the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    Mimi I am surprised you had enough courage to write this story.

    Mimi I am surprised you had enough courage to write this story. After all I have read about the powerful Kennedy clan and how they are above the law, it took guts to do this. Thank you for your book. I lived in the 60's and I was a few years younger then you and I can relate to the atmosphere and power that existed then. I understand also if you would have spoken out earlier you might not have been heard, The Kennedys have away of making other people become their scapegoats, or make you seem like an undesirable. I wonder will all of their lies ever be unraveled. Good luck to you Mimi. Hold your head high and be proud of who you aare, A GOOG WOMAN. Blessings. Joan

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Looking for more

    This was more of a women's journey to find her voice that was counter to what was expected of her WASP upbringing. But her voice is still cloaked in that wasp-ness. The intimate scenes were antiseptic and told little of how Kennedy was in that vulnerable state. I finished it wanting to know more

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2014

    A sad look at JFK's time in office.

    An easy read of a woman's journey making sense of her earlier life and how she arrived at where she ended up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Disgusting President and Author

    Having grown up during the same years as this author I am familar with the morals of those years. After yhe author and President Kennedy's 1st sexual encounter which borderded on rape she should have run for the hills. Instead she returned for more, becoming by choice just another of JFK's many mistresses -- don't feel a drop sorry for her!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Good book

    Loved the book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    recomend

    my wife and i both enjoyed the book.It ran on a bit in places. we just skipped those parts.very interesting history piece.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Good, but mostly about her life after Kennedy

    Very honest insightful but could have been summed up in 100 pages. Everything re: her life with Kennedy and her feelings about their affair was page turning.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Recommended

    Good Reading..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Recommend

    Good read. Interesting History. I understood how Mimi got caught up in this affair as a young women. The reasons she gives as to "why now" write this book, I find difficult to believe. You should Never Kiss and Tell! Really, the only reason to write a book like this, after so many years, would be to make money.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2