Customer Reviews for

Once Upon a Secret: My Affair with President John F. Kennedy and Its Aftermath

Average Rating 3.5
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

105 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

Interesting story

While I found this story at times disturbing, I found it still believable. For anyone who has been swept up in a relationship (business, friendship, or love) with an individual who has immense power, they will understand this book. I've seen a few cruel reviews on other...
While I found this story at times disturbing, I found it still believable. For anyone who has been swept up in a relationship (business, friendship, or love) with an individual who has immense power, they will understand this book. I've seen a few cruel reviews on other sites about Mimi and how she was naive, has no self confidence, or needs to just get over this and move on. First, she was a nineteen year old in the 1960's, a completely different era. Second, anyone who thinks they could just easily "get over" or move on from a affair with such a powerful figure is full of it. For those who know the complexities of the human mind and heart, it's completely understandable how something like this would change someone's life, especially years later as you mature and realize some of the things that happened in the past. Looking back in our youth, there are a lot of moments we just didn't understand or had to learn from. I truly believe Mimi when she says this is just a book she had to write to fully reveal the true story she kept a secret for so long. As an older, more mature woman, she reveals a number of her feelings in the book, to fully admitting how she was naive and had a lack of understanding in her youth. But she also began to grow from the experience, until she did gain confidence and the belief in herself to be the woman she is today.

posted by Kylie51 on February 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

Waste of money and time

She should not profit from her lack of morals and ethics. He may have started the affair, she continued it, time and time again. While knowing he was married . And now again NO consideration of Caroline and her children. If Mimi needs to talk to free herself from the bu...
She should not profit from her lack of morals and ethics. He may have started the affair, she continued it, time and time again. While knowing he was married . And now again NO consideration of Caroline and her children. If Mimi needs to talk to free herself from the burdens of her continuous actions, talk to a therapist behind closed doors. She continues to hurt others with no consideration, this book is a waste of time and good money. President Kennedy is a fool for starting the affair, she is despicable for continuing it! This book is a waste of my time and money.

posted by Ccobx on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Abuse of political position

    What starts out as an adventure of a lifetime for a innocent girl quickly turns into an ugly abusive show of political power by the President of the United States. How could young Mimi stop the sexual advances of the most powerful man in the world; the answer, she could not and he knew it.
    Sending his friend to lure her into the abusive web of the Kennedy lair, Mimi felt she was doing no wrong. She cannot be held responsible for her acts because she was a mere child and the President knew it.
    Facinating reading into the background of the abuse of political power.

    35 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Wonderful

    I purchased this book on a whim. I don't gravitate towards biographies, and while I am intrigued with history, I cannot claim I am a fanatic. That said, this is a beautiful book that I could not put down. I read it in a matter of hours. It is insightful and provocative.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Great read

    A quick and easy read. I enjoyed it very much. Thank you Mimi for your honesty and openess.

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    my affair with the president

    young mimi alford was very excited at the prospect of working as an intern in the white house and got to meet president kennedy who later took a more thean work intrest in her he begain a 18 year long affair with this 17 year old by first seducing her in jackies bedroom . this is very hard to put down the young intern also gives some details about the asasination great gift idea.

    17 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Very Moving Story

    This is one of the most moving stories I have ever read. While the media has focused on the sexual aspects of the story, I found the effects on Ms. Alford's life the most moving. She entered her first marriage while still grieving. Her first marriage was destroyed. The effect of this secret on her life. From an historical point of view how this could have gone on in view of the press, and customs before the era of sex harresment law suits(Though this clearly is a love story) I agree with other comments about Barbara Walters behavior. What journalist kills a story because it is seen as critical of her friend's father.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Excellent read ....

    This was an excellent book and interesting story. I was not disappointed.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Great Book

    Very interesting. It was a real page turner for me, from start to end!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Good read!!!!

    Easy, enjoyable read! Kennedy took advantage of a young woman, and used her sexually. I truly believe she was a victim. Fascinating read! Loved it!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Read

    At first, I thought it difficult to believe that someone could or would wait decades before they wrote about an experience that was very personal to them. In reading this book I began to understand her personal relationship with President Kennedy. We can all judge that this affair was based on power, charisma or youth; however, Ms Alford is truly the only person that could write her feelings and emotions as to how it happened. She did a great job!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Booknook

    Very believeable. Very insightful. If you lived during this time you will like this.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    WOW

    Undoubtedbly true and a very mixed consequence for this girl. Lots of courage here on her part. well written with classy lack of salaciousness. it would have been interesting to be part of those intoxicating times although the dark side is disturbing
    .

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    I recommend this book

    This book was well written and a real eye opener to the extra sexual interest the JFK had. I truly believe that Mini Alford held this information in long enough and felt it had to be told. We all know JFK had my sexual interests and a separate life with his wife and family.
    I loved JFK and though that those sexual interests did not interfere with his running the Presidency. I'm sorry the Caroline had to hear of her fathers sexual appetite but I don't really think it came as a surprise to her.
    I'm happy to read the Mimi is happily married and living a nice life.
    Good luck to her.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Very good read!

    This was well-written and NOT "sleazy" at all... like other reviewers (who most likely did not read the book) have stated. I think the author explained her story very well and provided more than enough evidence to back her claims. Kudos to you, Mimi, for breaking your silence and sharing your story with us.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Very interesting

    Glad to know that someone is brave enough to tell- about Kennedy what has always just been a rumor

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Very Good Read!

    I had trouble putting this down; I was drawn in. Her incredible story gives a glimpse into the 1960s White House. If you love autobiographies and historical subjects, I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    To be young

    Tis book gives a clear veiw on how clueless we can be in our youth. Also how this goes on right under our noses and know one has a clue till later.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Riveting, inspiring and curiously enlightening

    In the spirit of Profiles in Courage Mimi Alford’s teenage affair with Jack Kennedy could fittingly be entitled One Woman’s Profile in Courage by the very author(s) of the book that extols the courage of men who followed the dictates of their consience in spite of temptations to pursue the self-serving political expedient of the moment. For indeed it took fifty years’ worth of courage and resolve to remain silent under relentless pressure to reveal and expunge the indignities inflicted upon her poolside and elsewhere by the thirty-fifth President of the United States of America. For that experience alone, Once Upon a Secret is a riveting, inspiring and curiously enlightening read…Art Odell

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Gotta read it

    This is very good. After seeing Mimi on tv, I was intrigued to read it! I ended up feeling both happy & saddened by her experience. She was eliquent on tv, & in prose as well!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Great book. Our eyes never cease to be opened wider to the kennedy's.

    Wow . Just finished this book and wow what a story. What an abslute disgrace kennedy was. She may have been 19 in yrs but certainly not emotionally. A virgin. Sick sick man. Good for you mimi to have lived with this all these yrs and come out on top. You give him way too much respect.!.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Awesome!

    Captivating from the beginning. A real page turner!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3