Customer Reviews for

Once Upon a Tower

Average Rating 4
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Once Upon a Tower there was Sir Gowan and Lady Edi. Sir Gowan wa

Once Upon a Tower there was Sir Gowan and Lady Edi. Sir Gowan was a strapping Scottish Laird and Lady Edi was a Musical prodigy. They met by chance at a ball. They married before they truly knew each other. Now The Scottish Laird must get his lady love to come out of To...
Once Upon a Tower there was Sir Gowan and Lady Edi. Sir Gowan was a strapping Scottish Laird and Lady Edi was a Musical prodigy. They met by chance at a ball. They married before they truly knew each other. Now The Scottish Laird must get his lady love to come out of Tower so he can prove that there really are HAE's. This is the story of a couples way to happily ever after. I loved the hero and heroine as well as the secondary characters.

posted by janeeyre01 on May 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good not great

First off....I love this author, but this plot just wasn't her best. I felt she was parodying Romeo and Juliet at first...the twist being what actually happens after that love at first sight moment ends and real life begins...and i liked it based on that. I just had a ...
First off....I love this author, but this plot just wasn't her best. I felt she was parodying Romeo and Juliet at first...the twist being what actually happens after that love at first sight moment ends and real life begins...and i liked it based on that. I just had a hard time with the ending. I was thinking now she's in a tower...not sure why except maybe that fits the rapunzel fairy tale theme??? It just seemed forced at the end to fit that theme. Also i didn't buy their responses to each others issues. I felt like it was one capricious move after the other and it came off immaturely. I do generally enjoy that "young love messes up due to immaturity" plot device EJ uses at times (Ugly Duckling is one of my favs). But unlike that wonderful novel the immature behavior comes at the end of the tale rather than the beginning. I didn't feel like it was realistic (or endearing) for the story to be resolved this way. I feel like I'm being really picky but that's what happens EJ when you write awesome books...your fans start to expect the best of the best! Sorry I still love your work.

posted by 9181793 on May 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Once Upon a Tower there was Sir Gowan and Lady Edi. Sir Gowan wa

    Once Upon a Tower there was Sir Gowan and Lady Edi. Sir Gowan was a strapping Scottish Laird and Lady Edi was a Musical prodigy. They met by chance at a ball. They married before they truly knew each other. Now The Scottish Laird must get his lady love to come out of Tower so he can prove that there really are HAE's. This is the story of a couples way to happily ever after. I loved the hero and heroine as well as the secondary characters.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Good not great

    First off....I love this author, but this plot just wasn't her best. I felt she was parodying Romeo and Juliet at first...the twist being what actually happens after that love at first sight moment ends and real life begins...and i liked it based on that. I just had a hard time with the ending. I was thinking now she's in a tower...not sure why except maybe that fits the rapunzel fairy tale theme??? It just seemed forced at the end to fit that theme. Also i didn't buy their responses to each others issues. I felt like it was one capricious move after the other and it came off immaturely. I do generally enjoy that "young love messes up due to immaturity" plot device EJ uses at times (Ugly Duckling is one of my favs). But unlike that wonderful novel the immature behavior comes at the end of the tale rather than the beginning. I didn't feel like it was realistic (or endearing) for the story to be resolved this way. I feel like I'm being really picky but that's what happens EJ when you write awesome books...your fans start to expect the best of the best! Sorry I still love your work.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    I loved, absolutely LOVED, "Once Upon A Tower", Eloisa

    I loved, absolutely LOVED, "Once Upon A Tower", Eloisa! I laughed, I cried, I rejoiced. I also loved how you brought to light the realistic issues of an intimate nature between a married couple. It's not all fun and games and endless hours of mutual pleasure. Then your resolution... {{SIGH}} I believe all men should read romance novels to get more acquainted with how to romance their girlfriends, partners, and wives... not to mention perhaps bedroom tips(!).

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Fairy Tales do come true

    Do it
    Buy it
    Read it
    Love it
    Once again Eloisa James writes a story that spins such a sweet tale - music, Shakespeare, love, heartbreak, Scotland!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Love this series

    Interesting how Eloisa incorporates the fairy tale into her story line. Also love seeing characters from Julia Quinn as part of the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    I usually love everything that comes from EJ's pen.  Once Upon a

    I usually love everything that comes from EJ's pen.  Once Upon a Tower just wasn't up to her usual standards. I was very disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Aggravating

    I didnt care for this one. Both of the main characters were unlikable, the storyline was pretty thin. The fairy tale series is running out ofgas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Great

    This was a great story and the characters were amazing to read about. I lovd the entire book start to finish !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    Eloisa James is one of my favorites....and while reviews were di

    Eloisa James is one of my favorites....and while reviews were divided and I didn't know what to expect, I found this book to be a delightful win! Moved me to tears, to laughter. I wholeheartedly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Bad book

    This book was very boring.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    Fun Book

    Really enjoyable. I love this authors style and really enjoy her characters. We worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Good but...

    Not up to her usual standards. Eloisa James is always on my 'buy' list but this book ended up being disappointing to me. It felt like maybe it was out too soon and needed to stew in her head a bit longer and have another revision before it hit the shelves. At the beginning, I immediately liked Gowan and Edie, but then they became very wishy washy in their character to me and I lost my connection. I couldn't get a feel of who they were. By the end I didn't care much for Edie and thought Gowan deserved better-- especially when he is getting beat up by everyone! Even the tower scene was anti-climactic for me. And the secondary characters had a lot of potential too but then they just petered out and got ridiculously dramatic. This book won't stop me from buying Eloisa James the next time, but if this is your first reading experience with her, I would suggest starting at When Beauty Tamed the Beast or Much Ado About You first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Needed serious editing and characters to care about. Waste of ti

    Needed serious editing and characters to care about. Waste of time, money and paper/ink.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Sad that I didn't enjoy it more.

    I had loved her previous work but this one left me cold. Hopefull for her future work.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Couldn't put it down

    Ms James has outdone herself. I like how she turned this fairy tale into a true lesson in love. She didn't make it all happiness and perfection. It showed love is imperfect and you have to make comprimises. You could feel the music of the cello as it wrapped around the two lovers, the power of words and how it destroys. But in the end, how far some one will go to get what they need, what they can't live without.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Redemption!

    I forgive you ej for "The Ugly Duchess". This one is much more heartfelt and better constructed, the plot makes a lot more sense with events that unfold organically and elegantly. The characters mature (in an age appropriate way) such that if we were to encounter them 7 years later (ahem), they would probably still be recognizable as themselves, just older and wiser. Also, they're likeable. Ms. James has captured perfectly the obsession world class musicians, dancers, artists, writers and anyone driven to express themselves creatively has with their art. Yes it can drive the people around you bonkers, but if you find someone who "gets it" or at least tries very hard, you can't help but love them. Gowan does eventually understand sooner rather than later and in typical "golden boy" fashion "gets it " good. Edie is an interesting mix of snarky and innocent, and isn't the sharpest knife in the drawer but is a musical genius who is racked with self-doubt.

    The best character of all is Layla who seems to have stepped right out of that Tennessee Williams screwball comedy "The Glass Cat on a Hot Streetcar". We all need a Layla!

    I'm puzzled by the "professional" review that calls this erotic. It's not. There is sex in it but it's mostly cringe worthy and clunky, intentionally. Until the characters figure it out, then it's sweetly sexy and endearing. Anne Rice's "Beauty" series is erotic, this is...........not.

    Wow this is a long review, sheesh. So, except for the anachronistic dialogue which normally irritates me but doesn't so much this time, I think she hit it out of the ballpark!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    Let me be honest here. Eloisa James is probably my favorite roma

    Let me be honest here. Eloisa James is probably my favorite romance author. However, this is the one book by her that I was very dissapointed by. SPOLIERS: I found the heroine Edie very whiny and contradictory. Ms. James usually has very strong willed women as heroines but Edie was annoying and childish. She came off loving and sincere in the beginning and then went the opposite way at the end. She would show desire for her new husband Gowan and then pretty much her repulsed her during sex. She was too childish to to tell that sex hurt her, and she treated the situation like an immature woman. Gowan seemed to love her much more than she loved him. I liked his character a lot more than Edie's. Edie was also OBSESSED with her fricken cello. She was in love with an object; she would complain that Gowan doesn't make time for her but she pretty much went crazy on anybody that bothered her while practicing her beloved Cello. I'm not really sure who she is after reading this. Her personality seemed to change throughout the book. Layla, he stepmother was the best character in this entire book; lots of laughs. 3 stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2014

    Once upon a tower

    I really enjoyed reading this book. It kept you hooked wondering what was going to happen with the characters in the next chapter. If you are a hopeless romantic, you will love this book. Acw13

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2014

    I adore Eloisa James¿ writing style and witty way with words. It

    I adore Eloisa James’ writing style and witty way with words. It’s extremely readable, light but not fluffy, cute but not cloying. It’s a delight to read every single word. I smile whenever I read her stories and that’s just about the best endorsement I can give a book.
    One of the best parts of Once Upon a Tower, the fifth story in her magical Fairy Tales series, is the loving and close relationship between Edie and her young stepmother, Layla. Only ten years apart in age, Edie and Layla form a close friendship like sisters that is lovely to read. Throughout the book, the two women support each other through their marital trials and travails, providing some very funny moments.
    “‘Well, that’s marriage for you,’ Layla said. ‘Giddy one moment, indifferent the next.’” (p26)
    ”’Unfortunately, men seem to think that women are like new wine, good only before being uncorked.’” (p54)
    Gowan, the Duke of Kinross, is very young, only twenty-two, yet he is very serious about all his ducal responsibilities. He doesn’t believe in wasting time and multi-tasks his entire life, much to Edie’s dismay. He needs to learn how to relax and enjoy life’s privileges that come with his wealth and rank. This is something that Edie teaches him as they make their way in their new marriage. They are both still very much in that  “in love” stage as they meet and marry in only a month, and must learn to live together peacefully while they each pursue their own passions and responsibilities.
    Edie, too, is very young, only nineteen, and is a passionate and devoted musician—she plays the cello—while Gowan has always held many important responsibilities due to his title. He is a great reader, however, and this makes for some beautiful letters early in their courtship.
    I think it’s wonderful that James portrays a couple’s sexual journey and that it is far from perfect. This makes it more authentic and human than most historical romances I’ve read. Edie and Gowan are both virgins when they come to the marriage and they must learn to communicate their needs and wishes in and out of the bedroom. She’s afraid to tell him her displeasure while he believes he must persist until he satisfies her.
    There are plenty of humorous moments, as always, in this romance. Layla’s ill-used advice to Edie about the marital bed, Edie and Gowan’s provocative love letter exchange inspired by literary allusions, and the charming and funny girlfriend banter between Edie and Layla.
    There’s a bonus for Julia Quinn fans here, as well, with characters from Quinn’s Just Like Heaven making a lovely and surprising cameo.
    As always, the writing sparkles on the page, making me smile with every line. Magical, this is pure escapism.
    “…who could forget that hair? It looked as if old Roman coins had melted into canary wine, leaving strands of darker gold woven with sunlight.” (p61)
    This is the first series by James that I’ve read and I look forward to reading the rest of her oeuvre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Excellent

    Highly recommended..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6