Customer Reviews for

Once Upon a Tower

Average Rating 4
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Once Upon a Tower there was Sir Gowan and Lady Edi. Sir Gowan wa

Once Upon a Tower there was Sir Gowan and Lady Edi. Sir Gowan was a strapping Scottish Laird and Lady Edi was a Musical prodigy. They met by chance at a ball. They married before they truly knew each other. Now The Scottish Laird must get his lady love to come out of To...
Once Upon a Tower there was Sir Gowan and Lady Edi. Sir Gowan was a strapping Scottish Laird and Lady Edi was a Musical prodigy. They met by chance at a ball. They married before they truly knew each other. Now The Scottish Laird must get his lady love to come out of Tower so he can prove that there really are HAE's. This is the story of a couples way to happily ever after. I loved the hero and heroine as well as the secondary characters.

posted by janeeyre01 on May 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good not great

First off....I love this author, but this plot just wasn't her best. I felt she was parodying Romeo and Juliet at first...the twist being what actually happens after that love at first sight moment ends and real life begins...and i liked it based on that. I just had a ...
First off....I love this author, but this plot just wasn't her best. I felt she was parodying Romeo and Juliet at first...the twist being what actually happens after that love at first sight moment ends and real life begins...and i liked it based on that. I just had a hard time with the ending. I was thinking now she's in a tower...not sure why except maybe that fits the rapunzel fairy tale theme??? It just seemed forced at the end to fit that theme. Also i didn't buy their responses to each others issues. I felt like it was one capricious move after the other and it came off immaturely. I do generally enjoy that "young love messes up due to immaturity" plot device EJ uses at times (Ugly Duckling is one of my favs). But unlike that wonderful novel the immature behavior comes at the end of the tale rather than the beginning. I didn't feel like it was realistic (or endearing) for the story to be resolved this way. I feel like I'm being really picky but that's what happens EJ when you write awesome books...your fans start to expect the best of the best! Sorry I still love your work.

posted by 9181793 on May 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Good not great

    First off....I love this author, but this plot just wasn't her best. I felt she was parodying Romeo and Juliet at first...the twist being what actually happens after that love at first sight moment ends and real life begins...and i liked it based on that. I just had a hard time with the ending. I was thinking now she's in a tower...not sure why except maybe that fits the rapunzel fairy tale theme??? It just seemed forced at the end to fit that theme. Also i didn't buy their responses to each others issues. I felt like it was one capricious move after the other and it came off immaturely. I do generally enjoy that "young love messes up due to immaturity" plot device EJ uses at times (Ugly Duckling is one of my favs). But unlike that wonderful novel the immature behavior comes at the end of the tale rather than the beginning. I didn't feel like it was realistic (or endearing) for the story to be resolved this way. I feel like I'm being really picky but that's what happens EJ when you write awesome books...your fans start to expect the best of the best! Sorry I still love your work.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    I usually love everything that comes from EJ's pen.  Once Upon a

    I usually love everything that comes from EJ's pen.  Once Upon a Tower just wasn't up to her usual standards. I was very disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Good but...

    Not up to her usual standards. Eloisa James is always on my 'buy' list but this book ended up being disappointing to me. It felt like maybe it was out too soon and needed to stew in her head a bit longer and have another revision before it hit the shelves. At the beginning, I immediately liked Gowan and Edie, but then they became very wishy washy in their character to me and I lost my connection. I couldn't get a feel of who they were. By the end I didn't care much for Edie and thought Gowan deserved better-- especially when he is getting beat up by everyone! Even the tower scene was anti-climactic for me. And the secondary characters had a lot of potential too but then they just petered out and got ridiculously dramatic. This book won't stop me from buying Eloisa James the next time, but if this is your first reading experience with her, I would suggest starting at When Beauty Tamed the Beast or Much Ado About You first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Sad that I didn't enjoy it more.

    I had loved her previous work but this one left me cold. Hopefull for her future work.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    Let me be honest here. Eloisa James is probably my favorite roma

    Let me be honest here. Eloisa James is probably my favorite romance author. However, this is the one book by her that I was very dissapointed by. SPOLIERS: I found the heroine Edie very whiny and contradictory. Ms. James usually has very strong willed women as heroines but Edie was annoying and childish. She came off loving and sincere in the beginning and then went the opposite way at the end. She would show desire for her new husband Gowan and then pretty much her repulsed her during sex. She was too childish to to tell that sex hurt her, and she treated the situation like an immature woman. Gowan seemed to love her much more than she loved him. I liked his character a lot more than Edie's. Edie was also OBSESSED with her fricken cello. She was in love with an object; she would complain that Gowan doesn't make time for her but she pretty much went crazy on anybody that bothered her while practicing her beloved Cello. I'm not really sure who she is after reading this. Her personality seemed to change throughout the book. Layla, he stepmother was the best character in this entire book; lots of laughs. 3 stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    Eloisa does it again!

    The book was good! I love the characters she creates and the different chemistry between them! Thank you for another entertaining and endearing read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    :D

    This is such a great book!!!I barely read the first 2chapters and I loved the book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    2-1/2 stars

    2-1/2 stars Disappointed on several levels. The youth of the lead characters was at odds with unexpected maturity and the angst of prior experiences. The "blame game" of various characters mouthing off at eachother and the hero - well it just didn't work for me. Sadly - not Ms. James best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1