BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Once Upon a Winter's Eve: A Spindle Cove Novella

Average Rating 3.5
( 612 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(173)

3 Star

(169)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

57 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Great

After reading the reviews, I thought it would be short and so-so. What a pleasant surprise - it was over 200 pages and well written. This "novella" is better than some of the 6.99 books. Thumbs up!

posted by AmandaZLinnea on November 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Short but good

I enjoyed the book, I only wish that it had been a longer read. I highly recommend it for airport layovers and doctors office waiting rooms. Thee perfect short quick read.

posted by gi_girl on November 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 176 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    highly recommended

    I enjoyed the book> I had it done in about 4 days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2012

    I absolutely adored this historical romance! For full review in

    I absolutely adored this historical romance!

    For full review including excerpt and dilogue highlight, please visit Reader's Edyn at:
    readersedyn (dot) blogspot (dot) com

    Review:

    ... After freely giving her virginity to the supposed love of her life, him walking away from her without so much as a backward glance, and fearing the possibility of a child, Spindle Cove seemed the only feasible option. But Violet and Spindle Cover ate not exactly what they seem. This Wallflower is anything buy a shrinking Violet and Spindle Cove has taught her invaluable lessons both in life and about herself. On this eve, she is bidding farewell, having been summoned home the following morning. But the appearance of a mysterious man with hauntingly uncanny similarities to her former lover tilt her world off balance and throw her head long into the middle of a sticky situation.

    Like Violet, Christian is not exactly what he seems. The man from Violet’s past has been harboring several secrets of his own. Circumstances forced him to leave her the way that he did. He has been gone a long time and has this single opportunity to see her. With time quickly expiring, the question is what will he divulge and will she even be receptive to allowing him another chance. Living an altogether different life has changed Christian in many ways, but his love for Violet has never wavered. This night he has to lay everything out on the table or risk losing her forever; if he isn’t already fighting a losing battle.

    I adore this couple! First of all, how can you not automatically root for the Wallflower? Seriously. I absolutely love seeing someone like Violet find her HEA! Violet and Christian have a special connection both physically and intellectually. Their attraction, at least on Christian’s side, took a long time to bloom but once it did the sparks flew and their souls were forever bonded. At first I was skeptical of Christian and his motives and was not quite convinced that he was the same man Violet loved. But before too long, I was on his side and hoping that he succeed in convincing her of his devotion to her. And Christian is no fool. He realizes too that he is asking a lot of Violet. Not wanting to entertain the possibility of rejection, his fear of losing her completely continues to niggle in the back of his head – and his heart.

    The thing I love about Wallflowers is that they are almost never the shy, simpering misses that people take them for. Such is the case with Violet. Unsure of her feelings initially, once she commits, there is no stopping her. A force to be reckoned with, even Christian is surprised by her actions. Intrigue, espionage, mystery, longing, and passion all run heavily within this novella from the very beginning. Never a dull moment, the reader is sure to be hooked immediately; well and truly sucked into the life of these fascinating characters. If you haven’t read the Spindle Cover series before, this would be a great way to whet the appetite. You are guaranteed to want to read more once given a taste provided by this little gem. Historical romance lovers, if you haven’t read Ms. Dare, you are missing out. And if you have, you know exactly what I am talking about. *nods*

    (eBook copy won in a Twitter contest courtesy of author Courtney Milan. This review is my honest opinion of the story.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Loved it also

    Just an overall sweet love story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Love it

    Short loving caring ing fabouluse

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Surprisingly Good

    I am a huge fan of Historical Romance and thisbwas a gem to find

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Surprising

    This was a hefty novella at well over 200 pages. A great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Good

    Surprised that I really enjoyed this book. In the beginning it was kind of slow (for me personally) but it increasingly got better. It was so romantic and the ending was perfect. Wish there was a second book to this one so I could continue to enjoy more of it !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Medicine cat den

    Medicine cat den

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Short but worth reafing.

    Super fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Goody*two*shoes

    I did not enjoy the book how ever i did love the book Eve by Anna Carey it was amazing and twice as romantic. I recomend it for everyone who is wanting a good book, and admit it if wasn't .79¿ we wouldn't have bought it and the only reason it was this cheap was because no one liked it enough to write a good review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Winterkit

    Winterkit sat.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    :)

    I really liked this book. One of the best I've read in this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Awesome but too short

    The tone of the story was wonderful. It gave a rollercoaster ride of emotions. It made you want to be Violet. Unfortunately, it is a fantasy. Loved every paragraph and page. Would love to read a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    .

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    Great read!!!

    Great read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Loved it

    I loved this 200 page shirt story. Somehow I retirement this book and going to my library I see it and want ti reread it but can't unless I buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, easy read

    The characters are great, and the plot fits perfectly in the novella form. I know some people complained it wasn't a complex story, but it was actually perfect as a shorter romance. I thought the dialogue was hilarious--Dare's usually is--and really characterized the hero and heroine. Can't wait to read the rest of Spindle Cove! THis book was fun and entertaining--what more can you ask of a romance?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Get your ass here now

    It wuz the best booK evear

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Loved it!

    For real....I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    great read!

    i loved it.. could not put it down~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 176 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9