Customer Reviews for

Once Upon a Winter's Eve: A Spindle Cove Novella

Average Rating 3.5
( 608 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(175)

4 Star

(171)

3 Star

(169)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

57 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Great

After reading the reviews, I thought it would be short and so-so. What a pleasant surprise - it was over 200 pages and well written. This "novella" is better than some of the 6.99 books. Thumbs up!

posted by AmandaZLinnea on November 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Short but good

I enjoyed the book, I only wish that it had been a longer read. I highly recommend it for airport layovers and doctors office waiting rooms. Thee perfect short quick read.

posted by gi_girl on November 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    Short but good

    I enjoyed the book, I only wish that it had been a longer read. I highly recommend it for airport layovers and doctors office waiting rooms. Thee perfect short quick read.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    OK read

    Not bad for a quick read. Don't expect much.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    It was alright

    It was a good book. I think it had its slow places but overall a good read.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No book is 5 stars

    I dont think any book is top on five stars im not just going down on this book but one book maybe i think the only worthey book is the bible

    3 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Short but good

    I was waiting for something more but it abruptly ended. I really like the part when Violet was trying to solve the mysterious stranger. Their characters and personality were cleverly revealed in that exchange.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Interesting

    This started off kinda slow, but as the story progressed, it was great to see how the characters opened up and how the plot came together. It wasn't an excellent read, but it was a good distraction and an easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    Good Start

    It is a very short leave you hanging and wanting for more book. Would have been really good if the story had continued.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    This was a great quick read. I thoroughly enjoyed Violet¿s story

    This was a great quick read. I thoroughly enjoyed Violet’s story, I just wanted more. I can’t wait for the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    It was good but I felt it could have been better.

    It was good but I felt it could have been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    It was okay.

    I think I am used to Ms. Dare's more light hearted writing. This was okay, but a little overly dramatic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    .

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    Best part

    of this quick read is the fun twist!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Average

    Shorter than expected

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Quick Read

    Cute story and a really quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Just ok.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    OK

    I can't say much for a spy who jepardizes his mission to visit the girl he seduced and left over a year ago, or for the girl who at first didn't even recognize him, then, with the whole of the neighborhood searching for him blithly allows him to seduce her again. Parts of the dialog and descriptions are very well done.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Too short, but okay!

    This is the second story in the Spindle Cove series by Tessa Dare. I enjoyed this, but was disappointed in how short is was. It seems the author tried to give us too much in such a short story. Overall I enjoyed the love story between Violet Winterbottom and her mystery man from her past. I would have preferred a longer book. Although this was not Tessa Dare's best it was still good. I will be reading the next Spindle Cove book. I originally wrote this review for another e-book website.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Ok read

    Ok read for a short story, nothing steamy! Don't expect too much, closer to a young adult romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Intreting.

    Intresting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Decent

    Not the best, some of the material was kind of fitting for a highschooler but what can I expect? It was romantic and cliche but good for a relaxing bath after a long day at work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9