Customer Reviews for

Once Upon a Winter's Eve: A Spindle Cove Novella

Average Rating 3.5
( 613 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(174)

3 Star

(169)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

57 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Great

After reading the reviews, I thought it would be short and so-so. What a pleasant surprise - it was over 200 pages and well written. This "novella" is better than some of the 6.99 books. Thumbs up!

posted by AmandaZLinnea on November 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Short but good

I enjoyed the book, I only wish that it had been a longer read. I highly recommend it for airport layovers and doctors office waiting rooms. Thee perfect short quick read.

posted by gi_girl on November 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Great

    After reading the reviews, I thought it would be short and so-so. What a pleasant surprise - it was over 200 pages and well written. This "novella" is better than some of the 6.99 books. Thumbs up!

    57 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    This was a wonderful read I couldn't put down.i would totally recommend it

    35 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Book to have in your collection

    I fell in love with this book from the start, and I could not put it down. The characters were both strong,intelligent, courageous, well developed, and the hero was so romantic without even trying. This book has made it to my top 5 books, and I have reread it twice already. As other posters have mentioned before, for anyone who has stood in the corner even once in their life, THIS BOOK IS A MUST READ!

    25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Loved it

    I loved loved loved it. My first read by this author--won't be my last.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    An exceptional book-I would highly recommend it. it has great character development. A classic who-dunnit.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    belle

    this is a good read, i never expected the twist and turns that unfolds in the story line

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Loved it!

    Super book. Best I have read in a long time. Could Not put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Hot

    Wonderful, hot and sexy

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Kept me guessing

    Tessa Dare did a fantastic job of keeping me guessing through this story. I am an avid reader and can usually figure out where a story is going...not this time! Bravo Tessa!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Sweet

    Christian and Violet's story was so sweet and touching. Even though it was just over 200 pages and had a nice flow from beginning to end, I would like to have a follow up story to pick up where this one ended. It's hard not to get hooked on these characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Love it

    Great book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Really good, quick read

    Wish it was longer. I wanted to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    A super short story with the Spindle Cove series. I really like

    A super short story with the Spindle Cove series. I really liked the romance with Violet and her mysterious hero. Loved how Violet became so sufficient and took care of everything. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Romantic

    I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Good story

    Short story, but very well written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Short But Oh So Sweet!

    This was my first from this writer and suffice it to say, I am now a fan. Its short but wonderfully written. Never, once did I feel this book lacked character development or detail. Truly amazing considering the depth of the story line and the fact that the book is only 213 pages long. Several times I remarked on how impressed I was with the pure talent of the writer. I have read books three times the length that were far less evolved than this one. Great story, loveable characters, wonderful writing. Oh, and it was super cheap! You cannot go wrong with this one! As I said its short and sweet! The only bad thing is it only lasted a few hours...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    its a short story but its the amazing book to read the best thin

    its a short story but its the amazing book to read the best thing i liked about this book was that it didn't went into a lot of detail and it got to the point right away and it was one of the best book i ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    I have read ALL of Tessa Dare's novels and love them! I checked

    I have read ALL of Tessa Dare's novels and love them! I checked out some from my library and own all the Spindle Cove novels and novellas as well as the Werestag novella. You will not be dissapointed with any of her writings except that they end! I would like to find a "comparable" author because I just know Tessa's work to be the best for my tastes with the right amount of story, character development, setting, and spice. I was not actually a romance reader until I stumbled upon a free offering of one of her ebooks on my Nook. That was how I even found this genre and now am hooked!

    I have always been a fan of period romance movies and am a stickler for anything set in the Victorian (or earlier) settings of Europe which all of her books are. I do have a few other free historical romances but I just know already I won't be as pleased. I wish Tessa would go full time just writing ONLY Spindle Cove series and that PBS or BBC would pick up the rights and make an ongoing romance seriers for TV that would be hot and heavy and for adult viewers but tasteful. Maybe Netflix??? Wouldn't that be incredible! LOL

    Bascially to sum all this up do not worry one bit about purchasing any of her materials. You will love having them. I have read each of the Spindle Cove series twice and plan to re-read each once a year- Yes they are that good! I stay tuned for pre-orders and have always been on of the first to get a book as it comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    Really enjoyed this short story though I usually love anything b

    Really enjoyed this short story though I usually love anything by Tessa Dare

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Sweet

    Read this in a few hours, story flows, was sad to have it end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9