Customer Reviews for

Once Upon a Winter's Night

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Squirrelflight

    Her ginger pelt, see-through and starry, was moving along the grass. She looked younger and stronger, and she was in better condition. She looked sadly at her clanmates, wishing she could have stayed longer. "Goodbye, everyone," she meowed. "Rosestar, thank you for keeping me in Stormclan." Then she turned to all the rest of her clan. "I also thank you all for all the good times that I have had here. I will see you all in Starclan one day." She turned around, back facing her clan, the only one she had ever known so well, and walked away to disappear into Starclan, leaving all of the weeping cats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    StarClan's Hunting Grounds (StormClan)

    •StarClan's Hunting Grounds (StormClan)•

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Excellent story

    I love this book it has wounder and excitment. Fantisy is one of the best parts of it. You could never expect what would happen next which keeps you reading untill you finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Wonderful story! It was the first McKiernan book I read!

    This story wakes up the love of childhood fairy tales in all of us! I was "spellbound" to the end. I quickly began my search for more Dennis L. McKiernan stories! Adults and children alike will love this tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    awsome

    i picked this book out of the trow away pile when my mom was cleaning her closet i started reading it and was hooked! i only got to chapter 32 out of this 36 chapter book bacause my house burned down when i was 12 now i am 13 and had just gotten a pandigital novel and found this book on Barnes and Noble and i will finish it . i know your probely thinking why should i trust a 13 year old on book choices well because this 13 year old has read many books and this one was the best so try it out i am sure you will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    An Enchanting Novel Of Faery

    I gave the book Once Upon A Winters Night, by Dennis L. McKiernan a 5 star rating. I gave this book a 5 star rating because of the way McKiernan kept the action flowing throughout the book. McKiernan expressed the action in many ways, such as how she encountered Raseri, the firedrake. Also how she fought the sea monster in the Sea of Mist. I also gave McKiernan a 5 star rating because of how Camille and Prince Alain showed love towards each other. When they first met, Camille was hesitant, but later fell deeply in love with Alain. Camille took on a dangerous quest to find the place east of the sun and west of the moon. This would be where Alain would be. I gave McKiernan a 5 star rating because of his creativity. This was shown through characters like the Fates, Lord Kelmot, and Jotun the Giant. Also in places like the River of Time and a place east of the sun and west of the moon. I love how McKiernan expressed time through the tapestry. I gave McKiernan five stars because of how he used a different language (French) for small parts of dialogue in the book. McKiernan used emotions in many different unique ways with his characters. McKiernan deserved these stars in many ways other than these. I would recommend Dragonstone, Silver Wolf, Black Falcon, Eye of the Hunter, and many others of McKiernan¿s enchanting novels. I love art and enjoy fantasy adventure books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2007

    What Went Wrong?

    Before I start, let me say that McKiernan's ideas are creative, his plot albiet interesting and I am not one to write bad reviews. For this, I'll make an exception. For a start: After reading 'Summer's Day,' I felt absolutly NOTHING for the characters at all. No backstory, nothing about them, and I even read McKiernan's second novel in this series, 'Winter's Eve,' and he is very consistent in this. ALL of the characters are flat, without changing tempermant, you feel absolutly nothing for them. The plot is perdictable, to say the least... and it's obvious that near the end of each novel the author throws in plot twists that almost dont even seem to be relevant. Not only that, but the author couldnt even invent his own language and be creative, but used French unnessicarly and, almost, to a point of extreme annoyance. The novel is absolutly filled with lavish deviations from the plot, pointless descriptions of Summerwood Manor, pointless stagnant parts of the plot that go nowhere and mean absolutly nothing to the book as a whole... I found myself reading only the dialouge and kept up just fine, and it wasnt even that they went on and on about a topic, but so much was discussed that didnt even have anything to do with the story itself. I wish that McKiernan had simply handed his idea -- which IS good -- over to more capable hands, to someone who could really make the characters come alive, which he fails miserabally in every way possible. I could go on an on, and be very long winded with this, but I'll spare you any more of my rant. DONT BUY THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2005

    OUTSTANDING

    I Love it im reading it now i havent finished it yet but so far im in love with it, its extremly hard to put down and i cant wait till i finish it so i can read it again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2005

    Like a Fairy Tale

    I'm also 17 and every time I went to the book store I would come across this book but never buy it. One day when I couldn't find anything else I gave in and finally bought it. It is something I haven't regretted. Once I started reading it I realised that the overall theme sounded really familiar. Before the story actually starts he explains that he got the idea from an old folk tale but changed it in so many ways that he made it his own. This was a beautifully written love story for those whose hearts have never strayed from the fairy tales of childhood. And even though some parts can be predictable you can't help but fall in love with the story. The only problem I had was that it left too many questions unanswered and left me wanting to know what happens next (I hate that especially when you know there isn't another book). I only wrote here because I want to know if anyone knows anything about an upcoming sequel? Please contact me if you do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    Pathetic

    This book was quite simply the worst book I've ever read. I am astonished that this book ever got published. Absurd dialogue from the characters and a completely predictable plot. I am shocked that so many people have read this and found it worthwhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    WOW!!!!

    I first read this book in the 8th grade and I absolutely loved it! I still love it. I had all my friends sick of me talking about it all the time and got some of my fellow fantasy lovers to read it as well. I think that McKiernan is one of the best authors I've read and I have read quite a few books in my young life. He blends everything so well like the love between Camille and Alain and the quest she takes to find him. True love is very common in books, but usu. not so well written. I also think that the mother got what she deserved. To find out what I mean, read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2003

    Extremely well written

    Dennis L. McKeirnan never ceases to amaze me. With each book he writes, they are always excelent and always have many surprises. Some of them are good and some are bad. Once Upon a Winter's Night is one of the best books i've read and i would read it over and over again too. It has a great mixture of romance and fantasy. It makes you want to go to that world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2003

    shows that love conquers all

    What's to say about Once Upon a Winter's Night? I got so caught up in this one. the love, the adventure, and more mysery than you think. it shows that even a small farm girl can outwit a troll, sing in a bar, and even get Prince Charming!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2003

    Perfect For Teenage/Adult Fantasy Lovers

    I've loved fantasy stories since I was a little girl, and now that I'm 17, it can be hard to find a truly good fantasy novel. However, as soon as I picked up this book, starting from the first page, I found Dennis McKiernan's Once Upon A Winter's Night to be wonderfully captivating and absolutely perfect. It seems as though Dennis McKiernan had my age group in mind when he was writing this book, as it had every aspect a teenager would ever want. Obviously, the fantasy was present and the plot, characters, and settings were nothing less than magical. The story was purely romantic, as Camille was set out on a journey to rescue her true love. However, unlike most fictional novels, McKiernan included intimate love scenes, without overdoing it, and successfully achieved a sense of intense romance. His style of writing is one that isn't too hard to understand, yet it suits the story beautifully. Easily the best book I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2002

    New fav fairy tale

    I am 15 years old, yet I am enchanted when it comes to reading fairy tales. My favorite is Beauty and the Beast, which is probably why I loved this one so much. Prince Alain, of the Summerwood certanly caught my attention from the very first night he meets Camille. He has all the characteristics of a true Prince Charming. This bok was ascinationg and enthralling with the capability to draw the reader in from the very first chapetr. I couldn't put the book down at the end of any chapter; I just had to know what the destinies of these two lovers would end up in. I hope a sequel comes out!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    Once Upon A Winters Night

    Once Upon A winters Night is a great book filled with Mystery/Romance/ and advnture. This book is about a young girl who goes away to the Mystic land of Faery where she is to marry the Prince of the SummerWood. Little does she know that her Husband-to-be has a few probloms that will cause her to betray them all and indanger their love forever..................

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2001

    new Mckiernan story, same great read!

    Well, I just finished OUaWN and my only problem with it is I can't wait for the sequal(s)! That's all that's bad about it... Dennis definately has a winner on his hands. The book is _almost_ as good as his Mithgar arc, but totally in a different way. All I can say is it's magical. I felt like a little kid reading this book, because it defiantely has a fairy tale storybook feeling, but you can tell this one is written for us big kids too. It has very tasteful adult scenes including a little bit of intimacy and Dennis' trademark descriptions of battles, and all things magical. I think it is better than 'Caverns' and will reach a broader audience, including female readers of fantasy and romance. The book is well written and everything ties together beautifully. You might even say there are even some 'red slipper' items sprinkled throughout that Dennis always uses so skillfully. The book will may you think a lot about people, the world, and the nature of why we're all here. Bravo Dennis, and keep 'em coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    superb adult fairy tale

    Camille, the youngest of six daughters with a younger ailing brother, lives with her impoverished family near the end of the human world and the start of the fairy realm. She finds happiness singing while working in the field and playing games with her brother. The six female siblings have little hope for marriage because there is no money for a dowry. <P>However, everything changes when a bear arrives at their hovel. The bear carries a message from Prince Alain of Summerwood stating he wishes to marry Camille and if his proposal is accepted he will pay a bride price that will leave her family in modest luxury. Camille and her brother say no, but the rest of her kin accept. Camille gives in when she realizes her brother can obtain needed medicine. <P>Camille rides the bear through Springwood to Winterwood to Autumnwood until she finally reaches her destination of Summerwood. There she meets Prince Alain who wears a mask. Still, Camille and Alain begin to fall in love, but she tries to lift the curse that is destroying him without realizing the consequences of her actions. Still, she willingly will go into hell if need be to rescue her beloved. <P>ONCE UPON A WINTER¿S NIGHT is a superb adult fairy tale that children of all ages will enjoy. The story line is charming and magical as it takes readers on quite a ride in the realm of Fairy. Camille is a great female protagonist and the melancholy Alain, who finds brief respites with his beloved, is an enigmatic hero. Dennis McKiernan escorts fantasy lovers into an enchanted place that deserves more tales, perhaps those starring Alain¿s siblings and even a prequel starring his parents. <P>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2