Customer Reviews for

Once We Were Brothers

Average Rating 4.5
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Great!!!

This will be added to my list as one of one of the best books I've ever read. It s a little over 1,000 pages and I could not put it down. I read it in one day. It grabbed me from page 1. Everyone I have recommended it to have loved it as much as I did. If you enjoy holo...
This will be added to my list as one of one of the best books I've ever read. It s a little over 1,000 pages and I could not put it down. I read it in one day. It grabbed me from page 1. Everyone I have recommended it to have loved it as much as I did. If you enjoy holocaust stories this is one not to miss.

posted by teacher47 on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

For Fictional Holocaust History

If Holocaust history interests you, this is a good book to read. Although fictional, it includes much history of that era. It is emotional as it involves you in the outcome of the story.

posted by ChinaGirl55 on January 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Great Book

    This was one of the best books that I've read. Once I started it, I could not put it down. I have recommended this book to all my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Couldn't put it down

    This book drew me in from start to finish. My book club picked this at our last meeting and I ended up thriled with the choice. Even with an incredibly busy schedule it only took me 3 days to get through all 1032 pages! I'm only upset that this is Ronald Balson's only novel to date.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Good - not great!

    Yet another book on the Holocaust. Interesting premise, but a little slow reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Absolutely wonderful!

    This book was mesmerizing from Page One. The story of Benjamin Solomon was both heart-breaking and beautiful. I loved every page of this book. Well worth the money!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    once we wew brothers

    this book is excellent, once you start it you do not want to put it down. it holds your interest to the very last page. you will not be disappointed ......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I have recommended this book to every reader I know.
    The book was fascinating from page one and I couldn't put it down.
    Yes, I would recommend this for a book club discussion.
    ninamont

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Very interesting book with a different twist concerning the Holocaust.

    This book was used for my book club and found there were so many characters involved. Each character had their own story. The entire group enjoyed the discussion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Can'T Great b Great read

    I can't wait for his next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Highly Recomend

    Love this book. Totally engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2014

    Interesting Read

    A story between good and bad. One boy manipulated by a very strong dictatorship, and the other boy by his religious beliefs. Proving that what goes around comes around. Sort of confusing at first by the story being told to the lawyer, then stopping a while. Overall good historical fiction of a time in history that must never be repeated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Hi

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Engrossing tale of retribution from WWII

    Once We Were Brothers is an excellent fictional story that recreates the horrors that many people endured during WWII while highlighting how one man hid is identity for decades to become a philanthropist and well accepted part of Chicago society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    OK Read

    At times I was reminded of the "Left Behind" series. Such as Catherine's brother's out of character discussion with Ben at thanksgiving dinner. The same type of out of context scene permiated the aforementioned series. The story here of the victimization of jews is very believeable but the vehicle surrounding it most often is not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Add me?

    Hey
    Vlempert@yahoo.clm
    Real names magen
    Age thirteen
    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    amazing!!!

    This book truly touched me. I loved it and will reccomend it to aanyone. I lovedvthe love story hidden behind this well known evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Highly Recommended!

    Excellent book. It kept me intrigued from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    Wonderfully written

    A Must read! I can't wait for his next book. The story was unforgetable. I think this would be a great book for book club discussions. Many, many thoughts come up and points to ponder...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    There are works that are well written and those that have great

    There are works that are well written and those that have great stories. Works that enmesh you in the plot and others that require you to constantly suspend belief. Unfortunately, this book was not particularly well written, with stilted prose that made we wonder why they hadn't used a good copy editor, and bewildered me by the amateurish plot twists. I generally don't read legal novels because their court room presentations and application of evidentiary and procedural rules are inconsistent and applied in make believe fashion. I understand that true accuracy at times needs to be suspended in order to promote the story. Here, they were presented slap dash requiring one to disregard even elemental logic. This book is a combination of a survival story combined with a fable from the Untouchables, of a corrupt profession and legal system. No doubt those things exist, as does poetic license, but to present their characterization the way the author did, reminded me more of amateur night than a morality tale. It read poorly, filled with unskillfully drafted prose, requiring a constant suspension of belief, filled with characters (other than the protagonist) one didn't particularly care for placed in a storyline which appeals to moral senses which requiring a complete disregard of reality. I don't regret reading this work, I just believe that it could have been written, and edited, so much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    What a great book!

    Once we were brothers is a great book. The story Ben told drew everyone in. And the historical insights were great. I hope mr balson does write another book. I would defineately read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Tyreese

    Tyreese

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8