BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Once We Were Brothers

Average Rating 4.5
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great!!!

This will be added to my list as one of one of the best books I've ever read. It s a little over 1,000 pages and I could not put it down. I read it in one day. It grabbed me from page 1. Everyone I have recommended it to have loved it as much as I did. If you enjoy holo...
This will be added to my list as one of one of the best books I've ever read. It s a little over 1,000 pages and I could not put it down. I read it in one day. It grabbed me from page 1. Everyone I have recommended it to have loved it as much as I did. If you enjoy holocaust stories this is one not to miss.

posted by teacher47 on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

For Fictional Holocaust History

If Holocaust history interests you, this is a good book to read. Although fictional, it includes much history of that era. It is emotional as it involves you in the outcome of the story.

posted by ChinaGirl55 on January 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Great!!!

    This will be added to my list as one of one of the best books I've ever read. It s a little over 1,000 pages and I could not put it down. I read it in one day. It grabbed me from page 1. Everyone I have recommended it to have loved it as much as I did. If you enjoy holocaust stories this is one not to miss.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    Highly recommend but --

    I absolutely love this book. But I'm questioning why it is available on Kindle for $7.95 when B & N is charing $9.95.

    That aside, this is a great read. I couldn't put it down.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Well worth the time and money

    This is a poignant and haunting holocaust story that is very well written with rich prose and historical research. It is also a book that lends itself to book group discussion.





    ReaderaddictAO

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    Excellent reading!

    When will Ronald Balson's next book be coming out? I hope there is another!

    "Once We Were Brothers" was a thrilling, emotional, sad, suspenseful, romantic; heart-warming, captivating, hard to stop reading type story. I can trufully say that each page forces you to read on.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Compelling

    Set against the backdrop of Poland during World War II and Chicago 2004, this book tells a compelling story of a man named Ben, pursuing justice (and revenge) against someone he believes to be a Nazi officer. Ben seeks legal representation from an attorney who gains confidence in herself through her representation of Ben. The book is fast paced and reads like a movie. It should be a movie.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Once We Were Brothers

    A must read. Thought provoking. Could not put it down. Have purchased it for others. Worthwhile reading!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    This 1,000+ page book 'had' me in the first chapter. It is wonderfully told in the first person. The author drew the characters wonderfully. Historically, I believe it is an accurate accounting of the Nazi Era.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Riveting read!

    This book was recommended by Phylis at my local Barnes & Noble bookstore. This one deserves recognition. This story is about survival and justice against impossible odds over a span of 50 years beginning in the 1940's. The main characters are simultaneously engrossing, heartfelt, tragic and courageous. They will touch you and stay with you long after the last page is read. Well worthy of serious attention. Thank you Phylis!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    This is a must read

    This was one of the most moving books I've read in years. The way they explained how these people were treated was amazing. You could feel the pain and it was also about love. You must read this!I really could not put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Outstanding!

    Fabulously written, memorable--you laugh, cry--sheer enjoyment. This story stays with you, long after you have read it. Disappointing tha Mr. Balson has not currently written more books. I highly recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Highly recommended ....NOT to be missed !!!

    One can not tell you exactly what this book is about. You must read this and when it becomes a movie..."Don't miss it either." I hear this from each and EVERYONE that has read this book. To Ronald Balson, PLEASE keep writing............

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    I was very disappointed with this book. It had great reviews and

    I was very disappointed with this book. It had great reviews and was about a subject in which I am interested. Unfortunately, I found nearly every aspect of this book lacking. The characters were simplistic and one dimensional. Most obnoxious was the way the author used the character of Ben as a mouthpiece to write pages about his own opinions concerning various issues surrounding the Holocaust. The writing was very simplistic. I found it a struggle just to get through the book. I do not recommend it to anyone. 

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Wjat the heck

    Cheat much, Katniss?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Wonderful

    Perhaps my favorite book of all time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Incredible

    I couldn't put this book down! Very compelling story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Loved it! A must read

    Read this for book club, wasn't sure when it was picked if I'd like it or not. It was a very fast read. I felt like I was sitting at the table as Ben was telling his story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Loved it

    A really excellent book, characters were very real, plot extremely a time in history. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I loved this book! The main story line was about a Jewish man who had been living in Poland during the halocaust and what his family went through. It was a fascinating story. The subplot is about a woman lawyer who hesitantly agrees to represent him and how his story affects her and helps to change her life. I high recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    For Fictional Holocaust History

    If Holocaust history interests you, this is a good book to read. Although fictional, it includes much history of that era. It is emotional as it involves you in the outcome of the story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    Touching Story that must never be forgotten.

    Using the real life plight of Polish Jews during World War was well done.
    The story line was definitely something that had happened many times.
    The main character's demand for justice is something we must always remember.
    It had me in tears.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8