Customer Reviews for

Once We Were Brothers

Average Rating 4.5
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Great!!!

This will be added to my list as one of one of the best books I've ever read. It s a little over 1,000 pages and I could not put it down. I read it in one day. It grabbed me from page 1. Everyone I have recommended it to have loved it as much as I did. If you enjoy holo...
This will be added to my list as one of one of the best books I've ever read. It s a little over 1,000 pages and I could not put it down. I read it in one day. It grabbed me from page 1. Everyone I have recommended it to have loved it as much as I did. If you enjoy holocaust stories this is one not to miss.

posted by teacher47 on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

For Fictional Holocaust History

If Holocaust history interests you, this is a good book to read. Although fictional, it includes much history of that era. It is emotional as it involves you in the outcome of the story.

posted by ChinaGirl55 on January 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 95 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Hi

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Add me?

    Hey
    Vlempert@yahoo.clm
    Real names magen
    Age thirteen
    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    amazing!!!

    This book truly touched me. I loved it and will reccomend it to aanyone. I lovedvthe love story hidden behind this well known evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    Wonderfully written

    A Must read! I can't wait for his next book. The story was unforgetable. I think this would be a great book for book club discussions. Many, many thoughts come up and points to ponder...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    What a great book!

    Once we were brothers is a great book. The story Ben told drew everyone in. And the historical insights were great. I hope mr balson does write another book. I would defineately read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Tyreese

    Tyreese

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    This is isabella

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Absolutely gripping and so real!!!

    I was one of the most amazing books I have ever read and made me feel like I was part of the story. Very touching and inspiriting. A must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Great book

    Difficult to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Don't miss this one

    The book was a great read. Kept me engrossed from cover to cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    A Great Book

    Very moving. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    A Must Read

    Couldn't put this book down. Well written and tho a sad book, I was glad I read this. The characters are interesting and i wrapped myself in their separate stories. This is not a book you will forget. Read it. It is important that you do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This book was great. I read all the time, all different kinds of fiction. I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    Recommended

    EXCELLENT Book very well written enjoyed reading it.
    I Would read another book by this author anytome :O))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Outstanding!

    Makes me ashamed to complain about ANYTHING!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Hard to put down

    Good story...some parts are predictable,some not. All in all a great read. If you would like to read a similar story try "The German Suitcase".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    A page turner R

    I would wake up at night and pick up the book. Well written. The characters become alive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Wow

    One of the most moving books I have ever read. I have read hundreds of books and this is the first review I have ever written. A must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There have been many books about the Holocaust and the travails

    There have been many books about the Holocaust and the travails of people under Nazi occupation during World War II, but this novel touches the heart of the reader because essentially it is a love story surrounded by the atrocities and miseries inflicted on the populations of the occupied territories. It is essentially the story of Ben Solomon and his wife and family. But, more important, it is the telling of the horrors endured by the Jews in Poland and the beasts that perpetrated them.

    The plot begins when Ben, now 82 years old, sees a TV broadcast of a Chicago event and recognizes the person receiving a civic honor, apparently a pillar of society who is well-known as a philanthropist, as a former Nazi SS officer, Otto Piatek. The reason Ben recognizes him is There have been many books about the holocaust and the travails of people under Nazi occupation because the Solomon family gave Otto a home and Ben grew p with him until Otto’s parents took him away and he embraced his new-found status in the National Socialist Party. Ben is introduced to Catherine Lockhart, an attorney, who comes to embrace Ben’s desire to uncover Otto, now going by the name of Elliot Rosenzweig, a billionaire Chicago insurance magnate, for what he really is, while listening to his story in relation to a lawsuit she is preparing to bring to reclaim jewelry and cash Otto stole from Ben’s family.

    Written simply, the book, a first effort by a Chicago lawyer, moves forward steadily, as Catherine attempts to formulate a lawsuit for replevin, while Ben insists on telling her in great detail the trials and tribulations of life under the Nazis. And it all comes together at the end. (Parenthetically, I believe the novel would make a great screenplay.)

    Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Katniss

    Hey pierce

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 95 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5