Customer Reviews for

Once a Brat

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Great read

    A sweet but hot short story. Great MC's - very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    Good read

    Kim Dare always delivers an entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    Yummy M/M BDSM short *Book source ~ Many thanks to NetGalley an

    Yummy M/M BDSM short

    *Book source ~ Many thanks to NetGalley and Riptide for providing a review copy in exchange for an honest review.

    Marcus Tremayne is a Dom who frequents the local BDSM club Spread Eagle. When twenty-year-old hot and sexy Bret Daniels spies Marcus minutes after entering the club he decides Marcus is the Dom for him. When Marcus ignores him, Bret stalks him for weeks, waiting for Marcus to speak to him. The moment Marcus gives in is the moment both of their lives change.

    This is the 3rd book in the series, but I didn’t feel as if I had missed anything by skipping books 1 & 2. Which is a good thing. While I do love a series that expands as each book comes along, I also prefer each book to stand alone. Contrary much? Yep. Anyway, this book made me curious enough to want to seek out the others, but didn’t irritate me by feeling as if I had missed something leading up to this book. Does that make sense? Well, it does to me. *winks*

    I really love the writing. This is the first Kim Dare book I’ve read and I’ll definitely be checking out more of her books. I also love Marcus. What a yummy Dom. Though I have to admit I was a little disappointed he gave in so quickly to Bret. Bret, on the other hand, him I didn’t like so much. He was too bratty, too forward for my tastes. The steamy goodness of the scenes makes up for my opinion of Bret though. All-in-all I like this M/M BDSM story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Don't want to put it down.

    It was a fun book and such an emotional and honest look from the sub's point of view. I just wish it had been longer, but it could probably never be long enough. Sweet and light excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Absolutely Great!

    Kim Dare is a superbly teasing author. This one is just as absolutely great as so many of her other books, if not better! It's playful, domineering, and one you just shouldn't miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog Eve

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Every time Bret says or does something without expressed consent and that’s when you know the sexiness is going to dial up to sizzling hot! ~ Under the Covers

    There are two things you need to know about Marcus. First, he is a Dom. And second, he has a stalker. Marcus soon discovers that his stalker following him around the club is actually Bret Daniels, a twenty year old History student who wants to be topped by Marcus. Usually, Marcus would be thrilled by the prospect of doing a scene with someone so hot, but Bret is also inexperienced, bratty and a motor mouth. Simply put, Bret is the brattiest sub any Dom could ever have! Which only intrigues Marcus more.

    ONCE A BRAT is short story by Kim Dare that fuses two of my favorite things together: BDSM and M/M! Right away, I knew it would be a winner. I am a big fan of Dare’s writing, always have been, always will be. Her latest book is no different.

    Bret and Marcus have great chemistry but because Bret is so inexperienced and mouthy, you get a Dom that needs to be firm. Marcus turned out to be a great Dom because he manages to keep Bret in a very tight leash while also letting him still be himself. I love the way Bret is so fearless about what he wants. Though it’s a dead giveaway of his inexperience, it definitely adds some spice to the dialogue and the s ex.

    Dare tinges this book with a little bit of a dark, possessive side. Marcus loves the fact that he is Bret’s first Dom and that only enhances the romance between them. The sexual tension is amped up every time Bret says or does something without expressed consent and that’s when you know the sexiness is going to dial up to sizzling hot! ONCE A BRAT is a great addition to the Kinky Cupid world.

    *ARC provided by Netgalley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    Another winner for Kim Dare! Bret is an inexperienced sub who i

    Another winner for Kim Dare!

    Bret is an inexperienced sub who is hugely attracted to Marcus. He recently joined the club Marcus frequents and at just one look at him Bret decides that Marcus is the one he is submitting to. He doesn't want anyone else unless it is Marcus, so he goes to great lengths to capture his attention to see if he could get him to play.

    Marcus is an experienced dom who is frustrated by Bret's attention, he is exasperated but he can't help but be curious about the boy too. After a couple of weeks of making his presence known to Marcus, Bret's efforts are well rewarded when Marcus suddenly decides that he wants to be the one to make Bret submit.

    And what a scene THAT was!!! It was hot, enlightening, sexy and did I say HOT? Because it was.

    Bret isn't sure if he really is a sub and it isn't until that first scene he has with Marcus that he realizes that he was made to submit - to Marcus and only him. He has no desire to follow typical protocols within the club unless it leads to Marcus' pleasure, for his main goal is to please Marcus with his submission. He controls himself when he wants to comment or ask questions hoping that the reward is as amazing as he thinks it will be. He doubts his actions, his feelings and his thoughts and only Marcus can free him of this. It is only while submitting to Marcus that Bret feels the rightness of being a sub. He learns to let go of his need to talk, to challenge and fill in the silence.

    Marcus on the other hand learns to let go in a whole different way. He sees Bret as a challenge and although he feels Bret has a long way to go in learning how to be a submissive, he is amused and charmed by his ways. He is especially pleased to know that he will be Bret's first dom and takes great care in making their first scene memorable. Little by little he lets go of some of his control and starts feeling something for the bratty sub.

    Once a Brat is exactly what I have come to expect from author Kim Dare. With a strong, dependable dom in Marcus and an adorable, bratty sub in Bret, Kim Dare brings to the page a sensual, funny story. Their interactions are entertaining as well as insightful. We get to learn bit and pieces of the characters, which really helped me cheer them on and endeared them to me all the more. I loved Bret's honesty and the self-doubts that surfaced because it added to his character and made him seem real. I admired Marcus control, but I have to say that it was a joy to read the moments when he let his control slide and offered Bret the same honesty he handed out.

    This was a light, funny and sexy novella with interesting characters that won my heart and an engaging story that left me grinning well after I was finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1