Customer Reviews for

Once a Cowboy (Harlequin American Romance #1151)

Average Rating 3.5
( 2195 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(677)

4 Star

(675)

3 Star

(490)

2 Star

(188)

1 Star

(165)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

A terrific private investigative romance

Dallas-based private investigator Alexandra Donovan has concerns over her latest case because she cannot see a happy ending no matter what she learns. Her middle aged client Mrs. Helen Braxton believes former Professional Rodeo Cowboy Association star Brodie Hayes is h...
Dallas-based private investigator Alexandra Donovan has concerns over her latest case because she cannot see a happy ending no matter what she learns. Her middle aged client Mrs. Helen Braxton believes former Professional Rodeo Cowboy Association star Brodie Hayes is her biological son abducted from a hospital just two days after she gave birth to him about four decades ago. The client wants the sleuth to find out all she can about Brodie¿s life past and present.--------------- Alex meets Brodie and both feel a strong attraction that neither anticipated as such desire has never hit them before. When he learns just who Alex is and the information about him she believes is the truth, he is overwhelmed because he now wonders just who Brodie Hayes truly is even as he knows one thing for certain, he loves Alex.--------------- ONCE A COWBOY is a terrific private investigative romance as the attraction between the professional sleuth and the retired professional rodeo participant is overwhelmed by her findings that she knew before hand would lead to someone being angry and disappointed and ready to shoot the messenger. Thus it is a stunned Brodie going through a form of the steps of grieving while also schizoid like falling in love with the bearer of bad news. Linda Warren¿s latest contemporary into a must read family drama.----------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good short story

I loved the country setting and the characters..Had to much intamacy detailed for my taste..other than that it was a good free book..

posted by BelieverinbooksJB on March 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2211 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 111
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific private investigative romance

    Dallas-based private investigator Alexandra Donovan has concerns over her latest case because she cannot see a happy ending no matter what she learns. Her middle aged client Mrs. Helen Braxton believes former Professional Rodeo Cowboy Association star Brodie Hayes is her biological son abducted from a hospital just two days after she gave birth to him about four decades ago. The client wants the sleuth to find out all she can about Brodie¿s life past and present.--------------- Alex meets Brodie and both feel a strong attraction that neither anticipated as such desire has never hit them before. When he learns just who Alex is and the information about him she believes is the truth, he is overwhelmed because he now wonders just who Brodie Hayes truly is even as he knows one thing for certain, he loves Alex.--------------- ONCE A COWBOY is a terrific private investigative romance as the attraction between the professional sleuth and the retired professional rodeo participant is overwhelmed by her findings that she knew before hand would lead to someone being angry and disappointed and ready to shoot the messenger. Thus it is a stunned Brodie going through a form of the steps of grieving while also schizoid like falling in love with the bearer of bad news. Linda Warren¿s latest contemporary into a must read family drama.----------- Harriet Klausner

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good short story

    I loved the country setting and the characters..Had to much intamacy detailed for my taste..other than that it was a good free book..

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    I'm ready to COWBOY UP!

    This book is very tastefully written. If I hadn't been married before I began reading this NOOKbook, I would've gone to Texas looking to help Brodie find himself! This is definitely a good read. Loved the characters, from the kooky granny to the lost parents and the dying "mother" this was well written. My sole complaint--the last chapter tried to do too much and was too predictable; it seemed like Linda Warren, who had done an amazing job up to that point, abandoned the editing and crammed everything the reader could possibly want into that last chapter. I am still ready to wrangle my cowboy! My husband is willing to fill that role.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Read

    It was an easy read with a storyline that was a little different than the usual. The back story wasn't really developed well, but this isn't a long novel. The only complaint I had at all, was the repetative use of 'cowboy'. Do people really talk like that in Texas?

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    This was romance?

    Although the plot was good, I didn't think the female protagonist was very fleshed out. It was more just following over the shoulders of an interesting story. I read more for the drama with the cowboy's family and birth--it was almost the end by the time anything happened between the two. Good if you're bored, maybe?

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    I had quit reading Harlequin long ago...

    I enjoyed reading this book much more than I had anticipated. At times I couldn't wait to get back to my nook! I had quit reading Harlequin because I had read so many that I could pretty much guess where they were going. I will be picking up another one very soon. : ) I wouldn't say it was excellent, but definitely good for when you have nothing else going on and need a distraction.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    I loved the storyline

    I really enjoyed this book. The storyline was interesting and was something I hadn't come across before. It was hard for me to put the book down and get things done. I couldn't wait to get back to reading it. I got a little confused toward the end when they were having Brodie's birthday party with all the people and extra names being thrown out there. Overall a wonderful book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!

    Having never read of herbooks it was a terrific and at such a steel of a deal price wise. I will be looking for more of her stories.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Horrible

    ## This book was awful! Doesn't matter if it was free, I can never get back those 3 hours. The "hero" was a complete ass. He kept telling the heroine to "go away, leave me alone, i never want to see you again". But she was so weak, she kept showing up, over and over.....it got so old. Then after about 100 pgs into the story, they finally get together and he tells her WHILE they are having sex "practice makes perfect" about rolling on the condom and "I don't have enough fingers to count all the women I've been with." True or not, only an insensitive jerk would say these things at that moment. I would've kicked this guy to the curb. In addition to that, about a third of the book is about the heroine's grandmother and has no bearing on the story whatsoever. UGH!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Loved this book

    This was the grestest book ever. I had to read it straight threw to the end. Could not put it down. Everyonr a must read even if you sre not into cowboys.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    A little slow...

    While I can't complain too harshly, seeing as this was a free nook, I can say it was choppy. The entire thing is written in actions, with very little feeling or thoughts of the characters behind them, and most sentences seem like fragments. I couldn't get a feel for the characters, and the romance moves from slow to suddenly there, with very little build-up, while the last plot twist seems like it was made up at the last second. All in all, it wasn't a terrible read, but nothing about it left me satisfied.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I've always loved cowboy novels. Since I picked up a Louis Lamour novel. This one I read in three days. The characters feel so real. A must read for cowboy novels readers

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    A good rrad

    The book was very interesting all the way through and i was not ready for the book to end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Great book

    Loved it. Tototally worth your time. Greatbook and loved the chactors inthe book


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Totally beautiful

    One of the best cowboy stories ever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Great reading

    It has been a while since high school I read a romantic book. This was nice to read not to mooshy. The story was good but could of left out the part about ALex's true mother part. All in all it was good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    A good read.

    I really enjoyed this book. It was good. The grandmother was too funny. I thought it was worth getting and reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    grear! Great !

    Loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Looks interesting

    Looks interesting

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    It's an ok book, at least it was free

    It's an ok book, trying to get through it, it's been over a week, and really only read it when I'm bored. The review would be harsher if I had actually paid money for it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2211 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 111