BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Once a Spy

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Once a Spy was definitely worth the time.

    I found the characters in Once a Spy to be interesting, sad, and at times, funny.
    The premise was original and thought-provoking and I have recommended it to
    several friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Once A Spy

    This very quirky premise works in a manner that I would have never imagined before reading this novel. Taking a subject matter as serious as Dementia/Alzheimer's Disease and combine it with the "spy" world is genius as far as I'm concerned. This pairing provides fast paced action that I desire in a mystery/adventure story while bringing to light the truth that many people of my generation face today, that of caring for a parent who has part time diminished mental capabilities. Mr. Thomson should be congratulated for granting the reader a wonderful, hard-to-put-down thriller that is a must read for those who are partial to this genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    wild

    these books are good but, yikes, everything is so out there, gets crazy but then I can't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    One of the best books I've read this summer. The plot is origin

    One of the best books I've read this summer. The plot is original and the characters had me laughing. Recommended to all the readers I know!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book!  It was fun, intriguing, and a littl

    I really enjoyed this book!  It was fun, intriguing, and a little sad all at the same time.  I loved how the relationship between the father and son developed throughout the story; how they both changed.  Only a few curse words, no sex scenes, which I really appreciated.  I would highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Skandar

    She picks a top bunk & puts her stuff in a cubby.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Arin

    Arin climbs to another of the middle bunks. She withdraws her things from seemingly nowhere, placing them in the cubby.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Clove

    She picks a middle bunk(because it has an ingraved cubby into the wall unlike the others. And its a good veiw for a tv.) Then she unpacks her duffle bag. Iphone, 2shirts and pants, a bottle of liqor, a pillow, and a picture of her and her family

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    S

    A thin girl walks in. "Hello?"

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Awesome

    Great read great concept love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Very good thriller

    I was not expecting this to be as good as it was. Enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Excellent storyline. Lacking technical accuracy.

    Great refreshing storyline. Excellent job weaving the characters diverse backgrounds into a collection of fast paced life and death challenges across the globe. The character, Drummond Clark's development reverses and matures to present an Alzheimer suffering master spy with the intermittent mental capacity of a genius. Unfortunately the extensive use of awkward double negatives and inaccurate technical statements create a spoiling effect for what the author does well. An example of inaccurate technical references follows: "..."is Blackbird fighter jets fly so fast--twenty-five-hundred miles per hour--the pilots have to wear space suits". It is not a fighter and the suits are not worn because of the speed. Hopefully the author will do better research in the future when presenting statements as facts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    Very Exciting!

    I was so intrigued by the description. From there - the minute Drummond dumped his dinner in the potted plant I was hooked. What great characters! Action does not stop! Highly recommend!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Once A Spy Is A Fun (and Funny) Thrill Ride!

    This is one of the most original books I've ever read. I've always been a fan of thrillers and mysteries (Lee Child, Michael Connelly, Vince Flynn, Daniel Silva, Harlan Coben, Patricia Cornwell, etc.) and this book ranks with the best of them. Once A Spy is filled with plot twists and surprising events. What makes it so unique are the hilarious situations and offbeat dialogue interspersed throughout the book.

    Think about a 65-year-old Jason Bourne in the early stages of Alzheimers - on a mishap adventure with his 30-year-old son who never knew his Dad was a spy. One minute Dad doesn't know what day it is, and the next minute he's disarming three big guys with guns, shooting them, and then escaping by flying away in a helicopter. The hysterical conversations between Dad and son as the son realizes his Dad wasn't just a boring appliance salesman all these years, along with the continual intrique, keep you turning the pages.

    If you love a good thriller, you definitely won't be disappointed! Enjoy!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very unique plot!

    I picked up this book because the plot sounded interesting. The story follows a father and son through plenty of action-packed scenes. The son, Charlie, discovers that his father, Drummond, was a spy for the U.S. government. The only problem is that Drummond has Alzheimer's. Drummonds lucidity fades in and out throughout the storyline, which adds plenty of plot twists, making this story a page-turner. I could hardly put it down!

    The original concept for this story added an unusual new twist to the usual spy novel. Thomson quickly pulls you in with an interesting introduction to the main characters. The sarcastic son, Charlie, adds plenty of comic relief. This was one of my more interesting reads, and I strongly suggest it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3