BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Once a Witch

Average Rating 4
( 203 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I want more!!

I thought that this book was very good. I was a very quick read (finished in an evening). I don't think there are plans for a sequel at this point..but I hope that Carolyn MacCullough writes one. There is definitely still story to tell. Great characters, romance, magic...
I thought that this book was very good. I was a very quick read (finished in an evening). I don't think there are plans for a sequel at this point..but I hope that Carolyn MacCullough writes one. There is definitely still story to tell. Great characters, romance, magic, and secrets all combine to create an awesome book worth reading!

posted by acsimps on February 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice, but...

Have you realized that not only does Tamsin smoke, but she and her COUSIN, Gabriel, have a relationship! They are related!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 26, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I want more!!

    I thought that this book was very good. I was a very quick read (finished in an evening). I don't think there are plans for a sequel at this point..but I hope that Carolyn MacCullough writes one. There is definitely still story to tell. Great characters, romance, magic, and secrets all combine to create an awesome book worth reading!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I love misfits. The ones in the family that no one cares about and then they become something more. Tam is the misfit of the family. She has grown up that she is nothing more than normal and never will be.

    I loved Tam and felt for her so badly. I felt her anger,her jealousy, and her wanting to leave away from everyone. Tam is a character that I could relate to right away. From the very first page, I fell in the story. Ms. MacCullough writing had me thinking I really was in the story. Her characters come to life beautifully with her writing and the plot blew me away.

    The love interest is good. I am, however a bit confused with it. I was under the impression that Gabe is Tam's cousin. But I am not sure if they just relate to Gabe as family and call him cousin because they are so close as a real family. If anyone can clear that up for me that be great.

    The best part of this book is the plot. Here we have a girl who doesn't want to be a part of her family because she believes she doesn't belong. Then she becomes something more and learns more secrets. The secrets is one that I felt on Tam behalf. I would have been furious had I known what she knew. It's not right. But I was glad that she upheld with great maturity and handled the situation smoothly. I admired Tam and loved the strength she carried with her.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Delightful!

    A tight, coherent, well-paced story. Fully dimensional, likeable characters. Magic, mystery, and suspense balanced with realistic personalities and relationships. A real pleasure to read, for teens or adults.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Nice, but...

    Have you realized that not only does Tamsin smoke, but she and her COUSIN, Gabriel, have a relationship! They are related!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Not worth it

    I must say this book was a waste of money. Even though I enjoyed the misfit of the book-Tasmin. I find Once a Witch very boring until the very end where there was a slight, short, fighting scene. I would say that you shouldn't waste your time or money on this book. Trust me.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review: Once A Witch

    I've had this sitting in my to read pile for awhile now. I knew I need to read it before I picked up the sequel. Now, I'm really looking forward to the next one because this one was excellent.

    I liked that Tasmin is the outcast in her family. Growing up in a family with Talents (as they call them) and being the only one without would be hard. Since she doesn't fit in at home, she convinced her parents to let her go to boarding school in NYC. There she feels normal and I think she likes her time away from her family. But, no matter what, I think she still longs to fit in with her family. Why else would she go back there so much to work in the family bookstore. I think it's also the reason she accepted the task to find the lost family heirloom. I wonder how she planned on doing that before Gabriel showed up?

    Aww... Gabriel. I think he might have been my favorite character. Gabriel moved away when they were young and Tasmin stopped writing to him when she didn't develop her Talent. When he moves back, you can bet she wasn't expecting to be so attracted to him. Turns out he feels the same, and has the Talent for finding lost objects and time travel. Together they must journey through time to find the object that the professor wants without giving him the power he also craves.

    Along the way Tasmin discovers that her family has been keeping secrets. Tasmin is more than what she thinks she is. But, the professor is tired of playing games and puts Tasmin's sister under a powerful love spell. It was interesting to watch the character match whits and powers against each other. This is no ordinary family and they have the power to stop you in your tracks. They also possess the power that could possibly destroy the future by changing the past.

    I really enjoyed this story even though I think the ending got a little muddled. Sometimes, I think to many things have to happen at once and it's hard to comprehend what really happened. I'm hoping the next book clears that up a little. But, overall I really recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Great Book!!

    I really enjoyed this so much I just couldn't put it down. The characters are deveolped well and has enough detail without going overboard and getting dull. Hoping for a follow up book to this one, so much promise left at the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    Tamsin Greene comes from a family of witches who all possess a s

    Tamsin Greene comes from a family of witches who all possess a special Talent. All except her. When she was born, her powerful grandmother prophesized that she was be the one of the most powerful witches her family had ever seen and they had high expectation. But when her eighth birthday rolls around and nothing manifests, everyone starts distancing their selves from the only person in the family to not develop a talent. Her best friend, Gabriel, moves away just before this so there is no one to really comfort her. When a gentleman shows up at her family's bookstore asking for her sister, Rowena, to help him find something (one of the many services her family offers), things really start to unravel. Everything she knows changes and when her sister's life is put in danger, she'll stop at nothing to save her.

    I had seen this book at Ollie's several times and though it caught my attention, I never picked it up because I am sometimes iffy and witch books. It's only logical to be so since there are so many. They are like the vampire and werewolf novels, every freaking author seems to feel the need to write about them these days. I realize not all of them are bad (in fact most are quite good), but weary of the bad ones, I am hesitant to read them unless I know someone who has enjoyed them. Anyway, stuff happened and this was one of the few books I had on my flash drive last week, so while waiting for my computer class to start, I started reading. And I couldn't stop. I ended up transferring the pdf to Luna (my kindle) so I could read it any moment I had to spare. This book is one of the great ones. I really loved it.

    Things I liked:
    - I loved Tamsin. She is quirky, rebellious, sarcastic as hell, and has a decent sense of humor.
    -There are no love triangles. There is just Tamsin who is attracted to Gabriel and Gabriel who is attracted to Tamsin. There is no angst over which guy to choose, just those 2 on an adventure to save the day.
    -It is written in first person. I love things written in first person because I always get a better feel for the characters.
    -It doesn't shy away from sexual innuendos. Some YA novels do these days and it bugs me. I hate to break it to anyone out there with a teenage daughter 16 and up, but sex does cross their mind and is a topic that will be discussed with their peers. That being said, this book has no sexual content. Tamsin and Gabriel kiss a time or two, but that is it. My point is more that it isn't an issue that is just completely left out. I love how Gabriel is portrayed as an amazing guy who does think about it a lot, showing that guys don't have to be either or. It's something I think YA is lacking these days.
    -Gabriel. Yeah, I am so still going through that phase where I love all the main male characters. Hot, sarcastic, and he plays guitar...need I say more?
    -I liked the ending. This doesn't end in a cliffhanger. Tamsin and Gabriel save the day and though they don't ride off into the sunset, there isn't a massive cliffhanger there is grade on my nerves. The ending just leaves it open for another book.

    Thinks I disliked:
    -............
    I really don't think there was anything I disliked about it.

    This novel really is amazing. I will be starting book 2 next and I look forward to raving about how great it is next :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    this is a great book and i would recomend this to anyone. there

    this is a great book and i would recomend this to anyone. there are a few swear words in it but nothing too bad. there is a sequel called"always a witch" which is great too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Not the worst but not the best either

    The initial plot set up was pretty good. I was intrigued. However about halfway through the book I got bored. There were so many unfinished ideas and so much going on that I got overwhelmed and confused. Also, the characters weren't developed enough for me to really relate to any of them. I gave it three stars for creativity but the writing just wasn't quite there. I really only finished it for the sake of finishing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    I really like this book but one aspect really bothered me, our 1

    I really like this book but one aspect really bothered me, our 17 year old protagonist smokes. It does not fit with her character, and is pretty much accepted and overlooked. The rest of her moral standards as well as her families appear to be higher than that. I just do not think it is something that I would want my YA reader to read in this setting.
    The plot was engaging and fast-paced with some Mystery a touch of romance and plot twists. I love the idea of different “Gifts or Talents” (abilities) for each witch and the addition of time travel in the magic realm. I related well with the characters and found it refreshing to read about a “normal” happy and loving family. The romance is appropriate for the age of the characters. There is chemistry there so that it is obvious that they like each other but their friendship is the most important element and not overshadowed by mush. He supports her even when it may not seem like the best thing to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    READ NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!

    One of the best books i have ever read! The second book is good too, i really reccommend reading this book ASAP!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Can't wait to read the next book!

    Can't wait to read the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    quite predictable but still enjoyable

    Quick, easy read with a plot that isn't earth-shattering but still fun to read. Not the best teen witch book out there but very well worth the few hours it will take to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Good one

    I liked this book. It was unpredictable and interesting to me. I look forward to starting the second tomorrow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Great book

    Just read it from my book club. Best book ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Good read

    A nice quick read that i would love to see a sequel of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Wonderful book. Can't wait to read the next one!

    Highly Recommended!! It is a must!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Greatread!

    Slightly predictable but thrilling all the same

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Good read

    I read this book in an afternoon. Good storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11