Customer Reviews for

Once a Witch

Average Rating 4
( 203 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I want more!!

I thought that this book was very good. I was a very quick read (finished in an evening). I don't think there are plans for a sequel at this point..but I hope that Carolyn MacCullough writes one. There is definitely still story to tell. Great characters, romance, magic...
I thought that this book was very good. I was a very quick read (finished in an evening). I don't think there are plans for a sequel at this point..but I hope that Carolyn MacCullough writes one. There is definitely still story to tell. Great characters, romance, magic, and secrets all combine to create an awesome book worth reading!

posted by acsimps on February 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice, but...

Have you realized that not only does Tamsin smoke, but she and her COUSIN, Gabriel, have a relationship! They are related!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 26, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Good read

    Great book, lots of details, and i cant wait to read the sequel!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Good read

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    What

    It was not all that good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from missprint.wordpress.com

    Tamsin Greene comes from a very Talented family in Once a Witch (2009) by Carolyn MacCullough. You won't find any math geniuses among the Greene family. And no one is exceptionally athletic. But if you ever break anything, be it bones or fine china, Uncle Chester can fix it. Her father can make your grass grow and the sun shine, while her mother can move almost faster than the eye can see. That's because Tamsin comes from a long line of very Talented witches.

    When she was born, it was predicted that Tamsin would be one of the most powerful witches ever, a beacon to the entire family. That was until her disastrous eighth birthday, where these lofty predictions were proven wrong. Now seventeen, Tamsin spends as much time as possible away from her family at boarding school in New York City. Summers, however, are spent at home working at her family's magic/book shop feeling like an outcast.

    But Tamsin has almost reconciled herself to always been less Talented than her glamorous and infuriating and very Talented older sister. She has even almost come to terms with knowing that she is less than her family expected. Almost . . .

    When a dashing professor comes to the store and mistakes her for her older sister, she knows she should set the man straight. Except that for once it's Tamsin who is being looked at with admiration instead of Rowena. And before she can think better of it, Tamsin has agreed to help the man find a family heirloom that has been lost for more than a century.

    Following the missing heirloom through time, Tamsin realizes too late that there is more to this stranger and his artifact than meets the eye. As she struggles to complete the search and set things right, Tamsin will unearth secrets about her own lack of Talent as well as long forgotten secrets from her family's past that could change everything.

    Once a Witch was basically fantastic. As she did in Drawing the Ocean, MacCullough has created a group of vivid characters who will quickly capture the hearts and imaginations of readers. Tamsin and Gabriel in particular are incredibly well-realized and a joy to read about. The writing is understated and elegant as Tamsin narrates a story filled with action, suspense, romance and, of course, family. Once a Witch is a great addition to the world of urban fantasy and a title that is to beguile. It is also hopefully not the last book MacCullough will write featuring Tamsin and her wonderfully Talented family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    amazing

    this book is soo good im going 2 recomend it to all of my friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Ok read

    This isn't a bad story, but it's not one that I was riveted to. I can't even put my finger on exactly what it was that made this book easier to put down than others. There was just something that was... off I guess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Great climax

    The beginning was a little slow for me. Once i got id say 75 pages in i could not put the book down. The climax of this book is one of the best i have read in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Cute story

    The story was good, didnt have me on the edge of my seat or anything though. It was very short too at only 180 pages. I will probably read the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Good read

    I really like the story. I loved Tam’s character. I hope that in future stories her relationship with Gabriel grows. I was a little surprised at how the author didn’t go into the main characters personality more, but then it made for a more interesting story. The story was creative, different and suspenseful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    I'm hooked!

    This is a funny, engrossing kind of witch book that keeps me coming back for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Please check this out!

    I didn't expect to like this book. Just wanted a bit of fluff just to have something to read. Was I wrong! I was captured from the first chapter, and read this book in less than a day! Thank you for giving me another author to watch out for!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Enjoyable

    It's entertaining enough to make you want to read the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter review of Once A Witch by Carolyn MacCullough

    I officially love this series. Everything about Once a Witch was just amazing. The characters, the setting, the strange yet intriguing Talents that every witch, except for Tamsin has, and the way every perfectly crafted sentence had my mind reeling over all the possible situations that the main character Tamsin could encounter on the next page! Everything...from start to finish. I found it totally unpredictable. From the prologue, that I instantly found interesting, had me attracted to it like a fish to some fishing bait (was that a bad metaphor?). It was so finely detailed that I could easily imagine all the trouble that Tamsin got into unfold before my eyes, from the moment that Alistair Callum enters her family store, to the end of the story.

    I hadn't known what to expect from the story. Reading the synopsis, when I saw the words time and travel, I was slightly worried. I was wondered if it would still meet my expectations of reading a genuine and original read. Well guess what? It blew my mind to the point where I was so glad that there was time travel, all due to the fun Talents that the characters had. I especially enjoyed Tamsin's sister, Rowena's, Talent. She can get people to do whatever she wants just by talking to them (I wouldn't mind having it). I loved the way Carolyn MacCullough set up the relationships between the characters. I could understand the love/hate relationship that Tamsin and her older sister, Rowena, shared and I found it easy to believe the distant relationships that Tamsin had with the rest of her family due to her having no Talents at all. I would pout and want to hug Tamsin whenever she brought up how her Grandmother and her were never close, or how she felt like her Mother thought of her as a big disappointment because her Grandmother's prediction was wrong. All through the story I was constantly wondering if Tamsin's Grandmother really was wrong about Tamsin being the most powerful witch they would know and all that jazz. From what all the characters said about her Grandmother, I highly doubted that she was wrong. Is she, is she not? You get to find out in the novel.

    As for the time travel part of the story, I still couldn't wrap my mind around the concept, though I found it strange how Tamsin and Gabriel could interact with the people from the past and not affect their future. Although it was explained that small bits of the future would be affected, I still found it strange how they could interact with their past relatives and have them hardly notice them in the future. It's something that MacCullough put in the novel that I believe will be the most memorable part, and I hope it's discussed in the sequel, Always a Witch. Since I brought up Gabriel, I'm proud to say that he could be my new character boyfriend. I'm already accepting the fact that he's a lot funnier than Patch, so who knows? Gabriel was my favorite character in the novel. He was easy to imagine (I kinda saw him like a human version of Flynn from Disney's Tangled, don't know why). He had a lot of funny comments to make in the story and such a witty personality, plus his Talent is finding lost things which adds into the time travel part of the story. And not to mention that I wanted him and Tamsin together more than anything.

    What wasn't to love? Time travel, great characters, Talents, family secrets being uncovered and a villain who I found both creepy and has motives that equal to Tamsin's, but differ at the same time. I would

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    great read

    Could have a little more romace

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Amazing!!!!

    This book is amazing and so good I couldn't stop reading it and I loved it soooo much that i hope the author will make a sequel to it!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Easy and light reading

    Looking forward to reading the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Ok...

    I found this book to b alright,it wasnt wut i thought....i really didnt want to finish the last few pages but i did...i dnt think ima pick up book 2.... =\

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Ok

    Pretty boring. Nothing captivating about it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Loved it!!

    This was a great read. Found it hard to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Thumbs up

    I would read another by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11