Customer Reviews for

Once a Witch

Average Rating 4
( 203 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I want more!!

I thought that this book was very good. I was a very quick read (finished in an evening). I don't think there are plans for a sequel at this point..but I hope that Carolyn MacCullough writes one. There is definitely still story to tell. Great characters, romance, magic...
I thought that this book was very good. I was a very quick read (finished in an evening). I don't think there are plans for a sequel at this point..but I hope that Carolyn MacCullough writes one. There is definitely still story to tell. Great characters, romance, magic, and secrets all combine to create an awesome book worth reading!

posted by acsimps on February 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice, but...

Have you realized that not only does Tamsin smoke, but she and her COUSIN, Gabriel, have a relationship! They are related!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 26, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review: Once A Witch

    I've had this sitting in my to read pile for awhile now. I knew I need to read it before I picked up the sequel. Now, I'm really looking forward to the next one because this one was excellent.

    I liked that Tasmin is the outcast in her family. Growing up in a family with Talents (as they call them) and being the only one without would be hard. Since she doesn't fit in at home, she convinced her parents to let her go to boarding school in NYC. There she feels normal and I think she likes her time away from her family. But, no matter what, I think she still longs to fit in with her family. Why else would she go back there so much to work in the family bookstore. I think it's also the reason she accepted the task to find the lost family heirloom. I wonder how she planned on doing that before Gabriel showed up?

    Aww... Gabriel. I think he might have been my favorite character. Gabriel moved away when they were young and Tasmin stopped writing to him when she didn't develop her Talent. When he moves back, you can bet she wasn't expecting to be so attracted to him. Turns out he feels the same, and has the Talent for finding lost objects and time travel. Together they must journey through time to find the object that the professor wants without giving him the power he also craves.

    Along the way Tasmin discovers that her family has been keeping secrets. Tasmin is more than what she thinks she is. But, the professor is tired of playing games and puts Tasmin's sister under a powerful love spell. It was interesting to watch the character match whits and powers against each other. This is no ordinary family and they have the power to stop you in your tracks. They also possess the power that could possibly destroy the future by changing the past.

    I really enjoyed this story even though I think the ending got a little muddled. Sometimes, I think to many things have to happen at once and it's hard to comprehend what really happened. I'm hoping the next book clears that up a little. But, overall I really recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Great Book!!

    I really enjoyed this so much I just couldn't put it down. The characters are deveolped well and has enough detail without going overboard and getting dull. Hoping for a follow up book to this one, so much promise left at the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    I really like this book but one aspect really bothered me, our 1

    I really like this book but one aspect really bothered me, our 17 year old protagonist smokes. It does not fit with her character, and is pretty much accepted and overlooked. The rest of her moral standards as well as her families appear to be higher than that. I just do not think it is something that I would want my YA reader to read in this setting.
    The plot was engaging and fast-paced with some Mystery a touch of romance and plot twists. I love the idea of different “Gifts or Talents” (abilities) for each witch and the addition of time travel in the magic realm. I related well with the characters and found it refreshing to read about a “normal” happy and loving family. The romance is appropriate for the age of the characters. There is chemistry there so that it is obvious that they like each other but their friendship is the most important element and not overshadowed by mush. He supports her even when it may not seem like the best thing to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    quite predictable but still enjoyable

    Quick, easy read with a plot that isn't earth-shattering but still fun to read. Not the best teen witch book out there but very well worth the few hours it will take to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Good read

    A nice quick read that i would love to see a sequel of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Greatread!

    Slightly predictable but thrilling all the same

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Good read

    I read this book in an afternoon. Good storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Good read

    Great book, lots of details, and i cant wait to read the sequel!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Good read

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Great climax

    The beginning was a little slow for me. Once i got id say 75 pages in i could not put the book down. The climax of this book is one of the best i have read in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    I'm hooked!

    This is a funny, engrossing kind of witch book that keeps me coming back for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Enjoyable

    It's entertaining enough to make you want to read the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    great read

    Could have a little more romace

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Thumbs up

    I would read another by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Pretty good:)

    I would waste my money on it unlike other people haha i liked it:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    Surprised at how much I liked the book.

    All her life Tasmin, has been unTalented, while belonging to a family of witches. Then after a misunderstanding, she agrees to find an heirloom in the form of a clock. The client: a Professor name Alistair. However once she finds the clock, things get a little...complicated. What I like even more was that the romance wasn't the main focus. Something that I notice unfortunately is in other books. Anyway, can't wait for the sequel. Once a Witch is for anyone who's looking for a light read, likes stories with witches and where the romance isn't the main focus of the plot all the time, then this book is worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this...

    "Your daughter will be one of the most powerful we have ever seen in this family"... or not. Tamsin has lived most of her life feeling like a disappointment to her family. Predicted at birth to be one of the most powerful amongst them, she is the only one in a family without a Talent. When her Talent fails to manifest itself by age 8, the absolute latest anyone in the family has ever shown, she begins to feel like an outsider. To make matters worse, she has a perfect older sister in Rowena. So, when she is 17 and a mysterious stranger mistakes her for Rowena, she fails to correct him and determines that she will find a way to help the stranger despite her lack of Talent. Her long-lost childhood friend Gabriel is brought back into her life at just the right time to help Tamsin help the stranger. Unfortunately, the stranger is not who he appears to be and the story of an ancient feud between families comes to light. The stranger needs the real Rowena to help him change the past & only Tamsin can stop him.

    I really like Tamsin. She is not a helpless female character and while she is without Talent, she is not without wit and resources. She is funny and smart, while still being a vulnerable, insecure teenaged girl. She is a pretty good role model for other girls, despite the smoking. She really begins to come into her self during this story and I am interested to see how she develops as a young woman in the stories to come. I am also interested in how her role in the family will change in the future, as well as her relationship with Gabriel.

    I really enjoyed this story and look forward to reading the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun and suspenseful

    This was such a fun book to read. I love everything about witches and this book definitely delivered. It was fun, suspenseful and a real page turner. I liked Tamsin and Gabriel. I hope they become a couple in the next book. I loved all the flirty little comments. All the characters were great. Looking forward to see what happens next in Always a witch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    :)

    This is a fairly good read.Not one of those in your face wow books but still a good book nonetheless.Tamsin Greene comes from a family of really talented witches and on the day of her birth her grandmothers announces she would be the most talented of them all. But it seems that day never seemed to come on her 8th birthday(that's when talents seem to happen in her family) when it was supposed to now Tamsin is seventeen and living in the shadows of her older sister and the rest of the others with talent(even a toddler cousin of hers seems to have a talent).One day while working in her grandmother's book store Tamsin meets a professor looking for a lost family artifact that went missing 100 years ago and has asked Tamsin to help him(he seems to think she's her older sister) Things go bad and he isn't who he seems to be at first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So Good has the Potential to be a Great Series

    I love supernatural books that's mostly what I read so when I saw this book at Barnes and Noble I decided to give it a try.It was a good read, Tamsin is a very smart head strong independent girl who is always there for her friends.I found through out the book that I could see myself being friends with her.I loved Gabriel he was the classic funny cocky musician.And together they make a good team.Through the whole book Tamsin was hit with trouble after trouble.The ending left me wanting more and a little hints here and there that's there is going to be a sequel.I think the book was a great one time read and I recommend it.And I really hope for a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4