BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Once an Eagle

Average Rating 5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    Absolutely one of the best books I've ever read. I served in the military and have great respect for the men and women that served during the impossibly horrific wars that Sam Damon lived through. Anton Myrer hits the nail on the head with this novel. It's an epic. It's one of those that I wish could have gone on for a thousand more pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2004

    A fine example of integrity!

    This book has been in my library since 1968, and I re-read it each year. Sam Damon exhibits the character, courage, honesty and values that all men should aspire to. Although Sam is a fictional character, he has been a inspiration for me for over 35 years. A 'six' star read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 1999

    The only novel I've ever read twice.

    If you are a soldier, this should be a must-read for you. If you are a human, this should be on your top ten. Meyrer brings to light some issues that our military today struggles with: retention in a post-war draw-down with a thriving economy; maintaining the soldier spirit through all the political BS; most important -- being a good human over a good soldier (p.815). A real page turner, but if you plan to read it all in one sitting you'd better pack a healthy lunch.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite Book Of All Time

    For a baby boomer who gave his first ever grammar school book report on "Guadalcanal Diary" this book later became my all time favorite. I understand it is required reading at West Point and the author certainly deserves that kind of respect from our military. For those of us old enough to remember the television mini-series, it makes the book an easy read when you picture Sam Elliot as Sam Damon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Once An Eagle, a 5 Star Book

    I have purchased this book as a gift for several friends. I read it about 10 years ago. It is about the career of a young army enlisted man who joins in World War I, who advances up the ranks to General, then retires a General and goes to Vietnam during the conflict there. It chronicles America in war and peace over a 60 year period. It is the best book about the military and one of the best books on any subject I have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    This is a one of he best books that I've read along with 'Soldie

    This is a one of he best books that I've read along with 'Soldier of the Great War'. It covers the all the major wars of the 20th century with Sam Damon as the honorable and brave soldier who gives everything he has to serve his country. Very well written and utterly believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2006

    an encouraging book

    Once an Eagle is a great book for colloge students. This book will encourage a lot of young adults. To do what you love even if it seems impossible is my theme that i got from this book. It includes funny moments, sad moments, happy moments and so on. I would recommend this book to anybody that thinks that his/her dream is impossible to reach, expecially to the people who want to go to the army and stant up for his country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    A great book!

    I found this book to be very interesting. It was amazing how Myrer told the story like he was their with Damon. The author did a great job keeping the story interesting considering how long the book was. The story was very motivational and his desire to win encouraged me to succeed at whatever I do and never give up. I would recommend this book to anyone who needs encouragement or just wants a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    What An Amazing Story About A Hero

    This was the most interesting story that I had ever read. It was a story about a man named Sam Damon that wanted to show the world that he could do anything only if he put his mind to it. Sam had a character like no one else. He was one of a kind. His character should be the mark of what a American is really about. Honestly, trustworthy, has courage, is not self-center, but believes in himself and the people around him. You got to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    Amazing

    This book was one of the best books that i have read in years. The author did an amazing job describing war and how anyone can achieve their dreams if they really push themselves. This is a great book to read if you are unsure about going for your dreams because it talks about a man that no one really believed in but he believed in himself and he ended up being the man everyone looked up to.... it was an amazing book....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    A BRILLIANT Book even for a young kid like me

    This book is amazing. I read it a little a while ago, and I'm still in middle school. This book is so good, that I keep re-reading it. It is a story of a great man name Sam Damon who is an excellent commander. He goes through tough times, but always comes out on top. YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    Great book!

    I saw the mini-series and was captivated. I read the book and was afraid that I might be disappointed. Sometimes, the book isn't as good as the movie and vice versa. The book was so good that I sent it to my dad who was a career Army office and retired as a bird colonel after 33 years. He really liked it, so much so, that I couldn't get it back from him! He would read it and then, re-read it again. Daddy passed away this year and I don't know where the book is, so I'm going to get myself another copy! I wish I could see the mini-series again....it was excellent and cast perfectly. You HAVE to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2003

    Tremendous TV series.

    Why have they never made the TV series available to the retail market? It was a wonderful book, but also, an excellent movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2003

    Good Book!

    This book was a good book to read but it is rather long and difficult at times to understand. It shows how a man will do anything for his own pride, courage and dignity. I would reccommend this book to anyone trying to identify themselves as a person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2003

    The greatest book I've ever read

    This book is a traggic story of a great man. One of the best commanders the army has ever seen. This man goes throw some of the worst thing that have ever been described to me before but he servived almost evrything. This book is about respect for other and respecting yourself.The book also give the readers a good idea of how it is to live in the army on the bass with a family. I think anyone that is thinking about going into the militaty should read this book. Its got the up and downs of many military situations. Ounce I started to read this book I didn't want to stop reading until the very end and I really have better things to do with my time but this book seems like the funnest thing to do because it keep you hanging on to every word. I would recoment this book to anyone that want to gave something to do for a wile. This book also contains a lot of history. So his you are a history buff you'll injoy contradicting this story with what you might allready know about this time period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    GOOD READ!!!!

    This was a good read. It is full of action and kept my attention the whole way through. I would highly recommend it to anyone who likes war books. 4 stars from me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2002

    A classic on leadership and just being a man.

    This was one of the best books I've ever read. Lengthy, but at times engrossing. The lead character is terrific, you really believe that this guy actually lived. From a literary perspective, the ending is a masterpiece, but I HATED it. Felt like I'd actually lost a friend, almost cried, for pete's sake, and I'm not the sentimental type. A picture of what man can aspire to be. Gritty battle scenes give some idea of what war is really like, why it's something to be avoided. But it also clearly demonstrates that as John Stewart Mill has said, "War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things. The decayed and degraded state of moral and patriotic feeling which thinks that nothing is worth war is much worse. The person who has nothing for which he is willing to fight, nothing which is more important than his own personal safety, is a miserable creature and has no chance of being free unless made and kept so by the exertions of better men than himself." I highly recommend Myrer's epic tale of being a soldier, but more than that, being a man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2000

    The Consummate Military Novel

    I first read this novel as a first classman at The Citadel in 1968. My roommate, whose father was a retired Army colonel, lent it to me. It is the only fictional book that I have read that has made a major impact on me as a soldier and as a businessman. Sam Damon's penchant for doing the right thing regardless of its personal effect upon self sets the tone of honor and sacrifice of the true warrior. Would that all our soldiers, sailors, marines, and airmen espouse such high ideals. Every business school in America should also use this outstanding case study as a standard tome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2000

    A Life-Changing Novel

    This is, to put it simply, the most important book I have ever read. It has become a sort of Bible to me, the novel I would choose if I could have only one to read for the rest of my life. Because of Anton Meyrer, I have chosen to be a military officer. I may be a woman, but Sam is my hero. Read 'Once an Eagle' and you will be changed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2000

    Excellent

    I have read this book about 20 times. Each time I read it, I find something that I missed the first time. It is an excellent novel about war (written accurately), the lives it touched both abroad and at home. It is the classic struggle between good ol boy (Sam) and the master manipulator (Courtney). My house burned down about 3 years ago and I wanted to replace this book with the original hardback that I had. I looked in every bookstore, and when I found a first edition, I clutched it to me like an old friend. I cannot write this review without interjecting the emotion that I feel about the written words of Anton Myerer. He has made the characters come to life with passion, sincerety, and he has made war what it truly is, a conflict of spirit, the heart and the mind. I know that some would not read this because of its military nature, but I would suggest that anyone that wants an insight to human nature read and devour this book. It is a masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2