Customer Reviews for

The Once and Future King

Average Rating 4
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

The Once and Future King Review

Most fantasy books have taken a back seat these days. Small-time books are overshadowed with the ever so popular fantasy books of Harry Potter and Twilight. However, I came across a book on my family's bookshelf that revealed to me that small-time fantasy books can prov...
Most fantasy books have taken a back seat these days. Small-time books are overshadowed with the ever so popular fantasy books of Harry Potter and Twilight. However, I came across a book on my family's bookshelf that revealed to me that small-time fantasy books can provide just as many hours of entertainment as any other popular book. T. H. White's "The Once and Future King" is a book I recommend for a great read if you want a simple yet fantasy based tale.

"The Once and Future King" is a fantasy book based on the young King Arthur and his magical world in Camelot. What I liked most about this book is its use of perspective. The book is surrounded with characters of all types and personalities. The book contains four parts and each part is presented from the view of a different character. All four parts of the book depict King Arthur's rise to power all the way to his death. However, the different characters that present the story are both friends and enemies of King Arthur. For instance, the third part is read through Lancelot's life, who is King Arthur's most trusted knight and protector of Camelot. On the other hand, the fourth part of the book is presented through King Orkney's four sons Gawaine, Gaheris, Gareth, and Agravaine who all wish to see King Arthur lose his throne because of Arthur's past history.

This four-part perspective book is flooded with characters that all have their unique personality. I found this most enjoyable as I made my own opinions about characters. I found it almost like a movie with characters I highly respect and others that generally irritated me.

While characters are a central part of the story, the fantasy elements to the story add a little bit of comic relief to the book. From magical animals to wizardry to even war, this book is filled with both a dramatic plot and side humor all surrounded by its unique characters.

I recommend this book not for those who wish to learn about King Arthur and his Round Table, but for those who want a simple and easy read for the sake of plot and entertainment. This story to me does not have the extreme insightful and enlightening themes that most of us enjoy in books. To me, it is just a straightforward story where you learn to love and hate the characters. "The Once and Future King" is just pure entertainment for an escape from reality. It is the epitome of a small-time fantasy book.

posted by KrishnaP19 on February 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Wasn't for me

Some people have absolutely LOVED this book and raved about it. I bought it for a book club meeting, but it just wasn't for me. I just could not get into it. I think it is well written, but just not for me. If you don't like fantasy stories you might not like it, if...
Some people have absolutely LOVED this book and raved about it. I bought it for a book club meeting, but it just wasn't for me. I just could not get into it. I think it is well written, but just not for me. If you don't like fantasy stories you might not like it, if you do like fantasy you might love it.

posted by eileenisapackrat on February 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    I had to read this for summer reading, and now I love it.

    This book is now one of my favorites of all time. Yes, at first, it was very confusing and kind of hard to keep reading. Once you read the first or second book, it gets much easier to finish and to fall in love with. It also had alot of twists and things that you werent expecting, which is one thing that I love in books. The only thing that I had a problem with was that there were some points where it would spend way too much time describing one thing, and it also skipped over about six years of Arthur's life.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastial!

    I first read this in hardcover, ohhhh..... I'm not telling you how long ago - long enough that I had to get a new copy because the cover fell off! I loved "Arthur" stories as a kid, and the historical novels and variations that came out in the 70's and 80's as I grew up. When I stumbled across this one, I was both enthralled and vastly amused. I actually didn't realize that Disney stole the plot and twisted a chapter or two into their cartoon.... silly me! The Book Is Always Better! It's a great read that has a really "chatty", conversational tone, that assumes that you not only know a lot about King Arthur, but a little about history as well, or else you miss a lot of the jokes. But even if you do, the wizard who lives backwards and knows the future because it's his past, and the boy who turns into a fish and becomes king of all Briton will steal your heart. Enjoy!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best telling of the King Arthur legend.

    I loved this book. Is it the easiest book to read? Maybe not, but the complexity of the plot and the richness of the characters, is not easily told. The first book in the tetralogy is light while each of the following books become darker and more intense.

    This story stays with you long after you turn the final page. There's a lot to learn about life and humanity here. I always found the usual King Arthur stories too romantic, too artificial, but T. H. White wrote this story of King Arthur for adults and those who want to think.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    The Once and Future King

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book. I saw the movie that was based on this book and was able to imagine the cartoon characters along with the book. I higly recommend it to literature and history students and teachers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Super story and book. That is why they made a musical and movie about it.

    Great classic that belongs with Alice in Wonderland, Charles Dickens, and Mark Twain. A must read for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    LOVE THIS BOOK, I LOVE STORY'S LIKE THIS.I WILL CONTINUE TO BUY

    LOVE THIS BOOK, I LOVE STORY'S LIKE THIS.I WILL CONTINUE TO BUY MOOR OF T.H. WHITE BOOKS,AND MOST OF I CAN NOT PUT IT DOWN AT ALL. THANK GOD FOR BOOKS OR I WILL BE SO BOARD.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    T.H Whites is very famous for comedy and long books to entertain

    T.H Whites is very famous for comedy and long books to entertain
    readers. The book he wrote was “ Once and Future King” , which I thought
    was a fun fantasy like book. If you are very interested in movies like
    “ Lord of the Rings” or books like “ The Hobbit” , then this book is
    pretty much for the audience. The audience would learn a good lesson
    from this book. The book mainly uses laughter, magic and medieval
    things. “ Once and Future King” is a good title for this book. It means
    that Arthur had a destiny. “Once and Future King” font and print wasn't
    a good book to look at. It was small and wouldn't stay open. The real
    main character were Merlin and Arthur. But I couldn't never relate to
    them only in his life lesson. The one main idea that caught my attention
    was his responsibility. He learn how to grow up from Merlin. The writing
    style was interesting to. It was longer and story like to reader. The
    main point that stood out to me was learning also the point that he had
    to learn from at the battle. This book is really good for an audience
    who loves to play games like the Fantasy series. Arthur is growing up
    and doesn't know he is already a king until he pulls the sword from the
    stone. Merlin lives backward too. The best part to me was when the owl
    built a relationship with Arthur throughout the book. The only way the
    book touch me was how it teaches life lesson.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    The author is T.H White he has not won any awards. This is a fic

    The author is T.H White he has not won any awards. This is a fiction
    book which makes it a mthytic and fantasy book that somewhat goes along
    with the story of King Arthur. This book is intended for kids in junior
    high and high school. This book is to entertain the audience but u must
    have a good imagination. I think the cover of the book is very suitable
    for it because it has a castle and a knight in armor in it. The title of
    the book is simple but complicated because of the theme that it has to
    match it. The font in the book is readable and the book is very flexible
    and could last long. The main characters in the book are a magician
    named Merlyn and a teenager by the name of Arthur but is called the Wart
    in the beginning. They are very likeable characters and readers can
    relate to them very easily. The theme in the book is overcoming
    difficulties and struggles. Some other themes are how the main character
    is taught about how other things around him that happen. Also the main
    charter learns and hears famous quotes from animals and humans that he
    has meet along the way. But my favorite quote is when Merlyn says “yes
    King Arthur” and the king begins to cry. This boo is really good and
    very interesting. My opinion on it is that the book keeps the reader
    into it and their mind into the book. T.H White did a fantastic job in
    writing this book. I personally think that T.H White is a very good
    writer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    J.D. Favors English 10 Mrs. Hornbuckle 17 August 2012 The Sword

    J.D. Favors English 10 Mrs. Hornbuckle 17 August 2012 The Sword in the
    Stone T.H. White is the author of the book and his style is
    very short sentences, but creative. This book is a fiction book about a
    fantasy. This book is written to entertain the reader and should want to
    make the reader keep reading. This book is written for people who want
    to read an exciting and mysterious book. The title was inspired by how
    it is Arthur’s destiny to become king. It is a good title because it is
    catchy and makes someone want to reads the book. The book cover is very
    interesting and definitely wanted to make me read the book. The cover
    makes it look like he is going into battle, also the font was very nice,
    and it was also the perfect size. The characters in The
    sword in the stone were very likeable and very courageous. It was King
    Arthur’s destiny to pull the sword out of the stone. The word choice and
    sentence structure was very excellent, because they made it sound like
    it was really the Medeival days. The most memorable quote to me was when
    the Wart told Sir Kay the sword was pulled out of the stone. Sir Kay was
    in total shock and couldn’t believe the sword had been pulled out.
    The Sword in the Stone was a fantastic book. I think T.H. White did a
    very good job on this book. In my opinion T.H. White is one of the best
    authors ever. The Sword in the Stone is one of my favorite books and I
    will definitely read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    T.H. White wrote the Once and Future King. His style of writing

    T.H. White wrote the Once and Future King. His style of writing is
    fiction. The Sword in the Stone is a fiction book because it’s fantasy.
    This book is written for people who enjoy fantasy and the medieval
    period. The Once and Future King and The Sword in the Stone are good
    titles because the Wart pulls the sword out of the stone and becomes
    King Arthur. The book cover is related to the book because it has a
    knight on a horse and King Pellinore is a knight and a character in the
    book. I thought the font and the style of the book was fairly easy to
    read. The characters in the book are likeable and understanding. The
    Wart can be related to because he is smaller and weaker than his brother
    Kay. He also gets pushed around by him. The theme or main idea of this
    book is might vs. right and personal accomplishments. The writing style
    of this book is long and hard to understand. Arguments in the story are
    also might vs. right. I thought The Sword in the Stone was a good
    story. I recommend reading it if you’re into medieval and fantasy
    stories. I like how the Wart is a weak character but in the end he
    pulled the sword out of the stone and became King Arthur.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    Read this book with your Middle Schooler!

    This book is a classic. If your child hasn't read any of the Arthurian legends yet and hasn't studied governmental forms, this book is a great introduction. In construction it is very much operatic, complete with the tragedy in the third act. Don't let that sway you; it is appropriate for advanced seventh and eighth grade readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    the once and future king

    I enjoyed reading this very much. I have always enjoyed tales of <BR/>king arthur and this one is quite the best one I have ever read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    A Great Book

    This book was very interesting to read because instead of telling the familiar story of King Arthur that is shown on tv shows, it used facts that generally won't be learned by watching tv shows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2008

    Wonderful and Enlightening!

    This was by far the best book that I have ever read! From the beginning tale of the sword in the stone which is a classic that is beloved by all, to the thrilling tales of Sir. Lancelot and King Arthur. This book is filled with knowledge as well as adventure, and I only wish that the tale could go on longer. This book has inspired me to be a Merlin, Arthur and Lancelot fanatic. I simply cannot say enough wonderful things about this book. T.A. Barron is a genius.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    One of my favorite books!!!

    For independent reading,I chose to read a great book called The Once and Future King. This book is written by T.H. White, and has four parts to it. I only got through two of these parts, but what I read I enjoyed. I like how T.H. White used certain words to make you feel like you were actually there. T.H. White also described scenery very well, which led me to enjoy this book. This book had a fabulous selection of characters. The characters were strange, because of the time period, but they were stil interesting and believable. My favorite character would have to be Archimedes. Archimedes is an owl that can talk the english language. he is also very bright and a companion to a magician named Merlyn. I find Archimedes rather funny. He reminds me of an old man. He can get very grouchy, but he is still a loveable and commical bird. The Once and Future King, although I really liked it, still could've been tweeked a little bit to make it better. This book kind of went off in some parts instead of going straight to the point. In my opinion, I really liked the clear details given by T.H. White. In conclusion, I would recommend The Once and Future King. It had great description, and the characters were well thought out. I hope this report will allow you to choose this book as the next book you read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    Remember that this book was written before Harry Potter 1 - 7, before music videos and instant gratification, that much of it was, in fact, written before or during WWII. That this book is loved by so many kids these days is a testimony to its greatness. It was first published in 1958, but most of its main themes had already been established by T.H. White as long as 20 years earlier. If you take The Once and Future King, set it in modern England, and divide it into 7 chapters... well, you get my drift. This book goes along with The Lord of the Rings as one of the great fables of all time, and belongs on the shelf with The Bible and Mark Twain. There was a Broadway play and a movie before there were DVDs, CDs, MP3 players or even Apple Computer - iMacs, iPod, iphone. The themes in this book are timeless and true, or should be. Might should not make Right, although it too often does. In 2007, it's particularly important to remember that Right does make Might, that honor and valor DO count for something. OK, don't expect strong positive female role models. But all in all, as a teacher, a reader and a mother, I whole-heartedly recommend this book to everyone old enough to read and understand the language and vocabulary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2007

    Amazing.

    This book is a classic for a reason, I've discovered. The Once and Future King is charm at its best, at once hopeful and tragic. I think this book is a work of art, and goes from the simple adventures of the Wart on to show the heroes of the old Arthurian legends rise and fall. It's beautiful, simply and truly, and the emotion it gives to the characters is as rich and tumultuous as reality. It's a remarkable lesson on being human.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    Away from Harry Potter, back to Merlyn

    This is probably one of the best books on the Arthurian ledgends. Of the many tales, White has selected only a few, often referencing Sir Thomas Mallory's Le Murte D'Arthur along the way. To put together such a collection, so well done, with the originallity that this book has is a great feat. The hero's quest, chivilary, romance, adventure and history are combined for a wonderful book that everyone should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2006

    Yes, but...

    If you've read The Once & Future King, you know that there are various sections that are dragged out and dry. Hard to get through, right? What's the point of finishing this? Yes, yes, yes, BUT. This book is particularly amazing! I am so into it that I rarely want to put it down! T. H. White is a fantastic author, and this is a great way to read about King Arthur, Lancelot, and Guenever. -Sighs- So good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2006

    A positively amazing book

    I doubt many could find a better written tale of King Arthur. I know many complain about the snail pace some parts take, but honestly, that makes it more real. It shows that life isn't all wild parties and wartime. The slower parts allow us time to absorb the characters and to get under their skin and really understand what's going on. Do not turn your nose up at this book, it is a true classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4