Customer Reviews for

Once in a Blue Moon

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Memorable

    I read "ONCE IN A BLUE MOON" and I remember the story, but to be honest it's not memorable. There was no action, no drama, nothing that would make it different then any other novel I have read. Lindsay and Kerri Ann had been sisters, until Social Services took them out of their mom's care. Lindsay, being the 'lucky one' was adopted out to a loving family and grew up in normal care, having the support and love from others. Kerri Ann wasn't so lucky. She was stuck in foster care all her life, and grew up hard. Their paths finally cross again when Kerri Ann shows up at Linday's workplace. Looking like a typical grudge girl, pink hair and all, Kerri Ann reaches out to Lindsay. She needs help getting her own daughter back. The book goes on throughout the struggles of their relationship, and the people around him. All and all not my favorite book, rates like a C- to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love the Characters

    The books is amazing. Eileen Goudge always delivers a great book and never a dull moment. I have been happy with all her books. This one is different in the ideas and the premise is always strong women. At the end everyone wins!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    One of the Best

    I really couldn't put the book down. My sister took care of me while my Mom worked.I really had 2 Moms.It was so nice to such a happy ending . I would tell everyone to buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    Enjoyable, quick read.

    I enjoyed this book. It was a quick easy read that I read in one sitting. The story was interesting and had a sense of mystery as well as romance. It is a good book to escape reality and pass the time. I like curling up with a book and getting into it and it was easy to do with this story.
    The characters were interesting and had backgrounds that made you intrigued to get to know them and see how they developed into the people they are.
    Overall a positive plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    Entertaining read

    I have had opportunity to read this book through the One 2 One network. I think it was an entertaining read. I enjoyed Ms. Goudge's writing style, although the ending was predictable. It flowed easily and was a nice quick read. It helps remind you of the importance of family. And I throughly enjoyed the book. Not a waste of my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    an easy read

    i am not much for reading books due to my busy life right now, but this was an easy and enjoyable read. definitely recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    Once in a Blue Moon

    "I usually prefer a book that draws me in by page two, I can't say this was the case here. The plot seems interesting yet predictable. Two sisters seperated when they were young due to tragic circumstances. One has a charmed life , the other a messed up life. They re-connect and deal with all their issues and some how pull it together for a happy ending. I found the writer to be a bit wordy and lost my focus several times. This would make a great Hallmark channel movie."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    What a Great Read!

    From the start the writer drew me in, this story has it all love, drama, and humor. It was an easy read with a happy ending just what I like to read between calls at my 9 to 5, I will definitely pass it on to a friend and definitely read Eileen Goudge again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read

    I was given the opportunity to read and review this book by the One2One Network.

    This is a great book about two sisters, torn apart at a young age and put into foster care. The younger sister, Kerri Ann, goes down the path of her mother, while the other, Lindsay, grows up to own a bookstore in Blue Moon Bay. After many years they are reunited and work together despite their differences to try and find Kerri Ann's daughter, Bella, who was taken from her much like they were taken from their mother. The characters are very realistic, and you can tell that Goudge has a sister of her own, because she definitely understands the complexity of the relationship. This book will draw you in and won't let you go until you're finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    I really enjoyed reading this book! I felt like I could really relate to the main characters of the story as well. I like how the sisters had a love/hate/love relationship and were able to work out their differences. At times, this story was heartwarming and at times it was witty. I had a hard time wanting to put this book down, it was a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2009

    Review of Once in a Blue Mooon by Eileen Goudge

    I was given the opportunity to read this book by the One2One Network. Once in a Blue Moon a book about two sisters and the way their worlds collide. It captures you from the start as you watch the girls torn apart from each other and put into foster care. Lindsey ends up in a loving home where Kerri Ann becomes very much her mother's mirror. While the main plot deals with the sisters when the meet for the first time thirty years later with Kerri Ann asking for help, the romances that are woven within it are just as enjoyable.

    I read this book in a day. I was drawn in and just couldn't put it down. By the time it was finished I was wanting to know more about the characters about their lives, I didn't want the story to end. This was the first book I read by Eileen Goudge and I cannot wait to pick up more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Review of Once in a Blue Mooon by Eileen Goudge

    I had the privilege of reviewing Once in a Blue Moon (Platinum Romance Series) by Eileen Goudge given to me by One2One Network.

    This is a great cozy read, especially during the fall and winter seasons. Two girls are sent to foster care when their mother ends up in jail. The two sisters end up leading different lives. The younger one, Kerrie Ann, had a rough upbringing and relocates her older sister Lindsay, after the drive to save her daughter. Kerrie Ann is shocked to see how well Lindsay is doing.

    Despite their upbringings, the two sisters work on the same goal in hopes of bringing Kerrie Ann's daughter back. This would make a great book club discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    Great Chick Lit, hard to put down!!

    This book is my first read from Eileen Goudge. This book has a plot that captures your attention and keeps it! I found it hard to put this book down, I wanted to know more, what was was going to come next? I found myself quite wrapped up in the storyline, hoping for the sisters to cooperate with one another, hoping for each sister to find love and success, praying that they would become a happy family and, of course, live happily ever after. My only issue, though tit wasn't even really an issue, was that the author is very descriptive, sometimes too descriptive. A couple of instances I was reading the lengthy descriptions of the surroundings and the characters and forgot what was going on in the plot. That aside, this book is still a great read, the great detail helps the reader visualize the gorgeous ocean side city of Blue Moon Bay!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    Good read with developed characters

    This story is about two different worlds led by two different sisters coming back together through a reunion in which they have to learn about each other again. Unlike most books that are modeled toward women, this book had very developed characters and taught you to keep trying and never give up. It's a great story that keeps you reading to learn what happens next. This is a great read with well developed characters and a storyline that keeps you wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Journey Home

    "Happy families are all alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way."
    - Leo Tolstoy, Anna Karenina

    I was given the opportunity by the One2One network to review "Once In a Blue Moon", a novel by Eileen Goudge.

    Often I can tell a good novel by its first line, and this one from the book drew me in immediately:

    "The first time Kerrie Ann disappeared was only the warning shot, as it turned out."

    Right away, I was hooked.

    Once In A Blue Moon is a story of love, loss and redemption, of being torn apart only to join again stronger.

    It is about finding your family, finding what is most important to you, finding yourself.

    It is primarily the story of two sisters, Lindsay, and Kerrie Ann, nine years younger. When Kerrie Ann was just three, she and Lindsay were split up as their mother was imprisoned for selling drugs.

    Their neighbor, an eccentric but fiercely loving retired exotic dancer, Miss Honi Love, tried to keep them, but, to no avail.

    And, just that easily, they became lost to one another, and also, to parts of themselves.

    Thirty years later, Lindsay owns a bookstore by the sea in Blue Moon Bay, CA while Kerrie Ann who has had a much rougher childhood is trying to stay sober and get her own young daughter Bella back. Bella was taken from her, much as Lindsay and Kerrie Ann were taken from their own mother. The difference is that Kerrie Ann would do anything to get her back.

    And so the journey continues, with the sisters finally re-uniting, hesitantly at first and then slowly opening up once again to each other. The bond they forge while trying to help get Bella back takes them to an even deeper place of love and trust than either has known.

    I really love Eileen Goudge's style. Her voice is honest and authentic and full of originality. The prose is beautiful and so descriptive I could see Kerrie Ann's "dirty pink Keds" and Miss Honi's "marigold curls".

    I very much admire her ability to write a novel with an engaging plot and still keep the poetry of the language.

    People in the novel are like people in real life - helpful, hurtful, imperfect, mistrustful, sorrowful, joyful, and loving. I appreciate this glimpse into humanity as it is, not some sanitized romanticized version.

    Ultimately it is love and forgiveness that provide a path home - to one another, and to ourselves.

    It is not surprising that Eileen Goudge is a New York Times Bestselling Author, nor that there are four million copies of her books in print including "Woman in Red" and "The Diary". I loved this novel and am looking forward to reading many more of them.

    I highly recommend Once In A Blue Moon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Decent Read

    I was given the opportunity to read this book from One2One Network. I had never read anything from this author before. The story starts out a little slow, I thought. There were also several typos (not sure if this was because it was an advance copy or something) which were distracting as I was reading. After getting throught what I thought was a slow beginning, there is a sweet story about 2 sisters who have lived very different lives. It is somewhat predictable, but it has love, heartache and family - enough to keep you interested. Not the best book I've ever read but it was good. I would recommend to someone looking for a quick easy read - I think it would make a great beach read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    I typically read lighter "chick lit" books, but this was a pleasant change. The characters develop deeper and at times the story breaks your heart as the sisters are separated and reunited. At times her sentences are a bit run on and deep in detail. While I don't have sisters, I could relate to the sometimes complicated relationships close girlfriends can have. Overall it was a good read that keeps your attention throughout the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    I Enjoyed This Book

    I couldn't put this book down, I enjoyed it. I cared about these characters, I found the story believable. It's the story of two sisters that were separated in childhood and went down two very different paths growing up, then are reunited in adulthood. You will truly like this book, I'll be reading other books from Eileen Goudge now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It

    I've never read a book by Eileen Goudge before and this book definitely has me ready to read past and future books. I was luckily enough to be able to review this book for One2One Network and I'm so excited that they chose me. It was a nice read that I only put down to go to sleep and that was a hard thing to do, as soon as I awoke I finished it within the hour. I noticed a few reviewers talking about the happy ending but in this day and age we all need a little bit of happy endings!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    Don't let the cheesy cover scare you off!

    I don't know who designed the cover for this book, but they did it a disservice. Never in a million years would I have picked this up at the bookstore. However, I received a reader's copy from One2One network and bravely dove in. To my surprise, the book turned out to be a really good read. This is not a simple, chintzy romance novel; it's about sisterhood, learning to trust, and overcoming obstacles. You will become completely engrossed in the story of these two sisters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4