Customer Reviews for

Once in a Blue Moon

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    Entertaining read

    I have had opportunity to read this book through the One 2 One network. I think it was an entertaining read. I enjoyed Ms. Goudge's writing style, although the ending was predictable. It flowed easily and was a nice quick read. It helps remind you of the importance of family. And I throughly enjoyed the book. Not a waste of my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    an easy read

    i am not much for reading books due to my busy life right now, but this was an easy and enjoyable read. definitely recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read

    I was given the opportunity to read and review this book by the One2One Network.

    This is a great book about two sisters, torn apart at a young age and put into foster care. The younger sister, Kerri Ann, goes down the path of her mother, while the other, Lindsay, grows up to own a bookstore in Blue Moon Bay. After many years they are reunited and work together despite their differences to try and find Kerri Ann's daughter, Bella, who was taken from her much like they were taken from their mother. The characters are very realistic, and you can tell that Goudge has a sister of her own, because she definitely understands the complexity of the relationship. This book will draw you in and won't let you go until you're finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    I really enjoyed reading this book! I felt like I could really relate to the main characters of the story as well. I like how the sisters had a love/hate/love relationship and were able to work out their differences. At times, this story was heartwarming and at times it was witty. I had a hard time wanting to put this book down, it was a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    Great Chick Lit, hard to put down!!

    This book is my first read from Eileen Goudge. This book has a plot that captures your attention and keeps it! I found it hard to put this book down, I wanted to know more, what was was going to come next? I found myself quite wrapped up in the storyline, hoping for the sisters to cooperate with one another, hoping for each sister to find love and success, praying that they would become a happy family and, of course, live happily ever after. My only issue, though tit wasn't even really an issue, was that the author is very descriptive, sometimes too descriptive. A couple of instances I was reading the lengthy descriptions of the surroundings and the characters and forgot what was going on in the plot. That aside, this book is still a great read, the great detail helps the reader visualize the gorgeous ocean side city of Blue Moon Bay!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    Good read with developed characters

    This story is about two different worlds led by two different sisters coming back together through a reunion in which they have to learn about each other again. Unlike most books that are modeled toward women, this book had very developed characters and taught you to keep trying and never give up. It's a great story that keeps you reading to learn what happens next. This is a great read with well developed characters and a storyline that keeps you wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    I typically read lighter "chick lit" books, but this was a pleasant change. The characters develop deeper and at times the story breaks your heart as the sisters are separated and reunited. At times her sentences are a bit run on and deep in detail. While I don't have sisters, I could relate to the sometimes complicated relationships close girlfriends can have. Overall it was a good read that keeps your attention throughout the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    Don't let the cheesy cover scare you off!

    I don't know who designed the cover for this book, but they did it a disservice. Never in a million years would I have picked this up at the bookstore. However, I received a reader's copy from One2One network and bravely dove in. To my surprise, the book turned out to be a really good read. This is not a simple, chintzy romance novel; it's about sisterhood, learning to trust, and overcoming obstacles. You will become completely engrossed in the story of these two sisters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    Fun "popcorn" read

    I was given the opportunity to read this book through the One2One Network. I've read and enjoyed other books by Goudge and was excited to read this one. I found the plot pretty predictable, and I'm not one who usually figures out plot points in advance. That said, I enjoyed the book. It was fairly easy reading, but I enjoyed watching the growth of both main characters as the plot progressed. All in all, a satisfying read. When does her next book come out?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2009

    Good Read

    I had the opportunity to read Eilleen Goudge's book, 'Once In A Blue Moon', whereas I had not read any of her other releases I was eager to explore her style of writing and the flow of her story...
    I, for one, could easily relate to the children, Lindsay and Kerrie Ann, as the story opens with the sad start to their lives. Lindsay trying to survive, as well as, care for a Kerrie as their mother works nights and sleeps days till caught selling drugs landing her in jail. All though a kindly neighbor, Miss Honi Love, trys to take them into her home they are sent to foster homes.
    Lindsay, was placed into a loving, caring family situation while Kerrie Ann gets transferred from one foster home after another.
    As we join them in the story thirty years later, Lindsay has emerged as a young woman who owns a bookstore, has taken in the neighbor from their childhood, has a limited relationship, involved in a land dispute and is actively looking for her younger sister.
    Surprisely, Kerrie Ann shows up at her bookstore sporting pink hair streaks and questionable clothing with a agenda of her own to enlist the help of her sister with multiple problems including needing assistance of regaining custody of her child from the state. So to say the least the reuniting of these sisters will bring twists of revelations, relationships from the past, present day relationships, as well as, learning that being a sister is more than just being related requiring patience and growth as they look to a life they each can be comfortable with.
    Did I enjoy the book? Yes, although not a book I would usually read, I was captivated by the author's writing style and the story with elements almost everyone could relate too in one way or another.
    Would I read another of her books? Yes, am interested to see what other stories she has developed into a easy readable flow.
    Thank you, Eileen Goudge, for a book I throughly enjoyed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    Great beach book

    I was excited to get this book in the mail and take it to the beach with me. Although it started off a little slow, once I read a couple of chapters I could not put it down. It's a touching story of two very different sisters who find they have more in common than they think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    Once in a Blue Moon by Eileen Goudge Review

    I would normally not be drawn to the book due to the cover as it had the appearance of a romance novel which I don't normally prefer to read. Although the cover had the appearance of that genre, it was tastefully done but then I like blue, darker colors.

    From Ms. Goudge's website for Once in a Blue Moon:

    "Set in a fictional coastal town in Northern California, where I grew up, it's the story of two sisters separated at a young age, who reunite in adulthood. There's drama aplenty as well as mishaps, misunderstandings and general mayhem. Not to mention romance, which the sisters find in the unlikeliest of places."

    I found the book interesting and the descriptions of the characters was excellent. It was easy to sympathize and find common ground with the details surrounding the sisters and the pain they endured. I ended up experiencing a sadness early on while reading it because it was very convincing.

    The saga continues with the one unfortunate sister, Kerrie Ann, continuing down a hard path while the other one, Lindsay, fairs better. It seems to be a continuing theme with siblings and how one usually gets a break while the other doesn't. It's an unfortunate story that invokes many emotions. They are finally reunited and the saga continues with the ups and downs and relationships the two endure. I don't feel too much can be divulged by the review without giving away the end. If you want to know what happens, read it! If you like this type of novel, you will most likely love it.

    Ms. Goudge does a superb job with describing scenes, situations, emotions and other characters. The author was able to tap into the personal side by providing enough insight of the characters to make it come alive. The real life drama is one in which many readers will be able to relate to.

    If you are not familar with Ms. Goudge's books, visit her website for a list of books and descriptions. Once in a Blue Moon is Ms. Goudge's 13th book and was dedicated to her sister.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    Great Read

    This book chronicles the complex relationship between two sisters who are separated under the worst of circumstances. The characters are extremely realistic and honest, and I quickly found myself engaged with them and their stories. Overall, I really enjoyed this book because I could believe in the characters. The reactions and attitudes and all they carried with them from childhood was SO believable and seemed natural, given the circumstances. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for an easy, yet interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    Easy Enjoyable read!

    Eileen Goudge provides an easy read that keeps you engaged page after page. The characters were delightful and memorable leaving you wanting to know them more as you discover the stories of their past. The pages flew by as I became engrossed in the story of these two sisters. It was not what I expected when I opened the cover but was plesantly surprised. You won't regret buying this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Once in a Blue Moon is a likeable easy read.

    This is not the type of book that I would normally read because there's no scary supernatural entities, or a murder with a long drawn out trial, but there is a simple story to warm your heart.

    This is the story of 2 sisters separated at a young age, that live very different lives. When they are reunited they must deal with their own differences while trying to help each other with the major problems they are each facing.

    This is story of the love of a good man and the bonds of sisterhood. Right away I was hooked, and found it to be a likeable read. There are no big "Wow!" moments, but the story flows along smoothly with some small, albeit predictable, turns.

    This will not be the most earth shattering, mind blowing book, you'll ever read, but it does provide realistic romance, real life problems, and a true sense of refreshingly simple realness. Once in a Blue Moon is a likeable, easy, peaceful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    A must read

    I'm glad I didn't judge this book by the cover. Don't pay any attention to the less than stellar jacket or description inside. The book's minor downfall is it's slightly sluggish start and tendency to drop a few trite expressions. Keep on reading.

    This book is like a roller coaster, once it gets where it's going, it can't be stopped. I simply couldn't put it down and became completely engaged with the characters.

    Other reviewers have given you the synopsis, so I refrain from that. If you like to read about the intricacies of relationships, this is the book for you. The author does a credible and most enjoyable job of illustrating the effects of the sisters' very different upbringing as she delves into how their lives were changed by the foster parents who raised them. When they reunite 30 years later, their compelling struggle is laid bare for the reader.

    This is a quick read, parts comical, parts sad, completely consuming that everyone can relate to. My laundry suffered until this book was completed. A thoroughly enjoyable read that I would highly recommend to anyone (and have). Pick it up, you won't be disappointed. I'm going to check out her other books, as this was a gem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    Home is where family is.

    This is not the type of book I will typically pick up and read but I have to say, it was amazing!
    Lindsay and Kerri-Ann were young when their mother was arrested. They went to two different foster homes and grew up in completely different families. Lindsay grew up in Blue Moon Bay and grew to love the town. When her adoptive parents died, they left her their house and up until now everything had been peaceful. With a man on her heels to build a resort where her business is, Lindsay is over her head in a mess when Kerri-Ann shows up. Kerri-Ann hasn't had an easy life, jumping from one foster parent to another. She has her own kid now, Bella, whom she lost custody of and is fighting to get her back. The sisters may not always see eye to eye, but they manage to surprise even themselves in this wonderful story. I laughed, I cried, and I thoroughly enjoyed this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Solid Chick Lit

    This was a great "read at the beach" or "read on a rainy afternoon" book. It won't change your life, but it's an enjoyable way to pass the time. Solid 'chick-lit'. With the uptight, responsible older sister & the wild-child younger sister clinging to each other as adults, trying to get along and dealing with a lost mother, it reminded me a lot of Jennifer Weiner's "In Her Shoes".

    Honestly, I wasn't convinced after the first two chapters. The second sentence seemed like the longest sentence ever written (for no good reason) and the characters seemed a bit contrived. However, half way into the book, I didn't want to put it down. The story was, for the most part, sort of predictable. There were only a couple elements that I didn't see coming. But really, doesn't most chick-lit follow a similar outline?

    All in all, this would be a good book for a group of girlfriends to pass among each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    Intriguing Story

    "Once in a Blue Moon" is an intriguing book. It is not my normal read, but it was fascinating. The complexity of two sisters making their way back to each other was very spellbounding and exciting. The characters were well thought out and came together to create an excellent novel. This is a very good book to kick back and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My thoughts on Once in a blue moon

    One2One network has provided me the wonderful opportunity to read and review this latest book- Once in a Blue Moon from awarding author Eileen Goudge.

    Posted below is an excerpt from Once in a Blue Moon



    Excerpt
    In a moment of terrible clarity, Kerrie Ann took in the squalid scene through the cops' eyes. She saw her daughter-really saw her-for the first time in weeks: how dirty and unkempt she was and how thin she'd gotten, her ribs sticking out of her narrow brown chest like rungs on a ladder. She saw the stain on the seat of her underpants that had come from not wiping herself properly and have no one to do it for her, the crust of dried food around her mouth. When had she last fed Bella?

    Kerrie Ann saw the Children's Services logo on the card and felt herself hurtling back in time. The old nightmare playing itself over, this time with her child. Her thoughts returned to Lindsay. She still couldn't get over the fact that she had a sister. Even weirder was that she had no memory of her. How was it possible for those years to be a blank slate?

    Her counselor at the clinic, Mary Josephson, a recovering heroin addict with twenty years of sobriety, suggested she call Legal Aid. Days later she had a court date. But that was only the first step.

    Kerrie Anne soon discovered that good intentions weren't enough. Her resume, which listed only a string of short-term jobs, was hardly an incentive for anyone to hire her. The part-time job at Toys "R" Us was the best she could do until she got her GED and some kind of occupational training. And without full-time work, how could she afford an "appropriate" place to live? Life was a series of dominoes: Knock one down, and the rest followed suit. If she could just get her legs under her . . .

    Which was where her sister came in. Lindsay was the only card she had left.

    My Review: This story is set in Northern California and it's main subjects are 2 sisters with difficult childhoods that are separated at young ages due to a mother unable to take care of them. She is sent to prison and they are sent to different foster homes.
    They are reunited 30 years later- One of them has become like their mother- drug addicted and unable to care for her daughter, whom she is fighting to get back from foster care, and the other is more successful with a bookstore. With the reunion, there is alot of drama but they help each other through alot of past pain and begin to heal old wounds to become a family again.

    This story is heartfelt with lots of mishaps, twist and turns and adventures. Romances that are good and bad and sisterly love are throughout the story. The 2 sisters are very different in personalities but they are still sisters and end up taking care of another again.

    I don't really understand what the cover of the woman with the low cut dress has to do with anything in the story. There is some profanity but not alot, the story is good with family lessons to learn and one would be to not take love for granted. Good book that I liked reading.

    Thank you One2One for the opportunity to read and review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2