Customer Reviews for

Once in a Blue Moon

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love the Characters

    The books is amazing. Eileen Goudge always delivers a great book and never a dull moment. I have been happy with all her books. This one is different in the ideas and the premise is always strong women. At the end everyone wins!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    One of the Best

    I really couldn't put the book down. My sister took care of me while my Mom worked.I really had 2 Moms.It was so nice to such a happy ending . I would tell everyone to buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    What a Great Read!

    From the start the writer drew me in, this story has it all love, drama, and humor. It was an easy read with a happy ending just what I like to read between calls at my 9 to 5, I will definitely pass it on to a friend and definitely read Eileen Goudge again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2009

    Review of Once in a Blue Mooon by Eileen Goudge

    I was given the opportunity to read this book by the One2One Network. Once in a Blue Moon a book about two sisters and the way their worlds collide. It captures you from the start as you watch the girls torn apart from each other and put into foster care. Lindsey ends up in a loving home where Kerri Ann becomes very much her mother's mirror. While the main plot deals with the sisters when the meet for the first time thirty years later with Kerri Ann asking for help, the romances that are woven within it are just as enjoyable.

    I read this book in a day. I was drawn in and just couldn't put it down. By the time it was finished I was wanting to know more about the characters about their lives, I didn't want the story to end. This was the first book I read by Eileen Goudge and I cannot wait to pick up more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Review of Once in a Blue Mooon by Eileen Goudge

    I had the privilege of reviewing Once in a Blue Moon (Platinum Romance Series) by Eileen Goudge given to me by One2One Network.

    This is a great cozy read, especially during the fall and winter seasons. Two girls are sent to foster care when their mother ends up in jail. The two sisters end up leading different lives. The younger one, Kerrie Ann, had a rough upbringing and relocates her older sister Lindsay, after the drive to save her daughter. Kerrie Ann is shocked to see how well Lindsay is doing.

    Despite their upbringings, the two sisters work on the same goal in hopes of bringing Kerrie Ann's daughter back. This would make a great book club discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Journey Home

    "Happy families are all alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way."
    - Leo Tolstoy, Anna Karenina

    I was given the opportunity by the One2One network to review "Once In a Blue Moon", a novel by Eileen Goudge.

    Often I can tell a good novel by its first line, and this one from the book drew me in immediately:

    "The first time Kerrie Ann disappeared was only the warning shot, as it turned out."

    Right away, I was hooked.

    Once In A Blue Moon is a story of love, loss and redemption, of being torn apart only to join again stronger.

    It is about finding your family, finding what is most important to you, finding yourself.

    It is primarily the story of two sisters, Lindsay, and Kerrie Ann, nine years younger. When Kerrie Ann was just three, she and Lindsay were split up as their mother was imprisoned for selling drugs.

    Their neighbor, an eccentric but fiercely loving retired exotic dancer, Miss Honi Love, tried to keep them, but, to no avail.

    And, just that easily, they became lost to one another, and also, to parts of themselves.

    Thirty years later, Lindsay owns a bookstore by the sea in Blue Moon Bay, CA while Kerrie Ann who has had a much rougher childhood is trying to stay sober and get her own young daughter Bella back. Bella was taken from her, much as Lindsay and Kerrie Ann were taken from their own mother. The difference is that Kerrie Ann would do anything to get her back.

    And so the journey continues, with the sisters finally re-uniting, hesitantly at first and then slowly opening up once again to each other. The bond they forge while trying to help get Bella back takes them to an even deeper place of love and trust than either has known.

    I really love Eileen Goudge's style. Her voice is honest and authentic and full of originality. The prose is beautiful and so descriptive I could see Kerrie Ann's "dirty pink Keds" and Miss Honi's "marigold curls".

    I very much admire her ability to write a novel with an engaging plot and still keep the poetry of the language.

    People in the novel are like people in real life - helpful, hurtful, imperfect, mistrustful, sorrowful, joyful, and loving. I appreciate this glimpse into humanity as it is, not some sanitized romanticized version.

    Ultimately it is love and forgiveness that provide a path home - to one another, and to ourselves.

    It is not surprising that Eileen Goudge is a New York Times Bestselling Author, nor that there are four million copies of her books in print including "Woman in Red" and "The Diary". I loved this novel and am looking forward to reading many more of them.

    I highly recommend Once In A Blue Moon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    I Enjoyed This Book

    I couldn't put this book down, I enjoyed it. I cared about these characters, I found the story believable. It's the story of two sisters that were separated in childhood and went down two very different paths growing up, then are reunited in adulthood. You will truly like this book, I'll be reading other books from Eileen Goudge now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It

    I've never read a book by Eileen Goudge before and this book definitely has me ready to read past and future books. I was luckily enough to be able to review this book for One2One Network and I'm so excited that they chose me. It was a nice read that I only put down to go to sleep and that was a hard thing to do, as soon as I awoke I finished it within the hour. I noticed a few reviewers talking about the happy ending but in this day and age we all need a little bit of happy endings!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2009

    Great Read!

    Before reading this novel I had gotten out of the habit of reading fiction...this book hooked me once again. Ms. Goudge made her characters true to life... you wanted everything to go well for Karrie Ann and Lindsay... you felt their frustrations and cheered their victories. This was a one sitting book for me and I can't wait to read more of her novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    A must read!

    I really enjoyed this book and the characters. I thought the story was interesting and very believable. There was just enough romance to keep it going without making it too sappy. I will be looking up the other books written by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What an amazing book!

    The minute I picked up this book I knew I was not going to be able to put it down. The characters are so intertwined with each other. I felt as though a dear friend was sitting with me over a cup of tea and telling me the story.
    I felt as though as I there personally and experiencing everything they experienced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    I couldn't put this book down!

    Admittedly, "Once in a Blue Moon" is not the kind of book I'd normally be inclined to read. But.wow! I'm so glad I didn't judge this book by its slightly scandalous cover! I started reading it and simply could not put it down. The story line focuses on the dynamics between two sisters separated during their youth, and follows them through their adult years. An unfortunate situation brings them back together and the reader gets to witness their attempts to reconnect. The characters are incredibly believable and very identifiable. ¾ of the novel does not read like the stereotypical "romance" but I was a little disappointed in the ending. Everything gets "sewn up perfectly" in a matter of 20 pages, and I almost wanted something to NOT be a happy ending. That's life, isn't it? Sometimes things just don't work out. That aside, this book makes for a great escape and the perfect book to curl up and read this winter season.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A stay up late and keeo reading story!

    This was a great book and Eileen Goudge is now on my must read list! Lindsay is the perfect big sister always in control and taking care of her little sister Kerrie Ann. Their birth mom is a a stripper who gets sent to jail for selling drugs but was never a mom to begin with. Miss Honi Love, a retired exoctic dancer is the mom they didn't have.
    When their mom is sent to jail the girls end up put into seperate foster homes. Lindsay has the perfect newe family while Kerrie Ann is shuttled from home to home, finally looking as if she is following in her moms footsteps.
    With the fear of losing her daughter Kerrie Ann finds Lindsay to hopefully get some family values going for the court. She ends up with Miss Honi back in her life as well.
    Both girls now grown up find out how different they are and at the same time how much alike they are and how strong their bond is. Miss Honi is still her flamboyant self and full of love for *her girls* no matter what their past may be.
    I read this book in 2 nights staying up late saying *one more chapter, one more page, etc. It left me wanting to know more of the future of these great and fun loving women and how their new love lifes will continue!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Once in a Blue Moon

    Story of two sisters Lindsay and Kerri Ann separated from young girls and placed in foster care. Lindsay is placed in the home of a loving couple, while Kerri Ann is placed from house to house and eventually goes out on her own. Thirty years the girls, now women are reunited and they couldn't be more different from one another.Trials and tribulations in their lives have made them who they are. They find that sisterly bond that eventually makes for a great relationship between them.
    This is the first book I have read from Eileen Goudge and I am now anxious to read other books she has written. A story very true life, especially in today's world. You will be glad you read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2009

    Every sibling needs to read this book!

    First of all, I loved this book! I have a sister and we don't always see eye to eye, just like Lindsay and Kerrie Ann. I've always said my sister "marches to the tune of a different drummer". As I get older, I understand how people are different from each other and I've come to accept my sister's "differences". That said, I also loved the way a little romance was thrown in, not too much. And also not entirely predictable. Just when I thought i knew how everything would end, there was a twist. I honestly could not put this book down until I had read the very last page. Note to author.....how about a part 2 where the girls go in search of Crystal?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    Great Quick Read

    I thought this was a great quick read. Once I read the first chapter, I was hooked. This story about sisters, separated as children, who are like night and day, grow individually while learning so much about each other. You are waiting to see what's next as each chapter unfolds. I found myself crying for them, and cheering them on. This is a definite "To Read"! I'm now looking forward to read other books written by Eileen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Goudge Gets My Vote

    From the moment I opened this book, I was sucked in. Eileen Goudge brings her characters to life in this riveting tale of 2 sisters separated by the foster care system. I found myself relating to Kerrie Ann at times and then siding with Lindsey. I strongly recommend this book to readers who get sucked in to books from authors like Jodi Picoult, Mitch Albom or even Rebeca Seitz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Fabulous Book!

    Once In A Blue Moon is the type of book that is hard to put down once you start reading it. The characters feel like old friends in the way you get to know them thanks to Eileen Goudge's warm and personable writing style. This story reunites two sisters who have been apart since they were very young. It's a bumpy ride as the sisters face enormous personal challenges and attempt to reconnect though they are polar opposites in background and personality. Don't miss out on this novel; it's a well-written story you will enjoy immensely!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    Loved It!

    This was the first book by Eileen Goudge that I have read and I will be reading the rest. I loved the characters in this book and was rooting for them all the way. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2