Customer Reviews for

Once in a Blue Moon: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You Will Believe!

    Bryn Seymour is attending a NASA celebration for the 40th anniversary of the moon landing when she is introduced to Howard Walters, who whispers something about a lunar landing conspiracy in her ear. Soon after, Bryn discovers her mother knew Howard before she died, and goes back to find him and see if she can get some answers about the mysterious circumstances surrounding her personal tragedy. She also meets Howard's son, Sam, and an undeniable attraction is immediately formed.Through these two very different men, Bryn learns to finally let go of the sorrows she's held onto for so long.

    I have long been a fan of Leanna Ellis' writing, and reviewed her last book here. This newest story, however, beat all the others out of the race. By far my favorite! Ellis writes a compelling story about presumed crazy ideas but makes it seem completely natural. There is a bit of an intoxicating relationship between Sam and Bryn - when Sam gives a smoldering look to Bryn, I swear I felt it myself! An absolute pleasure to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    an intriguing tale

    While most of the world celebrated the Apollo 11 moon landing, nine years old Bryn Seymour grieved the death of her mom Jennifer. Four decades later, Bryn learns of some strange information re NASA and her late mother.

    Needing to know the truth, as she begins to think perhaps NASA is concealing something about her mom, Bryn travels to Texas to confront Howard Walters, who knew her mother. She hopes he can and will tell her the truth about her mom's death and perhaps NASA cover-ups. In Texas, Bryn and Howard's son Sam are attracted to one another, but his dad's conspiracy theory involving Jennifer may keep them apart.

    Once in a Blue Moon is an intriguing tale of a woman who never came to grips with the sudden death of her mother forty years ago and now has a chance for closure if she can obtain the truth; that is if anyone living knows the truth as Howard spins a conspiracy tale. Falling in love was not part of her plan, but fate intervenes. Fans will enjoy this strong romantic mystery due to a powerful cast, which besides the late mother and her adult daughter and the two Walters includes the late 1960s Apollo mission teams.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    sometimes a leap of faith lands in just the right place

    As I began reading "Once in a Blue Moon", by Leanna Ellis, I soon realized that I was in for a rare treat. I have my favorite genres and types of characters, and those are my comfort reads. However, I love it when an author can take me some place new, make it a journey to remember, and introduce me to new friends to whom I don't want to say goodbye. That's exactly what Leanna Ellis did with "Once in a Blue Moon". Bryn Seymour is a journalist with a college-aged daughter, a divalistic cat, and real difficulty with close personal relationships. At age nine, Bryn suffered the tragic loss of her mother under mysterious circumstances. Bryn secretly carries guilt over her mother's death, and it is a guilt which colors every aspect of her life. Raised by her grandmother after her mother's death, Bryn has a challenging relationship with her own daughter. When Bryn's beloved grandmother Cora shows the beginning signs of Alzheimer's Disease, Bryn is forced to place her in a care facility. On a reporting assignment to cover the fortieth anniversary of the Apollo 11 moon landing, Bryn meets an eccentric older man, Howard Walters, who claims to have known her mother. Unable to resist learning more about her mother's life, Bryn becomes involved with Howard's seemingly paranoid conspiracy theories. Her life takes quite another turn when she meets Howard's son Sam, who is trying to come to terms with his "anything but average" father. Bryn and Sam share an immediate attraction, but it is a wonderfully written, subtle, slow-build attraction that still packs a wallop. While Bryn and Sam are still "works in progress", all of their emotional and physical aspects are in working order. How delightful that two people over forty are never categorized as middle-aged and are given a shot at a lovely, fulfilling romance. There is an underlying theme of faith and acceptance, which is just right for the story line. Sometimes, a leap of faith lands you in just the right place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    Once In A Blue Moon

    "Once In A Blue Moon" has all the elements of a good story: romance, suspense, comedy, drama etc... Being a Christian-based book, I found the religious references non-intrusive so I wasn't irritated by them. I did, however, find the movie references overdone. Less is more.

    I enjoyed all the characters and how each dealt with their personal struggles. I also enjoyed the history lesson. I was a young child at the time of the moon landing and it was pleasant to go back in time and relive that moment. I wonder if there really are crystal palaces on the moon! Leanna Ellis is very readable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    Christian romance with a touch of drama and conspiracy

    Once in a Blue Moon by Leann Ellis isn't quite sure if it's a conspiracy thriller, contemporary romance, or family drama. Brynda Seymour's mother died forty years ago as Neil Armstrong set foot on the moon. She was raised by her Nana, but has spent the time since living life on the edge, engaging in risky behavior and always falling for the wrong guy. When she's contacted by Howard Walters who claims that her mother's death is part of a conspiracy from NASA, she's pulled into his paranoid world where she meets his son Sam, a former preacher. Sam and Brynda have immediate chemistry, but can she fall for a guy who believes in the Lord who allowed her mother to leave her orphaned at nine years old? Ellis is very skilled at creating fully fleshed characters and writes with a terrific sense of humor. Her books always have a light touch, guaranteed to make readers smile. While the books struggles to settle into a genre, it's still an enjoyable story. The truth about Brynda's mother is rather shocking, but Ellis handles it with grace and there's an excellent message of acceptance and learning to let go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I'm glad I read it.

    More like 4.5 stars.

    ONCE IN A BLUE MOON is the first of Leanna Ellis's novels I have read. It took me a few pages to understand where the book was headed. But I read it in parts of two days and am really glad I read it.

    I like Sam, and his pure but relaxed view of God. And how he draws out Brynda Seymour's long held secret, and helps her heal.

    It was a nice paced novel to read after finishing THE OTHER SIDE OF DARKNESS which I recently reviewed.

    Leanna is a master storyteller and I am eager to read her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Refreshing book of mystery and romance

    Loved the off-beat plot. A little slow to get going on the story, but once it takes off, it's fabulous! You'll be rooting for the heroine to discover the truth!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A quest for truth..Beware of what you seek!

    Leanna presents a story filled with quirky characters, imaginative situations, and a mysterious past. The descriptive wordage is bold and easy to visualize. I was a bit "Lost in Space" in the beginning but after the third chapter the story becomes smoother with a comfortable flow.

    The reader will encounter precarious situations, potential danger and lots of laughs. There is ample opportunity for sleuthing alongside Bryn, searching for the truth about her mother's death. Along the way her heart faces new challenges. Emotions, once easily suppressed, surface and raise havoc with her sensible way of life, or is it?

    If you are up for high flying adventure then "Once in a Blue Moon" will launch you into space.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    Leanna Ellis Has a Hit

    Bryn Seymour, a reporter on assignment to write about the 40th anniversary of the moon landing, meets Howard, an older man with some pretty far out ideas. He believes the government is hiding some information about what they found on the moon and are conspiring against him because of his knowledge. Bryn discovers he knew her mother who died under mysterious circumstances on the day of the moon landing. When Bryn goes to speak to Howard, she meets his son, Sam. He's handsome and charming and seems pretty normal, except for his strong faith. But might Howard's theories hold some water when strange and frightening things start happening to Bryn?

    I'm not going to give away any more of the book, but I ended up enjoying it very much. The plot was wonderful, with all kinds of twists and turns. It was funny, scary, sad and romantic all at the same time. Leanna Ellis' characters are vibrant and quirky and her descriptions so detailed. Sometimes almost too much so. In a few places, I felt it slowed the pace of the book. But that's a minor complaint. Put "Once in a Blue Moon" on your reading list. It's a enjoyable story that will keep you on your toes.

    **A complimentary copy of the book was provided to me for the review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Book To Read

    Once in a Blue Moon
    Intrigue, laughter, family, love, mixed in with characters you immediately like makes Once in a Blue Moon a fun book to read! Here is the back cover summary:


    She was only nine years old when her mother died under mysterious circumstances on the same day Apollo 11 made its historic lunar landing. In the decades since, thrill-seeking journalist Bryn Seymour has defied gravity, pushing each moment to count. Inwardly, though, she's resisted any close encounters. Skydiving is easy. Staying in a relationship? Not so much.

    On assignment to write about the fortieth anniversary of the first moon-walk, Bryn meets Howard, a loopy old gent full of conspiracy theories who drops a bomb on her world: he knew her mother. Could a small Texas town hold the secret to her mother's demise? Seeking closure, Bryn goes along for this men-in-black ride .But upon meeting Howard's attractive son Sam, an outspoken Christian, she can't decide whose beliefs are more pie-in-the-sky.


    The gravity of life has always pulled Bryn back down to earth, but a perfect love could be her first step to soaring. The kind of love that only happens once in a blue moon.

    This is a great book to help you relax after a crazy day and would be fun to take on spring break or add it to your summer reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1