Customer Reviews for

Once in a Full Moon (Full Moon Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 288 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(159)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jaglvr for Teens Read Too

Celeste Parker has the ideal boyfriend. Nash is the popular boy at school. He's also the best friend of her two best friends' boyfriends, so it makes it handy when they want to hang out. The six of them can do everything together. But things subtly start to change for C...
Celeste Parker has the ideal boyfriend. Nash is the popular boy at school. He's also the best friend of her two best friends' boyfriends, so it makes it handy when they want to hang out. The six of them can do everything together. But things subtly start to change for Celeste the night the six of them go camping. Nash tells the gang the story of the Legend's Run werewolf. In the distance, a wolf howls, and they go running in fright from the woods. When the boys make a bet that the girls are too scared to visit a psychic on the wrong side of town, the girls take them up on it. Abby and Ivy get generic fortunes, but Celeste gets one that haunts her: Beware of a kiss under a full moon. It will change your life forever. Celeste decides to walk home from the psychic and encounters a bizarre freak snow storm - and a pack of wolves. It's a newcomer to town, Brandon Maddox, who comes to her aid, but he is bitten in the scuffle. Celeste can't stop thinking of Brandon and comparing Nash to him. Because the girls won the bet with the guys, Celeste forces Nash to invite Brandon to one of his parties. Of course it doesn't go well, and Celeste breaks up with Nash. Slowly, Celeste and Brandon get to know each other in secret. None of Celeste's friends would approve of her friendship with someone from the wrong side of town. But Brandon is everything Celeste wants. Celeste visits Brandon on the night of a full moon and watches him transform into something else. Brandon doesn't know what is happening, nor does Celeste. But over time, Celeste is positive he's a werewolf and tries to convince him, as well. ONCE IN A FULL MOON is only the start of a new series by Ellen Schreiber. I believe there will be mixed opinions with this series. On the one hand, it's by Ellen Schreiber, and she already has such a loyal fan base. But on the other hand, those expecting a story like VAMPIRE KISSES will be disappointed. ONCE IN A FULL MOON reads so differently from her other series that it didn't feel like the same author at all. I feel that ONCE IN A FULL MOON actually has more substance to the tale than Raven and Alexander's story does. This one took a little longer to build up to the action, but it gives the reader time to get to know Celeste and her friends and the background of Legend's Run. Celeste is a positive role model for readers. She's a studious gal who volunteers willingly at a nursing home, and even develops a close friendship with one of the residents there. I can't wait to see more of Brandon in the future. He's kept brooding and to himself as the new boy in town, but I see so much potential in him. The cover is absolutely beautiful and that alone will draw readers to the book. If you like Ellen Schreiber, if you enjoy werewolves, and certainly if you love a little romance, pick up ONCE IN A FULL MOON.

posted by TeensReadToo on January 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Clichéd and Lacking Development

This is the first book I've read by Ellen Schreiber, so I have nothing to compare it to, but I'll be honest and say that I did not enjoy the book. Celeste, the main character, is nothing more than a love-struck teen who becomes obsessed with her paranormal paramour, Bra...
This is the first book I've read by Ellen Schreiber, so I have nothing to compare it to, but I'll be honest and say that I did not enjoy the book. Celeste, the main character, is nothing more than a love-struck teen who becomes obsessed with her paranormal paramour, Brandon. They have one of those insta-love relationships that have little to no buildup and lead to undying love. Aside from that, I don't even know who they are.

Celeste, Brandon, and all the surrounding characters have almost no development. I never swooned over Brandon or even Celeste's ex-boyfriend, Nash. In fact, I found very few redeeming qualities about Nash and Celeste's best friends Ivy and Abby. The three of them aren't nice and Celeste is constantly troubled by her friends ditching her because of her affections for Brandon, who comes from the 'wrong side of town.' Talk about the bestest friends in the whole wide world. *Please note my extreme sarcasm

The werewolf aspect to the story is slightly different from other incarnations that I've read, but not even that makes the book all that worthwhile. The writing is riddled with clichés and gave me more than a few facepalm moments because I couldn't even handle the cheesiness. The plot was rushed and the romance was forced. Celeste and Brandon paw over each other way too much when there are much more important and urgent matters at hand - nothing matters to them, but kissing and giving each other gaga eyes.

Once in a Full Moon fooled me with its striking cover, but younger audiences could still enjoy it. The writing is certainly aimed towards a younger audience and if you can get past the clichés and lack of character development, the werewolf aspect may draw you in.

Opening line: It began underneath the haunting glow of a full moon. ~ pg. 12

No favorite lines this time

*This is the ARC version and lines, cover art, etc. may be subject to change before official publication. E-book page numbers may not match with physical copies.

posted by Nikkayme on January 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 290 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for Teens Read Too

    Celeste Parker has the ideal boyfriend. Nash is the popular boy at school. He's also the best friend of her two best friends' boyfriends, so it makes it handy when they want to hang out. The six of them can do everything together. But things subtly start to change for Celeste the night the six of them go camping. Nash tells the gang the story of the Legend's Run werewolf. In the distance, a wolf howls, and they go running in fright from the woods. When the boys make a bet that the girls are too scared to visit a psychic on the wrong side of town, the girls take them up on it. Abby and Ivy get generic fortunes, but Celeste gets one that haunts her: Beware of a kiss under a full moon. It will change your life forever. Celeste decides to walk home from the psychic and encounters a bizarre freak snow storm - and a pack of wolves. It's a newcomer to town, Brandon Maddox, who comes to her aid, but he is bitten in the scuffle. Celeste can't stop thinking of Brandon and comparing Nash to him. Because the girls won the bet with the guys, Celeste forces Nash to invite Brandon to one of his parties. Of course it doesn't go well, and Celeste breaks up with Nash. Slowly, Celeste and Brandon get to know each other in secret. None of Celeste's friends would approve of her friendship with someone from the wrong side of town. But Brandon is everything Celeste wants. Celeste visits Brandon on the night of a full moon and watches him transform into something else. Brandon doesn't know what is happening, nor does Celeste. But over time, Celeste is positive he's a werewolf and tries to convince him, as well. ONCE IN A FULL MOON is only the start of a new series by Ellen Schreiber. I believe there will be mixed opinions with this series. On the one hand, it's by Ellen Schreiber, and she already has such a loyal fan base. But on the other hand, those expecting a story like VAMPIRE KISSES will be disappointed. ONCE IN A FULL MOON reads so differently from her other series that it didn't feel like the same author at all. I feel that ONCE IN A FULL MOON actually has more substance to the tale than Raven and Alexander's story does. This one took a little longer to build up to the action, but it gives the reader time to get to know Celeste and her friends and the background of Legend's Run. Celeste is a positive role model for readers. She's a studious gal who volunteers willingly at a nursing home, and even develops a close friendship with one of the residents there. I can't wait to see more of Brandon in the future. He's kept brooding and to himself as the new boy in town, but I see so much potential in him. The cover is absolutely beautiful and that alone will draw readers to the book. If you like Ellen Schreiber, if you enjoy werewolves, and certainly if you love a little romance, pick up ONCE IN A FULL MOON.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2010

    This is the books description

    Celeste Parker is used to hearing scary stories about werewolves -Legend's Run is famous for them. She's used to everything in the small town until Brandon Maddox moves to Legend's Run and Celeste finds herself immediately drawn to the handsome new student.
    But when, after an unnerving visit with a psychic, she encounters a pack of wolves and gorgeous, enigmatic Brandon, she must discover whether his transformation is more than legend or just a trick of the shadows in the moonlight.

    Her best friends may never forgive her if she gives up her perfect boyfriend, Nash, for Brandon, who's from the wrong side of town. But she can't deny her attraction or the strong pull he has on her. Brandon may be Celeste's hero, or he may be the most dangerous creature she could encounter in the woods of Legend's Run.

    Psychic predictions, generations-old secrets, a town divided, and the possibility of falling in love with a hot and heroic werewolf are the perfect formula for what happens . . . once in a full moon.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    BookWhisperer Review: Once in a Full Moon

    Once in a Full Moon is a very magical story. This was a very quick read, but I am afraid in this particular novel this affected the quality of the story. Brandon and Celeste are very captivating characters, but I believe that the speed of this story did not leave enough time for character building. My reading experience was truely as an outsider in this novel, and it seemed that the romance was a bit forced. Nothing seemed to follow the natural course, but yet everythings seemed spontaneous and rushed. I really enjoyed the storyline and characters as a whole; I only wish that with a little more depth it would feel would have felt more natural and realistic. My understanding is that this novel is the debut for a new series, and I did enjoy this enough to take a look at the next book when available.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Clichéd and Lacking Development

    This is the first book I've read by Ellen Schreiber, so I have nothing to compare it to, but I'll be honest and say that I did not enjoy the book. Celeste, the main character, is nothing more than a love-struck teen who becomes obsessed with her paranormal paramour, Brandon. They have one of those insta-love relationships that have little to no buildup and lead to undying love. Aside from that, I don't even know who they are.

    Celeste, Brandon, and all the surrounding characters have almost no development. I never swooned over Brandon or even Celeste's ex-boyfriend, Nash. In fact, I found very few redeeming qualities about Nash and Celeste's best friends Ivy and Abby. The three of them aren't nice and Celeste is constantly troubled by her friends ditching her because of her affections for Brandon, who comes from the 'wrong side of town.' Talk about the bestest friends in the whole wide world. *Please note my extreme sarcasm

    The werewolf aspect to the story is slightly different from other incarnations that I've read, but not even that makes the book all that worthwhile. The writing is riddled with clichés and gave me more than a few facepalm moments because I couldn't even handle the cheesiness. The plot was rushed and the romance was forced. Celeste and Brandon paw over each other way too much when there are much more important and urgent matters at hand - nothing matters to them, but kissing and giving each other gaga eyes.

    Once in a Full Moon fooled me with its striking cover, but younger audiences could still enjoy it. The writing is certainly aimed towards a younger audience and if you can get past the clichés and lack of character development, the werewolf aspect may draw you in.

    Opening line: It began underneath the haunting glow of a full moon. ~ pg. 12

    No favorite lines this time

    *This is the ARC version and lines, cover art, etc. may be subject to change before official publication. E-book page numbers may not match with physical copies.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    andi

    Loved it!! There should be a continuation story for the lovers!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    A nice read.

    A smooth relaxing read that compliments itself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Like a bad FanFiction.

    I'm not even kidding. I read the first chapter and felt severe dissapointment. It didn't keep me hooked at all, I tried skipping around through the chapter and it didn't get any better.

    I've read the Vampire Kisses series and thought they were amazing, sadly this didn't even compare.

    I think if this crap can be published then everybodies including my crappy stories can be published also.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Just fell flat

    Once in a Full Moon was a decent werewolf story, but it just didn't quite grab me. Sometimes I thought it was a bit cheesy, but overall it was a decent story.

    Celeste has everything she could want great friends a hot boyfriend, but then a new mysterious guy comes to town and everything changes. Celeste and her friends go to a psychic lady on a sort of a dare. Their boyfriends don't think they would go to Riverside, sort of the bad side of town, and they take them up on the challenge. Her two friends Abby and Ivy get the typical palm reading that makes Celeste think right off this psychics a phony, then Celeste gets her palm read.

    "I see snow, she began. "Beware of the woods...of the sounds of howling. There could be a outsider who will turn...underneath the glow of the full moon."

    Now Celeste really thinks the woman's crazy. But after this crazy prediction Celeste life changes and so does the new guy Brandon's. Brandon seems like a real nice guy and likable. I feel a bit sorry for him because he got bit by a wolf saving Celeste from them and now his life is turned upside down. I guess you could say this story is sort of the Romeo and Juliet of werewolf stories. He is from the wrong side of the tracks, but Celeste doesn't care about that. She does on the other hand care about what her friends think because they don't like Brandon because he is from Riverside.

    Celeste makes me a little made because I kept thinking if you want to be with Brandon then just come out and say it because its not nice to keep Nash hanging thinking that she was going to come around and start seeing him again. I know its teenage insecurities not wanting her friends to hate her but I didn't think it was fair to Brandon.

    The part I thought was a little bit cheesy to me was that she kept hanging around him when he is changing into a werewolf. The guys got fangs growing and she wants to kiss him? I guess he is not a mean werewolf sort of reminds me of the movie Teen Wolf. =) It just doesn't have the pizazz that a lot of other stories about werewolves have, it just sort of falls flat. I might check out the next book but it won't be a priority.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ellen Schreiber does Werewolves

    For Celeste, living in Legend's Run means living with stories of werewolves in the woods. It's a way of life. Luckily, it's been many decades since the last time anyone has seen one. The sighting was so long ago, that Celeste and her friends Abby and Ivy have a hard time believing the rumors to be true. Then a mysterious outsider named Brandon comes to town and completely changes Celeste's life. Now she finds herself keeping two sets of secrets - her own and Brandon's - from everyone around them. As the entire town grows more suspicious, it is going to be difficult to know who to trust!

    Since I'm part of Team Werewolf, this was the perfect Ellen Schreiber book to start with. I have yet to read any of her Vampire Kisses books, but I want to! The romance between Celeste and Brandon was very cute, though the drama felt a little contrite in some places. Brandon was a perfect blend of mystery and tough guy and softy. I liked that Celeste volunteered at a nursing home. It is always nice to see teens in books helping out and donating their time for free. Ivy and Abby were both funny and serious and ultimately very believable. Once in a Full Moon is a short book, but sets up the town of Legend's Run and it's key players for Schreiber to continue her series with. I look forward to more secrets being revealed in the next installment!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was great! It has a lot of fun characters as well as a

    This book was great! It has a lot of fun characters as well as an interesting plot. I enjoyed getting to know all the different characters in this book as well as seeing how they have changed or how their relationships changed. I am looking forward to reading the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2015

    Once In A Full Moon was a good story, but there was nothing spec

    Once In A Full Moon was a good story, but there was nothing spectacular about it. I adore werewolf stories, but this story fell short on
    my expectations and hopes. Although the concept of the wolf man werewolf were different than many stories on the market, the heroine
    was weak and bounced back and forth between her old boyfriend and the wolf boyfriend without any kind of real resolve, even after she
    figures out she likes the wolf boyfriend more. The best friend characters weren't sympathetic either, nor likable. Besides not wanting
    anyone to discover anything about wolf boy because the cops were watching out for a werewolf, there was no real tension. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2014

    Alex

    "No girls? Dam. Better hope you live without me."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    Estaca

    A girl, enters, looking at the marvelous woods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2014

    A girl

    A virgin girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    Arrow

    The white wolf howled. And a girl appeared. She grabbed the girl and took her to moon camp res.2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2014

    Altair

    He looks at the virgin the grabs her and put her in res eight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    Tobias

    He watches the miniscule debacle with a blank expression.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Lani

    A blonde haired girl dressed in rags is thrown in from the forest and she tumbles to the ground

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    There is no words in the dictionary that could describe my hatre

    There is no words in the dictionary that could describe my hatred for this book. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS BOOK SERIES! SAVE YOURSELF FROM THE HORROR!! If you liked this book, are you sure you know how to read?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Prim

    ?.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 290 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15