Customer Reviews for

Once in a Red Moon

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    beautiful and inspirational music!

    What can i say? this cd brought tears to my eyes,joy into my heart. iplay this in the car ,at 5am,while driving to work.And "you raise me up" with these wonderful singers ,gives me chills ,all the time.There are many tracks that are so soothing to listen to.Good music to relax to at home,with a glass of wine ,or a good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sweet CD You'll Play Over and Over...

    Once in a Red Moon is a really good CD. From the beginning with the enchanting, relaxing Awakening, to the perfect ending Elegie. My personal favorite song was Greenwaves. If I had to say there was a dissapointing song on the CD (Which there isn't) it would have to be You Raise Me Up. It's a very good song and has a beautiful sound but it wasn't entirely my taste. This CD is a must buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good!

    I like Secret Garden but their all songs are very similar.The song "invitation" is very similar to "lore of loom" from another album.However I like their album "songs from secret garden".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I have three copies now...

    One for my office, one for my car, one for my home. "You Raise Me Up" is one of THE most powerful songs I've ever heard--the orchestra, the choir, the artists' voices, all take your spirit to new levels of inspiration and connectedness to "The One Who Knows All." Other songs, including "Greenwaves" and "Gates of Dawn" will remind your soul of home. The reviewer who said he would never listen to it again--you need to get out of your paradigm, dear! Secret Garden is growing itself right into the Fifth Dimension! This is a beautiful album, especially if you like Celtic music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Music that made me cry...

    When I listened to the song "You raise me up" tears came from my eyes...and I had to listen to it over and over again...what a beautiful song and pice of music..Thank you Secret Garden!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Evocative, heartfelt music!

    Keyboardist Rolf Lovland, violinist Fionnuala Sherry and friends, along with the Irish National Symphony Orchestra, work their magic once again! This time more there are more vocals, featuring guest singers such as Anuna, Karen Matheson of Capercaillie, Tracey Campbell-Nation, Brian Kennedy and the London Community Gospel Choir. The range of styles that Lovland incorporates into his compositions continues to broaden, while still including the simple, soulful, life-affirming tunes he is famous for, an example of which is track #8, ¿Gates of Dawn¿ (Lift your eyes and see the glory / Where the circle of life is drawn / See the never-ending story / Come with me to the Gates of Dawn). The last piece, an intense and sweeping ¿Elegie,¿ ends with a C-chord created from recorded contributions of pianists the world over. 66 C-chords were mixed together in a ¿global energy of sound¿ to create the final tone on the album. Other rich and equally emotive releases by Secret Garden are ¿Songs From a Secret Garden¿, ¿White Stones¿, and ¿Dawn of a New Century¿.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Inspiring, Soaring, At Peace!

    I love all the albums by Secret Garden. Once in a Red Moon, though, has collectively the most awesome, inspiring, soaring melodies I've ever heard. It's a show stopper! I cannot get enough of it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Haunting and beautiful!

    I had never heard of ''The Secret Garden'' until I was browsing in Barnes and Noble, and noticed the background music being played. It caught me immediately (music talks to me) and I asked the woman in the audio department what was playing. Needless to say, I purchased Once in a Red Moon, and can't stop listening to it. My husband says it is the best CD I have purchased in a long time, and he usually likes my choices. In fact, I love the songs so much, and found them to be so soothing, I purchased a copy and sent it to my parents in Sarasota. My father suffers from dementia, and sometimes just likes to sit in his chair and listen to music. My mother says he loves it. I am now looking for other CD's by Secret Garden to purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible!

    This has to be one of the best CD's I have in my collection...music from heaven! The song ''Your rise me up'' has to be one of my all time favorites. This is music to relax to, meditate to, and just plain enjoy life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You Raise Me Up is a Fabulous composition performed by a splendid blend of talented musicians !

    You Raise Me Up stopped our Sunday afternoon drive!! Our children were awestruck as I was, the outstanding efforts that went into putting this fabulous music out for us to hear deserves a Encore!! Of course I want the CD for Moms day!!! Or I will have to buy it for myself; One way or another!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1