Customer Reviews for

Once Upon a Marigold (Upon a Marigold Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Ha ha

This book is so funny and entertaining! Its a cool and fun fantasy twist and involves many interesting characters. I especially loved all of Ed's messed-up sayings.

posted by 3230911 on November 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

okay.

I thought that this book was an okay read, kind of like a rainy day book. It was cute, sweet, with just a little bit of humor, but it just wasn't the right book for me. It's about seventeen year old Christian, who runs away from his family at six years old because he 'd...
I thought that this book was an okay read, kind of like a rainy day book. It was cute, sweet, with just a little bit of humor, but it just wasn't the right book for me. It's about seventeen year old Christian, who runs away from his family at six years old because he 'doesn't want to live with them anymore because there's too many rules'. He's found by a troll living in a cave, Ed, who raises him. Christian's cave home is across the river from a castle, where he finds the princess Marigold. They become fast friends through mail sent by pidgeons, and when Christian takes a job at the castle he finally meets her and falls in love with her. It's a little bit more complicated, but I don't want to give away the ending for anyone who hasn't read it.

posted by ashleyyyyy on April 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Awesome book

    When Marigold healed Christian I was so excited to keep reading on, I was also happy when Olyimpia fell of that deck thing I was so surprised when I found out that Olympia was not their real mother I cant wait to read Twice Upon a Maeigold I love this book I so want to read it again I think that the auther did a great job on swriting the book

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    Left Hanging

    Can hardly wait until we get to the library to get the sequel to this book.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Katrina

    Im 14 and obviously a girl xD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    MARIGOLD

    I loved this book it had such a romantic ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cute Read

    Once Upon a Marigold is a very cute read with subtle humor and many lessons about life and growing up. The lessons of the book- growing up and walking into the unknown to find your place in life, being yourself, having faith and courage- are woven into the story so well that it doesn't really feel like your being taught life lessons at all. Christian and Marigold are great characters that both feel uncomfortable with where they are, and feel different from others. And by finding each other, along the way they find themselves. An evil mother, a bumbling father, a troll, a ferret, five dogs, and several suitors and you have a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    I loved it!!!

    Once Upon a Marigold is a wonderful story about love and comedy. It shows adventure and i would recommend it t all people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A perfect fairy tale

    I really enjoyed this book, it was cute and sweet and, in my opinion, defined a fairy tale. It's the kind of book that may not be the most thrilling or intense, but leaves you with a very good feeling, that just makes you want to run away to some secluded spot and bask in the sun as if the real world didn't exists. I would recommend it for young kids, and young adults alike, as it doesn't have a real age range. A good book is a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    Once upon a marigold

    I guess I've read better books, but this one was okay. I mean it's a very good love story plot, but the overall plot was pretty lame. I began reading the second book, and it didn't draw me in at all. Once upon a marigold was acceptable, though. The seris won't survive, I don't believe. But still, the first book is very very good. I recommend it to people who have read any love story of any kind, cheesy or good, because this one is near to in between.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    Bookworm

    My opinion? This book was pretty good. There were so many surprises! I loved how the author created the plot, but the ending seemed kind of rushed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2006

    Charming fairy tale

    Once Upon A Marigold is a charming book about a boy, named Christian that lives in a fairy tale world, and gets raised by a troll, named Ed, after he runs away from his parents. Christian grows up, and spies on a princess, named Marigold, that lives across the river. He finally gets the nerve to ¿p-mail¿ her, and starts a good friendship with her, that eventually leads to love. Christian goes and gets a job in the castle, where he is able to see Marigold quite a lot. Marigold is being forced to marry a prince, and her mom wants to get her out of the way, so that she can become queen. The queen is plotting behind everyone¿s back, and has some nasty plans forming. The end of the book is ¿happily ever after¿, even though there are a lot of surprises that might astonish people. This is a pretty good book that is very charming, and pretty funny. The book does get a little boring after a while, and you can kind of predict what is going to happen at the end. This would be a good book for teenagers that like ¿happily ever after¿ fairytales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    Good Book

    This was really great!!! i couldnt stop reading!!! but it kinda stopped!!! i hope there is going to b a sequel!!! this is romance/adventure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2005

    Way better than I expected

    This book was way shorter than what I normally read, but it was surprisingly wonderful! It was such a cute romance, I loved it! If you like adventure/romance type of books, I recommend this book to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2004

    'once upon a Marigold' is a great and exciting book!

    'once upon a Marigold' is a great book! I really liked this book because it was full of adventure. You can tell that this is is going to be a story with adventure when Chris got on a boat to cross the river, that was driven by a cyclops! Another thing that I liked about this book was that everything that the characters did in the book was creative. Chris was very created with his enventions that he made. One of his enventions was a contraption that took the dishes off the table. This worked using 2 dogs and a crank. He also made a bigger and better telescope. If you like a mystery story this would be a great book for you! I enjoyed this book because it doesn't give you very many clues, so you can't guess the ending. I hope that you run to the library and enjoy this book. But you better hurry before it is checked out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    A very fun book indeedy

    I just finished reading this book a few minutes ago and I liked it very much. I loved all of the characters as they were all unique and some were quite funny, like Edric with his mixed up phrases, and Marigold with her corny jokes but always wishing for a best friend. It was a very light sort of comedy, all in a modern fairy tale setting, which makes it all the more fun. The plot was a bit cliched and the whole of it was pretty predictable, but it was all very clever and I enjoyed it nonetheless. I reccomend it to all who like a good fairy tale with a happy ending (and lots of funny moments), and also to fellow readers below the suggested level (young adult)! lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2