Customer Reviews for

Once Upon a Secret: My Affair with President John F. Kennedy and Its Aftermath

Average Rating 3.5
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

103 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

Interesting story

While I found this story at times disturbing, I found it still believable. For anyone who has been swept up in a relationship (business, friendship, or love) with an individual who has immense power, they will understand this book. I've seen a few cruel reviews on other...
While I found this story at times disturbing, I found it still believable. For anyone who has been swept up in a relationship (business, friendship, or love) with an individual who has immense power, they will understand this book. I've seen a few cruel reviews on other sites about Mimi and how she was naive, has no self confidence, or needs to just get over this and move on. First, she was a nineteen year old in the 1960's, a completely different era. Second, anyone who thinks they could just easily "get over" or move on from a affair with such a powerful figure is full of it. For those who know the complexities of the human mind and heart, it's completely understandable how something like this would change someone's life, especially years later as you mature and realize some of the things that happened in the past. Looking back in our youth, there are a lot of moments we just didn't understand or had to learn from. I truly believe Mimi when she says this is just a book she had to write to fully reveal the true story she kept a secret for so long. As an older, more mature woman, she reveals a number of her feelings in the book, to fully admitting how she was naive and had a lack of understanding in her youth. But she also began to grow from the experience, until she did gain confidence and the belief in herself to be the woman she is today.

posted by Kylie51 on February 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

Waste of money and time

She should not profit from her lack of morals and ethics. He may have started the affair, she continued it, time and time again. While knowing he was married . And now again NO consideration of Caroline and her children. If Mimi needs to talk to free herself from the bu...
She should not profit from her lack of morals and ethics. He may have started the affair, she continued it, time and time again. While knowing he was married . And now again NO consideration of Caroline and her children. If Mimi needs to talk to free herself from the burdens of her continuous actions, talk to a therapist behind closed doors. She continues to hurt others with no consideration, this book is a waste of time and good money. President Kennedy is a fool for starting the affair, she is despicable for continuing it! This book is a waste of my time and money.

posted by Ccobx on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Interesting story

    While I found this story at times disturbing, I found it still believable. For anyone who has been swept up in a relationship (business, friendship, or love) with an individual who has immense power, they will understand this book. I've seen a few cruel reviews on other sites about Mimi and how she was naive, has no self confidence, or needs to just get over this and move on. First, she was a nineteen year old in the 1960's, a completely different era. Second, anyone who thinks they could just easily "get over" or move on from a affair with such a powerful figure is full of it. For those who know the complexities of the human mind and heart, it's completely understandable how something like this would change someone's life, especially years later as you mature and realize some of the things that happened in the past. Looking back in our youth, there are a lot of moments we just didn't understand or had to learn from. I truly believe Mimi when she says this is just a book she had to write to fully reveal the true story she kept a secret for so long. As an older, more mature woman, she reveals a number of her feelings in the book, to fully admitting how she was naive and had a lack of understanding in her youth. But she also began to grow from the experience, until she did gain confidence and the belief in herself to be the woman she is today.

    103 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Abuse of political position

    What starts out as an adventure of a lifetime for a innocent girl quickly turns into an ugly abusive show of political power by the President of the United States. How could young Mimi stop the sexual advances of the most powerful man in the world; the answer, she could not and he knew it.
    Sending his friend to lure her into the abusive web of the Kennedy lair, Mimi felt she was doing no wrong. She cannot be held responsible for her acts because she was a mere child and the President knew it.
    Facinating reading into the background of the abuse of political power.

    34 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Enjoyable read about an emotional journey

    When I first heard about this book my first thought was why now.. But as I heard a bit more of the story it was quite intringuing and needed to be "owned" by Mrs. Alford. The 60's were a very different time and if we want to be real, it isn't hard to imagine in that time a naive (sexually and otherways) girl being swept up in the romance of Camelot. A powerful handsome charasmatic man, a naive young woman, not a stretch.. I found many aspects of the relationship abusive, the sexual dares in particular. However, I'd like to believe that Kennedy did actually care for her, that she was more than a presidential sex toy. I also found Dave Powers role to be more than a little distasteful, but I guess that is the "fixer's" job.. All-in-all I would say this book is less about Kennedy and more about empowerment and self-discover of Mrs. Alford, how you can overcome the decisions of your past and own your future.

    33 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Waste of money and time

    She should not profit from her lack of morals and ethics. He may have started the affair, she continued it, time and time again. While knowing he was married . And now again NO consideration of Caroline and her children. If Mimi needs to talk to free herself from the burdens of her continuous actions, talk to a therapist behind closed doors. She continues to hurt others with no consideration, this book is a waste of time and good money. President Kennedy is a fool for starting the affair, she is despicable for continuing it! This book is a waste of my time and money.

    24 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Don't listen to Barbera Walters

    Before reading this book I heard all the interviews cutting down the author for writing this book, and why now. I found this read less about the Kennedys and more about the development of a person. Yes, there are a few paragraphs of detailed information, but it is part of her story and why she is who she is today.

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Wonderful

    I purchased this book on a whim. I don't gravitate towards biographies, and while I am intrigued with history, I cannot claim I am a fanatic. That said, this is a beautiful book that I could not put down. I read it in a matter of hours. It is insightful and provocative.

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    my affair with the president

    young mimi alford was very excited at the prospect of working as an intern in the white house and got to meet president kennedy who later took a more thean work intrest in her he begain a 18 year long affair with this 17 year old by first seducing her in jackies bedroom . this is very hard to put down the young intern also gives some details about the asasination great gift idea.

    17 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Great read

    A quick and easy read. I enjoyed it very much. Thank you Mimi for your honesty and openess.

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Excellent read ....

    This was an excellent book and interesting story. I was not disappointed.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Very Moving Story

    This is one of the most moving stories I have ever read. While the media has focused on the sexual aspects of the story, I found the effects on Ms. Alford's life the most moving. She entered her first marriage while still grieving. Her first marriage was destroyed. The effect of this secret on her life. From an historical point of view how this could have gone on in view of the press, and customs before the era of sex harresment law suits(Though this clearly is a love story) I agree with other comments about Barbara Walters behavior. What journalist kills a story because it is seen as critical of her friend's father.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    History, no Heart......

    My Mother had adored the Kennedy's all her life as she was Irish and proud that they became so prominent & powerful in an era that Irish-Catholics were scorned as drunkards, deadbeats, and n'er-do-wells. I just don't think she fully realized that like many rich and powerful families, they didn't get to the top honestly. We now know patriarch JP Kennedy was not really a great businessman, he was an opportunist, who made his money on the backs of the unfortunate and taught his family to do the same. His ancestors still believe themselves to be above all reproach when they bear the Kennedy name, just read the internet news today about one of the newest escapades of a grandson. As I now have a bad image of the Kennedy's in general, I'm not sure why I bought this Nook Book. Curiosity? History? Who knows. I can tell you though, when I finished it, I felt very empty and a bit depressed. I'm not sure why Mimi Alford really wrote this book. Supposedly to set the story straight? Well, I hope she somehow got some closure or at least plenty of money as it's really not much of a story and I don't honestly know why she would want to tell it... A young girl loses her virginity to an older man kind of as a 'sexual waitress' no affection, no kisses, no love, no sugar with that. And she continues the relationship as if she were a call girl, with Dave powers playing the role of a pimp. I feel bad for her that she was so used and allowed herself to be. And Kennedy? He was taught people, especially women, were disposable, and I guess never managed to develop any non-narcissistic thoughts on the subject. When I began the book I think I was hoping for a somehow "good" reason this affair occurred. Possibly it had a purpose, an emotion. Frankly, I saw none.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Really?

    Very easy to write fiction when everyone else is long gone. Just another person making money. After so many years memories change to what we want. Save your money not a good read.

    8 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Great Book

    Very interesting. It was a real page turner for me, from start to end!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Ehhhhh

    This book is ok. If you are wondering between this book and another book. Get the other book. It is only kinda good (like a really long People magazine/Inquirer article kinda good)up until the death of JFK. Then it is like....blah blah blah blah blah. Just skipped all the way to the end after that. Sorry Mimi. I felt like I kinda wasted my money. She still seemed to be making excuses for JFK. He was an oversexed guy that ended up in the White House. Didn't live during that time. Was interested in what she had to say. It was just ok.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Good read!!!!

    Easy, enjoyable read! Kennedy took advantage of a young woman, and used her sexually. I truly believe she was a victim. Fascinating read! Loved it!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Person

    I hate book

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Good but wouldn't recommend

    Although I find Mimi's story to be very honest, and intriguing. It could have all been summed up in 100 pages. I found it to page turning up until the President's death. All information re: their affair can be found on the Internet.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    WOW

    Undoubtedbly true and a very mixed consequence for this girl. Lots of courage here on her part. well written with classy lack of salaciousness. it would have been interesting to be part of those intoxicating times although the dark side is disturbing
    .

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Interesting read, especially for the over 60 people

    Intersting, not surprising at all. I think if JFK had been President today, he wouldn't have gotten away with all his affairs. I really like JFK, I think he was a great leader but not so much a great person.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Eye-opener!

    My thoughts go out to the author. I understand it may have been the time and setting of that decade, but I am overwhelmed and taken back that a man (especially the president) would treat a woman that way.

    My opinion of JFK is forever changed. I appreciate the book for its clarity and the author for her honesty. Obviously I will continue to see JFK as a great president. His contributions to this country are forever appreciated, but his flaws as a man are noteable

    A great read that I will recommend again and again!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9