BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

One Amazing Thing

Average Rating 3.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting.

    Did not like the ending; leaves you dangling. Had the ending been thought out well, this would have been a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    waste of time!

    very hard to follow,not very interesting,very very bad ending!! It felt like the author forgot to write the last chapter! I am an avid reader and I hated it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Find your one amazing thing!

    I bumped this book up to the top of my list after recent news of the 7.0 to hit Haiti. Definitely relevant.

    Following a devastating earthquake, nine strangers find themselves buried in an underground room in the Indian visa office they are in when the earthquake hits. As things go from bad to progressively worse, each member takes a turn telling a story from their life. What starts as a simple distraction for them turns into a way for each to confront their past and find the one amazing thing that has made them who they are today.

    ONE AMAZING THING is written from rotating points of view; any other way would not have provided as much story for the reader to become invested in. However, I always feel that a common problem with having stories within stories is that one always comes out the stronger one, making the others feel more like an interruption of the main plot. The individual stories are each engaging in their own right, but I only wanted to go back to the present moment and see what would happen next as they try to survive the earthquake disaster. Chitra Divakaruni excels at character building, and it glows even brighter in ONE AMAZING THING.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Slow start, fast middle, questionable finish...

    We read this for our Church Book Club meeting, and it raised some interesting discussion topics around the theme of the book, which was that each person involved in the story had "one amazing thing" to tell about their lives. As I said in my headline, I found it tough going in the beginning, but once the stories started, the book flew along for me. However, although I liked the open-endedness of the book, in the 'rescue' aspect, I would have like certain stories to have been tied up a little better. Not sure if the author is planning a sequel, or if they just wanted to create this little bit of uncertainty for reader. If that was the purpose, job done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    I just finished One Amazing Thing and truly enjoyed this book. T

    I just finished One Amazing Thing and truly enjoyed this book. The setting is realistic and the author portrays the ensuing events appropriately. The stories each character shares are intriguing and provide insight into the response each has to the earthquake. I'm glad I read the book and hope to attend the library event in September. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    This book is terrible. Don't read it. The ending was depressing

    This book is terrible. Don't read it. The ending was depressing and such a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    GREAT STORY

    I DID LIKE THIS BOOK, IT KEPT ME INTERESTED IN WHAT WAS GOING TO HAPPEN TO EACH OF THESE PEOPLE. YOU NEVER CAN TELL HOW PEOPLE ARE GOING TO REACT WHEN TRAPPED!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    recommened

    Good description about the book and ship on time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    Truly Inspiring

    Beautifully written and absorbing plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    nice

    vffsb

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    Beautiful Read!!

    After an earthquake traps nine strangers in the basement office of the passport administration, fear and uncertainty begin to take their toll. They begin to panic once the reality of their situation begins to close in on them. Without knowing if rescue is a hope they have, one of the strangers suggests that they each tell "One Amazing Thing" that has happened in their lives. What follows is both a harrowing tale of survival and how people can come together in the face of insurmountable odds. Chitra Divakaruni brings together nine individuals from completely different backgrounds. Seven of the nine are attempting to get to India, all for different reasons, but all for an attempt at atonement for past failures or shortcomings. The two remaining work in the passport office and have come to be there after their own amazing turns in India. Divakaruni's prose is entrancing. It was so completely wonderful, I couldn't put it down. I read the entire book in one sitting, waiting for the next moment to both learn about each of the characters and his/her "thing," as well as how the book would end. Divakaruni writes an amazing tale and makes each person's story unforgettable. She details the amazing determination in the human spirit; our ability to love, desire, hate, forgive, create and break down our stereotypes, and our innate caring for one another. This is a story that I could read again and again. The only negative I can really post is that I was left wanting more. The ending is surprising. It may not settle well with some, but I personally find it preferable in a book to have unanswered questions. I want to be left desiring to read more about characters I like. Divakaruni does that well. Her characters are fantastic and the story is beautiful. No reader could ask for more. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    One Amazing Thing

    I loved the way this book was written and the touching stories, stories anyone could say apply to them in some way. It is a compelling novel with a haunting ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Concept

    One Amazing Thing is about a group of 9 people who are trapped in an Indian passport and visa office somewhere in the U.S. To pass the time and comfort themselves they take turn telling one amazing thing that happened in their lives. Some are good things and some not so good. We also learn a bit about each character and why they were in the office seeking a passport/visa to India. Some characters were more likable than others. I like the author's writing style. It almost felt like a book of short stories intertwined with the main story which was being trapped in the earthquake. After reading their amazing stories, I concluded that each character was trapped in other ways in their lives not just trapped in a building after an earthquake. It was very different from the books I have read lately. I have read the last page and a half over several times and I'm not sure how I felt about the ending. I felt left hanging. I guess I like my endings cut and dry. Other than the ending I enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Satisfying, well-crafted and a beautiful read

    One Amazing Thing drew me in from the start. The book opens from the point of view of the graduate student as she surveys the Indian Embassy and its occupants during the start of the earthquake. Her voice is accessible, witty, and sympathetic.

    The perspective shifts seamlessly from one character to another, partly through each person's sharing of the "one amazing thing" from his or her life. Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni has woven together nine fascinating and brave stories from seemingly nondescript people. Their shared storytelling helps the captives survive their harrowing experience and it gifts us with a satisfying, well-crafted, and beautiful read.

    ISBN-10: 1401340997 - Hardcover $23.00
    Publisher: Voice; 1 edition (February 2, 2010), 240 pages.
    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    I love the premise of this story.

    I love the premise of this story - nine people trapped by an earthquake trying to survive and keep each others spirits up. Situations like that can engender amazing things from very different people and can change lives. That they would sit down and tell the stories of their lives as they are waiting for their fate makes sense to me and I was anxious to hear what they would tell.

    Unfortunately I felt the stories themselves fell a little flat. What I normally love about Chitra Divakaruni's stories is her distinct, powerful, enchanting characters and somehow none of the people in One Amazing Thing came across that way. The stories are told in a voice that doesn't ring true. They are told like an author writing a story, not the way a person would tell their own story to another person. In addition all the stories are told in one voice, they don't come across as being individual. I ended up enjoying the parts of the book that focus on the present group struggling to survive the earthquake the most.
    One Amazing Thing is an interesting book but lacks the distinct character voices and emotion I expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Review of One Amazing Thing

    Uma, a graduate student, is waiting impatiently at an Indian visa office with strangers of several ethnicities and backgrounds, all intending to visit or move to India. Suddenly an earthquake strikes, and they are stranded in the office with no electricity and with a hole in the ceiling. Tension rises in the crisis, and Uma stops a fight when she proposes that each of them tell a significant story about their lives. As they each tell a personal tale, they find interconnectedness through this storytelling, for each one of them has experienced suffering, love, wishes, and loss. This is an intensely psychological and compelling novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3