Customer Reviews for

One Big Thing: Discovering What You Were Born to Do

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    As a fairly recent convert to the world according to Phil Cooke,

    As a fairly recent convert to the world according to Phil Cooke, I was elated at the opportunity to review a pre-release copy of the Hollywood Producer/Director/Consultant’s latest book, “One Big Thing: Discovering What You Were Born to Do”. As a Leadership Coach, often working with clients struggling to discover their “One Big Thing,” I was, more than a little, curious to hear what he had to say on the subject.

    Phil approaches the topic with practical understanding forged from his own personal journey and combines it with wisdom from others to provide a very readable and helpful guide to everyone looking for a more fulfilling life.

    “One Big Thing” goes beyond the usual “find-your-purpose” fare. It not only guides readers through practical methods of personal discovery, but also leverages Cooke’s ample media knowledge. He offers helpful tips on personal branding and provides sage advice on how to cut through the cluttered world of marketing, and get noticed by the right people. This is the first time I have seen this topic addressed in book form and I was delighted to see it here.
    Unlike some materials I have read, Cooke makes no bones about the fact that, for many of us, this can be a challenging process. He notes that while some people seem to be born “knowing” what they should do with their life, most of us struggle toward discovery. This book is not a step-by-step guide to knowing your destiny, (I wouldn’t buy it if it made such a claim,) it does however provide tools and describe signs to watch for along your journey.

    So, in the words of Phil Cooke, “What is it that makes you come alive? What excites and empowers you? What were you born to do, and how can you get that message out there?” If you’re not sure, and are willing to embark on an exciting adventure, engage “One Big Thing.” It’s a great place to start! I will be recommending it to my clients and students.

    Last Updated (Saturday, 30 June 2012 20:15)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Many people wander through life with no direction or personal go

    Many people wander through life with no direction or personal goals, even successful individuals with good jobs and hefty salaries. Modern-day Renaissance man Phil Cooke, a media consultant, offers some great ideas about how to discover your true purpose in life and to work toward it. Practical and inspirational, Cooke explains how to live a meaningful life and offers plenty of warmth and encouragement. getAbstract recommends his ideas to those who want to live life to the fullest, particularly those who share his heartfelt Christian perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    One B1G Thing by Phil Cooke takes you way beyond the basics of j

    One B1G Thing by Phil Cooke takes you way beyond the basics of just
    finding your purpose. Phil Cooke coaches the reader to connect purpose
    with passion, passion with pursuit, and pursuit to a life of
    productivity and fruitfulness. This book is not just a good read, but if
    applied can be a roadmap to your destiny. Phil doesn't tell you what to
    do, but instead uses the art of asking you the tough questions that will
    help you eliminate the unnecessary, identify what your good at, narrow
    your focus, streamline your efforts and expand your influence. Many of
    us who have a life message or mission also have a desire to stand out in
    a noisy world, so how do we do get noticed in the midst of all the
    noise? One B1G Thing asks these type of questions and encourages the
    reader to take the time to hone in on their ONE B1G Thing! This book
    gives you practical tools to prevent you from getting distracted from
    your destiny and develop a determination to zero in on the very thing
    that you were born to do. I think of when I first entered youth
    ministry I couldn't believe I was getting paid for my passion for young
    people as a youth pastor, yet over time as life's seasons change, if
    you're not careful your passion can turn into just a paycheck. As
    passion wanes purpose can get muddied, passion can fizzle and your
    pursuit becomes aimless. Phil Cooke has written a book to help you
    simplify your life to pursuing ONE B1G Thing. If you're a jack of all
    trades master of none this book is for you. If your dream has been
    neutralized by too many decisions this book is for you. If your stuck in
    the noise and want to quiet the voices this book is for you. If your
    trying to figure out your expertise, let an expert like Phil Cooke who
    has helped hundreds of successful businesses, non profits and churches,
    help you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    We live in a noisy world where we are constantly being asked &ld

    We live in a noisy world where we are constantly being asked “What is our destiny?” In One Big Thing, Phil Cooke explains that we are not locked in by destiny, rather destiny is a moving target that we need to go after. We need to also live intentionally and strategically. As we are being pulled in many different directions or pursue multiple passions, Phil says that we need to find that One Big Thing and go after that with all our passion, instead of going after multiple smaller passions half-heartedly. The book is peppered with quotations and also Phil’s personal experiences.

    I really enjoyed this book. It was a great reminder that we need to find that one thing that we can be great at and pursue it. Phil gave a lot of great advice from his personal experiences. For me it let me know that my destiny isn’t preplanned, and I haven’t missed the boat. I can still make a difference in this world by going after that one thing I am either good at or have a passion for. I would encourage everyone to read this book if you need encouragement about pursuing your dreams.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    One Big Thing: Discovering What You Were Born to Do by Phil Cook

    One Big Thing: Discovering What You Were Born to Do by Phil Cooke

    An interesting read. Delving into every person’s core question – what is my purpose in this world? We all question what we’re supposed to do with our lives, from the high school student making choices for his future career to the corporate CEO questioning why none of what he does is satisfying.
    The Author sets about trying to help the reader to answer various questions about themselves, their values, their hopes and dreams and their skills in an effort to figure out what their “One Big Thing” is.

    He uses many interesting illustrations of people who clearly found their “One Big Thing” and offers practical advice on finding, birthing and working toward the achievement of this one thing. The book is packed with practical solutions to discovering your purpose – living intentionally, avoiding distractions, branding yourself and following through on the road to your “One Big Thing”.

    I do get the practicalities of the book and I have picked up some great tips in my endeavors’ in my own business which I believe is the inspired One Big Thing in my life. It’s well written, funny and very enlightening in many instances. It is worth a read.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    I've worked as a media/story consultant for the past ten years,

    I've worked as a media/story consultant for the past ten years, and if I've learned anything, it's that you can solve any problem as long as you ask the right questions. That's what Phil Cooke does in his new book, One Big Thing. He asks you all the questions you need to answer in order to help you find your purpose in life, you're One Big Thing.

    He doesn't get caught up in vague notions or distracting clichés. Instead, he uses simple language to impart practical wisdom. And like any good friend or mentor, he walks with you each step of the way. He sets before you a map and issues you a challenge. More than that, he offers you a key that, when used to open the right door, shows you the path to a future with purpose.

    Whether you've pursued shallow fame or empty fortune, or simply allowed the distractions and responsibilities of everyday life to keep you from your dream (even if you've forgotten your dream or lost your passion), you can shake off those distractions and take the first step on that grand adventure that is your life.

    Accept the challenge. Read Phil's book; find your One Big Thing, and become precisely who you were meant to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    A Worthwhile Journey Phil Cooke’s life experience stands

    A Worthwhile Journey

    Phil Cooke’s life experience stands him head and shoulders above most others in tackling these questions: Why am I here? What am I supposed to accomplish? What was I born to do? This is paramount. I want to know the person whose book I am reading knows what they’re talking about. Rest assured. Phil’s own One Big Thing, helping people and organizations engage their culture more effectively, is the foundation upon which he is able to expertly guide others on this life-changing, challenging journey.

    Along the way, Phil doesn’t pretend to provide all the answers, but what he does provide is a road map on how to get there. What comes easy to you? What do you love? What drives you crazy? What do you want to leave behind? After reading his book, these questions stay with me and help guide me in defining my own One Big Thing.

    We each have a unique DNA. It’s an understanding of who we are that makes the difference. This book should be required reading for anyone interested in that pursuit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    One Big Thing is the kind of book I wish every friend and collea

    One Big Thing is the kind of book I wish every friend and colleague would read! It offers insight to sharpen the focus on your One Big Thing in life by reviewing how you're wired, what your passions are and what destiny is calling you to. The book offers questions and filters to run your own thoughts and dreams through, along with stories of historical figures to current day life changers who searched and discovered their One Big Thing. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Phil Cooke, in One Big Thing, takes you on a journey of self dis

    Phil Cooke, in One Big Thing, takes you on a journey of self discovery and prods you to ask yourself the hard questions about your purpose for being. If you are like me and are engaged in creative activity it's a refreshing experience to learn of the path a truly remarkable creative individual has taken in his life's path and learn from his wisdom. Reading this book reminded me of the verse from the Bible that reads: "Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom; Yea, with all thy getting get understanding." This book will help you get the understanding you need to find and develop your hidden talents and achieve your highest purpose in life. Filled with great anecdotes and practical suggestions, Cooke has cut through the haze and delivered a valuable guide to assist you in finding that One Big Thing that only you can do and do better than anyone else in the world.

    As I said, this is not a self-help book, but more of a self-discovery book. Phil constantly reminds us to focus on that one overriding passion that motivates you and avoid distractions that will dilute your efforts. The book will prepare you to navigate the various land-mines that you will likely encounter along the way toward achieving your life's dream.

    As you read this book, you'll realize that you're not alone and you're not crazy! Dream big. Take what Phil Cooke has to say in this book to heart and who knows, you just might change the world.

    Richard Bagdazian
    Executive Director
    San Diego Christian Film Festival

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    I'm a lifelong "self-assessment junkie". My wife and I

    I'm a lifelong "self-assessment junkie". My wife and I have grown personally and professionally by taking time to read books on the topic, take "tests", consider how we're made, and try to live that out. Phil Cooke has done a remarkable job of addressing a question that most of us face, and have faced for years. This is not a "Five Proven Keys" book, but there are plenty of practical concepts, questions, and stories that were very helpful to me - even though I've studied the subject quite a bit.

    Phil's approach is hard hitting, but hopeful. You'll have a clearer view of yourself after reading the book. Don't be alarmed by the road-kill, they're just some sacred cows you'll see along the way. The author's enthusiasm and experience jumps off the page. This book will help you live more intentionally. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Another brilliant book by Phil Cooke! One Big Thing is likened t

    Another brilliant book by Phil Cooke! One Big Thing is likened to an aptitude test- the measure and discovery of your greatest passion and how to strategically engage it. Phil challenges you to do some honest, gut-level thinking about your talents, gifts and abilities. He leads you through an inspirational journey with lots of relatable examples, sensible applications, as well as helps identify distractions that steal from your life. Phil's message is not hype, but rather a search and recovery for what is lost... and what can be found.

    One Big Thing is a game changer in my current decision making process - I'm asking the right questions now to get the right answers. This is a thought provoking and life changing book for anyone who seeks to find a dream they can call their own. I can think of no other author who can hit this subject with such truth and impact. I know I'll be talking about this book for a long time and recommending it to others for years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Phil Cooke appeals to everyone in this book! It's a question any

    Phil Cooke appeals to everyone in this book! It's a question anyone has at ANY age. For me, I'm of a generation that has had some trouble with this question, and my high school and college classes were all a bit unfocused. I think this book should be on college bookshelves everywhere!!!

    The quotes in this book make you want to tear them out and stick them on your wall, computer, desk, etc.

    I feel so inspired to get out there and focus on my "One Big Thing" - this book has clarified so many burning questions that have kept me up all night about what I was meant to do in life, what my purpose was, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Phil Cooke, in true 'PC' fashion, drives hard questions to make

    Phil Cooke, in true 'PC' fashion, drives hard questions to make you think. One Big Thing is no easy five steps self-help book -- this book is a process that put in the hands of people in any field, at a critical time in their life, could be life-changing.

    The biggest thing about One Big Thing - is the need to keep learning and growing in this changing world. Keeping from distraction in the digital world is one Phil's biggest warnings. Creating margins, focusing on goals, all the while engaging in the digital culture, is a balancing act for all of us.

    Phil manages to pull the cord at both ends by reminding us that we need to receive criticism equally with compliments. Phil makes one see the relevance of self-awareness with need for complete lack of self-importance. It's not about you. It's about the One Big Thing. Be encouraged - anyone can be creative, and know their One Big Thing.

    This book could go in the hands of anyone looking for a career change, or a fresh out of college graduate. Read this book if you are ready for change. As you name the role, you then own it and become it. It is NEVER too late to find your One Big Thing, by being uniquely YOU!

    Jim Collin's Good to Great is for businesses like Phil Cooke's One Big Thing is for Purpose and Passion. By finding the intersection of your passion and the world's biggest need -- and what people are willing to pay you for - you can find what you were born to do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1