Customer Reviews for

One Bullet Away: The Making of a Marine Officer

Average Rating 4.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    LEADERSHIP 101

    I would recommend this book to be required reading at all our military academies, and our officer training centers. Nathaniel Fick hits the nail directly on the head when it comes to fundemental leadership principles, and presents them in a truly fresh and more importantly authentic way. He proudly represents the best the Marine Corps has to offer, and rather than making a political statement, presents facts which the reader can digest. He paints a very vivid picture of combat, without dressing it up or down, and makes it intensely personal. He is the kind of officer that you would willingly follow into harm's way, and sets an example for all future officers to emulate.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Read through the night!

    "One Bullet Away" will place the reader in regular patrols and fire fights in Iraq. The book is written from the viewpoint of a young Marine Recon Officer, Nathaniel Fick. Very well written. Lieutenant Fick is highly intelligent, capable and compassionate. He was fortunate to have seasoned Gunny Wynn under his command to offer suggestions and assistance. I simply could not put down this book and felt as though I knew the personnel intimately. Compassion for the Iraqis was hard to ignore but pride in our US Marine Corps is top-most with this Marine Mom.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    A wonderful surprise!

    I don't normally read current military books but this was an excellent read. Its obvious Capt. Fick was a classics major. His writing was very inviting. I couldn't put it down. And he made you care about the other people in his book. It was admirable of him not to degrade anyone by naming names and pointing fingers. Its a shame he is still not in the Marines leading and learning other young men.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Best book on modern warfare ever.

    This book is the best book I have ever read on modern warfare. I have re-read this book several times and enjoy it every time. This easily tops even the classics such as Black Hawk Down and We Were Soldiers Once. A great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Amazing

    A journey of marines life from college through OIF and OEF. With his lessons learned outlined. Recomend for anyone trying to be a leader in any situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Anonomyous

    Amazing book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Great account

    Absorbing book that you just cannot put down. Fick's insights add much to what we assume the marines to be . With a nephew in force recon, it makes me appreciate more what he is doing and what he has sacrificed. Fick pulls no punches. The good bad and ugly are there tosee. It is one one the best histories I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Great read

    This is a well told story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Great Book

    Couldn't put it down. The author does a great job describing his growth as a Marine Corp Officer. Further... It really hit home that even though we send our troops into harms way to see horrible things, to work in horrible conditions... we sit at home unaware of their sacrifices. And we take it for granted. Great book. Semper FI

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    War from the Warrior's Perspective

    Honest, revealing, well-written. This is an important book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    Great Read

    Great Book. Highly Recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Great Read

    This book offers a now hard to come by honest look into the war. Not only does Fick tell the stories of himself and his Marines, he makes them look good too. It goes from his hellish baptism by fire in OCS to his deployment in Iraq. Definitley a great buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Excellent personal account of Marine Corps

    The author has a writing style well suited to telling his personal story. He doesn't get bogged down in details, but gives personal accounts that show the Marine Corp. from the eyes of a young officer at the outbreak of war. Despite not being a huge reader of military books, I found it hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    It was Like I was there with these Marines

    I am the grandmother of a Marine and the words Fick used were the same words my grandson used to describe his 3 tours in Iraq! Each chapter was like reliving my grandson's stories over and over! A must read book for anyone that has had family serving in Iraq. They come home with a very different point of view and this book will help you understand them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    A True Depiction of What It Means to be a Marine Officer.

    Extremely well written and accurate to last detail. Captain Nathan Fick experiences the transformation that occurs when one makes the commitment to wear the eagle, globe, and anchor, and lead Marines. He comes to realize the incredible responsibility that comes with putting on the uniform, and he learns how rewarding it is to have the privilege of working with the well trained and motivated men under his command. He soon not only sees the anticipation and excitement of the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq, almost like preparing for the most important sports event of his life, but he also suffers through the contradictions and uncertainties of combat. Through it all he forges a bond with those he leads that will stay with all of them for the rest of their lives. If you want a true accounting of the making of a Marine officer, as well as the rigors and fog of war that is told without hype and exaggeration, this is the book to read. I had the privilege of wearing the uniform of a both a Marine enlisted man and a Marine officer for almost thirty years, and this book is an accurate reflection of what I experienced in that time as well. For those who lived the life, this book will be a welcome look back at our "glory days", and for the rest it is an important piece of the history of the Corps.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Too Real

    Captain Fick told it like it was and probably still is. It became clear that only a handful of fficers really know how to lead in this new hostile environment. Capt. Fick was pointed without being disrespectful, honest without being offensive, and thoughtful without being overbearing.

    I could nt put the book down. I know two young active duty army officers in Iraq, and through their parents, they confirm Capt. Fick's descriptions. One will not re enlist do to the incompetence described later in the book. That tells it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I found this book to be a great read for many reasons. Firstly, it portrayed a very human aspect of war and those who fight it. It put a name and face to a group of humble people who are defending a nation and asking nothing in return. Politics aside, these men and women deserve our recognition. Secondly, it told the story of the war from the front lines, directly from the witnessess and perpetrators. Many books about war are written by reporters who interview soldiers. These accounts lack the level of reality that a book by an actual soldier can portray. This book is a story of courage and bravery, internal struggle and the fight to remain alive and sane. I would recommend this book to anyone who has half a heart so they can see the truth in a world full of media lies, and know that real people are fighting this war and real people are dying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    Excellent work!

    I enjoyed Fick's narrative of his experience in the Marine Corps. He described his feelings about things and showed that not everything is logical in a time of war. He made his readers care about the physical and mental safety of him and his men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2006

    SEMPER FI

    Truly enjoyed this book. Being a former Marine Sergeant I can tell you this book is accurate and worth reading. It gives you a glimpse into the true Marine Corps. It is an outstanding book that shows the bond between Marines, especially a good platoon commander and his men. I will definitely keep this book in my collection and probably read it for a second time. Outstanding job Captain Fick. SEMPER FI !!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2006

    Great Reading

    Excellent and wonderful reading.An oustanding Marine. As a mother of a deternined high school student to enter the marines,I felt a need to understand more, especially entering the service during the Iraq War. Capt. Fick has helped me to understand a little. I hope my son follows in his footsteps.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4