Customer Reviews for

One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

Ok I got to be honest..lol..I never watch or know anything about Football,but when this book came up it sounded like it would be a good read and I was right!! She is married to Football star Kurt Warner. From the very first page I did not want to put it down. It has you...
Ok I got to be honest..lol..I never watch or know anything about Football,but when this book came up it sounded like it would be a good read and I was right!! She is married to Football star Kurt Warner. From the very first page I did not want to put it down. It has you from the first line. Wow from joining the marines right out of school too what tragic things have happened in her life from her son's tragic accident as a baby,her first husband cheating on her,her parents dying in a tornado. She is one tough gal. She is very open and honest in this book and speaks frank and from the heart. She shares how her faith in God has gotten her through so many sad things in her life. She shares how it's not her plans that will always come about but God will always be the final person who writes your life story out and creates the plans. There were a few parts I didn't like in the book such as going to bars and drinking but other then that it was a very good book and I think she's a get out and get done kind of lady which I like. Great book overall.

posted by jbrewer on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Memoir of Brenda Warner

One Call Away is the memoir of Brenda Warner, best known as the wife of NFL player Kurt Warner. She has experienced more pain and heartbreak in her lifetime than any one person should ever have to experience. Her first husband accidentally dropped her firstborn in the...
One Call Away is the memoir of Brenda Warner, best known as the wife of NFL player Kurt Warner. She has experienced more pain and heartbreak in her lifetime than any one person should ever have to experience. Her first husband accidentally dropped her firstborn in the bathtub, causing disabilities in her baby, then cheated on her, resulting in divorce and the end of her career as a Marine. Her parents died in a tornado, which shattered her life to its core. She is a strong woman, who believes her dreams came to be when an unexpected man, Kurt Warner, entered her life as husband and father to her children. This book is her story.

This was one of the most difficult reviews I've written. I sincerely wanted to love this book. The theme of rags to riches and tragedy to triumph accurately describes her story. The life paths she traveled, as a Christian, were disappointing to read. As a Christian, she does not seem to regret losing her virginity at nineteen as part of her birthday celebration, pre-marital sex, and lifestyles that most followers of Christ would not participate.

She seemed overly concerned with her beauty and at times self-absorbed. Her marriage brought wealth and opportunities that family and friends had granted to her during difficult times. But her response to their needs was the following : "When our friends and family were still struggling to pay their bills-just as I had for so many years - they didn't know how to be emotionally supportive of a multimillionaire. And I didn't know how to be supportive of them."

Maybe, the author's deeper purpose of this writing was to clear up misconceptions of her image and reputation. Sadly, she probably added more fuel to that fire. If you are drawn to tabloid journalism, you may enjoy this. It lacked the inspiration I was seeking.

Brenda Warner is a speaker, philanthropist, and New York Times best-selling author. She is the mother of seven children, a registered nurse, and a Marine. But most of all, she is a storyteller who candidly shares her struggles in hopes that her life experiences can help other women. Through her message of hope and faith, and her charitable work, she inspires others during their own dark days. As a speaker, Brenda encourages her audiences to take responsibility for their choices and to depend on their faith when they hit rough patches. Listeners have found practical hope through her stories. Brenda is also Vice President of the First Things First Foundation, an organization she co-founded with her husband, NFL player Kurt Warner. The foundation seeks to promote Christian values and to bless those who are struggling.

I received this book free in exchange for my honest review

posted by rtwins on September 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Great Read

    Ok I got to be honest..lol..I never watch or know anything about Football,but when this book came up it sounded like it would be a good read and I was right!! She is married to Football star Kurt Warner. From the very first page I did not want to put it down. It has you from the first line. Wow from joining the marines right out of school too what tragic things have happened in her life from her son's tragic accident as a baby,her first husband cheating on her,her parents dying in a tornado. She is one tough gal. She is very open and honest in this book and speaks frank and from the heart. She shares how her faith in God has gotten her through so many sad things in her life. She shares how it's not her plans that will always come about but God will always be the final person who writes your life story out and creates the plans. There were a few parts I didn't like in the book such as going to bars and drinking but other then that it was a very good book and I think she's a get out and get done kind of lady which I like. Great book overall.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    The Book ¿One Call Away¿ by Brenda Warner, wife of football MVP

    The Book “One Call Away” by Brenda Warner, wife of football MVP Kurt
    Warner portrays her life as a woman dedicated to service in the form of
    being a marine, wife, mother, nurse, and most of all a child of God. The
    book is titled “One Call Away” because her life was changed one phone
    call at a time. From her son's tragic accident when he was an infant to
    her ex-husband's betrayal and divorce. She had a choice to make with
    each phone call: to give in to the tragedy and let it take over her life
    or move forward and survive. She chose to survive. She held on to her
    faith in God and her hope for a better future. Brenda and Kurt have a
    beautiful family and their marriage is an example to other couples.
    There are even pictures of her and her family in the center of the book.
    I enjoyed this book very much and recommend it for people from all walks
    of life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Brenda was born in a close-knit family short on money, but long

    Brenda was born in a close-knit family short on money, but long on love.
    From an early age she sought to be noticed and loved to dance for her
    relatives. They applauded her performances, and occasionally even joked
    she “looked like a stripper.” Although she had no idea what a stripper
    was, she realized they must attract attention. Later when kids in her
    church were asked what they wanted to be when they grew up, Brenda said,
    “I want to be a preacher . . . or a stripper.” After her family saw a
    movie about the rapture her dance card included Jesus when they all
    responded to the altar call. Without money to attend college, Brenda
    decided her best option would be to follow in her father’s footsteps and
    join the marines. While in training, she meets a good-looking squad
    leader and falls in love. Health issues force him out of the military
    and leave him unemployed. So after the birth of their first child the
    support of the family is laid on Brenda’s broad shoulders. Her husband
    remains at home and cares for their newborn while she returns to work.
    The baby, while under his care, is dropped and the child is left blind
    and brain damaged. With the care of a disabled son added to her plate,
    Brenda had no choice but to leave her beloved military career.
    Eventually her husband finds a job and they decide to add to their
    family. Brenda is eight months pregnant when her husband adds insult to
    injury by admitting he’s been having an affair. She packs her bags and
    she and their son leave. Back in her refuge and safe haven—her parent’s
    home—she begins a new life as a single mom of two. A new career choice
    must be made and she decides nursing would help her gain knowledge to
    continue the care of her son and offer a flexible schedule. Student
    loans and grants get her back in school, while welfare and food stamps
    help feed her family. A weekly outing with her mom brings some needed
    fun, and soon a college football player line-dances into her life–Kurt
    Warner. Brenda’s romance with husband Kurt Warner and his fairy tale
    rise to Super Bowl fame is the fluff that dreams are made of, but inside
    every dream come true is a back story. As tragedy after tragedy assailed
    her she clung to the two things she could count on, her faith in God and
    her parents. Then the unthinkable happens. Both her parents are killed
    in a tornado. She said, “If the devil was trying to destroy me, if he
    wanted to take me out, taking my parents from me was the way to do it.”
    Her final earthly lifeline was blown away. I related to this story and
    I believe readers will too. How many have had life not turn out as
    planned? Accidents, broken dreams, and people can all cause us
    heartache. Brenda’s rags to riches story is a wonderful account of how
    God works to bring people and circumstances together to redeem and
    restore what’s been snatched away. Go Team Warner. Enjoy the dance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    Inspiring

    This is the story of Brenda Warner, the wife of Kurt Warner. It is a rags to riches story and follows Brenda's life as she overcomes many obstacles throughout her life. She has overcome and given much back to society. I found this very interesting as well as inspiring. It is truly a faith journey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    From an original doubter, Brenda Warner's book is worth the price and the time.

    I heard Brenda interviewed on NPR and decided she was worth reading even though I have had my fill of so called "religious reformers".
    I was delighted and surprised by her very candid and honest telling of her life's lucky breaks and mis-calculations and the part her faith has played in all that. I cried and I haven't cried reading a book for a very long time and I laughed and I haven't laughed reading a book for a long time either. And one other thing, these Warners' are true , they are a huge benefit to this world even though they no longer need to be in the limelight. I absolutely fell in love with both of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Inspiring

    This was a very good read, if you believe in faith. She had so many issues that would have broken the back of most people. She always have to pull herself up from the boot straps & with her faith, was able to continue her journey. I believe that there is nothing you can do, if you have faith & believe in a Higher Power who wants you to be the best you can me.

    Her story is amazing & I wish her the best in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    The Memoir of Brenda Warner

    One Call Away is the memoir of Brenda Warner, best known as the wife of NFL player Kurt Warner. She has experienced more pain and heartbreak in her lifetime than any one person should ever have to experience. Her first husband accidentally dropped her firstborn in the bathtub, causing disabilities in her baby, then cheated on her, resulting in divorce and the end of her career as a Marine. Her parents died in a tornado, which shattered her life to its core. She is a strong woman, who believes her dreams came to be when an unexpected man, Kurt Warner, entered her life as husband and father to her children. This book is her story.

    This was one of the most difficult reviews I've written. I sincerely wanted to love this book. The theme of rags to riches and tragedy to triumph accurately describes her story. The life paths she traveled, as a Christian, were disappointing to read. As a Christian, she does not seem to regret losing her virginity at nineteen as part of her birthday celebration, pre-marital sex, and lifestyles that most followers of Christ would not participate.

    She seemed overly concerned with her beauty and at times self-absorbed. Her marriage brought wealth and opportunities that family and friends had granted to her during difficult times. But her response to their needs was the following : "When our friends and family were still struggling to pay their bills-just as I had for so many years - they didn't know how to be emotionally supportive of a multimillionaire. And I didn't know how to be supportive of them."

    Maybe, the author's deeper purpose of this writing was to clear up misconceptions of her image and reputation. Sadly, she probably added more fuel to that fire. If you are drawn to tabloid journalism, you may enjoy this. It lacked the inspiration I was seeking.

    Brenda Warner is a speaker, philanthropist, and New York Times best-selling author. She is the mother of seven children, a registered nurse, and a Marine. But most of all, she is a storyteller who candidly shares her struggles in hopes that her life experiences can help other women. Through her message of hope and faith, and her charitable work, she inspires others during their own dark days. As a speaker, Brenda encourages her audiences to take responsibility for their choices and to depend on their faith when they hit rough patches. Listeners have found practical hope through her stories. Brenda is also Vice President of the First Things First Foundation, an organization she co-founded with her husband, NFL player Kurt Warner. The foundation seeks to promote Christian values and to bless those who are struggling.

    I received this book free in exchange for my honest review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Very Open and Honest

    Brenda Warner, wife of football legend Kurt Warner, hasn't always led an easy life. From growing up on a farm in Iowa, spending time as a Marine in Japan, have a special needs child to having her first marriage end in divorce, Brenda's life has been filled with more trials than many will face in a lifetime. Brenda also stood by her man as his football career took many twists and turns eventually landing them in Arizona. Written as a memoir, One Call Away, shares Brenda's story; the highs, the lows and everything in between.

    I was impressed with how open Brenda was in this book, from sharing her true feelings to telling stories about getting caught in an "intimate act" with Kurt on her parents couch. Some of these stories are definitely not ones I would share with my friends, much less the millions of people who will read this book! It is amazing to see how God has worked in Brenda's life and in her marriage. This book is definitely encouraging and eye-opening about some of the things the Warners have dealt with, I really enjoyed reading it.

    Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson Publishers. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Wonderful

    One Call Away is written by Brenda Warner with Jennifer Schuchmann. From the very first page, I couldnt' put down this book. I think I read this book faster than any other book that I've ever read. To know that someone else has hit that point in their life where everything just seems to be going crazy, makes you feel like you're not alone.
    When I first got this book, I was anxious to read it. It was a rather thick book, so at first I thought "Oh this is going to be boring". I was mistaken. Turn for turn, each page is filled with emotion and truth. It's a great read and I can't believe how little time it took me to read it. I was hooked.
    The book is well written and it keeps your attention the entire time. No need to look back in the book for something that you missed or don't understand. I strongly recommend this book, especially to those who need some encouragement to know that you're not alone when it comes to the world bringing you down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    What is this about?

    Answer to Callie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Great read. After seeing Brenda at the "Woman of Faith' conference in Pittsburgh, Pa. I decided to order her book, I couldn't put it down. If you think you have problems and need a boost of your faith, read this book and get on your knees. Your problems may seem minute!!! Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First of all, thank the Publisher, Thomas Nelson for sending me

    First of all, thank the Publisher, Thomas Nelson for sending me this book to review. All opinion stated here is solely mine.



    What I like about this book is Brenda's unbreakable spirit of facing the challenges in life. I know she is just a normal human being. The, she is also prone to weakness of a human being.



    At times she could be self-centered like the time when her parents pass away, and everything seems to be focus on her. And her controlling nature about Kurt. All these are understandable. Let the person who have not sin cast the first stone is what I say.



    I like the way she was being open in this book but putting in those negative stuffs about herself though anyone would have known that it will arouse some negative feelings from readers.



    Love the photos.



    What I dislike about this book is that it was rather long winded about Kurt's career. It kinda put me off a bit as am not really into the sport.



    Overall, I am giving this book four stars out of 5 stars as I really liked this book.






    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Each Chapter Keeps You Cheering Brenda On!

    There was no money, no glamour and at times no hope but Brenda Warner's book is a well written journey of watching one's faith grow even when you don't know if there is any faith left. Her humble beginnings and loving home obviously gave her the foundation to grow on and tenacity to carry on during so many heartbreaking situations. This book is an easy read and kept me spellbound from chapter to chapter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    A must read

    Great book! So sincere and honest. Read it you want regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Great book!

    Loved this one. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    What a story!

    I really admire the Warner's. Neither had things easy but they really achieved great things. They are an inspiring family & they represent Iowa well! God bless them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One Call Away

    The author is just twenty-two when she receives the call from her then husband Neil - their son Zack 's breathing doesn't sound quite right and he is concerned. Rushing home she finds her four month old son in distress, the healthy, happy baby that she had kissed good-bye just hours before is in trouble. Serious trouble. This isn't the first time in her young life however, that an unexpected telephone call contained bad news . nor would it be the last. One Call Away is the inspiring life story by Brenda Warner. At times it seems impossible that one woman could face a seemingly endless supply of gut-wrenching tragedies. And there have been many, many losses. But this isn't a story of despair and retreat nor one of self-pity. Instead, readers are given an opportunity to walk beside this courageous Christian mother as she finds the strength to face first one challenge and then another. There are perhaps three types of people who suffer significant losses. The first group never seems quite able to move past the loss, instead choosing to define their lives by the loss. Then there are those who seem to recover, only to embrace their old ways as if nothing has happened. Those in the third groups however, are the survivors. Not only to they bounce back, but manage to come back as better people. Brenda Warner is a survivor. Her story will resonate with those who have suffered disappointment, despair, and lost. Her secret? She knows that God is simply one call away. Her story is riveting, honest and easy to read, her words will make you look at your own life in a different way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Kathleen v

    If you read First Things First don't waste you money on this book. Both books are almost identical. Almost the same story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    A Great Read

    My most recent read is "One Call Away - Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith" by Brenda Warner. This book is a memoir of Brenda's life. She has faced many trials and tribulations during her life from farm girl, serving in the military, facing divorce, marrying a high-profile NFL star and landing in the media spotlight, to facing the challenges of having a special needs child while mothering a whole crew of kids. Brenda reminds us that while we will face many challenges, trials and tribulations in this world, God is one call away! Those are words we need to hear.
    While I am not a football fan and I only knew who Kurt Warner was by name, I still enjoyed reading this book. Thousands of women have enjoyed listening to Brenda Warner share her testimony at Women of Faith conferences. Now that message can be shared with even more women who pick up this book. I loved reading the personal stories and faith encounters that have helped Brenda Warner walk through her difficult times with grace. She reminds us that our God is ever present and always faithful. I would highly recommend this book to anyone, football fan or not.

    This review is my own. I was not paid to write this review even thought the book was provided to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Holding on to Faith

    One Call Away is a fantastic book. I wouldn't say that it is a book that would fit in a genre called "inspiration" although it certainly contains inspiring moments. I would not say it fits into a "faith" section because although the book is all about how Brenda's faith has shaped her life, it really isn't about faith in general. This is just a fantastic telling of a life that has experienced many ups and downs and how her faith has supported her and pulled her through some of her toughest moments.

    I love that she tells it plain and simple. She does not seem to sugar-coat anything. She does not add any fluff. This is life, straight to the point. That's is what makes it inspiring to me. Although no one could argue against the fact that the Warner family now lives in a position of blessing and celebrity, their lives have been surprisingly normal and sometimes even downright tragic.

    I would definitely recommend this book to anyone just looking for a good read. You do not have to be looking for a book to inspire, although this one certainly will. It is simply a good read of an amazing set of circumstances that God has aligned in this family's life so that they could find themselves where they are today.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3