BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

Ok I got to be honest..lol..I never watch or know anything about Football,but when this book came up it sounded like it would be a good read and I was right!! She is married to Football star Kurt Warner. From the very first page I did not want to put it down. It has you...
Ok I got to be honest..lol..I never watch or know anything about Football,but when this book came up it sounded like it would be a good read and I was right!! She is married to Football star Kurt Warner. From the very first page I did not want to put it down. It has you from the first line. Wow from joining the marines right out of school too what tragic things have happened in her life from her son's tragic accident as a baby,her first husband cheating on her,her parents dying in a tornado. She is one tough gal. She is very open and honest in this book and speaks frank and from the heart. She shares how her faith in God has gotten her through so many sad things in her life. She shares how it's not her plans that will always come about but God will always be the final person who writes your life story out and creates the plans. There were a few parts I didn't like in the book such as going to bars and drinking but other then that it was a very good book and I think she's a get out and get done kind of lady which I like. Great book overall.

posted by jbrewer on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Memoir of Brenda Warner

One Call Away is the memoir of Brenda Warner, best known as the wife of NFL player Kurt Warner. She has experienced more pain and heartbreak in her lifetime than any one person should ever have to experience. Her first husband accidentally dropped her firstborn in the...
One Call Away is the memoir of Brenda Warner, best known as the wife of NFL player Kurt Warner. She has experienced more pain and heartbreak in her lifetime than any one person should ever have to experience. Her first husband accidentally dropped her firstborn in the bathtub, causing disabilities in her baby, then cheated on her, resulting in divorce and the end of her career as a Marine. Her parents died in a tornado, which shattered her life to its core. She is a strong woman, who believes her dreams came to be when an unexpected man, Kurt Warner, entered her life as husband and father to her children. This book is her story.

This was one of the most difficult reviews I've written. I sincerely wanted to love this book. The theme of rags to riches and tragedy to triumph accurately describes her story. The life paths she traveled, as a Christian, were disappointing to read. As a Christian, she does not seem to regret losing her virginity at nineteen as part of her birthday celebration, pre-marital sex, and lifestyles that most followers of Christ would not participate.

She seemed overly concerned with her beauty and at times self-absorbed. Her marriage brought wealth and opportunities that family and friends had granted to her during difficult times. But her response to their needs was the following : "When our friends and family were still struggling to pay their bills-just as I had for so many years - they didn't know how to be emotionally supportive of a multimillionaire. And I didn't know how to be supportive of them."

Maybe, the author's deeper purpose of this writing was to clear up misconceptions of her image and reputation. Sadly, she probably added more fuel to that fire. If you are drawn to tabloid journalism, you may enjoy this. It lacked the inspiration I was seeking.

Brenda Warner is a speaker, philanthropist, and New York Times best-selling author. She is the mother of seven children, a registered nurse, and a Marine. But most of all, she is a storyteller who candidly shares her struggles in hopes that her life experiences can help other women. Through her message of hope and faith, and her charitable work, she inspires others during their own dark days. As a speaker, Brenda encourages her audiences to take responsibility for their choices and to depend on their faith when they hit rough patches. Listeners have found practical hope through her stories. Brenda is also Vice President of the First Things First Foundation, an organization she co-founded with her husband, NFL player Kurt Warner. The foundation seeks to promote Christian values and to bless those who are struggling.

I received this book free in exchange for my honest review

posted by rtwins on September 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    The Book ¿One Call Away¿ by Brenda Warner, wife of football MVP

    The Book “One Call Away” by Brenda Warner, wife of football MVP Kurt
    Warner portrays her life as a woman dedicated to service in the form of
    being a marine, wife, mother, nurse, and most of all a child of God. The
    book is titled “One Call Away” because her life was changed one phone
    call at a time. From her son's tragic accident when he was an infant to
    her ex-husband's betrayal and divorce. She had a choice to make with
    each phone call: to give in to the tragedy and let it take over her life
    or move forward and survive. She chose to survive. She held on to her
    faith in God and her hope for a better future. Brenda and Kurt have a
    beautiful family and their marriage is an example to other couples.
    There are even pictures of her and her family in the center of the book.
    I enjoyed this book very much and recommend it for people from all walks
    of life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    Inspiring

    This is the story of Brenda Warner, the wife of Kurt Warner. It is a rags to riches story and follows Brenda's life as she overcomes many obstacles throughout her life. She has overcome and given much back to society. I found this very interesting as well as inspiring. It is truly a faith journey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Inspiring

    This was a very good read, if you believe in faith. She had so many issues that would have broken the back of most people. She always have to pull herself up from the boot straps & with her faith, was able to continue her journey. I believe that there is nothing you can do, if you have faith & believe in a Higher Power who wants you to be the best you can me.

    Her story is amazing & I wish her the best in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First of all, thank the Publisher, Thomas Nelson for sending me

    First of all, thank the Publisher, Thomas Nelson for sending me this book to review. All opinion stated here is solely mine.



    What I like about this book is Brenda's unbreakable spirit of facing the challenges in life. I know she is just a normal human being. The, she is also prone to weakness of a human being.



    At times she could be self-centered like the time when her parents pass away, and everything seems to be focus on her. And her controlling nature about Kurt. All these are understandable. Let the person who have not sin cast the first stone is what I say.



    I like the way she was being open in this book but putting in those negative stuffs about herself though anyone would have known that it will arouse some negative feelings from readers.



    Love the photos.



    What I dislike about this book is that it was rather long winded about Kurt's career. It kinda put me off a bit as am not really into the sport.



    Overall, I am giving this book four stars out of 5 stars as I really liked this book.






    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One Call Away

    The author is just twenty-two when she receives the call from her then husband Neil - their son Zack 's breathing doesn't sound quite right and he is concerned. Rushing home she finds her four month old son in distress, the healthy, happy baby that she had kissed good-bye just hours before is in trouble. Serious trouble. This isn't the first time in her young life however, that an unexpected telephone call contained bad news . nor would it be the last. One Call Away is the inspiring life story by Brenda Warner. At times it seems impossible that one woman could face a seemingly endless supply of gut-wrenching tragedies. And there have been many, many losses. But this isn't a story of despair and retreat nor one of self-pity. Instead, readers are given an opportunity to walk beside this courageous Christian mother as she finds the strength to face first one challenge and then another. There are perhaps three types of people who suffer significant losses. The first group never seems quite able to move past the loss, instead choosing to define their lives by the loss. Then there are those who seem to recover, only to embrace their old ways as if nothing has happened. Those in the third groups however, are the survivors. Not only to they bounce back, but manage to come back as better people. Brenda Warner is a survivor. Her story will resonate with those who have suffered disappointment, despair, and lost. Her secret? She knows that God is simply one call away. Her story is riveting, honest and easy to read, her words will make you look at your own life in a different way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    A Great Read

    My most recent read is "One Call Away - Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith" by Brenda Warner. This book is a memoir of Brenda's life. She has faced many trials and tribulations during her life from farm girl, serving in the military, facing divorce, marrying a high-profile NFL star and landing in the media spotlight, to facing the challenges of having a special needs child while mothering a whole crew of kids. Brenda reminds us that while we will face many challenges, trials and tribulations in this world, God is one call away! Those are words we need to hear.
    While I am not a football fan and I only knew who Kurt Warner was by name, I still enjoyed reading this book. Thousands of women have enjoyed listening to Brenda Warner share her testimony at Women of Faith conferences. Now that message can be shared with even more women who pick up this book. I loved reading the personal stories and faith encounters that have helped Brenda Warner walk through her difficult times with grace. She reminds us that our God is ever present and always faithful. I would highly recommend this book to anyone, football fan or not.

    This review is my own. I was not paid to write this review even thought the book was provided to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Refreshing, Inspiring, and Relatable

    I knew nothing of Brenda Warner before reading this book and finished it with a heap of respect for her. She truly beat the odds that came at her time and time again and although she admittedly had her faults and made her mistakes you can see how far she had come and that she honestly DID learn from those mistakes.

    If you are in a tight spot this book can certain be a point of inspiration and encouragement for you. If you are in a GREAT place you can still gain a new thankfulness for what you have and an inspiration to do more with what you have.

    Hands down an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    A riveting read!

    One call away: answering life's challenges with unshakable faith by Brenda Warner was an amazingly riveting read! Warner is the wife of ex-NFL superstar Kurt Warner, and her life story is truly remarkable! She is very candid in her personal story, and the reader is sucked in immediately with the first chapter detailing a horrific indcident that happened to her first born son (with an ex-husband). Incident after incident continues to reign down on this woman's life, but yet she persists and has a strong resolve to survive. Her life was extremely difficult before meeting and marrying Kurt Warner, and continued to be somewhat difficult, even though he was making millions of dollars and experiencing fame and the "good life". Although the author really didn't seem to have a rock solid perception of the Bible and scripture was not really intertwined within the book, I think that this book has a great message of hope and survival and redemption. I literally could not put this book down because I could not believe everything that Brenda had to go through! This book brings reality to the perception that celebrities have (and have had) it easy and shows that life is not perfect for anyone.
    I received this book from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I have to admit that once I started reading this book I could not hardly put it down. Brenda is married to Kurt Warner who was an NFL quarter back that is now retired. I know it takes alot for a person to be as honest about details of their like like she was. Not judging her but at times she seemed alittle stuck on her self. She mentions that she was always know as the "pretty one" more than a few times. I know she had to have strong faith to endure some of the hardships that she faced but at times wondered if she would really put God first what would of been the outcome. She and her first husband have a son Zack who is left disabled after an accident under the father's care. When she is eight months pregnant with her daughter he has an affair. Having a troubled marriage any way she leaves him. She shares her struggles being a single mom, the death of her parents in a tornado, and believe it or not coping with being famous and a millionaire, as well as the miscarriages of two babies. There were a few times when I was left hangin on story lines that didn't finish. Like her grandmother, Chach. She was mentioned but you never knew what happened to her. I also wondered about the first two children's father, but at the end she did fill us in on the children's relationship now with him. The pictures that were added were a nice touch to the story, I found myself looking either forward or back at them often. I am glad that she does speak out about her faith as mentioned. I was alittle disappointed at the lack of references to God and His Holy Word. She and Kurt have a foundation called "First Things First". Together they do wonderful things like furnishing homes for low income single mothers and rock babies who have no one to love them. The most touching part of the book for me was when she held Daniel into the arms of Jesus. I would recommend this book to anyone who needs encouragement to go on when times get difficult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Inspiration !

    Wow, I can not wait to tell you about this book. The book One Call Away is one you can not put down (trust me, it was hard to do when life happens and I had to and I could not wait to pick it up again) it is a memoir by Brenda Warner (yes the woman NFL quarter back Kurt Warner is lucky to call his wife). I have to admit that I knew very little about this woman before I picked up this book but she inspires me and can you to be strong in your own life by how she has handled her life. What will stay with me over the years about this book is Brenda's faith. I have to tell you that as I read this book about a Christian woman going through her mountain tops and valleys I was struck by the way she viewed her faith in her twenty's , I found that she did as I did and I realized that sometimes we rationalize things in our twenty's and it makes sense then ,but our rationalizing at the time is not perceived as that ,so it is the faith that gets us through what we really bought on by our age and lack of life experiences and pressure to be in the world we live. I found her story to be one of great passion and one of everyday normalcy. I have to say it is about how many valleys she had to go trough and what she learned in that time. I had grabbed a Kleenex or two because in parts of this book life happens and it makes you cry. I know that seeing Kurt Warner through the eyes of his wife made me respect this man. I find that all too often our sports heroes are not heroes at all. Kurt Warner is a hero. I say this by the way he views his non-biological children as HIS children. Brenda does get across in the book the love her husband has for family and Christ. The other thing about this book that will stay with me forever is that sometimes in life to cry is the strongest thing you can do. I recommend this book. If you are going through a tough time it will help with the perspective. You will be inspired at any phase of your life to see that faith happens and what it can do. You will see that families that seem to have it all did not always have it all. You will see the Warners have had a lot of the same struggles you may have or had. What I found with this Warner family is they had faith the greatest gift of all. I have to say that if you like football you will like this book. If you don't like football you will like this book. I give this book 4 starts. I rate the books I read in a scale of 1 to five stars one being the worst and five being the best. I must also let you know I received this complementary book from Book Sneeze. These opinions in my review are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    check it out

    Brenda Warner, the wife of retired NFL star quarterback Kurt Warner, wants people to know there's much more to her than being a sports celebrity's wife and living a life of privilege. "I went through so much stuff before Kurt came into my life," she discloses. "My early life laid the foundation of who I am now." She's not kidding: Warner's memoir, One Call Away: Facing the Unexpected with Resilient Faith (Thomas Nelson, Sept.) reads like a modern-day fairy tale. When Brenda Carney Meoni first met up-and-coming college football player Kurt Warner at a country music bar in Iowa in 1993, she was a 25-year-old single mother of two living on food stamps. Her first husband had left her while she was pregnant with their second child, after he'd blinded and incapacitated their first child by accidentally dropping him on his head. Even after Brenda and Kurt became a couple, there were more trials and tribulations for both to overcome: Kurt was cut from the Green Bay Packers' training camp in 1994 and had to take a job as a grocery store stock boy working the night shift; Brenda's parents were killed when a tornado swept through their Arkansas home in 1996. But fame and fortune followed: a year after their 1997 marriage, Kurt's career took off when he joined the St. Louis Rams and led them to victory in 1999's Super Bowl XXXIV. As with every other fairy tale, One Call Away ends with the couple living happily ever after-in a big house in Scottsdale, Ariz., together with their seven children. "I went through all the rough times for a reason," insists Warner, an evangelical Christian. "I never looked at it as a measure of how much God loves me." She hopes, she says, that by telling her story, she'll "help others get through stuff." While Warner thinks that One Call Away will especially appeal to women, many of whom will be able to relate to some of her experiences before she married Kurt Warner, she expects that sports fans will also want to read it, to learn more about her husband. Of course, being an NFL player's wife, Warner has a unique perspective on Kurt Warner's career. Brenda Warner describes the 13 years Kurt Warner played for three NFL teams as "some interesting times." "My behind-the-scenes side of it... I think it'll shock people," she says. "I'm honest with my story."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    4.5 Stars - Inspirational!

    She has lead the type of life that makes a great, sappy movie (anyone see The Blind Side?) One challenge after another (son's accident, parents' deaths, poverty) and yet she keeps going.

    Life seems a little better for her now, married to football pro Kurt Warner (though even that brings its fair share of challenges). But the title she chose for the book, One Call Away, should remind the reader not to take the present for granted, and not to think that things won't eventually get better.

    It is great to read the story of someone whose life, while not quite what she planned, has turned out to be satisfying and rewarding, and allows her to serve God.

    Please note that I received this book at no charge from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1