Customer Reviews for

One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

Ok I got to be honest..lol..I never watch or know anything about Football,but when this book came up it sounded like it would be a good read and I was right!! She is married to Football star Kurt Warner. From the very first page I did not want to put it down. It has you...
Ok I got to be honest..lol..I never watch or know anything about Football,but when this book came up it sounded like it would be a good read and I was right!! She is married to Football star Kurt Warner. From the very first page I did not want to put it down. It has you from the first line. Wow from joining the marines right out of school too what tragic things have happened in her life from her son's tragic accident as a baby,her first husband cheating on her,her parents dying in a tornado. She is one tough gal. She is very open and honest in this book and speaks frank and from the heart. She shares how her faith in God has gotten her through so many sad things in her life. She shares how it's not her plans that will always come about but God will always be the final person who writes your life story out and creates the plans. There were a few parts I didn't like in the book such as going to bars and drinking but other then that it was a very good book and I think she's a get out and get done kind of lady which I like. Great book overall.

posted by jbrewer on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Memoir of Brenda Warner

One Call Away is the memoir of Brenda Warner, best known as the wife of NFL player Kurt Warner. She has experienced more pain and heartbreak in her lifetime than any one person should ever have to experience. Her first husband accidentally dropped her firstborn in the...
One Call Away is the memoir of Brenda Warner, best known as the wife of NFL player Kurt Warner. She has experienced more pain and heartbreak in her lifetime than any one person should ever have to experience. Her first husband accidentally dropped her firstborn in the bathtub, causing disabilities in her baby, then cheated on her, resulting in divorce and the end of her career as a Marine. Her parents died in a tornado, which shattered her life to its core. She is a strong woman, who believes her dreams came to be when an unexpected man, Kurt Warner, entered her life as husband and father to her children. This book is her story.

This was one of the most difficult reviews I've written. I sincerely wanted to love this book. The theme of rags to riches and tragedy to triumph accurately describes her story. The life paths she traveled, as a Christian, were disappointing to read. As a Christian, she does not seem to regret losing her virginity at nineteen as part of her birthday celebration, pre-marital sex, and lifestyles that most followers of Christ would not participate.

She seemed overly concerned with her beauty and at times self-absorbed. Her marriage brought wealth and opportunities that family and friends had granted to her during difficult times. But her response to their needs was the following : "When our friends and family were still struggling to pay their bills-just as I had for so many years - they didn't know how to be emotionally supportive of a multimillionaire. And I didn't know how to be supportive of them."

Maybe, the author's deeper purpose of this writing was to clear up misconceptions of her image and reputation. Sadly, she probably added more fuel to that fire. If you are drawn to tabloid journalism, you may enjoy this. It lacked the inspiration I was seeking.

Brenda Warner is a speaker, philanthropist, and New York Times best-selling author. She is the mother of seven children, a registered nurse, and a Marine. But most of all, she is a storyteller who candidly shares her struggles in hopes that her life experiences can help other women. Through her message of hope and faith, and her charitable work, she inspires others during their own dark days. As a speaker, Brenda encourages her audiences to take responsibility for their choices and to depend on their faith when they hit rough patches. Listeners have found practical hope through her stories. Brenda is also Vice President of the First Things First Foundation, an organization she co-founded with her husband, NFL player Kurt Warner. The foundation seeks to promote Christian values and to bless those who are struggling.

I received this book free in exchange for my honest review

posted by rtwins on September 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Great Read

    Ok I got to be honest..lol..I never watch or know anything about Football,but when this book came up it sounded like it would be a good read and I was right!! She is married to Football star Kurt Warner. From the very first page I did not want to put it down. It has you from the first line. Wow from joining the marines right out of school too what tragic things have happened in her life from her son's tragic accident as a baby,her first husband cheating on her,her parents dying in a tornado. She is one tough gal. She is very open and honest in this book and speaks frank and from the heart. She shares how her faith in God has gotten her through so many sad things in her life. She shares how it's not her plans that will always come about but God will always be the final person who writes your life story out and creates the plans. There were a few parts I didn't like in the book such as going to bars and drinking but other then that it was a very good book and I think she's a get out and get done kind of lady which I like. Great book overall.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Brenda was born in a close-knit family short on money, but long

    Brenda was born in a close-knit family short on money, but long on love.
    From an early age she sought to be noticed and loved to dance for her
    relatives. They applauded her performances, and occasionally even joked
    she “looked like a stripper.” Although she had no idea what a stripper
    was, she realized they must attract attention. Later when kids in her
    church were asked what they wanted to be when they grew up, Brenda said,
    “I want to be a preacher . . . or a stripper.” After her family saw a
    movie about the rapture her dance card included Jesus when they all
    responded to the altar call. Without money to attend college, Brenda
    decided her best option would be to follow in her father’s footsteps and
    join the marines. While in training, she meets a good-looking squad
    leader and falls in love. Health issues force him out of the military
    and leave him unemployed. So after the birth of their first child the
    support of the family is laid on Brenda’s broad shoulders. Her husband
    remains at home and cares for their newborn while she returns to work.
    The baby, while under his care, is dropped and the child is left blind
    and brain damaged. With the care of a disabled son added to her plate,
    Brenda had no choice but to leave her beloved military career.
    Eventually her husband finds a job and they decide to add to their
    family. Brenda is eight months pregnant when her husband adds insult to
    injury by admitting he’s been having an affair. She packs her bags and
    she and their son leave. Back in her refuge and safe haven—her parent’s
    home—she begins a new life as a single mom of two. A new career choice
    must be made and she decides nursing would help her gain knowledge to
    continue the care of her son and offer a flexible schedule. Student
    loans and grants get her back in school, while welfare and food stamps
    help feed her family. A weekly outing with her mom brings some needed
    fun, and soon a college football player line-dances into her life–Kurt
    Warner. Brenda’s romance with husband Kurt Warner and his fairy tale
    rise to Super Bowl fame is the fluff that dreams are made of, but inside
    every dream come true is a back story. As tragedy after tragedy assailed
    her she clung to the two things she could count on, her faith in God and
    her parents. Then the unthinkable happens. Both her parents are killed
    in a tornado. She said, “If the devil was trying to destroy me, if he
    wanted to take me out, taking my parents from me was the way to do it.”
    Her final earthly lifeline was blown away. I related to this story and
    I believe readers will too. How many have had life not turn out as
    planned? Accidents, broken dreams, and people can all cause us
    heartache. Brenda’s rags to riches story is a wonderful account of how
    God works to bring people and circumstances together to redeem and
    restore what’s been snatched away. Go Team Warner. Enjoy the dance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    From an original doubter, Brenda Warner's book is worth the price and the time.

    I heard Brenda interviewed on NPR and decided she was worth reading even though I have had my fill of so called "religious reformers".
    I was delighted and surprised by her very candid and honest telling of her life's lucky breaks and mis-calculations and the part her faith has played in all that. I cried and I haven't cried reading a book for a very long time and I laughed and I haven't laughed reading a book for a long time either. And one other thing, these Warners' are true , they are a huge benefit to this world even though they no longer need to be in the limelight. I absolutely fell in love with both of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Very Open and Honest

    Brenda Warner, wife of football legend Kurt Warner, hasn't always led an easy life. From growing up on a farm in Iowa, spending time as a Marine in Japan, have a special needs child to having her first marriage end in divorce, Brenda's life has been filled with more trials than many will face in a lifetime. Brenda also stood by her man as his football career took many twists and turns eventually landing them in Arizona. Written as a memoir, One Call Away, shares Brenda's story; the highs, the lows and everything in between.

    I was impressed with how open Brenda was in this book, from sharing her true feelings to telling stories about getting caught in an "intimate act" with Kurt on her parents couch. Some of these stories are definitely not ones I would share with my friends, much less the millions of people who will read this book! It is amazing to see how God has worked in Brenda's life and in her marriage. This book is definitely encouraging and eye-opening about some of the things the Warners have dealt with, I really enjoyed reading it.

    Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson Publishers. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Wonderful

    One Call Away is written by Brenda Warner with Jennifer Schuchmann. From the very first page, I couldnt' put down this book. I think I read this book faster than any other book that I've ever read. To know that someone else has hit that point in their life where everything just seems to be going crazy, makes you feel like you're not alone.
    When I first got this book, I was anxious to read it. It was a rather thick book, so at first I thought "Oh this is going to be boring". I was mistaken. Turn for turn, each page is filled with emotion and truth. It's a great read and I can't believe how little time it took me to read it. I was hooked.
    The book is well written and it keeps your attention the entire time. No need to look back in the book for something that you missed or don't understand. I strongly recommend this book, especially to those who need some encouragement to know that you're not alone when it comes to the world bringing you down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Each Chapter Keeps You Cheering Brenda On!

    There was no money, no glamour and at times no hope but Brenda Warner's book is a well written journey of watching one's faith grow even when you don't know if there is any faith left. Her humble beginnings and loving home obviously gave her the foundation to grow on and tenacity to carry on during so many heartbreaking situations. This book is an easy read and kept me spellbound from chapter to chapter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    A must read

    Great book! So sincere and honest. Read it you want regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Great book!

    Loved this one. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    What a story!

    I really admire the Warner's. Neither had things easy but they really achieved great things. They are an inspiring family & they represent Iowa well! God bless them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Holding on to Faith

    One Call Away is a fantastic book. I wouldn't say that it is a book that would fit in a genre called "inspiration" although it certainly contains inspiring moments. I would not say it fits into a "faith" section because although the book is all about how Brenda's faith has shaped her life, it really isn't about faith in general. This is just a fantastic telling of a life that has experienced many ups and downs and how her faith has supported her and pulled her through some of her toughest moments.

    I love that she tells it plain and simple. She does not seem to sugar-coat anything. She does not add any fluff. This is life, straight to the point. That's is what makes it inspiring to me. Although no one could argue against the fact that the Warner family now lives in a position of blessing and celebrity, their lives have been surprisingly normal and sometimes even downright tragic.

    I would definitely recommend this book to anyone just looking for a good read. You do not have to be looking for a book to inspire, although this one certainly will. It is simply a good read of an amazing set of circumstances that God has aligned in this family's life so that they could find themselves where they are today.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Vulnerable and Inspiring!!

    I thoroughly enjoyed spending time reading about this Amazing, Inspiring woman!! I could SO relate to many of her experiences, responses, and choices to move forward on purpose! I appreciate her willingness and ability to be vulnerable as she brings Glory to God in All that He has done in her and through her!! This is a woman of action, and her memoir inspires me to do the same. Her and her family continue to do powerful, abundant work through "First Things First Foundation" as they put action to their testimony! I love her heart for children, and honor her for her sensitivity to celebrating the joy that they are!! I am encouraged by her faith as she pressed forward regardless of her circumstances! I am in gratitude for this woman who chooses to honor God in such an outloud and profound way! I highly recommend this book for anyone looking for inspiration and motivation to carry on!! Like Brenda, it has been my experience that no matter where we are in our journey, God is only One Call Away. Knowing that gives me hope for tomorrow, faith for the future, and an ability to find joy in the journey!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    Great book - Highly Recommended

    This book was a great book and I thought it would be boring at first but it was not. It was truly about god and faith and it was about Kurt Warner wife telling a true story about her life from when she was little to when she got married to Kurt. She prayed and have faith in everything she did. Kurt and her has seven kids and one is a special needs child so she had to have lots of patients and alot of faith

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    a great read-hard to put it down

    As a part of the BookSneeze program, the next book that I got to read and review was One Call Away by Brenda Warner. Wow. I had a hard time putting this book down. I kept it in my car so that I could read it while I was in the pick up line and my sons school and I would find myself trying to catch a red light so I could read more. I am usually not into autobiographys but this one was amazing.


    Brenda's life was a struggle and call after call and situation after situation, she still kept the faith and believed in God and looked towards Him in every situation. I think that was amazing. There were times that I teared up reading what she was going through and a couple parts where I was laughing. She was real in all of her stories, and I could feel the emotion from her coming through. This book has defiantely encouraged me to keep the faith no matter what happens in life. I would recommend this book to anyone. It is a good read and will probably hand my book down to someone else so they can read it and get blessed like I was. Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One Tough Chic with Faith!

    Brenda's life has taken twists and turns that are stranger than fiction. It always seemed as if she was just one phone call away from the next explosive change. Each time her plans fell apart, she had a choice: would she give up, or would she press forward and learn from the unexpected? One Call Away is the inspiring story of a woman who has prevailed through many of the circumstances that discourage women: tragedy, poverty, betrayal, and humiliation. But unlike most women, her life has been on display in the media.
    Brenda's faith and God's strength enable her to face challenge after challenge: an accident that leaves her son blind and brain damaged, a crumbling marriage, a tornado that kills her parents, a new relationship with promising football player Kurt Warner, and the pressures his sudden success brings to their growing family.
    Through food stamps and funerals, Super Bowls and serving others, Brenda's strength is unwavering. Her determination to dream new dreams, willingness to learn from her mistakes, and commitment to giving back to her community make her a role model for women of all backgrounds.
    Her dreams haven't materialized as she had imagined, but Brenda has found that God has a much bigger plan for her. Conversational and candid, One Call Away invites readers facing their own difficulties to trust God and discover hope in the future.
    ~I Loved reading about Brenda. She has such a strong faith that even though she kept getting hit with the Devil around every turn she took She kept her chin up and carried herself forward and thru it! I don't watch Football nor does my Husband so I really have no idea who her Husband was/is or even who she is but I'm glad I was given the chance to read about this amazing Women!
    Reading this book has made me stop and think about our situations and I hope to be able to remember to stop and breath thru the tough times in life.~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderfully Genuine Memoir!!!

    Life can change in an instant or in just "One Call Away."

    Brenda Warner shares her life story with us through all it's ups and downs and how she has maintained her faith in the Lord through it all. From growing up on a farm in the heartland with financially struggling parents, to walking the red carpet with her husband, a NFL superstar, and being thrust into the limelight, she has faced many personal tragedies that has made her a very strong and courageous woman. Come follow her journey as she shares her dreams of being a top marine, her son's tragic accident at her own husband's hands, her struggle with her finances and her divorce, and how she finally ended up with the love of her life. From the very beginning to end, her bottom line has always been her unshakeable faith and that has definitely been the most important constant in her life.

    I started reading this story on a Saturday and had a really hard time putting it down. Brenda just completely draws you into her story that you just have to continue turning those pages. I was up at 4am on Sunday morning just to finish it. It is such a real and genuine account of her life, you can't help but be touched by it. It makes you smile and it makes you cry, so it definitely is an emotional read. Don't miss this amazing tale!!

    I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a wonderfully written life's memoir that is contemporary and totally genuine in nature.

    This book was kindly provided to me through Booksneeze for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    An Outstanding Book Of Faith!

    One Call Away by Brenda Warner
    Let me start this review by saying that i usually don't read books that often by female writers.
    Just a thing of mine,but i gave this a try because of her husband being Kurt Warner.
    I just want to say i'm so glad i did for whatever reason.This is truly one of the best reads you will ever read.The life this lady has lived has been blessed and it times it seems cursed. Living the life of a football wife to a super bowl mvp and champion to the tragedies of her life including the sudden death of her parents.This book is a handbook for all when it comes to making it through a storm and leaning on the one faith that will get you through all adversity. Read This Book! You won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    I can relate to her story

    This book is great, I just finished reading it. I could not put this book down because I can relate part of her life story. Her story is very uplifting and encouraging. She shares her struggles being a single mom, divorce, the death of her parents in a tornado, and from poverty to being famous and a millionaire, from marine officer to a stay home mom, as well as the miscarriages of two babies. I highly recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    A Beautiful Strength

    On behalf of Thomas Nelson Publishing, BookSneeze provided me with a complimentary copy of One Call Away by Brenda Warner with Jennifer Schuchmann. This memoir is a beautiful portrayal of a woman who has allowed God to carry her through any storm that passes her way. Throughout Warner's life she has received many phone calls that have changed her life in a moment's time, taking her from the routine to the unexpected. From having a special-needs son to enduring infidelity to losing her parents to a tornado and beyond Warner faced each situation with srength, courage and integrity. After having to make a fresh beginning in her home life she met Kurt Warner and together they have built something lovely.
    First off, I have to say, Warner is more of an inspiration than she can even fathom. I was immediately engaged to her story and drawn to her. Looking at this beautiful image of her on the cover, one would never expect to find that she was a marine and an excellent one to boot. It is obvious her experiences have only humbled her, apparently God prepared her well for the fame that ensued. When she described the trust issues that plagued her after her divorce, it made me realize she is human. I think that is what keeps her story real and her strength approachable.
    I had the privlege of meeting her at the Women of Faith Conference over the weekend. As my mother drove I was reading One Call Away. Only until she appeared on stage did I realize she was the author. What I saw of her on stage and when she signed my copy is what comes across in the book. She still sees herself as a farm girl, though she is much more. It is definitely a well-written memoir. I really enjoyed looking at the pictures in the middle of the book. There are enough pictures to allow the reader to feel they are flipping through her family album next to her.
    Brenda Warner is incredible; she is a wife, mother (of seven!- that is courage), nurse, former marine, daughter of the Almighty and a fabulous author. Every woman could be inspired by the character she displays in life. Every woman will relate to her in some capacity. Every woman may be One Call Away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Inspiring Read - True Story of Unshakable Faith!

    Brenda Warner shares the story of her life in this book, from her trails of raising a disabled child as a single parent, to losing her parents in an unexpected natural disaster, to helping her husband, Kurt Warner, find his own unshakable faith. This is truly and inspiring story of strength and faith that all should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Inspirational

    One Call Away, by Brenda Warner with Jennifer Schuchmann is the inspiring memoir of one woman's adventure as she stands against the odds and the trials and tribulations God has placed in her life, and her strength and fortitude to always follow and trust in him. When many would have given up, she keeps going, even through the toughest times of her life. The memoir starts out with an unexpected call, one that would have most mothers wondering what they had done for their child to deserve pain. As it continues she talks about many other calls, her beloved horse is injured, her call to join the Marines, and ultimately finding out she has been betrayed by the one man she gave her heart to.
    This book really spoke to me, and is very relatable as many people have gone through the things Brenda Warner has. People have lost their children; children have been born with special needs, or are injured. As you read Part one, you feel Brenda's pain, the way she seemed to stumble through life blinded by the love for a man who ultimately did not love her back. The way she is torn to defend her earthly husband from family; while comforting in her spiritual one time and time again as she is left alone, hurt, and betrayed supporting, raising and caring for her family. Part one plays out like a horror film, making the read wonder why God would plan this for a person, and we feel her pain as she goes from a young child on the farm with dreams of being a Marine like her father, to losing her dream life as she is pregnant with her second child.
    In the second part we are greeted by a woman down and out, ready to accept her life will not get any better than WIC, food stamps and section 8. She lives with her parents, helping them to the best of her abilities. She starts going to school, determined to make a change for the better, where her and friends start to hang out at a bar. Here she meets a young footballer from UNI, Kurt Warner. At first Kurt is nothing more than a cute guy who knows the ladies love him. After a while he becomes more after a fateful dance, Brenda's straight foreword admission of her problems and his surprise visit to her family's house, bringing gifts and the hope for a better life.
    Her life changes drastically, as she falls in love with the young Kurt. But even this relationship is fraught with tribulations, from figuring out their budding relationship not only with each other but with God. She faces adversity in the scrutinized lime light that accompanies celebrities and NFL stars, when the truth is twisted into headlines. She experiences the death of her parents, and guides the dying to live with God forever, being the guide to a young infant and an elderly angel.
    Brenda is an inspiration and shows how true Christians should live. Through the tough spots and the smooth joyful moments she turns to God always looking for answers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2