Customer Reviews for

One Crazy Summer

Average Rating 4.5
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com

It's 1968 and Delphine and her younger sisters, Vonetta and Fern, are being sent to California to visit the mother that abandoned them soon after Fern was born. The girls have grand ideas about a mother who will hug them and take them to Disneyland.

Instead, their mo...
It's 1968 and Delphine and her younger sisters, Vonetta and Fern, are being sent to California to visit the mother that abandoned them soon after Fern was born. The girls have grand ideas about a mother who will hug them and take them to Disneyland.

Instead, their mother, Cecile, doesn't want anything to do with them, cares more about her poetry, and sends them for Chinese take-out every night. She's more concerned about her work and sends the girls to a Blank Panther-run summer camp during the day. The girls learn about revolution and family in a summer they will never forget.

It's hard to express how wonderful this book is and how much I adored it. I was pretty sure I would enjoy it, since I had been hearing a positive buzz. But I was completely unprepared for how much this book would pull me in and not let go. I couldn't put it down.

This is a quiet book. It's not an action filled book, and there wasn't any suspense that made me keep turning pages. It was just the beautifully written story of three sisters discovering their mother and themselves. There was just something about it that really resonated with me as a reader and I had to keep reading this one; I couldn't stop.

The writing is superb. This is a middle grade novel, but the author never writes down to her audience, and the characters are beautifully realistic and the dynamics between the sisters is spot-on. I loved Delphine - I think she's one of my new favorite characters in children's lit. In many ways, she is wise beyond her years, being the oldest sister and having to care for her younger sisters and mediating their quarrels. But she's also a child herself, and she lets herself finally be a child during this summer. The reader gets to know Delphine so much during the course of the story that the reader ends up growing with her - and Ms. Williams-Garcia pulls it off beautifully.

I really could keep gushing about this book, but instead you should get yourself a copy. Highly recommended for tweens and up.

posted by TeensReadToo on May 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

IS THIS A GOOD BOOK?

Is this a good book? Click YES if so

posted by bethinoslo on October 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Great book!!!!

    This book is really good!! I recimmend it!!

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    I would reccomend this book to an oldest sibling.

    I would recommend this book to a friend because this book is very touching. I liked that it made you feel like you were really there. This book is about three girls that went to visit their mother in Oakland. Their mother had abandoned them because she wanted to name Fern Afua. The good thing was that Nzlia realized that she wasn't acting like a mother. I liked when Delphine defended Afua when the three other sisters when are calling Afua a little baby because she carried a toy doll around with her when they where in the summer camp of The Blank Panthers. When Delphine told Fern that her name was Afua, Delphine and Vonneta were teasing her and then Nzila acted like a real mother and told them to cut it of.The good thing was that Nzlia realized that she wasn't acting like a mother. The good thing was that Nzlia realized that she wasn't acting like a mother. I really loved it when Afua read the poem about crazy Kelvin and when Nzila and when did you write that poem she said I didn't write it i read it. Even though Vonetta went to the other three sisters to play Delphine and Afua stuck together.One of the other sisters and Vonneta liked a boy that was in the summer camp so they were always competing and playing with him. Vonneta was very nervous when they were going to read their mothers poem when Delphine noticed she was nervous on the stage she said Horothio is watching and she said Janice hopes you trip.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Library

    Read it at tha lobrary thought tha book was tragic but luvd it

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    A must read

    My daughter is in her first ever book club this summer and this was their first read. We absolutely loved it. She was able to identify the struggles of the 60's and the typical stereotypes.

    We are looking forward to reading more by RWG.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review title: The People's Center Summer Camp. How would you lik

    Review title: The People's Center Summer Camp.
    How would you like to go back in time to the late 1960s and see the world through the eyes of three young girls? Well, you can. Go back to 1968 with an eleven year-old, a nine year-old, and a seven year-old to experience a summer they would remember for a lifetime. Many exciting adventures are in store for the three, and you will learn all about the sights and sounds they discovered as they traveled from the East coast to the West coast. *Informative. *Revealing. *Insightful. **Gives a look into childhood from different perspectives.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    GreatBook

    This story had a great structure. Tje endig could have been better. I love how the girls had to figure out what to do after their mother had been arrested. I don't even know what I would do if I was in that situation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Greatest book ever

    I ttjink this is a great book about a black girl fighting for her rights all summer

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    The book "One Crazy Summer" follows three sisters Delp

    The book "One Crazy Summer" follows three sisters Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern. Abandoned by their mother shorty after the youngest Fern was born, these three sisters live with their grandmother and father in Brooklyn. Delphine steps in as a mother to her younger sister making sure they are properly taken care of. In the summer of 1968 their father decides to send them all to California to live with their mother and get to know her. Upon arriving the are sent off to a summer camp sponsored by the revolutionary group the Black Panthers. This book is a child's perspective on the Civil Rights movement in the 60's. We see Delphine take a journey where she finds out about herself and her mother, while also learning a great deal about what was going on in society around her. I highly recommend this book, it is a great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia is an award winning boo

    One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia is an award winning book. After you have read this book you will know why. Delphine is the eldest of her siblings. Her and her sisters, Vonetta and Fern, were abandon by there mother. They live with their Father and Grandmother in Brooklyn. In 1968, Delphine's father sends her and her two sisters to visit their mother Cecile for the summer. Cecile lives in Oakland, California. When the girls arrive, Cecile wants nothing to do with them. She basically leaves them to take care of themselves. Well, Delphine is used to having to take care of Vonetta and Fern so it doesn't really bother her. But the fact that they traveled all this way to get to know their mother and she doesn't have time for them really bothers her. And if that wasn't enough, she sends all three of the girls to a summer camp. This camp is sponsored by the Black Panther. If you know anything about the 1960's that is when the Black Panthers, the Revolutionary group, were very popular. Although this book takes some time to read, it is worthwhile, but it does have a way of keeping the reader engaged in the story. A lot of children can relate to the story. Sometimes mothers and fathers don't have time or they just don't care. And in this case, the girls want to get to know their mother and want to know why she abandoned them. Hope you enjoy this book as much as I have.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Ummm

    Good book overall but kinda mad me sad cause i like to feel happy:/

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Touching

    I like this book a lot it is a good story to be shared

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    How is this book?

    This is a book in one of my classes i have to read aloud i neds some knowledge on the book anybody

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Love it! I luv adventure time

    This book got a little confusing with the setting but it had a really great story line. What am i talking about im only 20page into it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Great story

    Great plot and subject matter, got a tad dull though

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Very good

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Love This Book

    This book is very good and is a pretty easy read good for grades 4-6.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    This book was so good!!!

    I love books with challenges and this book was definately a challenge! But it was so funny and good! U will love this book but it is challenging!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2