Customer Reviews for

One Dance with a Duke (Stud Club Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fans will enjoy this strong romantic suspense thriller

    In 1817 the Ton knows the strange behavioral pattern of the reclusive primitive "Canadian" Duke Spencer Dumarque as the Duke of Midnight; he arrives as the clock strikes twelve at a bash to dance one waltz with a different female each time and then leaves immediately. Not quite as well known as his dashing nocturnal spin is that he is one of the ten members of the Stud Club who have a wager on a horse on going.

    Rubenesque Lady Amelia d'Orsay decides to be the chosen one at the latest ball by brazenly selecting him. When she notices her waltz partner seems ill, she shows her concern. He is stunned by a twit caring for someone else and abruptly carries her from the gala to her amazement. He is in love and proposes, but before accepting she wants to know more about the enigmatic Duke of Morland. He is four tokens to the prize of wining the thoroughbred (ten tokens wins the steed) but one of his Stud comrades has been murdered assumingly for his tokens. Amelia suggests hosting a Stud Club party, but her brother Jack arrives with tokens before vanishing with his ward.

    This is a great regency romantic mystery starring a flawed courageous heroine and a mysterious perhaps even blemished hero. Faster than the prized thoroughbred, this super story line hooks the reader from the moment Dashing Duke Dumarque runs off with Amelia and never takes a respite even for the kissing scenes. Fans will enjoy this strong romantic suspense thriller as the opening of the stud Club is a winner.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Mrs. Dare has out done her self! As usual!

    A steamy romance you won't want to put down...with an incredably written on the corner of your seat drama... cant wait for the next book! If you enjoy Mrs Lisa Kleypas you will fall in love with Mrs Dare!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    Romantic!

    I loved this story! I love that Amelia who was practically two years "on the shelf" who could not really be called a beauty in one single night convinced the hero to marry her. Amelia's strong sense of family & being devoted to her brothers even though at times did not deserve her love was what appealed to our hero. Tessa Dare really fleshed out these characters very well, and has been the best book I have read by her to date! Highly Recommended! It has made it to my top 10.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Stud Club Trilogy

    I simply loved all three books in the Stud Club trilogy.

    I highly recommend these wonderful books. I have since read another book by Tessa Dare, and this trilogy is no fluke.

    "One Dance with a Duke" is the starting point. The characters are very in-depth and believable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Very good

    I loved her goddess of the hunt series and now cant wait to read the rest of this series. It's real charchters with real faults that accept each other for who they are. Very very good

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Yt

    Fddvgfd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    G

    A MUST read by everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    I have read ALL of Tessa Dare's novels and love them! I checked

    I have read ALL of Tessa Dare's novels and love them! I checked out some from my library and own all the Spindle Cove novels and novellas as well as the Werestag novella. You will not be dissapointed with any of her writings except that they end! I would like to find a "comparable" author because I just know Tessa's work to be the best for my tastes with the right amount of story, character development, setting, and spice. I was not actually a romance reader until I stumbled upon a free offering of one of her ebooks on my Nook. That was how I even found this genre and now am hooked!

    I have always been a fan of period romance movies and am a stickler for anything set in the Victorian (or earlier) settings of Europe which all of her books are. I do have a few other free historical romances but I just know already I won't be as pleased. I wish Tessa would go full time just writing ONLY Spindle Cove series and that PBS or BBC would pick up the rights and make an ongoing romance seriers for TV that would be hot and heavy and for adult viewers but tasteful. Maybe Netflix??? Wouldn't that be incredible! LOL

    Bascially to sum all this up do not worry one bit about purchasing any of her materials. You will love having them. I have read each of the Spindle Cove series twice and plan to re-read each once a year- Yes they are that good! I stay tuned for pre-orders and have always been on of the first to get a book as it comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    A must read

    Great beginning to a wonderful series! A little slow at first but totally worth it to stick through till the end. Very well written and I will buy more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Wionderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Sexy and romantic

    Recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Loved it!

    Best book I've read this year. Loved all of the characters. Just great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    I love love love this book! It was so touching so romantic and it had somewhat of a murder story which also made it thrilling and dramatic! This was the first historical romance novel I have ever read, but it was also one of the most amazing books I have ever read. I also read some of Tessa Dare's other books after I read this one and they were just as good as this one if not better! I really have to say Tessa Dare has written the most amazing books. You really get into each and every book she has written. They are all very touching and romantic. I really love how its set back to the 1800's. To me the setting of this book just makes it so much more romantic. If you want a book you cant put down once you start reading it, I highly recommend this book. You wont be sorry for buying it, and its also one you can read more than once and in my opinion it gets better every time you read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5