Customer Reviews for

One Day

Average Rating 3.5
( 1726 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(548)

4 Star

(510)

3 Star

(356)

2 Star

(175)

1 Star

(137)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Surprising

A little bit "When Harry Met Sally" (one character even jokingly refers to the main characters as Harry and Sally), but written in such a unique format, visiting the characters on the same day each year, year after year. This unique pacing kept me glued to the pages and...
A little bit "When Harry Met Sally" (one character even jokingly refers to the main characters as Harry and Sally), but written in such a unique format, visiting the characters on the same day each year, year after year. This unique pacing kept me glued to the pages and telling myself "Just one more chapter so I can see what happens next year" until before I knew it most of my day had been spent finishing the book. The unique style and a surprising ending separate it from other romantic comedies.

posted by mericia on July 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Download One Day by David Nicholls For Free

Download One Day by David Nicholls For Free From Here goo.gl/Aqr5P

posted by 9493474 on August 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1733 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 87
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprising

    A little bit "When Harry Met Sally" (one character even jokingly refers to the main characters as Harry and Sally), but written in such a unique format, visiting the characters on the same day each year, year after year. This unique pacing kept me glued to the pages and telling myself "Just one more chapter so I can see what happens next year" until before I knew it most of my day had been spent finishing the book. The unique style and a surprising ending separate it from other romantic comedies.

    34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVE IT!

    This is a delicious, brilliant, funny, emotionally engaging romantic comedy, a moving, feel good read.
    The book opens with Emma and Dexter on July 15, 1988, the last day of University in Edinburgh. She is a brain child, he is privileged and spoiled rotten. They are attracted to each other but it is the last day, and they are headed in different directions. Their story then proceeds in yearly episodes, only taking place on July 15, from 1988 through 2007. The author sticks to this original order of things, filling in background as needed. Emma and Dexter remain friends, although each has separate romantic entanglements, or lack of them, and their careers take quite different courses. When Harry Met Sally meets SAME TIME NEXT YEAR..I loved both of these movies! Perfect!! Memorable, moving ending!! I loved it!

    27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    good read

    I enjoyed reading this delicious and romantic novel. Good plot, great characters. will buy more

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A GREAT TRUE TO LIFE STORY ABOUT FATE AND HOW WE EVOLVE OVER TIME...

    This is a long, exciting story, reminiscent of WHEN HARRY MET SALLY. Dexter and Emma who meet in college and stay friends over a twenty year period, despite life pulling them in different directions. Each chapter has a meeting point, July 15th every year, and reveals where each is in their lives. Sometimes they seem close to becoming lovers, but then circumstances intervene and that moment seems to get lost. There is connecting, reconnecting, reminiscing and each having a direct effect on each other's direction in life. This is a great, true to life story about fate and how we all evolve over time...Another one this reminds me of is SAME TIME NEXT YEAR.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    B O R I N G

    I hardly ever write book reviews but I had to get in on this one. I'm sorry I have no idea what the big deal was about this book. I found it incredibly boring. I read about 1/2 of it thinking it was going to get better at some point - no luck. I highly disliked the male character, and he's the lead so how is it suppose to get better from there? The female is not much better.
    I came to not care what this couple was doing on this particular day each year and ended up skipping about 1/3 of the book.
    I guess it just wasn't my kind of book: no action, no mystery, and barely a love story.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    I LOVED IT!!!

    I bought this book two days ago and COULD NOT put it down. I needed to know all of Em and Dex's story. What a well-written, funny,touching, and brilliant way to tell the story of two friends over twenty years...a must have on your summer reading list!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    angry i took the time to read it!

    I am so disappointed with this book! I feel it was the biggest waste of time EVER. The book just ends...while reviewing his memories..I am so angry..no closer on the book what so ever. Just when you think something great is finally going to happen it doesnt. From the pivatal moment of one of the main char. it just d-r-a-i-n-s you from then on..sucks you dry with pointless memories that we as the readers also read at the beginning of the book.. Pointless, Dry. no closers I wish I could get my money back..I willnot even speak of this book to my fellow readers even as to how bad it was..that in its self is to much attention to such a worthless book!.. sorry..I am writing this moments after finishing the book..still abit upset over all the lost time of reading it.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book.

    I don't normally take the time to write a review unless a book touches me and this one definitely did. The format was unlike anything I've ever read. The story progresses, but you are only given the story from the viewpoint of one specific day in a year. You never know what will happen from one chapter to the next - honestly, where will any of us be exactly one year from now, really? It is heartfelt, romantic, touching, funny and clever. The relationship between Emma and Dexter, no matter if it was romantic or just friendship, is engaging and so well thought out. It was the kind of book I found myself thinking about when I wasn't reading it. And 360 pages is not light reading! I hope everyone enjoys this book just as much as I did. :)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fine Summer Read

    I think that what Mr. Nicholls very adroitly captures is the trajectory of the middle of life. The supporting characters are not as finely fleshed out as the main ones, but that's ok, because giving us one day a year for 20 or so years makes character development a stretch. The only characters that really matter are Dexter and Emma and I felt like I knew them and cared about them. I was very impressed that, in this format, the characters became real. The story of them and their relationship is so tender and understated. The end is sad and touching and the final chapter is such a great end. It perfectly conveys the book cover and wraps up the story, leaving you feeling satisfied and entertained. I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to everyone, but particularly women, because it's so sensitive.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    Pure, honest, sensational

    From the very first chapter, I fell in love with Emma and Dexter. Nicholls does a superb job of honestly portraying his characters in a profound way that makes you laugh, gasp, cringe, and ultimately, cry for them. I'm not sure that I've ever felt for characters the way I did with this book. But this isn't just a "love story." It is smart, humorous, and touching; not just fiction, but literature. It was a book that you don't want to put down, but you fear finishing it too quickly and ending the experience.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    Loved this book!!!

    I just thought this was a great read...I enjoyed the characters; I cared about them, got frustrated by them, wanted the best for them. I really enjoyed how the author had them "grow-up"...I look at people and wonder what they were like as kids or young adults, and this author provides this. I've been recommending it to a lot of friends.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Great idea, poor delivery

    **Slight Spoiler Alert** Let me just start out by saying, I really liked the format of this book. I love the idea of getting the reader through time by focusing on one day each year. It was effective. That said, I absolutely hated the ending of the book. I saw it coming several chapters before. I don't know why for a book to be considered a "great" work of literary fiction it must end the way this book, and so many others deemed great, do. I found it predictable, not just the ending but many other aspects, such as Emma's affair. I had a hard time liking a protagonist like Dexter--I found him glib and completely irresponsible. For example, getting drunk while caring for his baby daughter. Yuck. I also thought the language was a bit much; it seemed every other line Dex was saying the "F" word. Is there no more creative way to use the English language? I wanted to like this book, apparently many others do. As others have stated, it is very much like When Harry Met Sally. There were times when I was laughing out loud. However, it just fell short in so many other ways for me.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    Not so good...

    I brought this after hearing all the "great" reviews about it, and I'm sorry for the purchase. It is dry, predictable and not much of a story. Maybe I'm not a fan of contemporary literature, but I just can't connect with it. Irritating characters... I am thinking this might be autobiographical, but names changed to protect the innocent. A classic example that a some stories that are better told verbally shouldn't be published. Ugh.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    fell in love with emma and dexter

    I loved this book. although as people the characters, especially dexter were incrediably flawed (like the rest of us humans) i simply fell in love with both of them. Emma was just incrediably strong yet dependent and Dexter seemed to be strong and independent yet was weak and dependent as well. I was sad to let their story go!!!! loved the way it was written, one year at a time, development of story and characters around them, and shows you how all lives evolve and change. great, great book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    I absolutely loved this book!

    If you are looking for a good read this summer--or any time, for that matter--and enjoy what I call "relationship fiction", you won't be sorry you read this! Word is that Hollywood is adapting this as I write this--as long as they don't turn it into standard rom-com it should be great.

    Trust me on this one--you will love this book!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    This was one of the worst books I've ever read.

    This book was just LOUSY. The writing was pitiful, the characters annoying in their stereotypical 'good but insecure girl and silly undependable bad boy' who finally get together.

    The ONLY reason I finished it was because I have a personal rule to finish every book I start, otherwise I would have closed this on page twenty instead of hoping it got better.

    Poorly written, unlikable characters, ridiculous story line.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Baby Boomer Delight

    Nicholas Sparks with substance? This soap opera of a novel is well-paced and consistently interesting. The characters have depth (take that Sparks!) and are consistently believable. So, yes, I enjoyed reading One Day even if I would have changed a few of the contrivances.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Nothing not to like about it.......

    This book is just so cuddly. It's a perfect light read. Nicholls makes their personalities so potent-you feel like you're part of their world, their lives. You want to call either of them on the phone and tell them what mistakes their making, but like so many people, Em and Dex want to take all the detours.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    felt the passion and the yearning

    One day captured the innocence and power of love. The characters were realistic and touching. The author did more than just describe their actions but magically made me feel the yearning and the truth between the love that was so obvious but still somewhat discreet between the two characters. This story depicts love so beautifully but not too fantastical, one day is a story of real love and real life. This book is one of my favorites.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    Great, Moving Story

    This book was quite a surprise. I found myself laughing out loud, weeping and thoroughly enjoying this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1733 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 87