Customer Reviews for

One Day

Average Rating 3.5
( 1730 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(548)

4 Star

(514)

3 Star

(356)

2 Star

(175)

1 Star

(137)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Surprising

A little bit "When Harry Met Sally" (one character even jokingly refers to the main characters as Harry and Sally), but written in such a unique format, visiting the characters on the same day each year, year after year. This unique pacing kept me glued to the pages and...
A little bit "When Harry Met Sally" (one character even jokingly refers to the main characters as Harry and Sally), but written in such a unique format, visiting the characters on the same day each year, year after year. This unique pacing kept me glued to the pages and telling myself "Just one more chapter so I can see what happens next year" until before I knew it most of my day had been spent finishing the book. The unique style and a surprising ending separate it from other romantic comedies.

posted by mericia on July 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Download One Day by David Nicholls For Free

Download One Day by David Nicholls For Free From Here goo.gl/Aqr5P

posted by 9493474 on August 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 356 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Decide for yourself! BUT..here are a few things...

    I don't know yet if I really liked this book, or if it upset me.

    Cons: The characters were sometimes really annoying and their situations as well. The ending felt a little bit like the author got tired and didn't feel like dealing with the conflicts that were SO THERE, and then resolving them. There wasn't enough finality in the ending, except for the very last page, BUT what preceded it was what felt unfinished. There were many moments that felt like they were building up to something because they had so much potential and then they just didn't. The characters could be very irritating. The male lead was somewhat repulsive at times, and the female lead was sarcastic and mostly miserable. Actually, in general, the book was mostly miserable...

    Pros: The sarcastic banter was entertaining and made me laugh often. The book did not get sugary sweet and full of cliches like rom-coms. The story was certainly realistic to real life. I really cared about the characters and their lives, despite the annoying factors. I did love them and root for them and it was hard to put the book down.

    OVERALL, I am mixed about this book but I read it because I plan on seeing the movie. I do hope the book does not turn this realistic emotional piece into a rom com chalk full of cliches and a cheesy ending.

    There are some life lessons in this book: people and relationships change with time, sometimes you don't realize you have something until its too late, take nothing for granted, sometimes the person you should be with is not who you expect, life doesn't always turn out as expected.

    I would not say don't read, I feel like anyone should read this and give it a try, form their own opinion. This could be for anyone interested in a realistic drama of a relationship, sarcastic witty conversation, and sentimentality.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    THIS BOOK WAS OKAY

    The characters were interesting enough. They kept me wanting but the time changes in the book were sometimes confusing. There WERE some life lessons in this story. A reminder to enjoy what you have each and every day.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Oh tooooo sad!

    This book was hard to get into at first. Then finallybyou became entangled with the characters. I so wanted a different ending. I was so shocked and upset I woke my sleeping husband. I felt defeated in the end and that no one can win.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Hoped for more...

    I had seen a brief preview of the movie but didn't know what it was really about. I thought I would maybe like to see the movie but wanted to read the book first. I ended up having a hard time connecting with the main characters. I always just kept waiting for 'more.' I was disappointed with a few turns in the book and didn't like the ending. I will watch the movie because I'm curious to see the characters come to life. However, I hope this is one case where the movie is better than the book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Em

    Em dies wich is sad so dont read the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Dragged on and on ...

    It was a OK book til the end. I didn't think it was good enough to warrant a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Depressing

    Ok book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really, really was into this book and then something happened

    I really, really was into this book and then something happened that made me quite upset. To let you know how much I was enjoying the book, it would have received 4 or 5 stars. Aside from that incident, I loved the characters and how the book was set up. It followed two people on the same day each year, starting with the day they graduated from college. This book was written in a way that really drew me in and I felt a part of the character's lives, I guess that's why I got so mad. I'd love to recommend the book, but I'd hate to have someone feel the way I did. I'm still going to say that it is worth a read ... maybe it won't bother others as much as it did me. Anyway, I'm off to see what other reviewers had to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    I enjoyed this novel

    I enjoyed getting lost in the lives of Emma and Dexter. It was an easy read with good humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    So so

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Not my particular kind of book

    I find the book very slow. Reading for a book club and it's taken me 3 weeks just to get to 150 pages. Would probably make an okay movie but the book is very wordy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Good book

    This book is a "good" read- nothing spectacular that I would recommend to one of my friends - but I did enjoy it. Kind of drags on through parts and jumps around alot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    So-so

    I still haven't finished this one. I like the idea of it, but just can't seem to get into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Good except the end

    I hated the ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    What a difference a day makes...

    One Day is a thought provoking novel. The conversations and situations draw you in so that you start to think about your own relationships and the friends you keep in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Conflicted.

    Beautifully written, funny, and realistic, this book left me feeling hopeless. While a realistic love story is always welcome, too realistic makes the whole thing feel pointless as the author did nothing to make me feel OK in the end. Be warned, this is not a light fluffy read. You may love it and hate it at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Creative storytelling

    I loved the creative approach to telling a story through the lens of the same day across many years...very well developed characters and a good story until the end....I have to say the ending completely put me off and ruined the story for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Not bad, not great either

    Until the end, I was really hating this book. I like how the book ended. I disagee with other posts that say it seems he rushed the end. I think you're missing the point if that's what you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    modern wanna be wuthering heights

    It was an okay book. It really reminded me of wuthering heights with not as much angst.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Very sad story between two idiots

    Did not love it at all. The book drags on and on and on.... for 20 fricking years and then....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 356 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18