Customer Reviews for

One Day

Average Rating 3.5
( 1740 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(554)

4 Star

(516)

3 Star

(358)

2 Star

(175)

1 Star

(137)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Surprising

A little bit "When Harry Met Sally" (one character even jokingly refers to the main characters as Harry and Sally), but written in such a unique format, visiting the characters on the same day each year, year after year. This unique pacing kept me glued to the pages and...
A little bit "When Harry Met Sally" (one character even jokingly refers to the main characters as Harry and Sally), but written in such a unique format, visiting the characters on the same day each year, year after year. This unique pacing kept me glued to the pages and telling myself "Just one more chapter so I can see what happens next year" until before I knew it most of my day had been spent finishing the book. The unique style and a surprising ending separate it from other romantic comedies.

posted by mericia on July 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Download One Day by David Nicholls For Free

Download One Day by David Nicholls For Free From Here goo.gl/Aqr5P

posted by 9493474 on August 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 554 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 28
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Love both the movie and the book

    I love this book and I love the movie too. I'm glad that I finally got a chance to read the book.

    Plot: SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS
    Dexter and Emma spend the night together following their graduation from Edinburgh University in 1988. They talk about how they will be once they are 40. While they do not become romantically involved completely, this is the beginning of their friendship. The novel visits their lives and their relationship on July 15 in successive years in each chapter for 20 years. Emma wants to improve the world and begins writing and performing plays, which remain unsuccessful, while Dexter travels through the world, drinking and hooking up with women. Eventually both move to London where Emma becomes a waitress in Kentish Town at a Tex-Mex restaurant, while Dexter becomes a successful television presenter.

    While there are various attempts from both sides to start a relationship, coincidences stop Emma and Dexter from getting together and while they have relationships with other people, they stay best friends, both secretly longing for the other. They are drawn together closer through a holiday together and the death of Dexter's mother.

    Emma breaks up with her boyfriend, Ian, after realising she is creating a life with someone she doesn't love. During this time Emma is able to find a job as a teacher, after various years of struggle, despite a "double-first degree". Dexter meanwhile develops a drinking and drug problem and watches his career collapse. The friendship between Emma and Dexter grows more and more difficult, after Emma is constantly hurt by Dexter who attempts to hide his feelings for her from both her and himself. After being treated rudely by Dexter at a restaurant, Emma breaks up the friendship.

    At the wedding of Emma's former roommate, Emma and Dexter meet again. Emma admits that she wants Dexter back. At this point of time she has just ended an affair with her headmaster, Dexter has fallen in love with another woman, Sylvie, who is pregnant. At this reunion, Dexter invites Emma, who is disappointed by the situation, to his wedding.

    Emma tries to overcome her problems and begins to write, while Dexter is unemployed and overwhelmed by his role as a father after his divorce from Sylvie, who was having an affair. After realizing this, he and Emma have sex for the first time. They do not get together and Emma leaves to go to Paris in the hope of writing a sequel to her first successful children's novel. When Dexter visits her in Paris, he learns that she met someone and likes him and for the first time admits his feelings to her. After talking about their relationship, Emma chooses Dexter.

    Emma and Dexter form a relationship and are happy together, and get married, however Emma wants a child. The couple finds themselves frustrated by the failing attempts to have a child. Dexter however is able to open a deli-cafe and finds himself on his way back to being successful again. On the anniversary of the day they met after graduation and the day they got together, Emma and Dexter have an appointment to see a house. While travelling there, Emma has a bike accident and dies. After her death, Dexter finds himself in despair. He starts to drink again and provokes people in bars in order to get beaten. He is comforted through his ex-wife Sylvie, his father and his daughter. Three years after Emma's death he travels together with his daughter to Edinburgh where he and Emma met.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Great read

    This is a great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant and creatively written

    I always always recommend this book to everyone because of the unique way it is written. Nicholls follows Emma and Dexter on July 15, the day they meet, each year for 20 years. The character development throughout this book is interesting and intriguing because of length of time they are followed for. But because you only catch a snippet of their lives each chapter, it is anything but boring. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Very good!

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    Honestly, I got teary-eyed on some parts of the book. It has qui

    Honestly, I got teary-eyed on some parts of the book. It has quite an unfortunate ending but still a pleasant read. 




    A perfect example of “what should have been” and “what you missed out so badly”. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    O happy day

    This book was great. I would recommend it to anyone and everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Iwant to swallow this book...

    ... because I love it so much. It took me a hit minute to understand the layout of the book and not having a general knowledge of tthe layout of England made it a bit difficult for me to picture where everthing was takeing place, it was still an amazing read. Very well written and I adored the relationship between Dex and Em, Em and Dex and how it changed throughout the years. I found myself envious of their relationship, how they needed and relied on eachother, but mostly their contentment with eachother. Who could ask for more?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Cried and cried

    Loved this story of friendship, life, love, and realizing happiness is really all around you. Yes, the story is sad, but you know, so is life smoetimes. The read swept me off my feet for days. It was one of those books that you can not put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Heartbreakingly lovely - and much better than the movie

    A beautiful story of two of the most honestly-written characters I've read. Rather than a predictable drawn-out tale of inevitable romance, it is the rocky humanity that brings you in. Sometimes the characters are endearing, and other times maddening, but always compelling. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Funny, frustrating, and fantastic. I was left devastated by how

    Funny, frustrating, and fantastic. I was left devastated by how much I cared for these characters. Amazingly written, thoughtful, and a story that I will carry with me for a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Believe the hype

    A beautiful story about youth, age and the redemptive power of love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Weaving culture, recent history and romance with a truly skillfu

    Weaving culture, recent history and romance with a truly skillful hand, author David Nicholls creates a tapestry of modern life filled with contrasting colors and characters so real you’ll be sure you’ve sat next to them in a coffee shop. The snapshot approach where each chapter covers the same date through passing years works very naturally, each scene’s end nicely tied to the next and backstory perfectly viewed through the characters’ eyes. There’s a really intriguing blend of messages in this novel too, carpe diem contrasting with persistence and patience, while success too cheaply offered is compared to success denied.

    Emma puts off both her dreams and her feelings for Dex, while Dex puts off any kind of hard work or commitment. Both settle, as real people so often do, for second bests and expediency. Both grow and change very believably through the years. And both somehow remain true to their hopes and their dreams.

    One Day is a surprisingly real, enthralling, hopeful, sad and humorous tale—like life painted in colors that almost make sense, the different threads all blending into something beautiful. There’s a quintessential Englishness to time and place, great description, superb dialog, and an unsparing look at the trials and joys of modern life. Altogether it’s a thoroughly good read and really hard to put down.

    Disclosure: My husband gave me this book for mothers’ day. He has the knack of knowing just what I’ll enjoy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Loved it!

    Great read, couldn't put this book down. The characters are great, completely fell in luv with them. A must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended! A Must Read!

    When I picked up One Day and saw that it had become a movie, I figured it was going to be another love story, but One Day wasn't even about that. Well, it kind of was, but there were so many different aspects to it that I haven't seen before in books I've read before. Nicholls' vivid descriptions of everyday European life and culture is amazing and the way he sets the characters in the plot and setting is outstanding. One Day is very witty, perfectly paced, and bittersweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Heartbreakingly good.

    This book was spectacular, i just would have preferred a different ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Great book

    The way this book is written is very unique. I was glued to the book. It is witty, you root Emma &Dexter to get together and there is a hell of a suprise/twist at the end. Highly recommend! Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Good One!

    123456789987654321

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Really great!

    I absolutely loved this book! It was much better than the movie. I fell in love with the relationship of Dexter and Emma.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    This book is so awesome

    I like the part when Harry and Sally met and started going out and other things• When Sally started going out with Harry i thought it is a awesome & a amazing book•

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    Awesome Book!

    I am in love with this book. I could not put it down! it was funny yet sad and cute, i highly recommend this book to who ever read this(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 554 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 28