BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

One Day I Saw a Black King

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A compelling drama

    His fourteen year old mother Mattie died giving birth to him; his maternal grandmother Agnes raised him but never forgave him for the death of her daughter. At fifteen feeling all alone and never tasting affection, John King left his home. He rambles from town to town, takes odd jobs, and never remains around long enough for women to know him. Her mother Charlotte Rodgers abandoned twelve years old Connie and her younger sister Reesy to run off with her latest lover Sammy. The Colorado foster care system separated the kids though Connie was more of a mother to Reesy than Charlotte was. A nice couple adopts Reesy almost immediately, but Connie is bumped from home to uncaring home until she is placed with a foster father who desires things from her no child should even know about. Connie flees to the streets where she meets more betrayal and pain. In Denver John and Connie meet. Neither trusts anyone, but a kindred spirit connects them. As they begin to forge the unthinkable a loving relationship, bitter symbols from their past surface. His grandmother is dying and her sister wants to see her again. This story starts slow so that the audience can fully understand the demons that haunt the lead couple, but once they meet, the tale turns into an incredible relationship drama that showcases the healing power of love. John and Connie hook the audience as both feels strongly the bitterness of rejection and though trust is nonexistent they begin to help one another. Fans of deep character driven plots will want to read this powerful novel that everyone needs a lot of love. Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2005

    EXCELLENT!!!!

    This book was a 'page-turner' from the beginning. I read it in only a few days. This author is totally gifted and has a natural flair for storytelling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2006

    welcome new comer

    j.d. mason is a very vivid author she is able to capture you and take you there she better hurry up and get me some more good whole reading i read this from cover to cover in 2 days i give her 4 thumbs up keep it coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    Sister to Sister Book Club

    The Sister to Sister Book Club loved this book. It provided the hard and soft side of life we sometimes look over. The storyline held our attention from page one. We look forward to reading other books by J.D. Mason in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2005

    Pages Readers Group Reviews One Day I Saw A Black King

    'One Day I saw a Black King' is a book that proves, contrary to belief, opposites do not always attract. Author J.D. Mason effectively paints a graphic picture of two individuals, John King and Connie Rodgers caught in the perils and mishaps of life. The author prepares you for their inevitable meeting, by tracing, the unfortunate and sometimes tragic, events of their lives. Upon meeting, John and Connie begin a long upward journey towards building a relationship, overcoming fear and pain, and ultimately finding 'love'. J.D. Mason touched all emotions, bringing laughter, anger, empathy and tears; and keeps the reader's attention captured. Pages members found this novel to be an excellent read; it generated a thought provoking discussion. Pages Readers Group gives this book a rating of '5'.......... and two thumbs up! We recommend 'One Day I saw a Black King' as a book of choice for any book club or passionate reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2005

    True Love Conquers All

    Love triumphs in this delightful novel of two lovers who are used to pain and isolation. When you think you are down and out...read J.D. Mason's tear jerking novel and count your blessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2004

    THE TRUTH NEVER DIES

    THIS WAS A VERY MOVING NOVEL FOR ME. IT'S FUNNY HOW PEOPLE CAN GET THINGS ALL TWISTED, ANY WHICH WAY BUT THE RIGHT WAY. AND WE HOLD ON TO THOSE THINGS AND BELIEVE THEM TO BE FACT. AND WE CARRY ALL THAT AROUND WITH US FROM YEAR TO YEAR, GENERATION TO GENERATION. UNTIL SOMEONE WITH A LITTLE GUTS DECIDE THAT ENOUGH IS ENOUGH, AND FINALLY DECIDES TO TELL THE TRUTH. BUT SO MUCH HAS HAPPEN & SO MUCH TIME HAS PASTED, THAT SOMETIMES IT IS INPOSSIBLE TO MEND ALL THOSE BROKEN HEARTS. THERE IS SO MUCH TO LEARN FROM THIS BOOK. IT IS A MUST READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2004

    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!

    This book was good from cover to cover! I received some very good advice from this book that I had to use those post-it note flags just to remember them all!! What I didn't expect was the very end!! I mean down to the very last page and very last sentence!! I was totally shocked but thinking back, I should have known!! J D Mason is a GREAT author and she knows her stuff!! Thank you for making me realize to leave the past in the past on move toward the future!!! I would love to know what the future holds for Connie & John!! :>)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2004

    Very Good Book!!

    This is my first novel by J.D Mason...and I must say I was impressed. I felt like I knew each of the characters..This was a very well written and thought out novel..Great job Ms. Mason!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2003

    AMAZINGLY AWESOME!!

    Praises to JD Mason. Putting this book down proved to be almost impossble. I loved it. I felt like I was constantly sitting on the edge of my seat. Miss Mason has proven herself and she deserves to be honored for her work. Never before have I laughed out loud or shed tears while reading a book. One Day I Saw a Black King is definately a must-read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2003

    Wonderful Book!

    This book was very deep! It made me realize what I have and has given me answers to some of my problems. It should be a sequel to this book! JD keep doing your thing and give us a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2003

    Highly Recommended

    I just finished reading this book last night... and it was one of the most touching and honest books i have read in a long time. J D Mason pulls you into this book by weaving the characters together beautifully, It is a journey to become. free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    NO REST FOR THE TALENTED

    J.D.Mason has done it again! After scoring big with her debut novel 'AND ON THE EIGHTH DAY SHE RESTED',she has created another powerful piece taking her craft to a new level. 'ONE DAY I SAW A BLACK KING is her latest novel. The story follows two children whose lives are turned upside down.They both find out in the words of the old Spinners song, that 'Love dont love nobody'.Fighting to survive on the mean streets and in brutal prison society, they learn self sufficiency but love and trust are destroyed.This is a story of redemption ,compassion, forgiving and yes love.J.D.Mason has shown that she has the ability to grab the reader up and not just take him on a journey but run with him.You find yourself geting angry with those who hurt the main characters or angry with the characters when they dont do what YOU think they should have done.I felt this story the way you feel the softness of an expensive cashmere over coat.Like the coat the story was comfortable yet unpretentious.I found this book like the author's first one to be a stay up late keep going till you finish it page turner.I highly recomend it to any one who is looking for a great book!Buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2003

    A Well Crafted and Worthy Read

    This is my second time experiencing this author's work and I thoroughly enjoyed it Both books I have read by her contained strongly developed characters and told a story I wanted to read to the end. The early childhood sufferings both main characters endured is disturbing, but the way Mason portrays these characters and how their experiences shapes each of their lives is commendable. I finished this book in two days and I would highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1